Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Far Peak Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Northleach > Far Peak Campsite Reviews

Far Peak Campsite
Far Peak
Northleach
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 3AP
Tel: 01285 700370
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Steve2 1 review from this member

 It is a large, well-spaced campsite. Informal and friendly.

The facilities are basic and clean.

It is near the main road - the Fosse Way and so noisy if one is on that side of the site, but the traffic settles down into quietness at night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Busy gran 4 reviews from this member

 Liked:good COVID regime-lots of disinfectant, clear rules about cleaning loos and sinks but not overdone, large pitch and field, good area, friendly welcome, cafe on site. Large shower cubicles. (id been told each family had own showers and loo but this was incorrect though you are assigned a loo and shower to use and they are keeping to sixty percent capacity to allow this system to work which it did.

Disliked: no hand basin in toilets-separate cubicles which were pretty rough for the money paid, expect better nowadays, , loos and basins were clean but the buildings werenít, no heating in toilet or shower cubicles which are not in an enclosed building, , I didnít get hot water most of the time I used showers and handbasins. Nowhere to sit in showers and floor was concrete, It just all lacked finesse. The weather was great so these things didnít matter too much but in cold and wet they would have done I think.

Itís not a quiet site so donít come if you are a couple looking for peace, but if you like other big groups and families then itís the place for you. Road noise was a constant hum but not awful

Fabulous starry nights, no light pollution.

Owner offers fire pit and wood each evening which was quite cheery, and the grounds are well kept and look good.

All in all it was ok but I felt a bit overpriced. We did have a good break though and the above werenít deal breakers.

We visited northleach which was quiet and friendly, Bibury which was beautiful but too busy with people who seemed to feel being on holiday rendered them and others immune to COVID, and Newark park which was pretty. The Roman villa at Chedworth was amazing and has fabulous mosaics, it opened today and the staff Were very friendly and told us about a lovely walk which we did. Iíd check on opening if you are coming for National Trust sites before you come, we timed it right for the villa, 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dibden2015 8 reviews from this member

 Great location, easy to find.

Large grass camping area, quite sloping but flat bits available or fixable with ramps.

Toilets are basic, three rows of unisex cubicles and shower cubicles. They are cleaned and inspected regularly. Hand basins in a separate section no dryers. The bad weather on Saturday was a shame, floor got very wet from the rain.

Very laid back owners, came to check all was ok and if we had fire pits and wood. Their Friendly dog adopted us for an hour or so, cool except for having to clean up after it.

Cafe is good, shame it wasn't open for pizza in the evening.

Climbing wall was excellent.

Overall a good site but be aware of the toilets. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulkentuk 3 reviews from this member

 If I'm honest the camping side of the business appears the poor relation on this Site.

The climbing wall, & low ropes course also on this site, are very good, (according to our son who does that for his day job !) & if that is the main reason to be here, then maybe camp somewhere else & come in to do that ?

However for the price being asked to camp here, the toilet & shower blocks are way below what they should be at. They are more like something a farmer may have put up in the 1970s !

The cafť on site is there more to cater for the climbers. Missing for the campers is the typical small fridge, with some local products some bread, milk, bacon & the ability to purchase gas etc.

We were pitched near the house, which is on a noisy road.

The site does provide fire pits & logs were then delivered off their ATV quad bike, which is a nice touch if you like that.

A Roman villa & the Cotswold wildlife park, are all in easy reach of this Site, although we aren't planning on going back here for the camping anytime soon though. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garence 1 review from this member

 We visited with two tents in August on a weekend. It was very busy with lots of groups and families.

We had a great time with 3 young kids, who loved the on-site low ropes course and climbing wall. There is also bike hire, which we didn't try.

Site was a bit noisy - next to quite a busy main road and no curfew, so chatting parents and groups until after midnight. And, although facilities were clean, there was no hot water!

Site staff are friendly and fire pits can be delivered to your door.

Would recommend and a great location in Cotswolds. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ludlow 2 reviews from this member

 Really liked this campsite, the toilets and shower are basic but very usable. Took my son climbing whilst we were there which was really good fun. The low ropes course was good for kids. Loads of space to pitch your tent so you are not on top of your neighbours, and you can have camp fires.

Will be going back again 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martinbrew 1 review from this member

 Stayed here Friday to Monday for the Fairford airshow. Pitched in the Glade which was mostly quiet, bit of traffic noise but that did not bother us, no cars allowed in here which was nice, had to leave them on the main field, could take in to load/unload etc.

Facilities were basic but clean, the chap running the site was very pleasant, and if you saw him on a surf board on a beach somewhere, you would not be surprised. There is a very limited 'shop' in the booking in hut.

We will be returning to the Cotswolds in the future, and will definitely be returning to this gem of a campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gloucester 13 reviews from this member

 Second review of this site so I'll annotate my original review:

We visited as a group of 2 - in a tent and a folding camper. We had children aged between 6 and 10. The weather was OK on night one and then misty/drizzly!

Toilets and showers - basic - just a row of rooms. Very little privacy from next door noise wise. No heating - open to the elements. However, spotlessly clean, and hot water at all times.

Sinks - Open to outdoors, no private cubicles. Same for washing up. But, hot water and clean.

There were two amenity blocks - my comments only refer to ours, but the other one actually looked nicer.

Noise - the area we pitched in was very close to the road. It was noticeable but not annoying in the day and evening, but did disturb us slightly as we drifted off and when I woke at about 5am. Other fields (non-EHU) were much further from road and probably quieter. Some lorries beeped their horns as they passed - dangerous corner or their idea of fun?!?

Space - plenty of space to pitch - we had a field to ourselves as the site was almost empty. We had EHU so had to pitch in a particular area, but if you didn't need that you could have had masses of space.

Climbing centre - amazing time had by kids there. Staff very amenable to us using their wifi (thankyou!) Low-ropes course now open to campsite visitors at all times - kids loved it.

EHU - brilliant supply - halogen oven & kettle simultaneously. New EHU points since last year.

Stuff for the kids to do - nothing on site other than the climbing centre and low ropes. However, ours had a great time playing ball games and making dens in the trees.

Campfires - controlled fires were permitted in BBQs and firepits (available for hire). We bought a bag of logs on site and used wood from felled trees dotted around the site

Staff - friendly and helpful. New couple this year.

Dogs - no roaming dogs.

Location - lots to do in Bourton on the Water. Easy site to find, close to main roads.

Site was clean and tidy. We would definitely return.

Note - long grass had been cut and not all picked up (machinery fault) so bring a doormat and crocs to slip on & off! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Srutstein 1 review from this member

 Camped in the main field and there was loads of room for the kids to run about.

We were interested in staying in the Glen but Cars were seemed to be allowed in, which surprised me. Also, dogs were running free, which scared my young kids.

The climbing walls and outdoor activities were great and the kids loved them.

The staff on site were very active and helpful, tidying up, directing us to the firewood supply. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveharr 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay on this well kept site. The warden was relaxed and welcoming and very helpful.

We didn't not use the facilities but everything did look clean and our friends seemed happy using the them.

Close to the attractions of the Cotswolds and close by to Bourton on the water.

Whilst the Warden told me over the phone that road noise was not really an issue, it can definitely be heard even on the furthest field, as we were in a caravan we did not hear it at night, but during the day you would notice the trucks going by.

The most disappointing thing was the bulldozer or other heavy machinery at 6:45 am on a Saturday morning! Not much of a lie in. There were industrial units on site. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Far Peak Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Far Peak Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Far Peak Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Northleach      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder