Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Highfield Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Hull > Highfield Farm Reviews

Highfield Farm
Station Rd
Ottringham
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU12 0BJ
Tel: 01964622283  or  07808891988
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chezs 1 review from this member

 We got back yesterday from 2 nights at Highfield farm. We wanted somewhere quiet as it was our very first trip ever in a caravan and it was just perfect, the owner was lovely and friendly and helped us pitch. The route there was very easy and straight forward for towing and was easy to find. The site is fantastic, itís nicely mowed with hedges and is very private. There is ample space for children to play. My 2 dogs loved it. The toilet and shower block is also kept really neat and tidy. There are 2 single toilets and 2 showers with toilets in them. On Friday we went for a drive to Withernsea and Hornsea and had a lovely walk along the promenade and had fish and chips for lunch. Thank you Highfield Farm for an excellent first experience, we will definitely be back soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julieegan 3 reviews from this member

 We were visiting Hull to visit family and purchase a caravan so needed somewhere local to try out the van. I thought the site would be too far out but it is so easily and quickly accessible from Hull. We had a wonderful stay, the site is so peaceful with lovely views of the surrounding farmland. Nice clean toilets and and hot showers.

The site owner greeted us and showed us to our pitch and offered help if we needed anything, really friendly.

Would recommend this site and we will be back I'm sure next time we're back in Hull :-) 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marknsteve 2 reviews from this member

 We booked one night here on our way to Bridlington, as we'd never visited this corner before, only driven through on the way from Lincs. To the north of the county.

We were greeted with a very nice smiley welcome and as we were very brave, or early in the year, we had the field to ourselves. The toilets were clean with plenty of hot water for showering. A nice small site and a good base to have a look round from.

Next morning I actually had to find the owner to pay him! He and his wife couldn't have been more helpful trying to find for us where we might stay next.

We would not hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area and have no problem recommending this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ColnMand 9 reviews from this member

 Located in Ottringham this site seemed a bit far out as we were visiting relatives in Hedon and Sproatly but the drive out to the site was amazing with wonderful views of the surrounding farmlands. It really did feel like we were going on holiday.

First impression always count and we couldn't believe that we were entering a working farm - it was so neat and tidy and pretty.

Good for Tents:

So many Camping and Caravanning sites are geared up to the caravan enthusiast with the tenter coming a poor second. This site is a complete revolution and both are catered for equally. Lots of EHU and water points dotted around the site.

We were spoilt for choice as to where to pitch our tent. There are three camping fields that we could have chosen and all of them suitable for tents as they are either flat or have a gentle slope. The long strip field got the evening sunshine, the little quiet field off the side of the main camping area basked in the early morning sunshine and the main field got most of the sunshine all day long.

Not much in the way of bird life but plenty of rabbits, hares and hedgehogs to thrill the nature watcher and I spent a happy weekend taking pictures of their various antics.

Site Facilities:

The distance from the field to the toilet/shower block is not too far but due to the stony/gravel drive way from the field to the facilities it is not suitable for people with walking difficulties.

The toilet/shower block does not cater for the disabled person.

The times when the hot water is available for showers is posted in the shower block - so do check before disrobing. The water in the shower was wonderfully warm and there is no charge. The shower was on a timer - but plentiful - you could press the hot button as long as you needed to rinse off. There is the all important hook in the shower to keep you outdoor clothes dry.

There is a place under cover to wash pots but no microwaves nor fridges (to refreeze freezer packs) - but I am sure the owner would be happy to oblige if needed.

We were charged £11 per night for two of us - which we thought reasonable.

The site is open all year round and even if you don't fancy camping they can cater for bed and breakfast at a very reasonable rate.

There are no playgrounds or other attractions for children - so it is down to parents to amuse and entertain. But for those who are homeschooling or for children who are involved in school nature projects this is a wonderful opportunity to go exploring what nature has to offer.

The wifi is locked down - but hubby was able to access his FB on his mobile and upload some piccies so he was happy. Signal strength was at full bars so we weren't completely cut off. We are on the orange network

Local Attractions:

There are plenty of local walks and nearby places to visit include Fort Paull (as it was used during World War II), Spurn Point (don't touch the nasty black catapillars they are poisonous), Skerlington has a huge market and car boot and one of the most interesting country houses, Burton Agnes Hall, with its house and gardens with giant chess board and drafts is well worth a visit. Nearby is Hornsea Freeport - a quaint little shopping village, and all are readily accessible from this base.

So if you are looking for a lovely quiet peaceful site that is well maintained in a beautiful location then this site is well worth considering. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Salmong 20 reviews from this member

 This site is very close to where we live, and we went there for a weekend break with our daughter and family to try out their new caravan.

The owner is a really friendly sociable guy, and gave us a warm welcome - because our daughter and family are not members of the C&CC we were pitched on an adjacent area to the CS site which was a long strip of land, sheltered by trees, and provided with hook ups, water points, etc.

Like the rest of this farm site everything was very well kept, and level. The showers and toilets were clean and functional with hot water available from 07:30 to 22:30.

This area is great for exploring the East Coast, the city of Hull, and Beverley, Driffield, etc

A great little site that we will definitely use again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wendywoo26 2 reviews from this member

 Tim the owner led us through to a lovely flat field and let us set up where we wanted,, enough EHU and water stands dotted around, a short walk took us to two toilets which were clean and spacious, round the back were the wash-up facilities and two large shower rooms which had their own toilet,sink,hand dryer,mirror with shelving and curtained shower (not the usual claustrophobic cubicle where you have to try and salvage all your belongings from getting a soaking!)

I was disappointed that the hot water was limited to 8pm, as after a hot, hectic day playing with granddaughter and finally getting her off to bed, I would of liked a relaxing wind down shower!

Nicely situated for Withernsea and a large Tesco's for supplies. Nipped to the farm shop in keyingham where there was a great choice of fresh produce and Mr.Moo's Ice-Cream! Yum!

Will definitely return and recommend this site for a peaceful get-away. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dainwood 5 reviews from this member

 Great little site, lots of EHU's did not use the toilet or shower as we are self sufficient but did have a look inside and they looked very clean and well looked after. The farmer was more than helpful and came out of the field to help us sort out a problem with the EHU. The field is quite flat and easily accessible. I shouldn't really be submitting this review because I would like this site to be a well kept secret. Will be going back for sure. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mickyman 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely 5 nights at this quiet site, 2 adults and 2 kids plas a little dog. Tim the owner is a lovely helpful fella and told us we could pitch anywhere we wanted.

lots of room for 5 pitches on great level lawns.

20 mins from witherensea and other locations and only half hour from the deep in hull, this was our first camping trip in the new tent and we loved it and would return back again for sure.

Prices vary so just ring and ask, lots of electric hook ups and water points all round, the toilets and showers were always clean and there is a sink to wash pots. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Voffer 3 reviews from this member

 Just back for Highfield Farm

Owner/Farmer Tim very welcoming. Nice quiet campsite, only a few pitches. We have a large family tent which wasn't a problem. We were allowed to pitch where we wanted. Cost us 8 quid per night for two adults and two (2 & 5) kids

Toilet and shower facilities clean and adequate for the number of pitches. Hot water available 7 to 10 in morning and 5 till 8 in evening. Dishwashing basin available. Helpful maps showing walking trails and nearest food outlets/pubs displayed.

Electric hookups available and a water tap every second or third pitch. No specific play area for the kids but plenty of room for them to kick a ball about.

Easy to get to either Hull or Withernsea/coast from Highfield and great little villages all round. We spent most of our time either at the campsite or at the coast so cant really comment to much on the immediate local area

Only negatives are admittedly out of the farmers control. The road through Ottringham is surprisingly busy and there is some traffic noise at night and there are frequent helicopter flights in the vicinity day and night

Overall we enjoyed our visit and would definitely recommend this site 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oldbear 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit this year to this superb site, and I am glad to say that the same high standards were again evident. Clean toilets, clean showers, hot water - everything you could want. The owner (Tim) was again very welcoming and helpful and it was obvious that he takes a pride in the place (he was varnishing the woodwork in the toilet block when we got there!)

We had a choice of great pitches and ended up in a quiet corner where we could watch the rabbits, moorhens, hares and other assorted wildlife, or the ripening crops swaying in the breeze.

The site is superbly placed - 10 miles from the bustling city of Hull and about the same from the serene peace of Spurn Point. The little market town of Hedon is quite close (free parking!), the 'seaside experience' is 4 miles away at Withernsea and there are lots of other little places dotted around just waiting to be explored. We found a tiny place called Paull just on the estuary (again we parked for free), and spent a few happy hours watching the international ships going in and out of the port and under the distant Humber Bridge.

We will certainly be back. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highfield Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highfield Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highfield Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hull      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4115 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window