Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Les Prairies De La Mer

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Provence - Cote D Azur > Port Grimaud > Camping Les Prairies De La Mer Reviews

Camping Les Prairies De La Mer
Route Du Littoral
Port Grimaud
Provence - Cote D Azur   (Browse area)
83310
Tel: 0033 04 94 79 09 09
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Latecamper 4 reviews from this member

 We have visited this regularly over the last ten years. All the positives of the site previously mentioned by other reviewers remain. However in the time we have been going many of the camping pitches have been converted to mobile homes, leaving a reduced number of camping pitches. This year was a shock to us - a vast area with large trees (ideal for tents) was stripped bare and covered in mobile homes. The camping pitches that are left are generally unsatisfactory.

Many are very small and lots have awkwardly placed trees making use by motorhomes extremely difficult. Some of the pitches are in single rows because of the shape of the ground remaining. This means there is no 'back' to the pitch. Eg you have a road on both sides of your unit. Not ideal at all.

We have a tent so the size is not quite so critical but it was still a tight squeeze.

The vast majority of the site comprises mobile homes. Campers have been pushed into a tiny dusty corner of the site.

Additionally the sanitaires were not being maintained well. They are cleaned but taps remained broken some I remember broken from last year. Some of the drains in the showers do not run well. The door hinges and locks are unreliable. All a bit sad.

I do wonder if there will be any camnping pitches at all next year.

We moved next door to Camping de la Plage which remains unchanged. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SW307 20 reviews from this member

 Negatives first - Arrived on Saturday 16th Aug and it was a chaotic scene, not enough space if several vans turn up at the same time, which they had. Our friend damaged her van after bing directed to move, rather insistently by the camp site staff, despite there being very little room to do so and complete ignorance from other drivers trying to leave the site. Her van was quite badly damaged after striking a motor home. Tip here is to ignore the site staff and let them make other people move. Despite having 'reserved' pitches together a year ago you have to hop on a golf buggy and pick from what is available. Pitches vary in size and the ones near the road would be a complete no no for us. The chances of getting 2 pitches together were minimal, non existent really, unless one of us was prepared to move a couple of days later. We didn't bother, if the kids had been younger we would have had no choice. The road is very noisy, I would have been appalled if I had to have one of them, so I suppose picking your own in that circumstance is a blessing. The facilities on the first night were not of a good standard, they were filthy and people were hanging out in them, so much litter in the morning, really felt for the lady cleaning them. Booked a table at one of the on site restaurants on our last night only to find when we arrived it had been given to a French family who had literally wandered up before and asked if there was one. The guy then said he couldn't seat us. We were not impressed. Went up to the next restaurant and this was even busier but the waitress kindly let us order pizza to take away, when we explained what had happened.

Positives - The camping area is a very small part of the site now, probably about a 100 pitches, some were a good size, some tiny. Real hit and miss. The majority of the site is given up to huts, statics etc, with a good mix of nationalities using these. Once we had a pitch all was fine, no space for the car, but this is not unusual in these sorts of areas. After the first night the facilities were much improved and cleaned regularly during the day. You just can't account for other people's standards at times! There were 2 good supermarkets on site, both doing fresh bread, pastries etc. Can recommend both the para sailing and the scuba diving, which are available on the site. There were 2 lovely beaches and the water was cool but clear and refreshing, was very hot! The site is ideally placed for St Tropez, with stunning views across the bay. A five minute stroll into Port Grimaud brings you to a delightful little town with an abundance of shops and restaurants with weekly markets and ice cream shops. Absolutely lovely. We ate out at a couple of different places and had very good food. We caught the boat into St Tropez, 12 euros return, and had a good wander round. The on site facilities are excellent (if you can get a table!) with a choice of eating and drinking places to visit. The beach side lunch shack was good value, canned drinks were eye wateringly expensive though all over the area, an easy way to lose money! Chilled water was free though, you just had to ask.

To summarise - this is a really great site with a lot on offer in a great area. We had a really good holiday BUT there are just things that let it down quite badly for me and for this reason I would be cautious about returning. For instance if you arrive after a very long drive and the only pitches available aren't big enough or next to the road then you're going to have keep an eye out for a pitch and move, there was plenty of this going on. I cannot imagine what it was like during the previous 4 weeks, we were there at the supposedly quieter time of the holidays, but it was very busy. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pooh and Gruffalo 23 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site and we would certainly return. Reception was very friendly. We used our ACSI card to stay at 16 euros a night. The ACSI plots are about average size for the south of France, some bigger and some smaller depending on the siting of the trees which offered a lot of shade and also kept the wind at bay. The site was very full during our stay with few vacant pitches to choose from. This is a five star site and normal prices shown on the gate reflect this. It was lovely to enjoy 5 star facilities at 16 euros. Most of the people we met here seemed to use this as a destination site and stay several days or weeks. The lovely little port of Port Grimaud is within walking distance. This site covers a very large area and a lot of the remaining area is taken up with chalet type accommodation. It has a large private beach area which is sandy with good swimming and some excellent views over the water to St Tropez, especially at sunset. Here there are several beach bars and restaurants along its length as well as take away, shopping and entertainment facilities behind this. The site runs concerts in this central area on several days a week. The toilet blocks are super clean and were a surprise in themselves with names like El Passo, Pompeii, Marakesh and tiling, architecture to reflect the names. A lot of shower cubicles had individual sinks in the dry area. Our only criticisms were that we could only find water points at the toilet blocks and also that the cleaners would close half the showers for cleaning at peak times (9am) resulting in queues forming for the remaining showers. All in all though a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: THE REAL FATBOY 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one week in July, cost about 60 euros a night for three adults. Site full and pitches small and dusty. But if you want to stay on one of the best coasts in the world then do not be surprised when everyone else wants to as well. The site has all you need and has a great atmosphere. The staff are helpful and polite, Showers were clean and well maintained. Shops were well stocked but pricey. Bars were busy, noisy and had a good atmosphere. Restaurants were clean and the food was good. If you want a good time, come here. If you want peace and quiet, stay in the hills. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loco12 3 reviews from this member

 What a great place to stay!

We have just returned from a couple of weeks at this site and another on the way back and all I can say is I would stay there again tomorrow if we could.

A massive site? Yes, it sure is. We were at one end and it took 15 minutes to walk through the site to Port Grimaud. And it was chock a'block full. I didn't see any spar spaces. But I have to say it never felt over crowded, except for on the beach at noon-6pm.

The whole touring caravan area is covered by a tree canopy and so no one has the very hot sun baking down on them. We still put up our awning ( no sides neeed!) for extra shade.

The site has a variety of nationalities. Danes, Dutch, Poles, Slovakians and Brits make up the numbers.

Besch is great ( though sea was slightly chilly!) Bars, supermarket, restaurants etc are all on site. Geant is a 5 minute drive away.

You must try the local rose wine. Simply fantastic. Brought back 20 bottles but almost all gone.

Ferry to St Tropez is from Port Grimaud, a short walk. St Trop a must visit. Other nearby villages like Grimaud and Ramatuelle also lovely, as is St Maxime 4 miles away.

All in all a highly recommended site. I have a Swift Conqueror twin axle 630 SAL and probably had one of the biggest units on site. If you are twin axle they need to know as only certain pitches are big enough. We all had to man handle the caravan into place but have no fear there are always plenty of people around to lend a hand. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacquimj 1 review from this member

 I love this site, we have been many times since I was a teenager, now travelling with my own family. I love how you can walk to the beach, walk to the shops the only time we used the car was to go to the supermarket, although with two on site mini marts you didn't need to only for better prices.

The touring pitches were not large but we did fit our Kyham Ultimate Classic XL, our trailer and our car all on the pitch.

There are a number of different bars and restaurants on site and if you cant find something to eat plenty of restaurants in Port Grimaud. There is a lovely market twice a week which has arts and crafts, tablecloths, souvenirs, as well as all the local produce.

The only thing my kids miss is a pool and we took a trip to aqualand in Ste Maxime, just up the road, if you can stand the queuing traffic,

A site I will visit over and over for it is a superb location on the beach 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jcs5patter 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 7 nights in June 2008.

The site is huge and offers every possible facility you will need.

The onsite supermarket stocks everything, but we found the local Hypermarket (Geant) very cheap. Some people on the site were driving or cycling to Geant, but we found that it was an easy walk at 2km.

There is entertainment every night and the music from the bar can be noisy, but immediately at 11pm, it seemed to stop.

Toilets and showers were modern and nicely kept. Even though the site was huge and absolutely packed with people, the facilites coped very well.

Port Grimaud is beautiful and offers several very nice restaurants. You can also catch the boat to St Tropez from the Port (only 11 euros return).

The site is right on the beach, so just a short stroll and no roads to deal with.

My only negative point would be that we arrived on a very busy Saturday afternoon and had to wait almost 2 hours to be shown to a pitch (they insist that they take you, you can't just go yourself). There are 2 entrances to the site, so if I were to go again, I would enter the site by the quieter entrance from Port Grimaud, rather than the main entrance from the St Maxime Direction.

I also found that the pitches were very close together, but I suppose that in a busy and popular place like the South of France, this is to be expected.

On the whole, very good site, would definitely recommend and would go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Avante505 5 reviews from this member

 Used this site last year. It is enormous, but very well run. When we went it was peak time and absolutely choc bang full. Having said that, the on site amenities were more than able to cope.

There are two entrances to the site which gives you an indication of it's size. On arrival you are shown to your pitch. We had a very tight squeeze because of the size of our trailer tent. People in tourers faired much better. The guy next to us had a twin axle unit and he had no problems, although we had to push his van into place because he was towing with a Range Rover!

There are two supermarkets at either end of the site, which are stocked with everthing you could need including a bakery. There is a hyper market close by, but the roads are a nightmare so if you do go, early morning or evenings are the best time. There is a take away. Pizzas, roast chicken etc. There are local markets which are absolutely fantastic, and well worth a visit for fresh produce which is reasonably priced. Also there are 2 beach bars and a site bar with sky tv. It also has entertainment every night which was excellent, and we don't usually bother but as I say it really was very good.

There are toilet and shower blocks all around the site which were always clean and English style. There is also a launderette in fact everything you could need.

The real beauty of this site is the fact it is right on the beach so you don't have the worry of crossing the busy road. Situated next door is the resort of Port Grimaud which is beutiful and picturesque. From here you can catch ferries to St Tropez and all the way up the Cote D' Azur, Nice, Cannes etc.

We had a great time and will definitely be going back in the future. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Les Prairies De La Mer child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Les Prairies De La Mer ?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Les Prairies De La Mer dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Port Grimaud      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Provence - Cote D Azur

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5399 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement