Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rookley Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Rookley > Rookley Country Park Reviews

Rookley Country Park
Main Road
Rookley
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO38 3LU
Tel: 01983 721606
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BW81 1 review from this member

 We camped at Rookley Country Park for 2 nights, we arrived on the Friday and left Sunday morning. The grounds are lovely, as you drive in you have the lake and the club house. Plenty of things to keep the younger children entertained and bar and pool tables for the older crowd. Really good if you are into fishing as it has several lakes and own tackle shop. The grounds for camping are quite small but it was still an all round enjoyable weekend. The toilet and shower block are very close to the camping grounds. The toilet and shower block was in need of a professional refurb (very DIY at the moment) and cleanliness was really unacceptable. It was filthy on the Friday when we arrived and was not cleaned the whole weekend by the time we had left Sunday. There is rubbish left all over the place and the toilets themselves are disgusting. We had to resort to using the disabled toilet as it was the only one that was sort of clean. We realise that if the people using the facilities tidied up after themselves it would make it more bearable but a regular clean was badly needed. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tigerfan1 2 reviews from this member

 Camping field is ok it has about 8 hook-ups and the pitches are not marked so you get loads of room, downside is there is no lighting on the field and the only water point is down a slope next to the 2 washing up sinks. Toilets/Showers are clean but not very big, there is only 2 showers and cubicles for men and women, seems to be a bit of an after thought could do with some more work. The club house is very modern and clean with nice terrace overlooking one of the 4 lakes and kids entertainment is very good. Site does not have a shop but there is a shop just down the road. 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that after several years without, this site now accepts touring caravans and tents again. It continues to have holiday statics and bungalows for hire too. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyCraggs 1 review from this member

 We stayed here in August 2007 with three children. The Isle of Wight was excellent, but we found the site dissapointing. The indoor swimming pool and changing rooms weren't very clean. The two sinks for washing up made for long queues after mealtimes. The bar area was really nice, but many people suffered long waits for food. The management need to be more available to discuss any grievances. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moregees 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over the August Bank Holiday of 2007 with 3 children and overall were VERY pleased.
 
We arrived early (10.30 am) to be told it was too early to pitch, however I was informed that we could pitch anytime from 12 onwards.  We were told we could pitch anywhere as we were not electric hookup.  Pitching the tent was fine although the ground is quite hard a few inches down, but nothing a mallet couldn't sort out.  The site is up on a hill but did not seem to be as windy as I thought it would be. 
Although there are only 2 washing up points it did not cause us a problem at all.  The shower block seemed to be very clean at all times.  I really only have a couple of criticisms:  (1)  The water pressure was not good which meant that when anyone was washing up the water trickled down the shower pipe making hair washing practically impossible, leaving me to wash hair in sinks.  However, I am informed that this will be RECTIFIED at the end of this season.  (2)  There are only 2 showers for the ladies but this shouldn't pose too much of a problem once the water pressure is sorted as shower time should be reduced. (3)  There is no access to electricity whatsoever for those camping without electric.  (4)  The hairdryer is useless as you only get 30 seconds at a time.
 
GOOD POINTS:  The site itself is lovely, is kept very clean and the bar & restaurant area is really nice.   I was informed that the entertainment room is to be extended and refurbished, making a good site better.  The staff in these areas are brilliant at making you feel welcome, Dani entertains everyone brilliantly and praise must go to her as she organised all this herself.  Big thanks yous also to Lorraine, Lauren & Emma who entertained us and our children brilliantly.
 
The site is in a great location and the shop across the road is well stocked.
 
Providing the water pressure is sorted out, I would Definitely visit this site again, although it would have to be electric hookup. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shelldean 15 reviews from this member

 Having visited here in a static, we decided to re visit using the tent.
The tent section seems to us a bit of an afterthought. It is right at the back of the site, up a slope from the tourers and shower block. Also the tarmac runs out halfway up the slope.
You are given two keys for the toilet block. The showers were always clean and we never queued even though there is only two for each sex. However the site probably only had a dozen tents while we was there. The day before we left loads turned up and I'm not sure how the showers fared with that many people. Brochure says it can accommodate 35 tents but it would be very crowed if that many was there. I counted 25 appox when we left and the people were too close for our liking.
The washing up sinks are under cover on the side of the toilet block, only two sinks.

Indoor pool is very small, and even though it says heated it felt cold. The outdoor pool was even smaller and freezing ( unheated) There is also a small toddlers splash pool, with slide.
Small arcade and crazy golf, next to the pool and bar. Crazy golf was £5 deposit 50p per child.
Two bars one very posh with plush sofas and the dining area. Didn’t try the food, so can’t comment. Other bar, held the entertainment. Must mention Danni who did a wonderful job running the disco and all entertainment by herself. There is also a conservatory on the side of this bar. As well as a decking area overlooking the lakes. This is where the fireworks were held.

Pitches are flat but we had a drainage problem. Must add this was a very wet week and parts of country was flooded. Only about 2 inches of top soil before you hit hard ground. However good whack with the hammer ensures the peg goes in.
Only one water tap on the tent field besides the washing up area down the slope.
Tent section is also unlit, lights stop by toilet block on the touring section.

This could be a wonderful site, but we really feel tents are second best at this site. We would return but only in a static, as the location on the Island is brilliant for day trips, within easy distance of everything. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bignig 4 reviews from this member

 I spent two weeks on the touring pitches and overall was very satisfied. The park is going through a re-vamp and upon completion will be excellent for families.

We arrived early at site and were not allowed on the pitch (despite 90% of them empty and remained so for the week) we had to drop the caravan legs and spend the morning in the car park. The pitches are on the top of a hill and get very windy, causing some elderly opting to not set up their awnings.

The serviced pitches require an electric card at a cost of £1 each. Most of the pitches seemed to have a problem with these and we had two weeks of free electricity as a result. New washing appliances were being installed in the laundrette as we left. The site is in the middle of the island and makes an excellent base. Toilets and facilities are all excellent and I agree with all minor criticisms left on this forum.

I have one disappointment to add though, I attended this site purely for the fishing and was extremely disappointed. The fishery manager was extremely unhelpful and seemed to be selective regarding rules. I had to purchase a larger landing mat and net at a cost of £45, but some individuals were allowed to hire them. The fishing cost is £6 for the small lake and £9 for the specimen per day with no concessions or half day discounts.
Take note I did not see 1 fish landed from the specimen lake during my two weeks, also take note of the big fish photos on the Rookley website they are all mainly winter photos and of the fishery manager. My advise is don't be lured here by the hope of catching a big one during the summer there is to much noise. Make sure you have all required equipment before attending as this is expensive on site and finally take some trout pellet and sweetcorn on the smaller lake fishing the margins and not purchase the recommended "Frozen quality bait" i.E boilies at £10 a bag from site. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robbiescott 1 review from this member

 Site has great facilities. Campsite had great views across the valley. Toilet block was very clean and well kept. Swimming pool was clean and a good size. There is a local shop nearby which was well stocked and a pub nearby called the Chequers Inn which served very good food and had a carvery every Wednesday night.
Our only problem with the site was that the campsite seemed to double as a shool childrens actvity site, which we were not told about when we booked. So beware when booking of school party's using the site for their activity holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sarahh56 50 reviews from this member

 What can I say a wonderful site, this was our second visit and there were a lot of others also on return visits.
 
The entertainment was good, the food excellent and the pool was great as you are given a key to allow you free access to it.
 
We will return, but next time in a tourer ( luckily they now take these!) :) 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fleet1 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and me camped the last week of August with our 7 year old daughter and 18month old golden retriever. We checked in at reception. They were friendly and helpful and had water outside for the dog. You drive though the site, past all the static caravans and up to the top field on your left to pitch your tent. The trailer tents and caravans are just below that on your left opposite the new toilet / shower block. They have a row of electrical hook ups on your right, and you can pitch anywhere you like.
It was flat with trees all the way round the edge and some trees in the middle. The ground was very hard and we had trouble getting the ten pegs in.
The shower blocks are very clean and new. 2 showers, 3 toilets and three sinks. Showers are free and hot with a changing area in front of the shower. Hairdryer was 20p and lasted about 30 seconds. The mens had 3 showers, 3 toilets and 3 sinks (so my husband told me). There is a freezer outside for ice packs and sink with hose pipe for caravans with toilets. The other end had 2 sinks for washing up, with hot and cold water. The cafe was open during the day, with lots of tables in the garden area, opposite the fishing lake (which cost extra).
The club house had basic entertainment at night for the kids and games room with fruit machines and air hockey. There was a conservatory which was non smoking attached to the bar area. The food was your usual pub grub, burgers, steak pie, lasagna. The swimming pool was small but quite nice, which lead to an outside pool which was very small. There's a play area for kids. The shop is a Co-op which is outside the site just down the road.

We found it an idea site for exploring the island and would definitely stay there again. They are doing a lot work at the back of the site, putting in new caravans. We paid £68 for the ferry from Southampton with Red Funnel that have an area on the top deck for dogs. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rookley Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Rookley Country Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rookley Country Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rookley Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rookley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3213 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - 12v / 240V Avtex Freeview Play Full HD TV with built-in satellite decoder worth £379!