Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Knockerdown Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > The Knockerdown Inn > Reviews

The Knockerdown Inn
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1NQ
Tel: 01629 540209
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/07/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 35 Reviews
                6/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 The new owners of this site have advised that it is currently closed, undergoing refurbishment. They hope to open by the end of this year.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Brownsi 1 review from this member

 Never again. Very noisy. I did not expect a loud music rave in October.

Management should get a grip of the antisocial behaviour.

Very muddy due to cars in wet field. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this site is under new ownership from 2023. Older reviews refer to the previous management. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shazze 1 review from this member

 Brilliant campsite in a great location.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Clean facilities.

Pub had a beer fest on during our stay with a good selection of food and drink.

Will definitely return and next time take the kids too 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Loubyl 1 review from this member

 Great stay at knockerdown very friendly helpful staff great views of the water lovely donkeys goats and ducks.

The playground was fun for the children,

Toilets were well stocked and clean can't comment on showers although I did see they were being cleaned also.

Plenty of hand sanitizer everywhere can't comment on the food at the pub as I should have booked a table, next time I book camping I will be booking a table at the same time 😃 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jaynemcnally1 1 review from this member

 Visited this site over the Bank holiday weekend, I booked for 3 nights at £25/- per night but only stayed for 2 as on our arrival day it poured it down with rain so we decided to delay our arrival. The party I was meeting had pre-paid for my pitch, the owners insisted that I had booked for 3 nights then the full payment was required, which is fair enough it was my choice not to go. However, when I arrived the following day even though the pitch had been paid for with EHU I was told I could not have electricity until 1200 that day. I argued this point with the owner who eventually reluctantly agreed to refund £5/-! Even though I was part of a party of 2 other campers the owners insisted that we were all separated due to Coronavirus, so we ended up on different parts of the camping field even though there was enough space to keep us together in our 'bubble'.

The advertisements for this site claim to have WiFi, this only applied to the pub, not the camping field.

Toilets, Showers, play areas and pot washing facilities were closed due to Coronavirus so I am unable to comment on these facilities. However, the most disgusting chemical waste disposal facilities I have ever experienced in all my years camping. The grass was long and desperately needed cutting.

On the site there were adjoining fields with donkeys and goats the children enjoyed visiting these animals. I did not visit the pub for a drink or a meal 
Management response: Please note we have been advised that this site is under new ownership from 2023. Older reviews refer to the previous management.


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: M Langford 1 review from this member

 Very disappointed. Good for the lake down the road but the site is spoiled by many things. Toilets are basic but clean, showers are to pay for.

CHemical toilet waste hole was awful, and no way could I empty my grey waste. Parked next to the pub playground and bins, car park. Site was noisy passed 11:30.

Worst of all was the noise from the roads on 2 sides of the site, constant speeding cars and large m/cycles, and the refuse wagon that turned up at 05:14 in the morning to empty all the pub & site bins.

That was the final straw for us. £20 to stay in a pub car park basically. Food and service in the pub was good though. 
Management response: Please note we have been advised that this site is under new ownership from 2023. Older reviews refer to the previous management.


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob Burton 28 reviews from this member

 Very disappointing. Good location spoiled by cramped toilets in portacabins. Very basic facilities, including the worst chemical toilet disposal I have ever used. Worst of all children ran around screaming unchecked until 11pm.

I know that is mostly down to parents but there seemed little connection between the pub and the site other than collecting the fees. I am not given to negative reviews but this site is little more than a field behind a nice pub. Just not for us. 
Management response: Please note we have been advised that this site is under new ownership from 2023. Older reviews refer to the previous management.


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colgor 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location and good food in the pub. Camping facilities acceptable but basic. The young staff in the pub were lovely, particularly the young lady who lived in the next village who could not do enough to help, but the family who own the place let it down. The main problem was that, for me, a campsite that has Inn in its name suggests there is a pub open in the evening but not so! One of the main attractions to book was so we could wander back to the tent after a social drink.

We stayed on a summer bank holiday weekend and even though the pub says open till late this really was not the case and once they stop selling food then the drinking side winds down and on a Saturday night stayed open till not long after 10. The following evening they stopped making food at 7. 30pm, when they had served until 8. 30pm the evening before, so on arrival at 8pm we were refused service even though we were staying there. We asked when they closed for a drink and we were told 10pm. Still very early but we rushed and found a chippy in Ashbourne, arrived back by 9. 30pm, and as we pulled in they turned the lights off and closed the pub, even though the weather was awful and they knew we were camping and had asked.

No taxis in the area and only one pub, the Nags Head, seemed to open to normal pub hours and in the summer too on a bank holiday weekend. We had to drive over to the Nags Head a couple of miles away in Hulland Ward and not have an alcoholic drink, for an hour or two, so as to stay warm before returning to the tent. Incidentally, that is a nice pub with a mix of friendly locals and visitors.

If you want a country pub for food in the day time (from 12) in a lovely location it is great. If you want a camp site, with basic facilities, with a pub to relax in at the evening then don't bother unless you are happy not to have a beer or glass of wine after 9pm. Nearby pubs shut early too but given this one is advertised as a camp site at least some of whose guests are naturally attracted because it is by a pub, then it is wrong to routinely shut up early and in the summer too! The owners should make it clear this pub does not open as an Inn or traditional evening Pub when they advertise it as a pub campsite.

We were left without an evening social beer or glass of wine in a pub, trapped not within walking distance from elsewhere, on two summer evenings, when we were staying at a pub campsite then that is reason for my poor rating. Customer service from young women was excellent and poor customer service rating is due to the owner. 
Management response: Please note we have been advised that this site is under new ownership from 2023. Older reviews refer to the previous management.


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Trucker74 2 reviews from this member

 I live fairly near so went a few times last year. Always found it a good, clean and friendly site.

On my first visit this year I find they have installed EHU on quite a few pitches. The price has gone up to £20 per night for one person (no charge for the dog) in our campervan. The pitches are generously sized and the site is well kept and the pub serves good meals with a selection of vegetarian options which I appreciate at reasonable prices.

Good walking, sailing if thatís your thing and water based activities. Plenty of local places to visit, including Alton Towers not too far away. Pub has a large kiddies play area and plenty of outside tables as well as inside.

Only drawbacks might be noise from the road, which doesnít bother me and the chemical emptying point need screening and updating. Though adequate, this is just my opinion.

For the new price you would expect bigger, permanent toilet and shower block too, but that would change the lovely rural, rustic ambience of the Knockerdown site.

I will be going back regularly as usual. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Knockerdown Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Knockerdown Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Knockerdown Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4151 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement