Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Barge Inn And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Barge Inn And Campsite Reviews

The Barge Inn And Campsite
Honeystreet
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 5PS
Tel: 07917 407522
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 61 Reviews
                8/10 from 61 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I turned up on spec here as one of my all time favourite sites and they had building work going on, so as I was looking for an alternative site the warden came up and said I could stay on the newly laid hardstanding pitches, if I did not mind the noise, etc. I jumped at the chance and placed myself on the hardstanding, new for 2022, and there are about 8 of them. Each have electric hookup, but I did not need that.

There is lots of improvement works going on, which is great as this site can get soggy in bad weather.

The toilets, showers and washing up area was still open and there is also a laundry area here too. Waste areas, fresh water and chemical disposal point too. Showers and loos are clean and well maintained.

Lovely site set along the Kennet and Avon canal and made even better by the hippy vibe of the site and the canal boats too.

The pub was open so I enjoyed a few pints and chatted with the wonderful locals who made and my dog very welcome.

Good spot for all the local attractions, Stone Henge, Avebury, E & W Kennet and so much more. Devises is not too far away of you need bog shops etc.

I will return time and time again as I love this site and a bog thanks to the warden for putting me up despite the improvements being made around me.

They charge 12. 50 for the night for me and my dog. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Tomki5 1 review from this member

 Spent two nights at this site, set in lovely well kept grounds with very friendly hosts at the pub that's along side the site,

Showers and washing up area clean, ,

Use of fire pits available, ,

The river that meanders through site is beautiful an clear, space to playoutdoor games, children's play area in pub garden, food from pub is delicious, and we had got drenched one day so hosts kindly helped dry some bits for us.

Pewsey is a pretty village close by with shops for food an essencials.

Many historical things in an around area to visit including Avesbury village, white horse on hill an much more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 18 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, Skylar and her team are very helpful and always go above and beyond to help people. The site itself is in a beautiful setting near a canal.

The pub does great beers and food. This a very hippy campsite and everyone is friendly. They put on some good entertainment as well.

They were a bit overwhelmed by the volume of people on site the weekend I was there and this meant some of the facilities suffered and were not clean but I think this is a factor of a bigger than expected event. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Carol4 1 review from this member

 The Barge Inn campsite was easy enough to find and in a nice location, really nice next to the canal.

The lower field was up to full capacity and so we had to go into the top field. There are no facilities in the top field what's so ever and the gate way into the field is not tarmac'd. With all of the rain it had turned into a swamp of mud. Because I have issues with my balance, it was a real falling hazard, making it impossible to get to the facilities quickly if needed.

The shower cubicles that are available are also tiny, and the toilet facilities limited. The water taps in the top field had been covered up by cars that had parked in front of them and we didn't even realise they were there until we were leaving

The field had been cut and huge clumps of wet rotting grass had been left everywhere, these all got tramped into the tent making it wet and muddy.

It is a lovely location, but at 50.00 for two nights stay, I would have expected at least facilities close enough to use, especially at night. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nikkih 1 review from this member

 What an amazing time arrived as a group, was greeted by organised and friendly welcome on arrival.

Sadly the entertainment was cancelled but this was through no fault of the pub. This is a unique campsite with many benefits. Very relaxed and enjoyed the freedom to set up as we wished.

Enjoyed a walk along the canalside on the Saturday afternoon to the mill cafe and arts and crafts. All groups appeared to be enjoying themselves with couples, groups and families.

During Saturday late afternoon stopped off for swift beer in the beer garden very relaxed and chilled. Ate and drank in the pub in the evening and was waited on with great table service.

Thank you to all the team we will definitely be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Carolinewithers 1 review from this member

 What a great site to stay.

Very friendly & helpful.

Great atmosphere.

Lots of space for the little ones to run around.

Lovely river walks nearby

All in all we had a great time, would definitely recommend & be going again 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Frizzle 2 reviews from this member

 Assorted travellers and accommodations. I was only caravan at time of visit.

The Pub has a good range of food. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly helpful.

I will stay there again. 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Merlot 1 review from this member

 A lively and fun site adjacent to the pub by the side of the Kennet and Avon Canal.

Not a place if you want a quiet nights sleep though.

There is a marquee with bands playing at weekends and music goes on well into the night.

Best appreciated with a group to enjoy the party spirit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Stopover at this site whilst walking in the area.

Never changes, it's still a marmite site, love it or hate it, and I love it. Hippy vibes, water gypsies, "alternative" lifestyles all welcome and very evident here.

Pub does good food and great beer. Lovely seating area alongside the canal.

Good walks along the canal path

Facilities are pretty basic, but functional.

Will return 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lizsha 1 review from this member

 I thought the campsite staff were relaxed, friendly and helpful and the facilities were really good such as the shower, toilets and a food hut.

It was a little noisy during the night but we were made aware that there were 2 groups of people having birthday celebrations so should have pitched in another area.

I thought it was really good value and a lovely spot in the country 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Barge Inn And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Barge Inn And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Barge Inn And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3536 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement