Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Treyarnon Bay Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Treyarnon Bay Camping And Caravan Site > Reviews

Treyarnon Bay Camping And Caravan Site
Treyarnon Bay
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8JP
Tel: 01841 520681
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Smalley 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite and great location close to the beach.

A lovely shop close to the site for all essentials.

Showers were clean and always available. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Minimadjonesy 9 reviews from this member

 The site is in an amazing location with easy access to treyarnon bay and Constantine bay. The views from the camping field are lovey although when the wind whips up there is little protection from it!

Whilst we were there the weather was amazing, no need to leave the site other than to go to the beach and there are two shops with a great selection of food, snacks and essentials. There is also a surf school with a well stocked surf shop next to Constantine Stores a short walk from the top gate of the camping field.

The facilities are adequate although on our stay the men's port-a-cabin only had one door that locked but despite that there was hot water and the toilets were proper plumbed in ones. The wash facilities were ok but of the three sinks it seemed that only one always had hot water, the other two where cold. The one thing that wasn't cold was the freezer, it may have been due to the fact the site was busy but we had ice blocks in there for days and they did not freeze!

The shower block was not in the camping field it was half way down the caravan park between the site and the entrance, cost £1 for 7minutes but great pressure and always hot!

There is literally no phone signal here but believe me that is the best thing! Very relaxing and no interruptions, great surf and a RockPool big enough to swim in (a little bracing though!)

Would recommend for a no frills site and just by treyarnon is a YHA hostel with a bar which does nice food if you get bored of bbq's does get busy but get there early and good cider, beer and food 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 The location is great; 5 minutes walk from Treyarnon Bay and not far from Constantine Bay; a short drive from Harlyn Bay where beginner surfing lessons are offered (we used Waves surfing school which was great); a short drive from St Merryn which has small supermarkets/restaurants/pubs; not far from Padstow; 2 great shops at either end of the campsite (the Constantine Stores are nearer to the camping field).

Now we come to the campsite. It's adequate but feels like it is an afterthought to the (many) static caravans. It's cheap at £20 a night in peak season but I would not come back for the following reasons:

1) The portaloos in the camping field give off a strong smell which is unpleasant.

2) The toilets do not seem to be cleaned very often (the bins were not emptied for several days).

3) The hot water in the portaloos is so hot it is unusable, and only 2 cold taps work in the ladies.

4) There is only one tumble drier for the whole site. This is quite astonishing when you consider the number of people staying in the statics as well as the camping fields, especially when people are more likely to need to get things dry if the weather is bad.

5) The showers are very nice (£1 for 7 mins) but I feel badly designed (you lock yourself into an individual shower which has no gap at the top and bottom of the door). No air ventilation and the possibility of children getting locked in and not being able to get out. I dread to think what would happen if someone slipped and banged their head while inside the cubicle.

If you stay on the other camping field, you are nearer the 'nice' toilets and showers but a very long walk from the washing up facilities (in a portacabin on the top camping field).

You should also note that if you book you have to pay upfront before you arrive, although at £20 a night this doesn't really matter. We only stayed 5 nights out of the 7 we had booked, due to the weather, which of course the campsite owners can't do anything about! Although somewhere to dry towels would be handy :) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kurt the van 6 reviews from this member

 Don't be put off by having to drive through the large static caravan area as when you get to the top field which is for the campers & tourers, you are a rewarded with fab views of the sea and coastline and you can't even see much of the statics. The family have just taken it over this year and are working hard to bring it up to scratch. The toilets and washing up facilities are in a specially designed porta-cabins in the middle of the field but they really are probably some of the cleanest toilets we have seen and used. The people who clean them are up there at least 2-3 times a day. Very hot water which is free too. The showers are at the bottom of the hill by the entrance and you do need a £1 coin to activate them but it spits your coin out so they are free which kind of makes up for the long walk. We are led to believe that they intend on having some showers in the camping field by next season. Quiet and not exploited like the many neighbouring campsites. Please keep it like this! A great little shop just 5 minutes walk away from the top gate. The beaches are just 5 mins walk too. Lovely site and will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikede 27 reviews from this member

 Access is much easier through the gate into the camping field from the lane just past the village- approach from the Golf Club though NOT from Treyarnon- single track & sharp corners.

The site is pleasant enough if you ignore the serried ranks of statics. Facilities on site were clean but limited to sinks and toilets. Its a fair trek to the showers which looked very basic so we didn't bother and used our on-board.

We didn't see any staff -reception was shut but we had arranged a pre-booked pitch identified by number and asked a passing workman the way to the camping field.

Nightly charge for the dog but absolutely no facilities- not even a dog bin.

The field is sloping

Overall- just about OK- expensive what facilities provided. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JULIE5765 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at youth hostel 30 years ago on a cycle tour. Booked last minute for two family tents, and managed to get in with electric hook ups. Warden very friendly and helpful.

Toilets passable but showers a long walk and cost 1 pound for 6 minutes. Shop near by very useful.

Lovely beaches and views only downfall dog poo not cleaned up. Dogs not on leads either.

Did not use car at all every thing here. Great rook pools for crabbing, small safe pools for little ones. Will go again on day.

Very unspoilt area good coast walks. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MICHAEL NEALE 3 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic basic site. The site warden was very nice and made you more than welcome. The site has a shower block which is at the entrance to the site, a good walk from the camping field.There is 2 toilet blocks on the camping field which was very clean and usable.There is a washing up block which is quite a walk for the field whilst carrying pot. The camping field is far from flat as beware, also the site is up a very steep hill not very good for anyone with bad legs etc.

There is a shop at the bottom of the site which is reasonably priced. There is another shop close by into the next village about 5 mins walk from the camping field. The bay and beach are second to none with excellent views. The beach is very clean but it does let dogs on. The site is quite central for visiting surrounding areas.

The only problem with the site is the approach to the site due to the very narrow lanes which wasn't very good towing a caravan. Once there we had a fantastic holiday and booked again for next year the kids loved it as much as we did. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beerandtools 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in 2009 for a friendís 50th birthday party, held at the youth hostel. On that occasion we spent one night sleeping on the beach, which was fabulous. This time we were here for the wifeís birthday weekend and what a brilliant weekend we had. We booked in advance because we needed 3 adjacent pitches for friends who were joining us. The reception lady (sorry, Iíve forgotten your name) could not have been more helpful. A small deposit secured the pitches we needed and on arrival, we paid the balance for our 3 night stay and proceeded to have a great weekend.

Previous reviewers have adversely commented about the basic facilities and the fact that the shower block is so far away from the touring field; So what! If you are staying at Treyarnon, then surely your main motive is for the fantastic beach. Take your ĎSuper Mateyí with you and have a shower on the way back to your pitch,. Simples! Alternatively, make the 5 minute stroll or jump in the car and park by the shower block. The toilet block again is basic, being a portacabin in the middle of the field, but itís clean, fresh and well stocked with the required 2 ply. What more do you need?

The site, itself is well maintained and the ground was easy enough to put pegs into despite the fact that it had been baked dry by the recent heat wave. All electric pitches are on the perimeter of the field, and in some places, levelling chocks are essential. One reviewer made note of the fact that some motorists sound their horns as they round the bend of the road. Yes they do, but most sites have some noise drawbacks, be it dogs that bark at the moon or idiots that donít disable their car alarm at night. The staff at Treyarnon are very friendly and helpful and the reception is open until quite late.

For those of you who want to take heed of the negative comments made by previous reviewers, and decide not to go to Treyarnon, I say thank you. This means that when we want to go, there is more likelihood of an available pitch.

SHOP: None on the site, but the reception sells second hand books and beach toys, with proceeds going to charity and there is a brilliant little shop by the beach which is a real Alladinís cave. A 3 or 4 minute walk along the road at the top of the site, takes you to a village store which sells pretty much everything you could want, including alcohol. Daily papers and fresh baked croissants, pain au chocolat, breads, doughnuts, and some diet club membership application forms.

BAR / RESTAURANT: None, but the youth hostel has a cafť attached, and in the car park by the beach there is a great catering trailer, for burgers, hot dogs, hog roast, tea etc. Etc. St.Merryn village is 1 Ĺ miles away and boasts a Chinese takeaway, a great chippy, a bakery, garage, surf shop, and The Farmerís Arms pub with a great selection of beers and food at good prices.

TOILET / SHOWERS: See above. Basic but perfectly serviceable. Showers are £1 for around 6 minutes but hot and wet!

ELSAN DISPOSAL: By the toilet cabins there is an old WC that has been set into concrete. Just empty and flush.

PLAYGROUND: None, but lots of open space on the touring field and one of the best beaches in Cornwall.

BEACH: Treyarnon beach is wonderful, pure golden sand and excellent body boarding. Well patrolled by RNLI lifeguards (keep those collecting tins full). PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, take notice of their instructions, they know the beach and the tides intimately and at certain points the rip tides are quite strong. Get into trouble and itís not just your well being that you are putting at risk, itís theirs too.

LOCAL AREA: You are situated in the heart of some of the most stunning coastline anywhere. A plethora of beaches and villages are there to be explored. St. Merryn is a great little village with everything you need, and more. Padstow is only a short drive away and has a fantastic harbour to sit and eat you fish and chips. (Avoid the expensive ones from a certain restaurant, inflated ego equals inflated prices) and go to the great harbourside outlets. Just outside Padstow is a well known supermarket (they will take over the world) where if you are staying in the area for more than a couple of days, every little helps.

The garage in St.Merryn deserves itís own mention. As well as fuel they have a brilliant camping accessory shop, where you can re-stock your whole caravan or tent if need be.

SUMMARY: Treyarnon Bay, is a fantastic site, for those who donít mind a little bit of roughing it. Yes there are drawbacks. Yes I can imagine that in rough weather itís not the best place to be, especially with children. But plenty to do within a short drive. If you want higher quality facilities, go elsewhere and pay higher quality prices. But on a summerís day when the surf beckons and the disposable barbecue is cremating your sausages on the beachÖÖÖÖ WOW.

Would we go back? Iíve answered that in the ramblings above. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Milly4 11 reviews from this member

 Please bear in mind, I'm slightly biased as spent many happy holidays here as a child in the caravans. This year, I ventured back to reminisce and camp in the field at the top.

It's such an amazing location and the cliff walking was a delight between Treyarnon and Constantine.

The facilities are beyond basic and perhaps an investment into something more than portakabins would be preferred!

The local shop in Constantine is great and not overpriced which it so easily could be.

Loved my time here and hope to return next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joan74 1 review from this member

 A good basic family holiday, really close to the beach so you did not need the car and can pop back the tent for lunch or anything your partner has forgot!

Facilities were basic but clean loved having the showers closer to the beach, you could put the kids in the shower and send the partner to collect the shower gear and car to pop the kids straight in, there where 11 showers and only once we had to wait.

Two portacabin toilets in the field, one old but clean and one new and modern.

The laundry was a god send, and the wardens where really helpful.

The shop in the car park was open till late and most days there was a snack bar in the car park for breakfast baps and lunch snacks.

It really was a holiday we will remember we beached walked had bbqs and went in rock pools.

We were on a budget and Treyarnon allowed us to stay within it as the kids had no choice but to get back to basics and a proper family holiday like we all remember. We could not take our dog but Sindy had a holiday with my mum.

Treyarnon would not be everyones cup of tea but it most certainly was ours and we will return and recommend it to our friends, just hope it does not change as most places do. I think it is like our holidays were in the 70's. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Treyarnon Bay Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Treyarnon Bay Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Treyarnon Bay Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3258 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement