Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Fox Hagg Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > South Yorkshire > Sheffield > Fox Hagg Farm Reviews

Fox Hagg Farm
Lodge Lane,
Rivelin
Sheffield
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
S6 5SN
Tel: 0114 230 5776
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RomellaBelx 2 reviews from this member

The campsite at Fox Hagg has pretty views, and is next to a field containing horses and cows.

We visited midweek during school holidays, fairly quiet, however the weather was blustery with intermittent heavy rain so may have put some people off. Even so, the only muddy part of the field was right at the entrance to it, so wasn't too bad at all. A regular camper on the site told us it is quite windy most of the time, so consider bringing the longer hard ground pegs for a sturdier pitch.

The facilities are basic but perfectly adequate. Two showers (in the ladies at least), which have large cubicles so your clothes don't get splashed with shower water when hung up. Roomy enough to take your small kids in with you. These don't cost any extra, and are the push button type like you find in gyms/swimming pools.

There is a small pot washing room round the back of the toilet block, with a couple of sinks and hot water. The water tap is next to here.

Dogs are welcome, to be kept on lead and cleaned up after. We were pleased to not have to pay any extra to bring them with us.

Should you be travelling to the site without your own car, (we were dropped off by family) do note that the Lodge lane is a steep hill without pavement, just sloping grass verges. We went for a walk through the nearby woods and to wyming brook. We did have to walk on the road for some of the time.

We really enjoyed our time at Fox Hagg, its a nice little spot so close to the City. A great place for those with a car as you are close to many nice places to visit in the Peaks. Would definitely visit again for a short getaway.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart newman 2 reviews from this member

I would just like to say what a lovely little site this is we have visited a few times but this is our first review everything you need, showers clean, toilets clean pot washing area and people on site very friendly, thanks to Dave for being so nice and giving us a lift to the pub, my sincere apologies to him for being a bit too loud ! We will keep visiting and spreading the word about Fox Hagg Farm thanks Carol.

Regards

Stuart

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Artymandy 24 reviews from this member

I was with a D of E group for 1 night. The facilities were clean and appropriate. The camping field was very crowded, despite it all being booked in advance, and everyone was on top of each other. The lads who went out in the evening were quiet when they came back around midnight but could not help but disturb everyone as we were all in such close proximity to each other. Likewise, it was impossible not to disturb other campers in the morning for our early start.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aads 1 review from this member

This was our first time on this site and it was amazing, the lady that runs it was so helpful and attentive, toilets and shower block was clean and tidy, local pubs are only a 20 minute walk but very step hills to get there, would recommend this site to anyone as views are great. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chappers62 1 review from this member

This excellent campsite is very near to Sheffield yet far enough to feel properly rural. Using the campsite was an excellent and cost effective way of visiting our son who is studying at Sheffield university. Clean toilet and washing facilities which are very near to the camp field. Carol the owner is very helpful and accommodating and has lots of tips about the local area. Loved the chickens and ducks wandering freely and the camping field boasts fantastic views. For a nearby walk suitable for a dog turn right out of the farm and follow the road about 20 yards. Follow the public footpath sign on the left at the bend in the road. Offers great views from the peak. A good dog friendly pub is the Ladybower Inn on the A57near to Ladybower reservoir. The Derwent reservoir great to visit. Lots to do and see at Castleton, although the walk around the base of Pevril castle is a little tricky underfoot.

All in all excellent value for money and would definitely revisit this campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingandcricket 1 review from this member

This is a great campsite. The site is located in a field past the main farmhouse and caravan area, and commands fantastic views across and down the Rivelin Valley. The grass in the field is lush, and it was not too muddy, despite a lot of rain falling while we were there.

There is an ablution block. This was clean and had a good supply of hot water. Although we did not purchase anything, I gather that there is fresh produce and eggs available to buy from the farmhouse.

The site is within easy access of Sheffield. There are loads of footpaths in the area. I would recommend a walk East along the River Rivelin. Nearby (at the top of Tofts Lane off the A6101) is a fantastic pub called 'The Rivelin' which has a good selection of ales, and does food.

The only downside was that the site is quite windy, on account of its location. We were also there as a particularly potent weather system was making its way over the UK. That is camping - you don't do it to have everything absolutely brilliant. I would strongly recommend this site to anyone looking for a place to camp in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Thin Man 6 reviews from this member

This is a lovely quiet little site. It isn't plush, but it is clean and friendly. It is a proper 'farm site'. There are quite a few shabby looking statics when you first drive in, but don't let that put you off. We stayed in the field off the main area, and the views up the Rivelin Valley are fantastic. Caravans & tents around the edge, and plenty of room for the kids to play in the middle. No marked pitches - in fact the whole place is extremely laid back to the point where it could probably do with a little more 'customer service' - but better that than over officious. Close to the Peaks, and Sheffield, but you don't have drive at all - there are woods and walks from the door. Great for dogs. Only other thing to note is that there is a short sharp hill up to the entrance, which only has quite a small sign to look out for.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Plswork23 4 reviews from this member

Well what can I say. Spent time at many sights in this area and never found one so helpful friendly as this one. Yes its a working farm but cleansing unbelievable. Facilities are brilliant. Not a hut or single toilet no place to get a wash as encountered somewhere else but a proper built area. Proper area for pot washing yes we not all in a caravan.

On arrival told to settle bill in own time not pestered for money. Reasonble Prices.

Asked how much showers told All Incusive and guess what.

A Hot free shower.

All can say is Thank You for making a break a proper break.

Will I return. YES most certainly.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scottrotheram 1 review from this member

We stayed here on Saturday to visit my daughter at Sheffield Uni and see the tour de france. We thought the site was really great, lovely and peaceful, very relaxing. Having chickens at home we loved seeing the chickens live freely.

We used the local taxi service which was great and cost about 8 to get to the city centre. We visited a nearby area with a few food and drink places within about 10minutes taxi journey costing about 5 in a taxi.

We met the lady who ran the farm, she was very friendly and relaxed. We would recommend this to anyone and was easy to find.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LouF 1 review from this member

This camp site is a small family run pleasant place. It's also a working farm that has cows in the fields and chickens. The whole place is clean and well kept. Plenty of on site space for children to play safely as it's off the main road.

The camp site is situated approximately 10-15 minutes from Bradfield, Derbyshire and the town centre. Down the road and over the hill there is a lovely village of Stannington with parks and pubs shops etc hillsborough and crosspool are a 5 minute drive where there are plenty if shops and local pubs.

If you like to walk or have dogs there are plenty of walks to chose from. If you're not sure of the area, carol who runs the sight is always around down at the farm to give directions. She's a friendly lady and on hand to speak too.

The setting of this camp site makes you feel a million miles away. Quiet, relaxing and friendly.

Couldn't recommend this place enough. No frills propper camping. We love it and have returned on more than one occasion.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Fox Hagg Farm?   There is a shop within 1 mile    View all facilities

Is Fox Hagg Farm dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Sheffield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020