Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Saules

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Camping Les Saules
Les Saules
41700 Cheverny
Loire
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41700
Tel: +33 2 54 79 90 01
    Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 164
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 62 reviews from this member

We visit here in June and September and stay for at least 2 weeks. It always seems to be our little place in France. In my opinion this is the best campsite in France. The toilet blocks are superb (there are two) nothing to pay always hot and British toilets with paper. Bread can be ordered each morning and there is a lounge where you get good wi fi connection. Very close to Cheverny with all it has to offer. Close to Blois and Contres where there ample supermarkets etc. The delights of the Loire region are on your doorstep. The owner Laurent, is simply wonderful and now you can see why I regard this as the best in France

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Travelinglight 6 reviews from this member

Great site and can confirm previous comments are all spot on. Friendly welcome and fantastic area, so much to see spoilt for choice. The chateau at Cheverny is wonderful. We also visited the city of Blois.

The site also sells tickets to certain places to visit and they do save you money.

We are hoping to return, can't wait.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 62 reviews from this member

I never thought we'd go back to the same site but we have visited this site now several times. There's no need to state at length the virtues of this site because it's been said by others. I just agree with all that's been said. Special mention to the site owners Laurent and Isabelle. These are two wonderful people who cannot do enough for you. It's a great site for staying and making a holiday here or using as a stop on your way south. Plenty to do for your children too. In the heart of the Loire so give this site a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MrWez 14 reviews from this member

We stayed at Camping Les Saules in mid to late June during a period of very hot weather, our primary reasons for choosing the site was that it had a pool and it was in the ACSI scheme. The pool was an absolute godsend and at €17 per night under the ACSI scheme, exceptional value.

The site is a mile and a half south of the village of Cheverny, the approach can be hard to spot when travelling at the speed limit, some warning or countdown signs would be helpful.

The staff at reception were extremely friendly, helpful and spoke English amongst other languages, they provided us with a map of the free pitches and asked us to select one we liked best. The majority of pitches are in a wooded area, the trees are very tall and provide a good amount of shade, the pitches are reasonably sized with some immature hedges separating the pitches. The ground would be grass if it wasn’t for the hot weather, the trees were also losing their leaves (again due to the hot weather), giving the place an autumnal feel. The electric hook up points are adjacent to the pitch and there are numerous water points scattered around.

There are two toilet blocks, the one nearest the pool has the unisex yet divided loos and separate showers, as this was nearest to us that was the one we used so we can’t vouch for the other loos. Those we used were spotlessly clean and unusually for a French campsite provided toilet seats, centrally distributed paper, soap and a dryer (often one of the four is missing). There was always plenty of hot water in the showers. The other toilet block on the far side of the wooded area has the motorhome service area behind it and this loo block also has the chemical toilet disposal point (it’s in the corner nearest the motorhome service area).

The swimming pools, snack bar, bar, shop, tv/games room and reception are all clustered closely together, the restaurant wasn’t open during our stay but the snack bar produced a very reasonable pizza. Bread and viennoiserie can be ordered by filling in the form in the TV room the evening before although the goods are collected from reception in the morning. There are two large pools one outside, the other under a canopy, neither were particularly busy during our visit but they were very refreshing in the hot weather!

Cheverny itself can be reached in 15-20 minutes by cycling along a cycle route, some of which is off road, the remainder is on quiet country lanes, you only have to cycle on the main road when you reach the village. There is a boulangerie, a couple of épicierie, bars and restaurants and a château in the village, if you want a greater range of groceries, a butcher and more bars and restaurants then you have to go to Cour-Cheverny which is a further 5 minute cycle ride further on.

The château is a fine looking building which is said to be the inspiration for Marlinspike Hall in the Tin-Tin stories (to which there is a museum), the grounds themselves are very reminiscent of the grand English houses from the regency period. There’s a lovely kitchen garden which is close to where the hounds are kept, in the grounds there’s an orangery which serves ice creams, snacks, drinks and meals. We sat inside for lunch because it was cooler, lunch itself was very good and reasonably priced. A tour of the château itself is recommended, the family that own it still live in one wing.

At the entrance there are gift shops and an épicierie, there is also a cave where you can taste the Cheverny wine for free. The wine itself is very nice (we bought 12 bottles), however, the wine tasting experience itself wasn’t very engaging.

Camping Les Saules has a great deal to recommend it however, for us the customer service was amongst the best we’d experienced on this tour, the staff were friendly, engaging and eager to please. If we were in the area we would definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Colin2444 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 7 nights from 28th May to 3rd June 2017. We took the tent instead of the caravan this holiday and our bikes. We found the campsite and went to book in. We had paid a deposit by card and we were expecting to pay the remainder there and then, however, the very friendly receptionist just asked for the booking reference and some ID(I used my C&CC Card) and we were shown to our pitch by the very friendly owner. No mention was made of the outstanding amount. There are 2 shower and toilet blocks, we were pitched in the middle of the campsite and was equidistant from both of them, the one near the pool has unisex Toilets, albeit split in two, with separate showers and sinks, which were always very clean, both had washing up facilities and clothes washing sinks. The site is large and all the pitches are separated by trees, the pitches are very large and level. There are 2 swimming pools on the site, one is outdoors and the other has a cover but the sides can be raised, which the owner did daily and covered them at night, so they were warm.

There are many cycle tracks in the area and they pass by the site. We cycled to Chambourd, Amboix and a few other circular trips. The tracks are either off road or on very quiet side roads, we very rarely saw a car, but plenty of cyclists, all who were very friendly and helpful when you took the wrong turn.

We Drove to Sancerre for the vinyards and the wine. We also drove to Chenonceaux(not sure of spelling) where the chateau is accross a river. We Booked well in advance and the site was very reasonable at around £15 a night.

I can recommend this site and will be going back

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speedy1256 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 8 nights middle to end of the month. Great area for cycling and walking etc not much was going on when we where there but this was maybe down to low season the place was quiet empty as it was near the end of August when we arrived. Not much for an 8 yr old to do but she got on with it, the bar was ok the food also, overall it was ok I was not impressed with the amount of noise from the the long road which runs along side the site late at night and early in the morning but that maybe just me and for that reason I would not go back but the owner was fantastic and the toilets where just ok water was not very hot for that time of the year. The pitch was great which gave us the morning sun. Overall from my point of view ok site but as I said already road noise will keep me away.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Juniemoon 12 reviews from this member

It was a real shame because the weather was awful this particular weekend. The site is in a forest of silver birch trees and is very pretty when the sun shines through. Pitches are level mostly and nice big areas. The toilets were clean, but because they're quite open to the elements were quite cold and drafty this particular weekend; toilet paper is supplied but you have to collect how much you need at the entrance to the toilet block. Washing machine/tumble dryer available, but you need to buy tokens at the office. The bar area and shop were well stocked, and the lady opened the shop especially for us when we arrived. We didn't eat there, so can't review, however it did seem to be pretty busy. The swimming pool is now covered (unlike the photo shows) and apparently is 'very warm'. Rubbish and recycling is a fair hike to the entrance of the site. Everyone very friendly, and always a happy smile.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ct955 39 reviews from this member

We spent 6 nights here. Check in was easy, staff all very friendly and helpful. The owner cycled round the site several times a day. We were given a choice of pitches, as it got busier people were directed to specific pitches. We did not feel overcrowded and had plenty of room to park caravan, full awning and car next to each other and still have plenty of room for table and chairs in the sun or dappled shade of the trees.

Pitches are separated by trees rather than hedges so not as private as some but this was not a problem. Although busy it was always quiet from about 10:30 pm.

Swimming pools were lovely and there is still playing field and walk, didn't try other activities.

Bar takeaway and restaurant were all very good.

Lots to see and do in the area, Blois was nice for a day out also Cheverny chateau and village. There is a large supermarket 5k down the road. We had bread every day from the site shop.

If you like cycling this is the place for you, our neighbours did several rides using maps from reception and said they were excellent. #

Facilities were very french and always clean and tidy.

We would definitely return

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shavedgoat 1 review from this member

We had eight nights a Les Saules, and it was a brilliant stay! We have camped in the UK, but this was our first experience in France. I was keen to make sure it was a good experience and read lots of reviews carefully before we booked. I made a really good choice!

The first thing that struck me was the friendliness of the staff. I was worried that my rudimentary French wouldn't hold up, but everyone spoke perfect English very happily. Check-in was a breeze, and as others have stated it was great fun following the man on the bike to our pitch. The owner came around shortly afterwards to make sure we had everything we needed, and was always on hand to help out. The pitch was big (easily taking a Kalahari 8 plus porch, a car, and table/seating) and the electric hook-up was standard fitting. It was very level and smooth, making pitching easy, although the ground was hard.

The kids loved the amenities. Free crazy golf, table tennis, wifi were a real bonus, and the pool was very pleasant. There is a fairly large games field for playing, and a 'walking' area with a trail cut out of a meadow with fitness equipment and info about local birds. We also liked the catering. We had takeout pizza and chips several nights, which were pretty standard prices. We also tried the menu of the day in the restaurant and had a lovely meal. The menu changed every day with local dishes & produce - pretty straightforward but done nicely, and good value at 18 Euros for three courses. We also ordered fresh bread and croissants every day, and the kids said these were better than those bought elsewhere.

The area is lovely. There are loads of vineyards & chateaux to explore, and Cheverny village was very pleasant. It was geared for tourists and presented very well. We also hired bikes from the site and followed a short family route around the area. This was very well signposted and easy to ride. A great value afternoon out.

The facilities at the site aren't new and are a little dated, but they were always very clean. Showers had plenty of hot water, and they never got too busy despite the site being full. A laundry proved useful, and good value.

Others felt the site was a bit cramped, but we didn't agree. There was a logic to the layout and plenty of space. Even though there were lots staying there it didn't get too noisy and we didn't feel overlooked. It stayed very quiet from 10. 30pm until 8. 30am and we always got a good night's sleep. The pitches are quite shady as they are mainly tree-lined, but we felt this was a bonus as it kept the morning sun off the tent. The sun did hit our seating area and we enjoyed evening sunshine (with a nice glass of wine!) and felt we had the best of both worlds.

We had everything we wanted from our first French experience. We aren't a family that goes for theme-park sites and so this one fit the bill beautifully. If we wanted hundreds of pitches and lots of water slides we would have looked elsewhere, but we were very pleased with our choice and would definitely recommend it to like-minded people. Top marks from us!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rae_t 23 reviews from this member

Arrived two days earlier than booked after having to escape a horrendous site in Royan but the staff were welcoming and let us in. We really loved this site! Yes it was busy but the pitches were large and space wasn't a problem. The site owner rode around on his bike smiling and waving and would stop to chat. The kids loved the pool (although for the amount of campers it was a tad too small), the playgrounds, mini golf, TV room (free wifi) kid's club and exercise area. We used it as a base for exploring places for too numerous to list (read the guide book) but the main draw was Tintin's museum in the nearby chateau!

This is a lovely area with lots of green space, cycle paths, quaint shops etc but only a ten minute drive to the nearest supermarket should you need it. As cheapskates, we didn't eat in the on site restaurant but it looked lovely! The shop was great too as it stocked locally brewed beer so for beer snobs like us that was a bonus. Also available was fresh bread and croissants in the morning, if ordered the night before.

This site is family run and it has a nice feel to it, we were relaxed about letting the kids explore on their own. Staff were helpful and spoke better English than my French. Facilities - toilets, showers etc were clean but busy due to the fact that it was peak camping season.

A nice site in a nice area. Very happy with this one.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -    All Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3218 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938