Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Barge Inn

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

The Barge Inn
Honeystreet
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)

Tel:

Pitches: Site Closed from 2017
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 37 Reviews
                7/10 from 37 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this campsite has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, although the pub itself is currently still open. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daniello 1 review from this member

The pub and campsite was sold in March 2017 and the new owner has closed the campsite permanently to use it as a horse paddock. Sad news all round. Maybe he will change his mind when the regular hoardes of campers just turn up en masse without booking like they have always done!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: VWT2GEL 5 reviews from this member

We booked through the website even though there are actually no pictures of the campsite on there. We got met by a very efficient looking woman with a clip board and she told us exactly where to park next to a battered old unused toilet block with loads of industrial hessian rubbish bags in front of it

She continued to tell us about taking over the running of the campsite as in her words 'it had lost it's way a bit' she told us about the new 'toilet/shower block' which is a grey porta cabin with only 1 shower for males 1 shower for females baring in mind they have 30 pitches, inside the block there are no seats/ shelves/ hooks/ shaving points, so everything has to be put on the floor. To get in you have to have a secret code even though everybody leaves the doors open and the gents door won't close properly anyway. Outside there is an uncovered old sink with only cold water to do your washing.

During our stay the lady in charge shouted at my wife because our dog was not on a lead, even though our dog was just sitting down next to our campervan not doing anything.

For the rest of the stay we seen various dogs running around the field with no lead even the cooks dog from the pub next door kept running around the campsite.

I went to use the toilet at 4am and there was still music coming from a group further down the campsite even though there is a 11pm curfew on music.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 74 reviews from this member

This site was chosen for a group meeting, some staying in tents, some in campervans and some on a barge. The field is next to the canal, behind the pub and approached via a woodyard. You get a field, a portaloo toilet and shower block and a cold water tap for washing up. All this for 8. 50 per adult? The pub has a good range of beers, the food was OK and live music provided on Saturdays. It's noisy and busy. Just what we wanted. We sat around a fire pit until the small hours, talking, drinking, singing, playing music and no one complained.

Don't come here expecting peace and quiet. Ideal for what we wanted but perhaps overpriced for the facilities on offer.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Samwillis 25 reviews from this member

Set behind the pub in a field which can get a bit muddy during heavy rain, but we had no problems getting in and out. The pub is friendly and has a garden by the canalside. Great local beers/ciders available as well as food. No CDP on site but apparently there is one at the local boatyard. Fresh water available, but no electric. Good walks up the canal, very pretty area of the country. WiFi in the pub. Dog Friendly pub/site. Price is 7. 50 per adult, no charge for children/pets.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The-Parkers 1 review from this member

This is a great place to stay with and without the kids, a very laid back 'hippy' type atmosphere where everyone just gets on. Music in the pub on Saturday nights from local bands. Good choice of local ales and food. A sawmill close by who will deliver off cuts of wood for your fire pit. A very electric place that's always buzzing.

****March 2016, Rumours are abound locally that this is going to turn into some middle class camp site! No tents allowed, only camper vans with own toilet facilities and the only tents on site are bell tents that have to be hired.

I'm afraid if this is the case this hidden gem of a site will lose all its character and a lot of trade, one can only hope this isn't the case.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6833 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0898