Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stowford Manor Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Stowford Manor Farm Reviews

Stowford Manor Farm
Wingfield
Trowbridge
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA14 9LH
Tel: 01225 752253
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikef3 1 review from this member

 The river was only a few feet from our tent which was nice but its a but murky though.

Nothing really was nearby or a walk away so you need to drive for food or shops.

We were looking forward to the home cooked pizzas but unfortunately the owner was only cooking for his friends on the evening we wanted it.

But overall a enjoyable stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Claudy 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely lovely place! Campsite at a historic farm and mill house, in the meadows along the beautiful mill stream.

The gorgeous old buildings provide the picturesque backdrop to the grass camping fields.

Cream teas in the farm house and -oh joy- fresh cappuccinos from a little coffee wagon near the showers!

Facilities are charming, clean, and work very well, although 50 pence pieces are needed for the showers.

There are artistsí studios in parts of the buildings that seem to offer various work-shops and courses. I met someone who was camping and attending a glass making course ( which sounded fab).

Bath and lots of National Trust properties nearby. Amazing food at castle Farm Cafe, 10 minutes drive at Midford. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pillsley 24 reviews from this member

 Positives: A lovely site next to the river. It's very peaceful and you can play in/on the river and the swimming area. The site itself is completely flat. We didn't camp last year so I'm a little out of touch with current prices but it seemed quite cheap to me.

You pay £7 each for unit and person so our son on his own in a tent paid £14 per night whereas we paid £24 for leccie, caravan and 2 people. It has sinks for washing and washing up with lots of leaflets detailing local attractions.

The cream teas are "proper" you get lashings of strawberry jam, cream and two scones with a pot of tea which holds at least 2 cups. We ordered 1 cream tea, 1 scone, an elderflower cordial and an orange juice which came to £9. Bargain.

Negatives: the showers are a tad dubious.

Radstock mining museum is worth a visit and Frome is lovely for shopping and local markets. Bath, Bristol and Longleat are very close. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: REDROB 7 reviews from this member

 2nd visit to this wonderful site. Nothing has changed much. Such a great little site. Ideal for touring(as the Europeans use it for)or just chilling. Even on the weekend when it was packed it was still so nice just sitting outside the Tent admiring the views and watching the World go by.

Cream Teas are still to die for, the addition of meat packs that can be bought from the reception is a great idea. We just had the Burgers and Sausages but they were delicious and great value.

The owners were very apologetic when they had to ask us if we could possible have our Tent packed away by 9am on the Friday as they were having a Marquee erected for a Wedding where we had pitched our Tent.

We didn't mind at all and the free Cream Tea that we got as compensation was a nice touch.

Would recommend this site to anyone with or without children.

Will be visiting again next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

 Step back in time. Situated on the Wiltshire/Somerset border Stowford Manor is a basic but special little site.

There are two camping fields of medium size, the main field is flanked by the old 15th century manor to one side and has the River Frome flowing past behind it, this is the nicer field l would say, the other 'cricket' field doesn't have the same views and is closer to the road.

The manor house is reception and also home to a tea room where they serve cream teas (freshly baked scones smelt delicious but we didn't partake), the outdoor seating area was more shabby than chic unfortunately and the plastic furniture could be improved and create a nicer ambiance.

Facilities wise there were only 3 unisex toilets, clean but basic with a slightly quirky feel, this continued through to the 2 showers, again unisex and quirky, being situated quite literally in the cow shed. Cobbled floor an all! Nice little touches with the old wooden furniture, fresh flowers on the picture window etc, but not sure if this was a step too far? l like to see clean bleached tiles and it was a bit dark and dingy in there, though definitely unique which l do appreciate.

The old manor is now a bit ramshackle with some parts being lodged in by the lovely white Doves, part is used by local craft businesses which is nice. The resident Ducks and Chickens were charming to see and l loved waking up to the smell of the wild garlic by the river each morning.

One evening we saw two of the river swimmers swimming past our pitch, there is a river swimming club a few fields up and we walked up there and saw the beautiful weir (you can join). There was some road noise but not enough to bother you.

Unusually once we had paid/ booked in we never saw the owners/staff on the camping field once. I enjoyed the relaxed historical feel of this quite special little site and despite the basic facilities l am looking forward to return visits for more of the same. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AMG1 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very simple and relaxed. Showers quite quirky! Facilities simple. Site very spacious with a river running through, hours of fun!

You can also join the river swimming club one of the last surviving, access to swim is a few fields along and was great, kingfishers and dragonflies spotted whilst swimming.

Plus cream teas are available at the main house, delicious.

Road near the site is busy but its easy to find quiet roads for cycling, and walks. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squidders 2 reviews from this member

 Stowford Manor Farm is a great little site with a few rough edges. The good points are the site grounds, they are really very nice with a little river running past it that you can paddle in, there are two rope swings and it's great fun.

We were unlucky to catch terrible weather from the tail end of a hurricane but the pitches did not get water logged and remained firm which is nice.

We opted for an electric hookup and this was completely reliable.

Toilets are clean and well stocked with paper, hand wash and were never too busy when needed.

Showers are in a converted cow shed I think, 50p gets you a good long shower that is nice and hot.

You can buy local milk if you get to it quickly, it's amazing in coffee but other than some jams, and logs for the fire, I didn't see any supplies available on site. That said, there is a sainsbury supermarket a few miles away and some nice pubs for eating out. The Barge Inn served very good food and cider but filled up quickly.

I did try to hire a fire pit but couldn't find anyone to hire it from, we rang bells but eventually gave up on the idea. Shame.

We did give the swimming club site a go but the site felt very much in decline, as though someone loved it very much in the past but not today. Frames that used to be diving boards were still there but the boards had long gone. The water was refreshing and deep and it was a lot of fun but I would have loved to see it in its hey day.

Over all, the site is very good and had a nice relaxed family feel - no noisy groups, and everyone I spoke to was really nice. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: REDROB 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent 11 unbelievable days at this gem of a site. Should have been 10 but we couldn't resist another night. After reading some of the reviews we were a bit apprehensive but all that went once we'de arrived and pitched.

The owners were so polite and helpful, going about there business with a smile. The showers were the hottest we have come across and well worth the 50p. The Cream tea's in the Manor House are to die for.

We used the site as a base for touring but on some days we were content just to sit outside the tent and watch the world go by, it was that pleasant.

We are not easily pleased but this site will be getting a re-visit next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 89 reviews from this member

 I can understand many of the previous comments on this Site.

On the positive side, it has plenty of space and, even though we understood that it was full when we stayed, all units were sited along the edges of the fields and there was plenty of space left inside the field. There is a lot of room for children to play safely, even if there isn't a for,

Formal playground. The site has a really relaxed feel for everyone and is ideal for a quiet break.

On the negative side, facilities are less than great:

Communal washing

2 showers @ 50p for 8 minutes

3 toilets which were often less than spotless due to the high traffic. This latter issue could be sorted easily. The others need investment which doesn't seem to have been evident in the recent past. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Oldgazza 25 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights. Found the site to be noisy from road, and we were in the rear field. Toilets and showers are adequate but basic. Untreated Jersey milk, excellent.

Grass 6 inches or more long, I thought everything was rather unkempt and could do with a bit more maintenance (tlc). Went to walk to pub up road from the castle but gave up as you take your life in your hands trying to walk anywhere alongside this road with traffic thundering by at high speed incessantly and blind bends everywhere with no footway. As we have a dog, walking was limited to alongside the river down through the rally field.

Recycling area, various bins piled in middle of rear field.

Totally unimpressed with what is on offer here, would not visit again, could be so much better with a little more effort. At £15 with EHU I suppose it is not bad value nowadays, but not for me. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stowford Manor Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Stowford Manor Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Trowbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement