Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Royal Oak

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Staveley > The Royal Oak > Reviews

The Royal Oak
Main Street
Staveley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG5 9LD
Tel: 01423 340267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackrascals 11 reviews from this member

 Little gem of a site, lovely walled garden Pitches on grass, electricity, water and Elsan point.

Fabulous beer garden behind the Pub. Gorgeous food and lovely!

Friendly hard working Hosts!

No tents, motorhomes, camper vans and caravans - ground might get a bit soft in the wetter months.

Highly recommended otherwise! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Rachel 1 review from this member

 We loved staying here. The pub food was fantastic and being able to walk straight to the large nature reserve was heaven!

The owner of the pub and her daughter were really friendly and helpful for local wildlife knowledge. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Little miss talbot 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely quiet little site.

Good points: Great pub, and great food. Lovely people. Quiet site.

Not so Good points: truly basic. No facilities other than electric point. Fine if your in caravan but not so good for a tent. And Long grass.

It's a great spot to stop over on your way somewhere but probably not somewhere you would pitch for a week.

I think it's a work in progress as there was a huge pile of small gravel in the car-park and some along the path down. Would be an excellent little place if they could just create some basic facilities, like a toilet, and an Elsan point and maybe keep the grass cut?

We will definitely go again, (and see if anything improves?) 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redsue 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights (weekend). The pub is fantastic, food very very good and the service was excellent. Staff are very friendly. The price is reasonable, however the facilities are very basic. The grass field is very boggy on one side but this was the only side we could use as the other side seems to be taken up by permanent couple of plots. Also the grass was very long, as were the nettles around the electric boxes. I know these things grow quick, but I had booked a couple of weeks in advance so really it should have been cut back around the electric boxes so they could be easily used. There was plenty of talk in the pub about the Tour de France coming next year and the visit of plenty of visitors. I do think they need to smarten the field up a little bit first. Having said that, I did enjoy our visit to the pub, just wish the field was slightly more looked after. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gary.m. 2 reviews from this member

 This nice little site is open all year around, we stayed for 2 nights in late February, the weather was good at first, we did a bit of walking and the beer and food in the pub was first class.

However

We are in the camping and caravan club and regularly go on rallies and to be honest we have stayed on better fields!

On the first night we witnessed a motorhome being towed IN by a local with a big 4 X 4, and the following night another motorhome had to be pulled out by the local farmer on his tractor. The track into the site is just a mud track therefore if its wet its just as bad trying to get into the site as getting back out.

It took us hour to get out on the Sunday morning (it was raining) and we have a 4 x 4! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bob58 3 reviews from this member

 As has been previously stated this site really is a hidden gem. Set in the walled garden at the back of the pub, no amenities at all apart from electric hook up so you need to be self sufficient with relation to sanitation etc

Owners very friendly and helpful, good location for exploring surrounding area with excellent walks from the site around the local nature reserve

Good selection of real ales in the pub which has a very welcoming atmosphere with excellent food 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikinoo 1 review from this member

 This is a little village, with a very nice little country pub. Nice beer garden to the front and the pub does really nice food.

The back garden is the camping ground, a square walled field with the very back made into an allotment patch for the villagers I think. There were a few caravans staying there who looked long term but seemed friendly and nice.

We were staying in a tent and were told upon booking that there were no facilities; however we could use the pub toilets. This was fine for us as we were only staying one night but didn't realise that when the pub was shut we had nowhere to go to use the loo. Whilst we were there the pub was open 12noon-3pm and 5pm-11pm, not good when you wake first thing in the morning desperate for the toilet!

Nice site but I think charging us 10 for the night was a bit pricey! 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: UnclePete 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night at The Royal Oak on our way to North Yorkshire for a long weekend. Good flat walled field with a central access track from the pub's rear carpark.

No facilities apart from the pub toilets. Plenty of electric hook ups along the sides of field. Large wooden kids' climbing frame at the top of the field.

Well behaved children are welcome in the pub.

Very fine Black sheep bitter on the bar, and the food was excellent as well. I had a shrimp starter which was fantastic!

Will stop here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Izzybbb 2 reviews from this member

 Bit reluctant to review as this site is a little gem, and it would be a shame if it got spoiled. I want to keep it to myself!

The owners were extremely friendly, more than helpful. You can use the loos when the pub is open (very smart and clean) but you really need your own facilities. There's a nice play area, and the site is in a walled grassed area, very sheltered,a little suntrap. It was very reasonable as well. We had electric hookup.

The Royal Oak itself was a delight, with a few real ales, and the food was out of this world, they have 2 really good chefs. It was so nice we ate there twice! Booking recommended. The locals were extremely welcoming, one even gave us a lift into nearby Knaresborough.

An ideal stop-off to/from Scotland as its only about 3 miles from the busy A1, but the site, pub and village was a tranquil delight. Nearest shop probably Boroughbridge. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Royal Oak child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Royal Oak?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Royal Oak dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Staveley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement