Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hidden Valley Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > S Ireland > Site Reviews

Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Rathdrum
Co Wicklow
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00 353 86 7272 872
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: March 15 To September 29

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chipmonkey 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a week long holiday in Hidden Valley. Our party consisted of me, my sister and my four boys aged from 7 to 18. The site consists of two areas, one mainly for caravans and motor homes although there were some tents pitched there and across the river, an open field with a few EHU sites around the edge.

Facilities include a nice toilet and shower area with campers kitchen for washing dishes and which also had electric hobs which cost 1 Euro for 20 minutes. We did not make use of the hobs but it was pleasant doing the washing up, looking out over the river. The toilets were kept very clean. My only gripe was that there is only one hand-dryer in the ladies'. Showers were one euro for six minutes and were all warm apart from one in between the ladies and gents which delivered a lukewarm trickle so I avoided that one!

Reception staff were friendly and helpful at all times. There is wi-fi at reception which is free but limited to a small area. You can leave phones and tablets at reception to charge at no cost and there is a freezer for exchanging ice blocks. You can buy sweets and drinks at reception but there is no grocery shop. For groceries there is a Centra in Rathdrum village which is within walking distance.

Bring LOTS of tent pegs. The ground is very hard and there are lots of little stones in the ground which can bend your tent pegs if you're not careful. We bent a lot of metal pegs and broke some of our plastic ones. The main tent field can be extremely windy and our tent unfortunately broke on the final day. It wasn't the best quality tent but I would camp away from the centre if possible if I were going again.

Now, having said that, camping with kids in Hidden Valley is truly wonderful. There are tons of activities and a fantastic playground. You can light a campfire down at the waters edge and I saw one family who had the smart idea to lay all their cans and bottles of beer in the river to keep cool. There is kayaking, paddle boats, bumper boats, or you can swim safely just above the weir if the river is not too swollen. In the Children's play area there are the usual slides and climbing frames but also paid activities including zorbing, rock climbing, bungee trampolines and an inflatable slide. My children thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

They show a children's movie each evening at 7 pm. There is a café serving fast food which was very handy the first evening and for a nice coffee in the morning.

Wicklow is a beautiful county with lots to see and do. For rainy days there is a bowling alley in Wicklow town (15 minutes) and a cinema and large shopping centre in Arklow (30 minutes)

I would thoroughly recommend Hidden Valley.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daveve 4 reviews from this member

I can relate to some of the comments that marksbury said. We arrived the day after a tremendous downpour which turned the site into nearly a swamp. The owners have no control over the weather, the tenting area looked pretty bad and I felt sorry for those families that were tenting (we have a motorhome)

When we arrived the toilets were not working and were pretty grim. Although we had booked in for 4 nights we decided to leave the following morning, but after a good night's sleep the weather had taken up and things were a lot better. By midday the toilets were working again and the site had much improved, so we stayed for the rest of our 3 nights.

I don't know what the problem was with the rubbish area but it wasn't very good and not emptied whist we were there.

Saying all that, this site is a good one for families, plenty things to do for children of all ages and in a lovely area so worth the visit.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dnahaehs 2 reviews from this member

Stayed there at the start of July this year. Fantastic site, plenty of stuff for the kids to do Playground, river, lake ect. Toilet block very clean and well laid out.

Staff very friendly and nothing was too much bother!

would we go back? In a heartbeat! Only one gripe if there are facilities for children a couple of reduced hight sinks in the toilet would have been nice.

Rathdrum was a lovely town nice few pubs and resturants! River was a bit low for canoeing when we visited but still enjoyed a good paddle/walk up the river!

All in all great site!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marksbury 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from Hidden Valley and our experience couldn't have been more different to the previous reviews.

Even though we had booked, the site was so over-camped that there was virtually nowhere left to pitch. We ended up in the verge beside the weir.

This is very much a site of 2 halves: The serviced pitches for campervans & caravans are well set out and quite pleasant but the camping field has a completely separate access, there is no parking alongside tents. Parking is in a large gravel car park. The 2 halves are connected by a footbridge.

Clearly the owners didn't want to turn any custom away as, by the time we left the tent field resembled a festival site. Consequently the site was deafeningly noisy. The bin compound hadn't been emptied in a while and the 6 dumpsters were piled to almost twice their height with rubbish. In fact the whole compound was filled with rubbish and, as a consequence, the entire site was plagued by wasps.

The toilet/shower/wash up facilities are very good and the staff did work hard to keep them clean but, with the numbers present, it was an impossible task. For 2 consecutive mornings there was no hot water in the wash up area due to an issue with the gas supply.

