Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cefn Hedog Touring Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Cefn Hedog Touring Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Cefn Hedog Touring Caravan And Campsite
Rhoshirwaun
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8HL
Tel: 01758 760551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roytjenkins 2 reviews from this member

 We have just found our ideal campsite, after trying several other sites. We are seasonal at this site as from this spring We have never been made more welcome by any other owners than here. The camp is very well laid out, amenities are spotless. The camp is not massive hence a quiet and relaxing holiday. All bins are clearly labelled for recycling purposes. There is plenty of space for children to let off steam, l truly cannot fault the site or owners.

Roy and Jan 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andymac2003 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back on Monday from a long weekend over the August bank holiday. We booked it rather last minute and was recommended from friends of there's who we're full for the weekend.

The site is situated in a gorgeous part of Wales with stunning views of the coast towards whistling sands and near to Aberdaron, Pwllheli, nefyn and Abersoch, all with stunning beaches and gorgeous drives between these locations on the llyn peninsula.

The field where we pitched the tent was in a great spot and plenty of spaces between tents.

But my main criticism is the lack of toilets and showers. We were there on a busy bank holiday weekend and counted 30 tents pitched in this field with 1 toilet and 1 shower for the men and 2 toilets and 1 shower for the girls. I found this to be extremely frustrating as you always queued for the toilet or shower. Once you got to use the toilet or shower there would be a knock at the door with the next person who wanted to use it waiting for their turn putting pressure on you to hurry up.

Also there is only one sink to wash your pots after you had dirtied them, again queuing happened often for the sink.

There is a few out houses on the site and I feel if they converted one of them to a shower and toilet block with a few more sinks for pot washing this site would be a great site.

Possibly food for thought for the owners.

My 5/10 is purely directed at the lack of toilets, showers and washing up sinks, which personally I find an important part of any camping trip 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Felicity952 11 reviews from this member

 We had left it quite late to book a site for the bank holiday and this was recommended by another campsite that we had tried booking into. The owner was very pleasant and helpful on the phone. The directions given on their website were easy to follow but I clocked it at 11 miles not the 7 stated. On arrival we pitched in the lower field next to our friends caravan as we had hook-up. The owner kindly lent us their extension as ours did not reach because of where we were pitched. The site was very quiet, lovely views and peaceful. There was a lot of space for flying kites, playing football and rounders.

The area is lovely and there were plenty of beaches to choose from. Abersoch itself was busy and although there were a lot of car parks they charged 5 for the day and we did not want to stay all day so as it was just out of season parking on the roadside was OK. Pwllheli was only a 15 minute drive away and there is an Asda, Wilko's and Home Bargains. There is a good Chinese by the main car park (portions were huge!). The weather was changeable from beautiful sunshine to strong winds and heavy rain. The site was not very sheltered and the tent took a battering but survived.

The site itself although with lovely views is definitely more suited to caravans. The toilet block consisted of a toilet and sink for ladies and the same for men and then a toilet, sink and shower for ladies and same for men. There was no hot water connected to any of the sinks and there was a towel for drying hands. The showers (which were adequate) took a 50p coin for about 6 minutes. There is an undercover area in one of the barns for washing dishes but again no hot water (although the website does say there is) and I did leave the tap running for ages.

It was good that you can stay until mid-day as this gave time for the tent to dry out. We were charged 16 per night which is very reasonable (2 adults, 1 child and hook-up). It is only for the fact of having no hot water that I am giving the score I am giving. With a little investment I think this site could be really good. 
Management response: We are a small family run site. We do have hot metered showers but in the toilets there is only cold running water. We do have hot water in a 'washing up barn' however on the occasion stated we forgot to switch the heater on, if only somebody had knocked at our door and asked, we could have switched the heater on! We always try to help.


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vw kid 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed over end of may bank holiday 2 adults and a child weather got better towards the weekend had a great time. This site, if your one of these that likes bars and noise and entertainment, it's not for you but us that like the basics and no hassle, it's great.
Toilets were always clean and so were the 2 showers. Real friendly owners that are going forwards with this site. They put us on the 2nd field as we had friends coming in a second caravan. Yes there was horse prints but what do you expect it's a farm field.
We loved it and used it as an excellent base to go to various beaches in different directions and it was always good to come back to the peace of the site.
The owners were there all the time and full of advise and help 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Judy bowen 2 reviews from this member

 You know the saying 'you cant please all of the people all of the time', well try being a campsite owner! Dogs, we are a dog friendly site and love people to bring their dogs, we have a mown path round a four acre field for walking dogs, but they have to be on leads at all times, as we also have lots of children on our site. We can direct you to all the dog friendly beaches where your dogs can be off the lead, but I don't know many sites where dogs can roam free.

Gazebos, yes we charge for gazebos especially ones the size of a six man tent! Yes we like you to pay us on arrival, unfortunately a couple of people have left without paying.

We have a small football pitch for the children to play on and a four acre field that they can roam about in relative safety.

Our campsite is all about us wanting people to have a fantastic time here and enjoy this beautiful place,we enjoy meeting you all, but yes it is a business also. We have taken some constructive criticism on board and we are having a water heater installed in the pot washing barn.

Please take our site for what it is, in a beautiful place, with beautiful views, but it is nothing like Butlins. Ask us about or for anything and we will try to help 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ringo63 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited cefn hedog five times over the past three years and no matter what the weather have always enjoyed our stay there. We have found judy and john to be most welcoming, friendly and helpful, they have a good knowledge of various places to visit and of places to eat and drink.
The site is in a beautiful and peaceful location with clean safe sandy beaches close by ideal for families, we have two children who love the area. It is also good for walking and cycling as the lanes are very quiet.
The facilities on site are constantly being updated and are always very clean and tidy. There are electric hook up points, an undercover pot washing area and separate toilet and shower facilities.
There isn't a play park but there is plenty of room to play games. Our dogs were very welcome and as I would expect rules are very strict regarding cleaning up after them and keeping them on leads on site.
There isn't a shop on site but local shops are a short drive away. Abersoch and pwllelli are good places to explore and have lots of shops and pubs to visit.
If you are looking for a quiet peaceful break in beautiful surroundings with friendly helpful hosts I would highly recommend a stay at cefn hedog . 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sonial 1 review from this member

 We have a seasonal caravan pitch at Cefn Hedog and have been visiting since last year.

Judy and John are always very welcoming and looking for ways to improve the site and involve visitors (if they so wish). Last years season culminated in a beach clean followed by a BBQ.

The site is peaceful and has lovely views to the sea with the nearest National Trust beach a short drive away.

The toilets and shower are always clean and Judy promotes a responsible attitude to tourism, getting her hands dirty with recycling the rubbish and promoting local farmers produce.

If you want a peaceful location within reach of beautiful countryside / seasides this is the place for you. However if you want the bright lights of nightclubs etc then look elsewhere as this isn't that type of place. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Red Chilli 6 reviews from this member

 Good location. It is obvious this is an ongoing project; only one shower which cost 50p for approx 4 mins, no other hot water available which is very disappointing (just cold water to wash dishes!).

Dog walk is a trodden path round the campsite (in the camping field ie. No dedicated dog walking area). There is nowhere within easy walking distance to let your dog off the lead.
Children's Play area is within the camping field and it is obvious that horses use this field too (need I say more!). We were charged an extra 5 a night for a gazebo. We stayed an extra night and the owner appeared again, taking more than he quoted and stating he would return with the change - he never did - we were not impressed to say the least!
The potential for a great site is there. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Judy bowen 2 reviews from this member

 Just wanted to reply to last review. What can I say! 2008 muddy! The whole country was under water, we tried our best. We now have a stone path through the top field onto the big field. Hopefully this will help if it rains all summer again!

Toilets are all cleaned twice a day, we now have a new ladies shower. We do have a pot washing area, cold water at moment, but electric to plug in kettle, hope to keep improving as we go.

We have beautiful views over the sea and surrounding countryside, very peaceful and quiet.

You can always ask us if you need anything we always try to help.

Hope you give us a try

Judy Bowen 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mellc456 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at cefn hedog, site was very disappointing compared to what was shown on the website. It was a mud bath this was not the campsites fault as there was no tarmac or gravel roads into the field. Toilets x2 poor never any toilet paper and only 1 shower which cost 50p for about 4 minutes. Also there was no running hot water in the toilets and no where to wash dishes. The owners were very friendly and did apologise for the mud also bottom end of the field was water logged it was like a marsh this was due to a lot of rain they had a few days before. Pitches are not very level and if it rains gets muddy very quickly. The site is in the middle of nowhere and was 5 miles to local shop and chip shops etc The site is very quiet. We did have a pleasant stay except for the mud and facilities, if you want a quiet break then this is the site for you best in a caravan though I think. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cefn Hedog Touring Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cefn Hedog Touring Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cefn Hedog Touring Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3332 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement