Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bankell Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lanarkshire > Glasgow > Bankell Farm Camping Site Reviews

CLOSED: Bankell Farm Camping Site
Strathblane Rd
Milngavie
Glasgow
Lanarkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: K9Kapers 1 review from this member

 We stopped here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners are very helpful and cheerily guided us to our hard standing plot, on the first night, when we arrived very late. Everything was clean and spotless even though it is January and a quiet yet messy time of the year. The toilet block is fully tiled, lined with wood, heated and there was no extra charge for showers, which is always welcome.

This site is ideally situated for visiting Glasgow and the mountains. We took in the sea lochs trail and Loch Lomond over a couple of days, when it snowed and blew a gale but we were warm and cosy nestled in the shelter of Bankell Farm :) 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Briary 14 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as we were at the end of our holidays and coming to Glasgow via fortwilliam to visit the SECC for the bbc good food show. Yes the road into the site is a little bumpy but when we arrived the very nice lady checked us in. Views over the countryside lovely, and there were a few aeroplanes en route to Glasgow airport but nothing to worry about. Excellent railway link - 20 mins to SECC and further on if you wish - beautiful walks /cycling around the reservoir and country park and we never had time but around the corner is a huge Virgin sports centre with a golf and country club so lots to do in this fab area. And of course it is right at the start of The West Highland Way - The site is opened all year, electricity, hard standing, very clean toilets and showers - ideal location - will be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Revid 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights visiting friends locally. Enjoyable site very quite apart from the planes overflying from GLW. All we had at night were the cows behind us. Good warm & hot showers. A little daunting from the entrance off the road to the pitches but delightful once there. Pleasant owners & helpful. So good we are returning 2016 Sept, if they will have us. Good walking around the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mojomcn 5 reviews from this member

 Basic campsite with firm area to pitch tents. Area for tents had flat and sloped area in a small field surrounded by bushes & trees providing shelter but also midges but any camper should be prepared for midges anywhere in Scotland. Picnic table and sheltered picnic table in tent field. Clean showers and toilets but unisex which may not bother some. Dish washing area outside. 5 minute walk to main road and regular but hourly bus will stop if hailed and short ride to Milngavie railway station, town centre and start of the West Highland Way.

Can pitch tent if no one available & post fee through door. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Venerable Bede 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed one night en route to Ardnamurchan and to see friends nearby. No one around on arrival so pitched up and paid at the office in the morning. Initial impressions on a gloomy evening not great but actually much to recommend it. Pleasant situation in farmland, well cared for site, great showers, as big as nearly anywhere we've been. Drive bursting out with daffodils. We were lucky to get there without problems as we hadn't realised that from the south you really need to take the M8 rather than the M74 through Glasgow. Took us a while to get away in the morning, bit complex getting to the A82.

We would have returned on our way down but couldn't, because when we tried to book, the site was full on on one of the nights we wanted. Consequently we had to go to the Strathclyde Country Park and are now firmly hooked on that for future stop-overs near Glasgow. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScoutinSquirrel 4 reviews from this member

 We were very pleased with this site, plenty of room, other friendly backpackers and families in the caravans, and the washblock and pot-washing facilities are excellent as already described. We also appreciated the shelters in the camping field.

We found the location convenient for our friends in Paisley and access was easy once we'd found the end of the driveway! It is true that the site owners were noticeably absent until the morning office hours but I felt that they would have been in the farmhouse had we needed to knock on the door. I found it a reasonably child-friendly site though a bit boring for them - a path through one of the little copses of woodland or an area set aside for play would have been helpful - I am aware that provision of outdoor play equipment is often too difficult and costly to keep safely maintained. Perhaps a couple of benches alongside the grassy area near to the hardstandings would suggest an area for play away from the glass windows and the tents?

The reason that my son was asking me to look up the site was that our visit was greatly enhanced by two young kittens, one of whom 'the great Explorocat' followed us to the tent field and entertained the boys by getting inside the outer tent and pouncing on the bedroom tent walls.

I was rather glad that we didn't live in Britain as if we had done I have a feeling that we would have been asking the farmer if we could take a kitten home.

If any more recent visitors encounter a tortoiseshell and white young cat on the campsite, a kitten in 2012, do mention it in your review as I am being nagged here! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Squince39 14 reviews from this member

 We are just back from a weekend trip to Bankell Farm in Milingavie.

This was our first opportunity to visit a Certified Location and we were not disappointed.

There are five spacious hardstanding pitches set in a farm setting with some lovely countryside scenery to look at. The place is well kept, litter free and very clean.

The usual facilities are available, waste disposal, dishwashing, water, showers and toilets.

All the facilities were of a reasonable standard, but the toilets and showers were very good for a C. L. We thought.

The only drawback was the traffic on the flight path to Glasgow Airport, but we soon got used to it and it didn't really bother us.

Situated at the start of the Trossachs so some great days out and local walks are on offer.

We will definitely be back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DJMotorhomer 46 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights starting off our Scotland Tour. We walked the 1 1/2 miles to Milngavie Train station and caught the train to Glasgow (only 7.20 for both of us return !)

The site is on the flight path to Glasgow Airport so noise can be a problem. Site staff were very helpful. Amenities were ok for a farm. There is a field for campers behind the hardstanding pitches. To be honest when we were there it looked like they had just given the pitches an overhaul as surrounding areas of the hardstanding were muddy and dishevelled slightly. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chelseagang 10 reviews from this member

 Being advertised as a caravan club certified site which takes just 5 vans and being advertised on UK campsites website as not accepting tents as there's a cross through them I was a bit shocked when we arrived to tents as well and more than 5 caravans there at times during our stay. The area of the total site allocated to caravans was quite cramped as more of the field was dedicated to tents.

Site was nice once got through the skip yard and even the skip yard was tidy and didn't cause much disturbance and the driveway up to the site was very pleasant we even saw deer on the lawn a couple of times.

There is aircraft noise from Glasgow airport and some aircraft are quite low. For what you paid was excellent value for money and great location for exploring the area including Loch Lomand, Falkirk, Sterling and even across to Edinburgh. Most pitches were grass but there were a couple of hard standing but our shock was the amount of tents that arrived throughout our stay.

We never saw anyone from the site during our stay and although we pre booked others were just turning up, staying and putting their money through the office door there didn't seem to be much control over who was there.

There are 2 large decent showers which are free which have plenty of room to get dressed etc in, 2 large sinks and 2 loos. There's also a washing up area with scalding hot water which were excellent as well as a CDP for the loo waste.

All areas are kept clean and well maintained. Take a loo roll with you as with the amount of campers on site it had always run out. If you get a hard standing pitch and need to put awning up you will need hard ground pegs.

Down in the town there's a tesco near the station and a few other shops and a bit further down towards Glasgow there's a large Asda so you have plenty of choices of food. Some of the neighbouring villages had some nice pubs and there's a beefeater just down the road.

When there's no tents on site there's room for any children to play where they pitch but if as busy as was when we were there the small field is all taken up with campers so no room to swing a cat.

We would return to this site, all said and done the excellent value and good facilities and cleanliness outweigh the downsides we experienced, just hope if we do return there's no camping groups there, the hikers and walkers that stopped over were all great and respectful but not the groups they were a nightmare but maybe we were just unlucky getting 2 there together. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Lanarkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1998 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement