Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rough Hey Wood Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Rough Hey Wood Campsite
Triangle
Stansfield Mill Lane
Sowerby Bridge
Halifax
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HX6 3NB
Tel: 01422 834586
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 50
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 91 Reviews
                8/10 from 91 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justthe2 1 review from this member

Excellent site, staff friendly. Quiet and relaxed Only gripe is for those of us with large tents it would be nice to take the car containing the gear to the selected pitch

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rachtighe 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, very helpful warden. Enjoyed being able to have a fire. Has a burger van & the ice cream man visits. Ehu was great. Very picturesque site and lovely walks. Will definitely be our favorite site to use when visiting my family in rochdale. What more can I say, 10/10!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robbo82 1 review from this member

This is a fantastic place. we were welcomed by the people running the site. The price I great value and the facilities are good and clean. I would recommend this camp site and will be camping here again. Thanks

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennidots 2 reviews from this member

This is a great campsite. My family camped with a larger group of other families that we know. We live fairly locally so it was ideal. We had loads of space to spread out and the kids loved that!

There are some great walks in the woods behind the camping field as well.

My only thing that was a minor irritation was the sink seemed to be blocked in the ladies toilets. It was still blocked the following day almost to the point of overflowing. It easier for kids to wash their hands in the toilet block sinks rather than in the washing up area.

For other campers to note. Take toilet roll and soap. There is a tesco and other shops in nearby sowerby bridge for all the essentials.

The car park gets pretty rammed. I put my name and number on some paper on the dash board so someone could locate me if I was required to move my car. Not many other folk did which then of course means you have to go round asking people on the site. No one minds as is par for the course but might make it easier. I don't know.

I will definitely return to this fabulous place. The owners of the site are really friendly. A lot of other sites would be hard to top to be honest.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jamesio 1 review from this member

Great camping spot! Went to Rough hey wood in our camper van and we loved it. Friendly wardens, good feel about the place and not forgetting the fire in the washing machine drum. Plenty of fire wood nearby too. Toilets are a bit grubby but if you are hardcore like us then it won't bother you at all. Great place, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Flamingteacher 11 reviews from this member

What a fantastic little site! The couple who are on site wardens are delightful. They were incredibly helpful and friendly. The facilities are very basic & could do with a few quid being spent on them; not for the faint hearted on a very wet, cold, windy Easter. However, the site lends out old washing machine drums that you sit on a couple of bricks for your own log fire. Logs are 5 a bag. Not only that I understood that the wardens are around in the evenings to ensure safety regarding the fires.

The location is ace, tucked away in woodland just off the main road linking Sowerby Bridge and Ripponden. Running alongside the site is a disused railway which offers a lovely dog walk, leading to Ripponden or SB.

The pub The Old Inn in Ripponden is very old and served great beer& food. Roaring log fires. Didn't eat there because they DON'T admit dogs

3 minutes down the hill is the wonderfully friendly Triangle Cricket Club. Cheap beer & a hard place to leave!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aless02 2 reviews from this member

Great campsite and a very rare find to have one that allows open fires!

Pitches are in a giant field, which if you can get *really* lucky, you might get EHU and a short walk to the toilets, but since there's no booking, it's a lottery. Speaking of 'no booking', we were a bit annoyed to be told this is the policy only to arrive to a couple roped off sections that the wardens must've been saving for their mates or similar. Thought that was a bit unfair, though the wardens were friendly and helpful enough in general. One thing is while their dog is nice, they should keep a bit better control as he got loose in the night and woke us up snuffling through our rubbish outside the tent!

That said, we'd definitely go back to Rough Hey in the quiet season. It's a beautiful setting with gorgeous woodland walks and close enough to Halifax for activities, etc. The kids did like the big open field for being able to play ball, etc, but you could only do this when it's quiet. Having a fire does makes this campsite a big plus.

The showers at least were lovely and hot!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jamessmith1976 1 review from this member

Loved this campsite. It was nice and chilling. Plenty of walks through the woods collecting wood to burn on the washer drums. Lots of friendly people on the site too. But do be prepared to walk with your camping gear, cause I couldn't park near tent and did block others in. So I guess better parking could be better, but that's only a small issue. Like it says, the roads are a bit tight, so be prepared to reserve the car a couple of times, unless you fall lucky. Overall a brill place

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pudseylee 1 review from this member

Fantastic site. Clean toilets, showers. Love the fact that you can build a fire in the burning bin (washing machine drum) provided.

Shops nearby. Lovely surroundings loved the woods and waterfall

I took my son 11 years and we had a great time, would deffinatley go back and bring my other son and husband

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alisonmk 1 review from this member

We stayed for 3 nights with our 3 children. Go with an expectation of the most basic, aging facilities - and take toilet roll, firelighters, a small saw and some money for the best hot chocolate my kids have ever seen!

It was quite busy when we arrived, but the site was clean, the owners were helpful. Our children loved building the fires.

We'd definitely use it again if we were looking for a few nights away without electricity.

Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2689 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!