Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mannix Point Camping And Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > S Ireland > Site Reviews

Mannix Point Camping And Caravan Park
Cahirciveen
Ring Of Kerry
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: +353 66 9472806
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 42
Open: 15th. March To 15th. October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ewen c 13 reviews from this member

This site ticks all the boxes. Great location, great facilities and warm welcome.

Situated on the ring of Kerry within easy walking distance of Cahersiveen, Mannix is a popular site that is also peaceful. We had a pitch on the high field with views over the river. There is no parking next to your pitch but the car is pretty close so not a problem. The pitches are generous with ehu and rock pegs were not required. Drainage is excellent. Our first night was very rainy but the pitch wasn't muddy or wet.

The site is planted with palms and flowers and there is outdoor seating at reception, a sitting room that holds music sessions, a laundry, pot wash and an excellent kitchen. All this and the showers and toilets were kept spotless.

It almost felt like a continental site as the clientele are from all over. We had Basque, Irish, UK, US and Spanish neighbours and I got the chance to speak French in the French cafe in town.

I can't recommend this site enough. If you are in Kerry then you have to stay here and it was midge free.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aplpdf22 3 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant site. The views are to die for, it is within walking distance of the town and has direct access to the estuary and shingle beach. Showers and toilets very clean. The facilities are the best I have ever seen for tents there is a fully equipped kitchen and lounge for their use, well equipped dish and clothes washing facilities. Very hospitable welcome, we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sprintster 2 reviews from this member

Possibly the best campsite in Ireland. Certainly the best site I've ever stayed on anywhere!

Beautiful setting, I had a small tent pitched right by the water's edge. Large tents have large pitches marked out in the camping field behind. Terrific facilities, the sitting room with peat fire is a great place to sit if the weather is cooler. There's also plenty of covered outdoor seating as well. The fully equipped kitchen and dining area and the toilets were always clean and were a pleasure to use. A lot of effort seems have to gone into making this campsite just a little bit more special and not just functional. Would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Balfour 14 reviews from this member

Loved every minute of our stay. Music until 12 midnight on Friday two wonderful guitarists great crack. Very homely. No airs and graces here. Good rustic site, no tarmac or concrete, gravel roads and pitches with grass, to make it clinical would ruin the ambience of the site. Amenities adequate and very clean some would give them 3 star due to age of them, not for me the site as a whole was worth 4 to 5 stars. Thanks to teh owners, were like friends. Love cats and they have two ginger ones Whiskey and Brandy. Views to die for. Gravel pitches, water and electric, chemical waste and grey water disposal. Communal sitting/music room turf fire every night. Laundry room and communal kitchen with benches. Will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campernic 5 reviews from this member

Mannix Point is a campsite very near Caherciveen on the west coast of the Ring of Kerry. It is well placed for visiting Valencia Island, Derrynane House, Killarney National Park, Muckross House and the Macgillycuddy Reeks mountain range. The site itself is right on the coast, with views of Killylan Mountain and Valentia Island. The facilities are in a converted fishermans cottage, with the owners living space added on to one end. The best thing about this site is the campers facilities, a sitting room, kitchen and dining room all fully equipped. The sitting room has musical instruments available for anyone who wants to use them and there are times when people gather to play instruments, sing and dance and these gatherings are not orchestrated, they just happen. They happen particularly coming up to festival time, which is the first weekend in August.

The kitchen is a godsend to backpackers as it is fully equipped with dishes and cooking pots etc. There is a microwave, two fridges and a freezer, as well as a row of gas hobs for cooking on.

There is a laundry area and a dishwashing area, with rotary airers nearby in the 'back garden' with pegs available for drying clothes. There is also an outside covered barbecue area and if you ask you can use or take to your pitch, a fire pit or a barbecue. Mortimer, who runs the site, is incredibly helpful and nothing is too much trouble for him. The landscaping is colourful with abundant flowers and the whole site is very pretty. The view from the site is outstanding. My favourite site in Ireland, we will be back!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 46 reviews from this member

My husbands favourite site in Ireland. Very good facilities with campers kitchen, lounge with fireplace, bbq area and Wi-Fi access. The office has plenty of local information and a pc for internet access.

The site is on the edge of a bay and is made up of several small areas, all with good views and separated by hedging and trees. When the tide is out there is a small stony beach. We had a pitch at the far corner of the site and watched some glorious sun sets and also seals bobbing around in the sea just meters from our van.

The local town (15 minute walk) has lots of bars, restaurants and shops. The fishmonger sells local mussels and langoustine which we cooked up in the van and were absolutely delicious.

Would definitely recommend this site to anyone wanting to stop off somewhere while driving the Kerry peninsula.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

This is a very friendly site. Pat and Mortimer always had a smile on their faces (and why wouldn't they with such beautiful surroundings!). Our pitch was overlooking the sea with mountains behind. Perfect. There was lots of information about the local area at reception. The facilities are really good with a good cooking area and lounge room. I believe there are usually music sessions there most nights but we didn't go to any of them.

The showers were 1 euro tokens for 5 minutes but the water pressure was really good and the water hot.

We drove around The Ring of Kerry one day stopping at various points along the way. The scenery is spectacular. Another day we drove over to Valentia Island. The Skellig Experience was rubbish and a waste of money. Don't bother! However, we went up to the Fogher Cliffs, Geokaun Mountain, the grotto and Knightstown all of which were well worth a visit. We would have liked to have gone over to St Michael's Monastry but ran out of time.

The Ring of kerry hotel is around a 5 minute walk from the road and has a nice bar and serves good food. Caherciveen is around a 15 minute walk from the road with pubs. The site itself is around 300 metres from the main road so takes 5 minutes to walk to the main road. At night time we drove up to the main road and parked at a parking bay (I think a drop off area for school kids). A bit naughty but no-one was around at that time of night and it made a more pleasant walk into town. I think others had the same idea as there were a few more cars parked there.

All in all we enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pauatkn 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a beautiful, stunning location. The scenery from the site is amazing, we looked out of our tent across the views of the water. Facilities very clean and fresh.

The owners were very helpful, friendly and hospitable with a great knowledge of the area.

There are lots of places to visit in the surrounding area.

Would recommend this site and plan to go back when next in Ireland.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Williamarcher 1 review from this member

Mannix Point is a great campsite. Wonderful facilities, the bathrooms are spacious and very clean, the kitchen is also large and well looked after, as are the laundry facilities. There is a nice communal room with a peat fire which keeps everyone warm on kerry's cooler nights! and instruments/books to keep most people occupied. The site itself is beautiful although fairly exposed to the prevailing south westerly, but the owner, Mortimer, is very helpful in pointing out the more sheltered areas on site for tents. Also a little close town for some but very useful for supplies and activities on rainy days.

Other nice aspect is the effort to install solar heated showers, low energy lighting and recycling.

Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Margaret G 2 reviews from this member

I have stayed on this beautiful campsite before and each time it is more beautiful. The surroundings are amazing, views, wildlife, flora, castles, the list is endless. Everyone is friendly, especially Mortimer who is able to help with any information needed. The facilities are way above the norm with a sitting room with a turf fire, music sessions and friendly people of all nationalities. The camper's kitchen has to be seen to be believed, a real plus for anyone in a tent. Anyway I could go on all night so I will leave you to find out for yourself. See you there !

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


990 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!