This may well suit some people but the site had a takeaway stall that was almost continuously open, serving every imaginable type of junk food but there was no where on site to buy milk or bread. I took my children to the drinks stall but, although there were 3 members of staff there and the stall was open they refused to serve us as they were on a break (chatting at the counter).

Contrary to other reviews we found the staff dismissive at best.

The valley that extends from the site is very beautiful but very few people seemed to stray from the site to experience it. But the site itself is opposite an industrial complex and over-looked by a new development of flats not quite completed yet.

Although this is our first review we are life-long campers and this has been our worst experience ever. That said, if you take a serviced pitch or visit out of season you may well get a different impression.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Burtonchar 1 review from this member

What a lovely campsite! I simply cannot fault it. We had booked 7 nights and extended it to 8 whilst we were there. The facilities were great, they were well maintained and always clean.

The park was great for the children and there was always evening entertainment for them which we did not expect.

The staff were really lovely, and made my daughter, who was ill for a night, feel very special. Rathdrum itself is lovely, just big enough for all supplies needed.

I will definitely be returning! My favourite site so far!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dxflyer 5 reviews from this member

First outing of the year and the first time to this site.

Staff were excellent and the on-site facilities were regularly cleaned to a very high standard.

Campsite was in general very clean and well kept. The pitches were mostly fully serviced and had plenty of space for awnings and car parking.

Within the site there was as mentioned previously a large play area for children. In addition there was a boating lake where you could hire out rowing boats etc for a small fee.

The site organised many other activities and the owner/wardens were always helpful.

Rathdrum itself is not a big town but has enough shops for all the essentials needed for a short stay.

All the tourist attractions of the area are within a short drive. Would I go again - without a doubt!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kbheal 19 reviews from this member

Well what a difference a year makes.The road is now tarmac and there are more hard standings.A new children's playarea, although for children smaller than ours and you had to pay extra but looked good though.

This year our children went on the adventure kayak tour and loved it. They had to wait a day for enough people to go but true to his word the site owner came to find us to let us know it was going ahead.

Can't add any more except a great site, very friendly owners, shops locally up a bit of a hill.

It was busy with a lot of different nationalities, and this year we had a lot of sun and little rain, great time spent here.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaymey 3 reviews from this member

Just back from Hidden Valley. Great site. Very friendly staff. The entrance road has now been tarmacked so no more potholes although the speed bumps are overkill!

Hardstands are very level and easy to get on/off. 16A electrics so no kettle worries. The staff on site were very friendly and helpful.

Not a huge amount to do on site but some spectacular scenery a short drive away. Highly recommended. Only an hour from Dublin.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kbheal 19 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights in July, I was a little disappointed on first impressions because it had rained prior to our arrival and the road around the site was full of puddles and muddy. However when the sun came out it did dry up well. As previously stated thier are plans to tarmac this and if this is done will improve it no end.

We had a pitch near to the weir and although quite noisy it was also near to a launching area that we used for our canoe (we went up stream away from the weir and it was very safe). The children also hired a canoe and used the lake in the centre of the site. They woudl have liked to go on the more adventurous canoe run but where to young, maybe next time!

There were 2 small supermarkets in Rathdrum, which was a short walk but up a very steep hill.

We ate at Bates resturant and it was excellent, very good value for money despite the exchange rate, only 70 euros for 3 course a la carte meal and desserts, for 2 adults and 2 children, would highly recommend.

We used the train to Dublin and if we had stayed longer we would have gone as far as Bre only and spent the day there. Seaside town with lots to do.

An easy drive to the ferry port from here and would go again to the site due to the ability to launch the canoe so close to the site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janhom 3 reviews from this member

We stayed in July 2009 and had a very pleasant stay. We found the owner / warden very helpful offering info about things to do locally. Toilet block modern and clean. All the hardstanding caravan pitches are plumbed in which was great as you have to pay for showers in the block.
The road has potholes, but there are plans to resurface for 2010, and also build an adventure playground in the camping field. There's a small lake on site where you can hire kayaks and rowing boats. My son helped get stray boats in one evening and was rewarded with a small toy out of the camp shop, which he was delighted about.
The site is 10 minutes away from Rathdrum with shops, pubs and couple restaurants. Also in Rathdrum is the railway station with trains into Dublin, takes about 1hr25, but beats the hassle of driving. But beware, you are not supposed to take dogs on the train - we did, because we didn't know and the station at Rathdrum isn't staffed, and no one told us.

We liked the site, and if going back to that area would definitely stay again

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


753 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019