Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gateway Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli > Gateway Holiday Park Reviews

Gateway Holiday Park
Millennium Coast
Bynea
Llanelli
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA14 9SN
Tel: 01554 771202
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 67 Reviews
                7/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BettyBlossom 6 reviews from this member

Great location as so close to the coastal path and sea. Easy having a restaurant on site for a change and reasonably priced too. It is a very large site and I am glad we went off season as I can imagine it very busy and rowdy during busy times. Good fun though as there is a large bar and adult only bar too.

Showers okay.

Possibly not the place to go if you want peace and no kids about but if you are a family it would be a great place as everything is close by.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sarahh56 48 reviews from this member

We stayed over Easter and had a pitch near to the entertainment complex. It was hardstanding with space on grass for the awning. It was very wet underfoot so we were asked not to park on the grass. The pitch was not very big (our van is 15ft) so we had to keep the car in the main car park.

During the holiday there was heavy rain one night and the next day (and the remainder of the holiday) the pitches were waterlogged. Luckily we had not put an awning up but the neighbouring pitch ended up leaving early as everything in the awning was saturated and muddy.

The site has a barrier access to stop unauthorised access and a key to open the shower block. This was annoying as we had to go together to the shower block or hang around waiting. I have no idea why a key system is needed as the site is not in a busy area.

The bar/restaurant was pleasant and the food was good value. The entertainment was good although very loud. We could hear it word for word in our caravan above the tv.

Also if you are pitched near the complex the bar move beer barrels around about 8am so no lie in'!

We didn't use the pool or play area and some if the entertainment complex was shut as a lot of building work was going on.

All in all the site us in a lovely area but we probably would not return as it's noisy and there are a lot of other sites locally.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babsllandavel 1 review from this member

We spent three nights at Gateway. We enjoy cycling, and for us it was perfectly situated.

Good cycle path access and not far to drive to many locations too (Llanelli Christmas carnival including the turning on of the lights and firework display was wonderful and being able to stay so close was very handy).

Staff very helpful during and after our stay. We will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frey 1 review from this member

Visited Gateway Resort for a family camping break. The site is located just 10-15 minutes off junction 48 of the M4, and less than 5 minutes from Parc Trostre/ Pemberton shopping outlets.

We arrived at approx 15:40 on Friday 14. 07. 17 (check in available from midday), checked in at reception, where the staff were extremely friendly & helpful and then escorted to our pitch by a member of staff. First impressions of the reception/ clubhouse were very good, the facility was very spacious, modern and spotlessly clean. Access to the site is via electronic gate tag, preventing any unwanted/ unauthorised visitors.

Our pitch was on the Rally field and was booked with an electric hook-up. The field was well kept, flat with trees and hedges around the perimeter the provided some respite from the wind. The pitch was very spacious and could easily accommodate an 8 birth tent and have room to park your vehicle alongside. Electric hook up was simple with a pay as you use system, which you top up via card at the bar/ reception. The views of the estuary from the pitch were spectacular, although you are quite exposed during bad weather (but that's the fun of camping).

The Rally field is literally a stone-throw away from the amenities block. The amenity block itself it modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. The facility as accessible to all holiday makers at the resort and is accessible via personal key, which is obtained upon check-in. The amenity block itself is monitored via cctv, so be sure to take note of the signs and shower and change within the spacious cubicles. Showers were lovely and warm.

There is a games field for ball activities for the kids but our kids played by our tent as our neighbouring campers didn't seem to mind. The facility has a lovely swimming pool which is an additional 3 per adult and 1. 50 per child. There a also a large soft play area, again for an additional cost of 2, this proved great for the kids during the wet weather. Additional to that there are some arcade machines, a pool table and grabber machines, my only issue with these was that they did not have any prices displayed on them.

The clubhouse itself is very spacious and has a smaller family lounge adjacent. Bar costs are average and food is lovely, with pleasant staff and minimal waiting times. Each night there there is entertainment for the kids and a show afterwards.

All in all excellent value for money. Will definitely be visiting again very soon.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pamelajayne 1 review from this member

My husband and I have stayed at this site many times. It is an excellent site. There is a club house on site which has an adult bar, the only downside is that even though it is an adult bar there were children in there, but most of the children were in the main hall. The food is very good.

This site is in an excellent position for the coastal path. We have cycled to Pembrey park and also Swansea from here. As we have a motorhome we like to go to site which are close to bus stops or walking distance to a village. From this site we have walked along the coastal path to Llanelli which has many bars and shops.

The toilets and showers are always clean with plenty of hot water. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maxfuel 7 reviews from this member

Great location for cycling along the Millennium coastal path as it is adjacent to the path which might be why the site is heavily covered by CCTV. Shower and Toilet block was immaculate.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Small shop selling bits and pieces. The bar, swimming pool and soft play area was ok but open to the general public as well as site users.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Amjnj 10 reviews from this member

Ill start with the good points. Lovely position of site right by the estuary. Good facilities, clubhouse, playarea, swimming pool, playpark. We are a regular to this site normally good security, key fobs for loos and barrier to get into site, also security on door of clubhouse.

However, this last visit no key fobs or security on clubhouse door, basically anyone can just wander in. This wasn't really an issue for us. The bad points the site was full of travellers, a number of groups of people drinking and swearing loudly in the middle of the afternoon ( I must add I'm not oppised to drinking in the afternoon quite the contrary).

Also lots of children 10/11 yr olds swearing. We were told previous week a big fight broke out in bar and Police were called, this doesn't surprise at all. Also dogs not on leads. Park rule book just as well be ripped up Will not be returning unless things improve. Such a shame

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gazmister123 32 reviews from this member

We stayed at gateway for 10 nights over Easter. We quite liked the site, there is plenty to keep the children entertained even if the weather is bad as their is an indoor pool and play area.

There is plenty on site to keep the children entertained, a play area, crazy golf, and plenty of open space and great views across to the gower.

It's a big site, with a lot of seasonal pitches, the touring and camping pitches are a decent size, we had a hardstanding which we fitted our motorhome and drive away awning on.

Its in an excellent location for visiting the gower, it's approximately 45 minutes drive to Rhossilli bay at the furthest point across the gower all other gower attractions are closer. You are about 5 minutes drive to Llanelli where there are a number of supermarkets, a small shopping centre and an indoor market.

A major appeal for this site for us was being able to get onto the millennium coastal path, you can walk or cycle for miles in either direction.

We also visited the brilliant pembrey country park (about half hours drive) where you can ski on the dry ski slope, toboggan, horse ride, have a go at pitch and put and a trip on the miniature railway, visit the fantastic beach there and a fantastic adventure playground. We visited twice.

The on site restaurant is not expensive, the Carvery on the Sunday was nice, and the whole bill for 5 of us including drinks was less than 40. The drinks were also reasonably priced.

There is a massive area of varied entertainment most nights in busy periods, it does get quite loud but quietened down after 11.

The facilities block could have been a bit cleaner, here are not enough toilets considering the size of the site, there are plenty of showers however and a plentiful supply of hot water.

The staff in reception didn't seem to have any enthusiasm for helping with tourist attractions or where the coastal path leads when we asked.

One thing that does let the site down slightly (which isnt the sites fault) is some of the people, loud music blasting out, driving round far to fast, people driving to the faculties block constantly/ shop/ pub (which bizarrely seemed to happen all the time with a constant amount of cars driving passed just to get around the site at speed, )

Overall a fantastic family site, not the sort of site we generally visit in the uk but my kids enjoyed it, don't think we would stay for 10 days again but would be ok for 3or 4 nights for us, it's also very keenly priced considering the amount of facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teifion 2 reviews from this member

Brilliant weekend!

Awesome campsite, plenty to do and loads of space. Visited on the bank holiday weekend. There were 4 families in our party so there were 4 medium Size tents. Plenty of space so we were spoilt for choice for a pitch. The 6 children were aged between 2 years old to 9 years old. They were safe to play and visit the clubhouse.

Clubhouse was only a short distance from our tents. Music played all day long from the clubhouse. Plenty going on, swimming pool was good, play area was safe, mini golf was good too. The meals were fantastic and the bar was always buzzing especially when cardiff city fc played and beat manchester city which was shown live on the T. V, great atmosphere and a good pint. Will definitely be returning soon.

Loved it!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SappyCamper 3 reviews from this member

Great site everything is just a short stroll.

Loads of room for tents and kids to play. The estuary sits one side, 300m away (fishing opportunity), and an on site lake the other.

Larger Shower blocks, clean and hot with hooks and shelf.

On site Crazy Golf, Kids playground, Indoor Pool and play area, plus kids games room. The 'Club House is a proper Club, great meals at good prices and nightly entertainment.

Very child friendly, and adult welcoming.

Bar open till late so there is noise that carries out to the tent area.

Extra benefit is that whilst tucked away, a 3min drive takes you to Llanelli shopping estate, Tesco / Morristons / KFC & McDonalds.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1286 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019