Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Galley Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Galley Hill Farm Reviews

Galley Hill Farm
Langham Road
Blakeney
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 7PR
Tel: 01263 741201
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peterwood 1 review from this member

 Good site with all the facilities I needed, welcoming and helpful service from the site owners. The outside hot water sink to wash dishes in was very useful. I am intending to revisit next year. Plenty to see within that area. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camp chaos 26 reviews from this member

 I agree with earlier reviews: this is a lovely, friendly little site in a very handy location on the Norfolk coast.

I also wanted to add that there are now a few electric hook up points which were in high demand on our recent visit so book early if you'd like one of these.

Also, a few top tips for the area:

The pubs in Blakeney come highly recommended: the King's Arms for beer and food and the White Horse for beer and wifi (we didn't try the food).

Look out for the Langham Dome, this is a really interesting little WW2 anti aircraft gun training centre very close to the site (we cycled there quite easily).

Take advantage of the Coasthopper bus which stops just outside the village: Wells, Burnham Market and the pub at Holkham Hall are all worth a stop off. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Coastwalker 45 reviews from this member

 Excellent little, simple site. Recommended. The charges are reasonable. Sal is out at all times, dawn to after dark, with her cleaning basket, and is keen to make sure everyone is content. The site is well kept and the portacabin type toilet and shower block is immaculate, though with only one toilet and shower for each gender, timing for showers is advisable when the site gets busier. There is an outside washing up sink with plenty of hot water on tap. That's about it, which suits many of us fine.

The site is on a B road within about 15 mins walk to the main road in Blakeney, though no pavement or verge for much of the way. There is free parking at the village hall there, next to the bus stop from where you can catch the very good Coasthopper service which runs from Cromer to Kings Lynn about every half hour, until Norfolk closes at 6.

Blakeney is typically boaty and very picturesque with its tidal flats and inlets. There are a couple of useful shops in the village for supplies. The walking is very nice, except from Cley to Sheringham where the coast path treats you to 7 miles of gravel banks- hard work. Good area for photography enthusiasts.

Sheringham, Cromer and Wells get crowded in high season, which is good, but there are plenty of quiet coastal stretches. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PollyBonzer 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean campsite within walking distance of Blakeney though some folk drive rather fast on the raod. Sal was very friendly and helpful.

The loos were spotless and I never had to queue even though there wre only one male, one female and a disabled/family.

There was plenty of hot water for showers, handwashing and washing up. The shower was free.

We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PamelaH 7 reviews from this member

 We were given a warm welcome and allowed to pitch where we liked. Plenty of space and quite quiet. The toilet and shower block was a small portakabin, but very clean and only queued for toilet once. Also a larger family and disabled shower room.

Good location for Norfolk coast, easy access to bus routes and beaches. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EGCrowe 1 review from this member

 Visited Galley Hill twice in the last few months. Definitely going back again. For a smaller campsite the facilities are great! Toilets are always super clean, showers are also super clean.

Owner is lovely, cleans the facilities every day. Plenty of room to park your car next to your tent.

Really helpful note in the toilet blocks about local attractions etc.

Bricks are scattered around the site for BBQ's, which are allowed. And for 7 a night for adults, well worth it!

20 minute walk to Blakeney is easily accessible, with a few lovely pubs and local attractions eg, boat tours.

I recommend bringing a pair of rubber gloves as the water for washing up can be a bit chilly! But that's the only bad thing about the whole campsite!

Will definitely visit again! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tigi 5 reviews from this member

 Another super week in Norfolk, this time at Galley Hill Farm. The owner, Sal, was lovely and the shower/toilet block kept scrupulously clean - she cleans them several times a day when it is busy - I even came across her, mop in hand, one morning at 6. 30, just finishing off! As has been mentioned, the facilities are basic, but everyone can use the family room and as such, even in high season, we didn't have to wait. It is a bonus having a separate toilet and shower in the block.

It was our silver wedding anniversary while we were there and we woke to find a bunch of Gladioli picked from her garden outside the tent. An example of Sal's kindness. A hastily improvised vase was found in the way of a tall biscuit tin. She also called round with the cool blocks from her freezer twice a day.

We had a lovely lunch at Wiveton Farm Cafe, which we booked on line before the holiday. This was fresh, local produce and an imaginative menu. Another find was the Kings Arms in Blakeney - beautiful fresh fish in amazing batter, fast service and friendly staff.

A boat trip out to see the seals and their brand new pups (hours old)was another highlight.

We had a couple of wet days, and a huge storm the night before we left. We went to Norwich on one of our wet days and enjoyed exploring the city centre, the museum at Bridewell and the Cathedral. The park and ride at the airport made it easy to get in and out of the city.

We hope to go back and would definitely stay here again. Thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: NJF42 1 review from this member

 This is a smashing campsite in a lovely area. Very friendly and helpful owners. The toilet block (portakabin style) has one ladies, one gents and a family room (each with a toilet and shower) but as the site is small there was no queueing. These facilities are immaculate and sparkling clean.

You can walk or cycle down to the quay, but it's all uphill back! The road is a B road with no pavement but we felt safe enough with our 8 year old cycling in between my husband and I.

We purchased picnic food from Blakeney Deli; amazing but fairly pricy. This is the same all along this part of the North Norfolk Coast. We didn't begrudge the price as the quality was great and service was lovely.

We rented canoes for half an hour; some local young lads do it every summer. It was great fun and they were brilliant with my son who wanted to canoe on his own; one of them stayed near him on the water at all times so he felt very safe. They do of course include lifejackets anyway. The crabbing at the quay is amazing; recommend using bacon as bait, works a treat!

We will definitely stay here again as it's just what we like; beautiful location, relaxed site (just a field!) with clean toilets/showers and friendly helpful people. Well done Sal and Martin! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snaffled 1 review from this member

 We've camped at this site several times over recent years. It has several pluses, these are it's location, close to Blakeney, and other fantastic places along the Norfolk coast such as Cley and Wells. It's quite small, and doesn't tend to have large rowdy parties. It's also great for families, and children make friends quickly, (well ours did!).

It's downsides, unfortunately are that its facilities are very limited, and could be improved fairly easily. There is no hot water for washing up, meaning that we used up a lot of gas heating water. There is a charge for charging your phone, or freezing freezer blocks, which other campsites don't usually charge for, and there is no shelter over the washing up sink. I don't want to gripe too much as the owner is so friendly, but feel these are worth pointing out, as we've been to several other campsites lately which provide a lot more facilities for about the same price.

For eating, I'd recommend the chippy at Salthouse, and the King's Arms (I think) in Blakeney. There are lots of other lovely places to eat, but be prepared for London prices! Holt is great for shopping, it's only a small town, but you can easily spend a day there! For rainy days, the National Trust properties, Felbrigg Hall and Blickling Hall aren't too far away. The deli in Blakeney is very good, and makes yummy sausage rolls! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcjbears 11 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, convenient for exploring the North Norfolk coast. It was quite busy over the Bank Holiday weekend, with lots of children on site, so it wasn't particularly quiet in the early mornings or daytime. However, once it got dark it was lovely and quiet (apart from one child on one night!) with hardly any road noise.

The toilets and showers were clean and well stocked with loo roll and soap, and in spite of the number of people on site, we never had to queue.

If pressed to make a criticism, it would be that the washing up sink only had cold water, (but it was right next door to the toilet/shower block, so you could get hot water from there if you had a bowl or bucket)and it was out in the field with no protection from the weather at all. One has to dodge the showers enough when camping in Britain without waiting for the rain to stop to wash up!

The Bluebell pub in Langham and The King's Head in Blakeney, both within about a mile of the site, offer a good menu, lunchtime and evening, and the Spar in Blakeney has basic groceries and is open 7 days a week until quite late. There is a large, FREE car park at the village hall in Blakeney, just a short walk from the village centre and Quay. Take a torch if walking, from the campsite, to either pub in the evening - there are no pavements or street lights! (But the road isn't particularly busy!)

There are no electric hook ups, no playground or entertainment on site, so if you or your children need these, go elsewhere and leave the site for those of us who camp for peace and quiet!

Due to the lack of street lights in the area, the starry sky is wonderful, when the clouds clear enough to see it!

We paid 13 a night, (6. 50 each for 2 adults including tent and car) which was very reasonable, but costs soon mount if you are a family; as children are 3 each and 2 is charged for a boat, extra car or Gazebo.

The owner was friendly and helpful and let us pick our own pitch. She came to our tent as we were packing up to collect payment for the whole stay, which is so much nicer than having to pay up front, or try to find somebody when you leave.

I fully intend to go back to this site, (perhaps not over a Bank holiday!)to further explore the area. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Galley Hill Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Galley Hill Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Galley Hill Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2467 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement