Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Jeugdstadion

Campsite Search > Europe > Belgium > Ypres > Camping Jeugdstadion Reviews

Camping Jeugdstadion
Bolwerkstraat 1, B 8900
Ieper
Ypres
Belgium   (Browse area)

Tel: +32 057 21 72 82
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 21 caravan / 50 tent
Open: 1 March To 12 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 61 Reviews
                8/10 from 61 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

Excellent site within 10 minutes walk of Ypres centre and Menin Gate.

Facilities on site are great and there is lots to do in the area.

Great value.

Will certainly return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigart 11 reviews from this member

This is the third or fourth time we have stayed here, only booked a m-home pitch.

Menim gate at 8pm never fails to hit home when the bugles start to play, this being around a ten minute walk from the site,

The facilities are adequate, only downside is the automatic booking in system, when if you are like me not very good with computers, but eventually I worked it out.

This was a very rare time as only about 2/3rds of pitches where full, may be a sign of the times as there seemed to be less British Vans than usual every where we went

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackwinguk 9 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd trip to this campsite and sure we will be back again. It has all you need for a lovely break, touring the Battlefields, cemeteries and memorials. It's just a 15 minute walk into Ypres alone the ramparts.

I only give 9 out of 10 as the facilities block is getting a bit tired and on busier days you get the noise from the Stadium. Otherwise would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phishing 23 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed this site. Bit worried by some reviews and don't normally stay in town locations but found this to be really good.

Location is right on the edge of the town but still quite rural, plenty of woodland walks and the adjacent waterway around the town is also excellent for walking.

Different pitches, motorhome, camping, touring. The site does have a high turnover as it is a stopping point for the Brits but is a nice site in its own right. Facilities are plentiful and Ok, not the best we have ever seen but clean and functional.

Ypres is a really nice small town and the WW1 history dominates, the ceremony at the gate every night is very nice and a must-do.

Town center is 10 min walk via the gate but better to cross on the modern footbridge and go up the steps through the gardens to the town, much nicer walk.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cruz 4 reviews from this member

Just to reconfirm that the previous reviews are still valid.

This is a great spot for visiting the wonderful town of Ypres (what a splendid rebuilding job they did) and the Menin Gate, which is a very moving experience.

I'd recommend it to everyone

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Turner2 52 reviews from this member

Had the site recommended by a friend and it certainly lived up to expectations.

The site is great value for money at 15 Euro. The reservation system is all automatic and works well so just phone to book a pitch and they email you back with your pitch number etc. And then pay at the end of your stay.

Just minutes away from the town and the Menin Gate. Like previous reviewers be there at 7. 30pm to get a place to view the 'Last Post' ceremony.

Lots of bars and restaurants in town.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shiny and co 3 reviews from this member

Dont be fooled by your first impression on arrival! The industrial estate isn't pretty but the camp makes up for it ! We stayed 3 nights. Overall good, pleasant 10 minute walk to the Menin Gate.

Clean site with spacious pitches. Showers need an upgrade but are ok. Basic site but quiet and friendly.

Great location for exploring the Flanders area.

Ypres itself has a great atmosphere.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 30 reviews from this member

We did not book but arrived fairly early, as later arrivals could not get in. The lady on reception was very helpful and friendly.

We had a big pitch which was reinforced with plastic mesh and 10A hookup. It had been very wet so grass and plants had grown well! This resulted in some mess in the shower block, which was thoroughly cleaned later in the day.

There was free wifi (code from reception) but you need to be close to the building for a good signal,

Showers were hot, I suspect the faci;ities could be stretched if the site is full.

The town centre is a short walk away with plenty of cafes and bars.

We attended the last post ceremony which was very moving, with a pipe band and lots of wreaths laid on the night we were there. My grandfather served in the area so t was special for us.

You need to get to the Menin Gate about 7. 30 if you want to see the ceremony as it gets crowded.

A pleasant site for a few days or more.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Retiredlancslad 1 review from this member

First visit to this site. We stayed 4 nights but most seem to stay 1 or 2 nights. Booking on line was straight forward and easy. Replies were quick. The motor home and other site both have hard standing. The tourist pitches one reinforced grass have water and electric hook up for only €3 extra per night. Well worth it.

The site is part of a park and sporting area and is open to public access although this did not create a problem. There are vehicle barriers.

The toilet facilities are in part of a building that seems to be hared by the athletic club and is quite basic but clean. There are three showers for men and three for women. There are only two toilet cubicles for men and this seems rather limited but I never found a queue. Water was warm and toilet paper is provided.

If the reception is closed there is an automatic check in but we never used this. There is an Aldi supermarket about 5 mins walk away and a good Spar slightly further away. There are two filling stations close by.

The walk into Ieper is very pleasant and takes about 10 mins to get into town. There is a pedestrian footbridge one way or along he road via the Menin Gate is slightly longer but again only about 10 mins.

The site is pleasantly wooded and grassed and well maintained. Cycle hire is possible. There is an industrial unit nearby that makes some noise and occasional varnish type smells although neither spoiled the stay and we would return. Good value for money

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Merryways 9 reviews from this member

We tried to book a 'touristic pitch' for the extra space, back in January, but these were fully booked so we had to use the Hardstanding Motorhome area. This was fine as we had and 'end' space. They are grouped in 3's with a grass edge, so if you are not in the middle you can use the grass, but the middle plots are cramped. However, it is cheap and very good value considering the location.

The shower pressure was not great, and they were operated by a push button at the edge of the cubicle, so you have to step outside the water to press the button each time! However they were clean and the water was warm.

Toilets clean with soap & paper provided.

No shop on site but the town is a short walk away.

Motorhome service point is good, water on a push button and a drive over drain.

We stayed for 2 nights and did an amazing Battlefields Tour with 'Flanders Battlefield Tours' - the guide had incredible knowledge and passion, and is also on the Last Post Committee so at the Menin Gate every night. Highly recommended if you have a spare afternoon.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Belgium

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3266 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019