Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Old Kerrow Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Old Kerrow Farm Holiday Park > Reviews

Old Kerrow Farm Holiday Park
Stenalees
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 8GD
Tel: 01726 851651
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sjn55buzz 1 review from this member

 My first visit to this site after friends asked if I would like to join them as they have used the site several times before. On arrival we were greeted by the owners and our pitches were opposite each other with EHU & water tap. We were not far from the toilet/shower block, which was clean & tidy & plenty of hot water for a shower. I used the laundry facilities, the washing machine baffled me but Kathryn was @ hand to help. The site itself is beautiful and in a central location for sight seeing. Will' the owner was a fantastic host in the Club and we enjoyed music and a sing song even though there were only my friends & I in there we had a great time 10/10 'Will' thankyou. I will be definitely back & I speak for my friends as well. Oh' I nearly forgot, they do a fabulous ' borsting' sunday carvery. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aussiewantsaps2 10 reviews from this member

 Odd site, it was August holidays and it was nearly empty. Everything is broken or half done, like staying in a builders yard. The lady owner can be very off with you if she is in wrong mood. It felt on arrival like the kind of place workers stay. Toilets were adequate and showers warmish. The playground is half finished, and the clubhouse is just weird, opening for just 3 local blokes to drink in. Really was a site we felt uncomfortable to be staying on. The SatNav takes you right into a StAustell industrial estate 6 miles away and the owner seemed aware but not bothered. Make sure you use the SatNav directions to Penwithick as that will get you nearish. Will never return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Trishswaby 12 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews on here we thought we would spend 4 nights on our tour of Devon, Cornwall & Weston-super-mere in our pop up caravan, it was the most expensive of the camps we stayed at but as it had a club house/restaurant (which normally we don't bother with) we didn't mind the extra money, but sadly we were disappointed, the club house was shut except for Sunday lunch, even though we had no children with us, the children's play area was also shut, there was building work still being done, the toilets were clean but there were tiles missing every where the water was only just luke warm the disabled bathroom wasn't even finished, with dirty clothes & bags of cement in it so wouldn't have been able to use it. This was the beginning of the school holidays when I would have thought a lot of families would be arriving, so it should have been ready, even though the owner was friendly & the site was a lovely peaceful site, sorry we won't be going back again 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andywestern 1 review from this member

 We have our caravan in storage at this site at a very reasonable price too and it was our first time staying here and we have no complaints at all, excellent pitch beautiful surroundings dog friendly quiet and just a pleasant place to be. We didn't visit clubhouse as we had 3 dogs to take care of but I'm sure we will get a chance on the next visit.The location is good and we travelled to different parts of cornwall with ease We will be returning again next year. Andy&Sarah Western 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carl S 2 reviews from this member

 This is our families second stay here and we love it.

I cant say much more as I said it all in my last review from last year.
The owners are so welcoming and friendly, the kids love them.

The Club house serves Rattler cider, enough said there :o)

Pitch sizes are huge.

Power and water on each pitch.

Shops are approx 5 mins away.

Did I mention they are great hosts.

Oh yes and they cook a mean Sunday dinner.

Our family will be going back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Macdave09 3 reviews from this member

 This was a return visit for us, we booked 2 weeks and ended up staying for 3. My father in law also joined us for a week and stayed in one of the static caravans on site. The caravan was very clean and comfortable, and gave him that bit of independence from us and the kids when he needed it! The facilities around the park were in good working order, and were clean and tidy. We had another wonderful stay.

What had changed from last year, was the evening entertainment, which ranged from live acts on the Friday, country music one time, which was a brilliant atmosphere. I ended up wobbling back to my van, wearing one of the bar staffs cowboy hats!

There was also bingo and quiz nights, and a very light hearted pool tournament another evening, for adults and children, players and non players. An all round fun evening, on a small friendly scale.

Another change to this year, was that food was available in the evenings. One evening was Pasty night, then Thia curry, then eggs and ham another night, all of generous portions!

We also did a lot more site seeing on this visit, which I can recommend all. A trip to Tintagel, but don't forget some walking shoes if you want to go to the castle, I think there was a Landrover taking people from the town to the castle for a fee. Port Issac where Doc Martin was filmed.

Boscastle is beautiful, and a trip to Charlestown to see the old ships and the maritime museum, another time, was fish and chips, followed by a boat trip, and back for icecream, at the beautiful Mevagissey.

If its beaches your wanting, then Par beach and Carlion are both lovely safe sandy beaches within a 10 minutes drive.

The things that we love about this site, that will keep returning, is its location, its easy to get to both sides of Cornwall, Asda and Tesco are within easy reach, as are the beaches. The site itself is very easy to drive to (that's from a woman towing a twin axle) so you men should do it ease! no tight single track bendy lanes.

But most of all, its the warm welcome we get from the owners and their helpers. Nothing is to much trouble, and their sole aim is to please and make sure your stay goes without any hitches. If there are any. Tell them, because before you can say boo, they will have probably sorted it.

Everything we could want from a site, but without the hassle and expense of those large, packed out commercial sites!

Looking forward to next year, from the happy caravanners. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sc00ps 3 reviews from this member

 I arrived on Monday and there had been a mix up in communication so I had been booked in for the following week. I was welcomed very cheerfully and told this was no problem an amendment made to the paperwork and I was shown to my pitch.

The site is tiered and the pitches that I saw were mildly sloping so choosing my preferred direction of sleeping I set about putting up the tent. The ground was soft but not boggie. Given the amount of rain we have had this year it was a wonder and I can only be thankful for the drainage on this site.

As we put the tent up all you could hear was the sound of birdsong and wind in the trees.

That evening I started a tummy bug nothing to do with the site or my cooking. I brought it with me, having not had much sleep the night before I initially thought it was caused by exhaustion and after a good nights sleep all would be well, I was so wrong.

I spent the best day weather wise in bed asleep or taking a frequent trip to the toilet.

My initial impression of the toilets with the moths on the walls that looked like someone had flicked something disgusting on them and left it there and the tiles and some of the grout missing, with the gnats and midges flying about, was not a good one. And in part this would have been an unfair impression.

The toilets were a little on the shabby side but They were clean and if the campers had kept the door shut, then the population of moths and gnats etc would have been reduced. So in the end not too bad, but not great.

The showers had plenty of hot water although you had to push the button on quiet often as the time seemed a little short.

The potwash had plenty of hot water and was covered, this was great considering the weather.

As from Wednesday to Sunday morning bar a few breaks in the clouds it rained a lot of the time, and it was quiet windy, but no tents were lost and the site stayed soft underfoot, but seemed to deal with the weather well and with no signs of rivers of rain water.

I cannot comment on the children's area although the children who used it seemed happy. I also did not use the clubhouse due to my illness, but on my last night having recovered somewhat and my stomach screaming for food, I visited the chip shop down the road, great chips, how do you make chips taste buttery?

This is a peaceful site with good facilities, centrally located for all directions with friendly owners and staff who for it seems nothing is too much trouble. There is no shop on site, but they do stock the basics milk, eggs stc. There is a Londis down the road and Asda and Tesco's are not too far away.

I would certainly consider visiting again next time I am in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carl S 2 reviews from this member

 Have just spent 13 nights at this lovely campsite in the heart of Cornwall. Old Kerrow Farm is a family run site situated centrally which makes a great base camp for anyone wanting to explore Cornwall.

When we booked our holiday I informed them that there were 3 families coming and would like to be sited together, preferably near to toilets as we have young children. This was no problem.

When we arrived we were welcomed by Kathryn who informed us that one of our group had already arrived and directed us to our pitch. The pitch sizes are huge which meant we had plenty of space even with our tent (Outwell Vermont XL).

The toilet facilities are kept clean and even through there is only 2 showers (2 female, 2 male) we never had to queue for them.

Our family were able to bring our dog and there are dog walks on site.

The bar is a good size and family friendly. It has 2 pool tables, a dart board, a large TV and a dance floor. It also overlooks the play park, which is ideal if you want to relax while the kids safely burn off their energy. Our families really enjoyed spending our evenings here and there was activities throughout the week to keep us entertained.

One of the many benefits of this site is that it offers real value for money and you are made to feel welcome throughout your stay here, unlike large commercial site.

This is a small, family run site which is well maintained and is a credit to both Will and Kathryn. They both make you feel at ease and welcome throughout your stay, making time to chat to you and go out of their way to help you.

We are already planning our next visit here for next year and will be recommending this site to our friends and family.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Shower curtain 1 review from this member

 Arriving very late one night in the rain, I felt completely exhausted and cold after 8 1/2 hours on my bike, the time was 10. 55 pm way past the curfew time. I had spoken by phone earlier and said I got held up, the time at that point was 7. 45pm ish, she said don't worry love just get here safe we'll have a cup of tea waiting for you. I lumbered into the reception and I was greeted with a lovely smile and hurray! you made it, I felt better already. Will took my gloves and helmet and put them in the boiler room to dry out over night and then presented me with a hot mug of tea, what a lovely man, and cath was so laid back almost horizontal. I felt at home, we had a chat followed by another mug of tea, then will showed me to my pitch with a huge torch shining up the camp site, he left it with me, top chap.

The tent went up and I went to check the shower block out, I was freezing, I stood under the shower for 20mins lashings of hot water, they were kept in very good order, I felt alive again, I slept well that night.

The campsite felt very relaxing lots of space, with a club house that sold beer and played music in the evening. 5 mins ride down the road was a tesco that did great breakfasts for 4 you can't beat that.

My stay at old Kerrow was a very pleasant one with fond memories, highly recommended, I will be back, thanks will for keeping me dry, you know what I mean.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clicksean 1 review from this member

 On our early arrival they were very accommodating and made arrangements for us to leave our caravan while the pitch was prepared. I was very pleased with the size of the pitch that gave lots of room for the kids to play. I could go on about how fantastic the site is, but I think it has all been said in previous posts.

Will and Catherine are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure that guests enjoy their holiday.

On one occasion, we had run out of milk. Will went to his own fridge and gave us a bottle of his own milk. I know this doesn't sound like a huge cost to him, but he could have easily said that he had ran out or charged us! How many site owners do you know that would do that. (We did buy a pint from the shop to pay him back later in the day).

We will probably be going to Wales next year for our 'big holiday', but I will definitely return to Old Kerrow Farm.  


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Old Kerrow Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Old Kerrow Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Old Kerrow Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement