Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Grange Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Clacton On Sea > Grange Farm Campsite Reviews

Grange Farm Campsite
Station Road
Thorpe Le Soken
Clacton On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 0HG
Tel: 01255 861208  or  07967 351853
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 49
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Slowroad 49 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site on a large farm, good toilet and shower facilities. Basins rather small, but good shower, nice hot water.

Very useful tourist info, especially the rail timetable! Couldn't find the washing-up facilities, think they may have been on another part of the site. Local shops and pubs.

Good value for caravan and two people, less so for one person in a tent, but was a nice place in the right place for me.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michael Phillips 3 reviews from this member

What seemed to be a 'young' site that is to say getting itself established but in a very good way, nice pitch layouts, plenty of space for privacy, peace and quiet and cleverly divided up into three separate but distinctive camping areas each with their own facilities.

Whole site was well cared for and maintained, toilets and showers small but clean, one grumble though, not hot water for washing up.

Reception was closed on our arrival but site Manager(Glen) reacted quickly and efficiently in getting the paper work sorted. Nice site, nice people.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul12 5 reviews from this member

Second visit to this little gem of a campsite. Nice friendly welcome with a helpful warden. Mostly grass pitches but grass is maintained. No set pitches but you get plenty of room.

Shower block is clean, always hot water, but don't forget it's on a farm so it's not a modern shower block. So if you want a relaxing quite place but with things to do locally this is a gem worth a visit.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynda Ham 4 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site, ground very wet so put us on one of the few hardstanding areas. Only two showers. Reported problem with one which the owner queried but did try and sort it. Convenient for the coast and walking. 5-10mins footpath to local Tesco and pubs. Great for a weekend getaway.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey and Kevin 2 reviews from this member

Wow. We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Grange Farm. My husband and I have not been camping for a few years but last weekend decided to buy a tent and go, which is what we did.

Booked in to Grange Farm as we live in North Yorkshire but I am from Essex and Grange Farm was perfectly situated to visit family and visit the beaches around the area.

The site was quiet clean and the staff are so helpful, The sunset over the small wind turbines is stunning, and the views are lovely you can see for miles. Toilet/shower block are very clean, we have seen some sights over the years, when we used to go camping with the kids a few years back. The camp is perfect for couples like ourselves, but great for couples with kids and dogs too.

Grange Farm is a short walking distance from Thorpe-le-Soken a little town with a few pubs and shops, we would highly recommend The Crown meal was fantastic. On Saturday we walked to the railway station and went to Frinton and Walton. (Never used the car once we were there)

We are ready to book again in the next few days and there will be plenty more times, even though it had taken us 7 hrs with traffic to arrive on Friday it was well worth it. Thank you Grange Farm xx

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zzcharlie 12 reviews from this member

Other reviews have covered this one more than I can as we only stayed overnight, but I will say it was one of the few sites that I will make a point of staying at again

Clean toilets with toilet papar, soap, hot water etc, firm level ground, plenty of space per pitch, reasonably priced (15 with EHU) & lots of walks with dog off lead ( & cheapest I've come across for a dog - 50p!

There are signs saying dogs on leads but there were some ( including ours) that were free range. The guy on the bike (a very very nice man) maybe he works for the AA, said that the place is full of Dutch visitors in the summer so if you're planning a stay in high season then probably better to book. Well worth a stay if you're in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hadleighbabe 8 reviews from this member

Just back from a two night stay at this lovely peaceful campsite.

We were met by a very polite chap, who jumped on his bike and we followed him down to the camping field. We didn't require EHU, so were told to pitch up along the back of the field (facing the new toilet block - which is in the process of being built!)

We had trouble getting our tent pegs in, as the ground was very stony, in fact, we broke the mallet, and had to drive down to the next village at Weely to go to the camping shop to buy rock pegs and a new mallet! Even with rock pegs we struggled to get them in, AND broke another mallet - so be warned!

The site was very quiet, there is no playground, although there is a small football pitch that is fenced off between the camping field and the owners house.

The toilets were small - only two in the ladies & gents, with one small hand basin. The showers cost 50p for 6 minutes, and although spotlessly clean, my partner found them to be too small to turn round in - there is only one shower per block, too.

Excellent dog walks through the fields, and up to Thorpe Le Soken village.

We found that both the pubs in the village are closed on a Monday lunch time - not good when you fancy a plough mans & a pint!

All in all, a great basic site. We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 29scrabbly 9 reviews from this member

Fabulous site ! We had moved from another site which we had not liked and the difference was amazing !. Toilets spotless, plenty of water points, easy hook up. Nicely spaced out so you feel quite private. Footpath to the village (about 5 mins) with lots of restaurants, takeaways, and Tesco Express. Pretty village as well. Birds in abundance - a duck was even waddling about. Made for very interesting 'chilling'.

Very convenient for Clacton, Walton on the Naze and the rest of the coastline.

Very much in the country - make sure you got petrol before you arrive !

Would be delighted to visit again but its a bit far from us unless we doing long distance travelling.

Saw the warden who was usually about but didn't need to ask anything as it was all in the leaflet.

All in all a SUPER stay !

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter bland 1251 1 review from this member

I have been going to grange farm now for a lot off years and ithought it was time I wrote a review. It is a lovely site toilets always very clean everyone concerned with the site are always welcoming. I go here every year now and have great holiday. I would recommend this site to anyone. The site is very quiet if that is what you want and just down road you have everything you need. I hope this review is usefull to anyone who is thinking of visiting this site

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Baggy881 1 review from this member

We stayed here just one night, it was my wifes first return to camping since childhood and ever since has an aversion to tents which is a shame as I am a scout leader and the 2 boys are in scouts and Explorers. We arrived at the site a little apprehensive with all the rules that seem to be on the information but we were greeted by a very welcoming host who showed us to the site and we were pitched and ready in 45 mins. The site is very tidy and there is a lot of space between pitches so felt very private, there are plenty of water points. The best parts are the toilets and showers which were spotless - a big plus with my wife. A bit different to scout camps. We have relatives at Frinton-on-Sea (15 mins away) so we had a great time on the beach on one of the hottest days of the year. A fish and chip supper from Kirby Cross (10 mins away) what could be better

I recommend this site

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2941 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019