Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clachan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Killin > Clachan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Clachan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Aberfeldy Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 23/03 To 29/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sercoboy 7 reviews from this member

We enjoyed this site, we enjoyed the price even more £15 a night, Maragown down the road was £30, but they have a toilet block.

There is plenty of space between all the vans, you can park up wherever you fancy, in the trees or in the open. Great!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ladyjayneq 1 review from this member

Our second visit here and stayed 4 nights. Peaceful enough site although you do get traffic noise from the main road. We didn't see the wardens at all. There's a nice information room with books, DVDs etc. Unfortunately due to the excessive rain we have had lately the grass was sodden and in places quite boggy, not good when you had to cross the grass to the hook up.

There are no toilet facilities at this site or any children's play area, there is a small dog walk area but we chose to walk our 2 dogs around the pathways rather than in the grass/bog.

You can walk from the site to Killin village but be aware there are no paths for a fair distance and the road is busy.

We will no doubt return here but hopefully after a long dry spell!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Countrywalker1 4 reviews from this member

Lovely Site; Friendly Staff; very quiet and lovely walking. Site facilities were excellent and local pub friendly and served great food. Local history very interesting and fishing also available. All is all a great place.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scouser1959 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site very peaceful nobody bothers you. No toilet block so own shower and toilet required. Large pitches plenty of space between caravans well kept.

Set in woods so plenty of wildlife, birds ducks etc.

Great area for walking and fishing. Bit too quiet a site if you have children not much for them to do as no play area, bigger caravan club site just a mile down the road better suited for children.

Killin is a nice little village, just wish you could walk from campsite to it, but no footpath at the side of road, which is a very dangerous bendy road so not advisable to walk along it, so you have to use car to visit Killin that is the only thing wrong with where site is situated. Will not stop us coming back for a third visit though.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IainM 22 reviews from this member

Peaceful, though a little road noise as we were on the outside edge of the park nearest the road.

No facilities, but that wasn't an issue.

All of the water points are part way up a slope which is an issue coming back down as a full aquaroll wants to drag you with it.

Limited TV, no freeview, but picture Ok with directional aerial. No O2 phone signal, though orange was fine. T-mobile dongle got excellent reception!

Will return.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moseley38 23 reviews from this member

A wonderful site with excellent links to many of the main tourist areas being fairly central.

Walking from the site is not wonderful but is possible. To access most footpaths you need to negotiate the road into Killin but it is worth it as there are is some spectacular countryside to walk in.

As said before the site is terraced and much of it is tree covered, there are no toilets so you need your own. The dog walk is rather small. There is also no play are so it is probably best for people without children. The lack of facilities is reflected in the price.I was a little worried there might be a lot of road noise as it is very close to an A road but in fact it was very quiet.

Killin is very prety and has some well stocked shops - the hardware come petshop was excellent and the staff very helpful. There is also a very good little folklore museum.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prickles46 6 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site, our pitch had a lovely view of a mountain and Killin below. The lack of facilities didn't bother us, as we prefer to use our own and the price reflects that. I would imagine that some of the pitches can be a little dark because of the trees. We were on hardstanding as none of the grass pitches were in use. They did look a bit boggy!

Do try the road over Ben Law and along Glen Lyon, ending up in Aberfeldy. (But NOT with a caravan in tow!) It's quite breathtaking! Killin is small, but has a well stocked Co-op, and quite a few other shops, including a wool shop.

There was a problem with the water supply the day we left, whether it was to do with the imminent floods down below, I don't know. I was glad we were on the Clachan site, and not the Maragowan one, as they were evacuating the site in case the river came over the bank! TV & radio were useless, even tho we were in the area of the site that was supposed to be better.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Raithfanz 7 reviews from this member

This was a lovely, peaceful site set in woodland. It has no facilities (other than electric points) but we knew this before our arrival so it wasn't a problem. This site was popular with dog owners (us among them) and occasionally we heard other dogs barking, but as the pitches are well spaced and the site is terraced it was never a problem. Our children enjoyed exploring the wooded areas around the site.

Killin itself is lovely (if a little touristy) and has plenty of facilities including a laundrette but I would not recommend walking there from the site as the road is narrow but busy during the summer.

The site is a great location to explore the Loch Lomond area and we thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: I+AC 2 reviews from this member

The site is peaceful with some pitches in small groups amongst the trees and a grassy open area at the end of the site. We have been to the site twice and the first time we had a lovely pitch amongst the trees. This time we were in the grassy area, which was extremely soft, and we were looking directly into the back of another caravan, so found it more claustrophobic, but that's probably because we mostly use Certified Locations and are used to more space and less vans. We don't mind having to use the caravan shower and toilet facilities, so in that respect, the site was ideal for us. Television reception is not good in some areas of the site. We used the site as a base for exploring Glencoe, Oban and Fort William. Nearby Killin is scenic with pubs, shops, cafes and a good size children's playpark.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feecamp 3 reviews from this member

We found this to be a lovely, peaceful site with plenty of wildlife. We were there on the opening day of the season and there was no warden onsite but a simple arrangement to check in at Maragowan where we were given the key code for Clachan. There's a radio link from the gate to Maragowan so you can call a warden if required. We had to because the EHU had tripped before we even connected and someone arrived within 10 minutes - great, friendly service.

All of the pitches in use were hard standing with the grass ones not yet in service. It seems to be quite a damp place and the ground was pretty soft in places but the pitches and roads were well maintained so no problems pitching or manoeuvring.

As has been said already, this is an 'own sanitation required' site with just EHU's, water and waste facilities. Probably better for adults and ideal for bird watchers.

Best to have transport into nearby Killin but plenty of shops, eateries and walking within easy reach.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4157 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019