Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Celyn Brithion Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth > Celyn Brithion Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Celyn Brithion Caravan And Camping Site
Dinas Mawddwy
Machynlleth
Powys   (Browse area)
SY20 9LP
Tel: 01650 531344
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Glupti 1 review from this member

 A pleasure to meet Isabelle the owner, the donkeys, horse and cats.

Good level tent site, close to clean toilets and showers (20 p).

The sounds of nature all around, sheltered site, sunny and a central location for Cader Idris, the Arans, Coed Y Brenin or further.

Worth the visit because you are separated from the crowded sites that do not have such pubs and a spectacular garage breakfast to choose from.

A must visit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Timrya 4 reviews from this member

 Very friendly. Nice quiet site.

All amenities clean.

Just stayed the one night as part of a backpacking tour. Ideal.

Next door to a nice pub with good food and beer.

Couldn't ask for more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jungly 2 reviews from this member

 This idyllic site is just wonderful. Close to stunning countryside with views to match.

We came for 2 nights and stayed for 7!

Isabel the owner is super friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We bought our 3 spaniels with us and there are plenty of good walks both locally and within a short drive.

The Red Lion pub in dinas Mawddwy is a proper old fashioned village pub with good food and great beers.

A very well maintained and clean site. We will be coming back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rachela74 1 review from this member

 I really liked this site as it wasn't too busy. There were ample facilities and I didn't have to queue for anything.

The owner was helpful and quick to respond and we were left to our own devices to enjoy our time.

Good location with pubs nearby. I recommend Tafarn Y Brigands for a meal. Food was fantastic. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crwydryn 145 reviews from this member

 A basic site but what a location! Nice welcome and the owner was very helpful and friendly.

No TV or mobile signal but really picturesque location near the village of Dinas Mawddwy and almost equidistant to Dolgellau and Machynlleth.

Used the site as a base to explore the area travelling to Barmouth & Harlech area one day, Dolgellau, Yr Ysgwrn, Bala and Lake Vyrnwy travelling over the latter two over mainly single track but through very scenic countryside another then Machynlleth (Market Day on a Wednesday) Aberdyfi, Corris and Aberangell on the final day.

Weather was excellent and we were able to enjoy walks from the campsite mainly ending up at the Llew Coch enjoying the great food and beers there.

Occasionally RAF jets hurtled overhead on the “Mach Loop” and at a low level.

Looking forward to a return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Busa12311 1 review from this member

 Fantastic friendly campsite, riverside location set in beautiful scenery, ideal for walking birdwatching, jet watching as its smack in the middle of the 'mach loop' which is the low fly zone. Also there are mines in the area to explore which I love to do, we were also glad to return for the Red Bull mountain bike world championship which the owners Roland and Isabel had told us about fantastic event.

Showers and toilets nice and clean and nothing is too much trouble for the owners who are very friendly and knowledgeable.

The Red Lion pub is about 5 to 10 mins walk away either by strolling down the river or walking up the road again run by very friendly people and lovely food served.

Its an ideal base to explore as your about 10 to 15 mins from Fairbourne or Barmouth for the coast whilst been sat in the middle of beautiful mountain scenery with endless walks on your doorstep. We shall hopefully be visiting again as the word rally championship stage is virtually at the end of the road. There are plenty of shops in either direction in Dolgellau or Machynlleth.

Really Beautiful site in an amazing location a real hidden gem.

Thx Roland and Isabel for an amazing stay.

Dale Lou And D. J the dog. X 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 111 reviews from this member

 This is a small site with well kept grounds set in a stunning location. The lady who owns the site is very friendly and only charged us £13. 50 per night (2 with motorhome & ehu) the site is mainly static vans with a few spaces for tourers and a camping lawn adjacent to the owners house. The site is located directly under the flight path of the Mach Loop LF7 so was very interesting watching the low flying fighter jets screaming just over the top of the trees !

The downside is the poor state of the toilet & shower facilities which are rather prehistoric and not very clean ! Also there is a road that runs through the site leading to a farm and the vehicles using it drove through the site far to fast especially as there were children playing / cycling.

The main A470 road runs adjacent to the site so there is some road noise and the local village of Dinas is about a 20 minute walk but only has a pub and cafe, no shop or anything else so make sure to bring everything you need ! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: X25sjh 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the Redbull Hardline MTB Race Sept 15

We were pleasantly surprised at the scenery & friendliness of the staff. But the shower/toilet block has prompted me to leave a poor review

As previous this site is for statics, but if you're touring or camping I would avoid, especially if you have a fear of spiders.

The 1st ladies shower & tried didn't work and as we were told you only get 4 mins for 20p I got undressed first then put my 20p in to find that all the lights were on but nothing worked, so had to nip back out to find someone to try & get it working.

I was then directed to the second ladies shower, look one way & it looks ok, relatively new UPVC surrounding the usual electric shower, turn round to find the oldest spiders webs I have ever seen. Very close to the electric 20p box. Shocking. And the toilets were not much better. The right hand ladies loo had a cracked seat that pinched my bum when I sat down and there were spiders everywhere!

From what my husband said the men's were not much better.

The outside pot area was usual but could have done with a cover to keep you out of the rain when you wash the pots.

Excellent area, scenery & a lovely river flowing adjacent to the site, great for dog walking etc.

I'm not posh, just would like a clean, sanitary toilet/shower block! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyholey 1 review from this member

 We visited this site in Wales as the first one trying put our new tent. The site it self was very very clean. Lots of static caravans and a couple of tourers. We were the only tent to pitch of a couple of days. We had a dog with us and the first field we were directed to had chickens all over tithe dog loved it but we couldn't have her prancing around trying to have a game of 'catch me if you can' with them. We then moved (before we pitched) to another field away from them and this was great. The field was flat and level with and electric hook up close by. Toilet blocks clean and tidy. We didn't use the shower block but it seemed ok when we looked in. Nearest shop about 3 minutes away in car and nearest pub 'the red lion' who do take away food was a 6minute walk away. The camp site was heaven for me as a plane spotter as it's on the flight path of the 'Mach loop'. Low flying jets. No set times. Some days you may get one or two. Other days nothing. Great walks near by with a lovely beach, Barmouth, about 15 miles away. Will be going again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan141 2 reviews from this member

 The main site is for predominately seasonal mobile homes with some tourers and tents making up the rest. Pretty quiet mid-week and the owner was very helpful and flexible. Very easy to get to great walks in the mountains and within 10 miles or so of decent size towns.

The site is close to a main road but the traffic was only noticeable in the morning 'rush hour'. Views were great across the mountains. The seasonal mobile homes area was very well kept but the rest of the site needs a good tidy up. The showers and toilets need some maintenance and deep cleaning. 20p per minute for a shower was a bit much.

Overall a good site with good owners but in need of some TLC! 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Celyn Brithion Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Celyn Brithion Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Celyn Brithion Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Machynlleth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement