Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Barge Inn And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Barge Inn And Campsite > Reviews

The Barge Inn And Campsite
Honeystreet
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 5PS
Tel: 07917 407522
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 65 Reviews
                7/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vbvala 1 review from this member

 Been once before with a group of friends. Loved it then, love it now. Wonderful energy, wonderful mix of people.

Very relaxed friendly site. Good facilities. Good pub food.

Lovely walks along tow-path, with friendly narrowboat owners.

Another great food outlet next door, + farm shop selling all sorts of organic goodies and gifts.

What's not to like. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 313 reviews from this member

 Back for my annual visit and I turned up on spec here as this is one of my all time favourite sites and they had plenty of space and let me know the price was 12.50 for me for a night in my campervan. They also mentioned a deal at 17.50 for the night and this included a main meal in the pub, which makes the food an absolute bargain. Naturally I chose this option so I had an excuse to visit the pub!

It was very dry so we had no issues with drainage etc.

The toilets, showers and washing up area was clean and tidy and did the job well, there is also a laundry area here too. Waste areas, fresh water and chemical disposal point too. Showers and loos are clean and well maintained.

Lovely site set along the Kennet and Avon canal and made even better by the hippy vibe of the site and the canal boats too.

Eating at the pub was great, the food was very nice and they offered a good choice on the menu, including a decent children's menu. The range of cider and other drinks was huge and we enjoyed sampling a few.

Loads of space for children to run and play.

Good spot for all the local attractions, Stone Henge, Avebury, E & W Kennet and so much more. Devises is not too far away of you need bog shops etc.

I will return time and time again as I love this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jcha75 1 review from this member

 Such a friendly site and so handy having a pub and restaurant on site.

Despite it filling up on our last night it was relatively quiet though it's not a site to choose if you want complete quiet, especially not at w/e LOL The facilities are very basic.

The outside toilet cabin wasn't very nice - it wasn't clean and there were only two toilets for at least forty campers.

There were another two toilets inside and one tiny sink in a tiny corner with a dirty cotton towel. Inside were two showers but we couldn't pluck up the courage to use them.

BUT the staff were great - very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jenningsreb71 1 review from this member

 The campsite itself was great, the facilities were clean and the pub was great. Beautiful walk along the canal.

There is a but though, when we checked in the guy said it was busy - we had made a booking so they 'made room for us'. What he failed to mention was, that it was busy because there was a wedding party and that there would be music blasting till 12. 30am. Had this been mentioned when we booked or arrived, we may have decided to go elsewhere as we had done a long walk and just wanted a good sleep. We're not party poopers - but just think we should have been told what to expect. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 313 reviews from this member

 I turned up on spec here as one of my all time favourite sites and they had building work going on, so as I was looking for an alternative site the warden came up and said I could stay on the newly laid hardstanding pitches, if I did not mind the noise, etc. I jumped at the chance and placed myself on the hardstanding, new for 2022, and there are about 8 of them. Each have electric hookup, but I did not need that.

There is lots of improvement works going on, which is great as this site can get soggy in bad weather.

The toilets, showers and washing up area was still open and there is also a laundry area here too. Waste areas, fresh water and chemical disposal point too. Showers and loos are clean and well maintained.

Lovely site set along the Kennet and Avon canal and made even better by the hippy vibe of the site and the canal boats too.

The pub was open so I enjoyed a few pints and chatted with the wonderful locals who made and my dog very welcome.

Good spot for all the local attractions, Stone Henge, Avebury, E & W Kennet and so much more. Devises is not too far away of you need bog shops etc.

I will return time and time again as I love this site and a bog thanks to the warden for putting me up despite the improvements being made around me.

They charge 12. 50 for the night for me and my dog. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Tomki5 1 review from this member

 Spent two nights at this site, set in lovely well kept grounds with very friendly hosts at the pub that's along side the site,

Showers and washing up area clean, ,

Use of fire pits available, ,

The river that meanders through site is beautiful an clear, space to playoutdoor games, children's play area in pub garden, food from pub is delicious, and we had got drenched one day so hosts kindly helped dry some bits for us.

Pewsey is a pretty village close by with shops for food an essencials.

Many historical things in an around area to visit including Avesbury village, white horse on hill an much more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 26 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, Skylar and her team are very helpful and always go above and beyond to help people. The site itself is in a beautiful setting near a canal.

The pub does great beers and food. This a very hippy campsite and everyone is friendly. They put on some good entertainment as well.

They were a bit overwhelmed by the volume of people on site the weekend I was there and this meant some of the facilities suffered and were not clean but I think this is a factor of a bigger than expected event. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Carol4 1 review from this member

 The Barge Inn campsite was easy enough to find and in a nice location, really nice next to the canal.

The lower field was up to full capacity and so we had to go into the top field. There are no facilities in the top field what's so ever and the gate way into the field is not tarmac'd. With all of the rain it had turned into a swamp of mud. Because I have issues with my balance, it was a real falling hazard, making it impossible to get to the facilities quickly if needed.

The shower cubicles that are available are also tiny, and the toilet facilities limited. The water taps in the top field had been covered up by cars that had parked in front of them and we didn't even realise they were there until we were leaving

The field had been cut and huge clumps of wet rotting grass had been left everywhere, these all got tramped into the tent making it wet and muddy.

It is a lovely location, but at 50.00 for two nights stay, I would have expected at least facilities close enough to use, especially at night. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nikkih 1 review from this member

 What an amazing time arrived as a group, was greeted by organised and friendly welcome on arrival.

Sadly the entertainment was cancelled but this was through no fault of the pub. This is a unique campsite with many benefits. Very relaxed and enjoyed the freedom to set up as we wished.

Enjoyed a walk along the canalside on the Saturday afternoon to the mill cafe and arts and crafts. All groups appeared to be enjoying themselves with couples, groups and families.

During Saturday late afternoon stopped off for swift beer in the beer garden very relaxed and chilled. Ate and drank in the pub in the evening and was waited on with great table service.

Thank you to all the team we will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Carolinewithers 1 review from this member

 What a great site to stay.

Very friendly & helpful.

Great atmosphere.

Lots of space for the little ones to run around.

Lovely river walks nearby

All in all we had a great time, would definitely recommend & be going again 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Barge Inn And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Barge Inn And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Barge Inn And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


61503 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement