Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pilgrims Rest Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Plymouth > Pilgrims Rest Certificated Site Reviews

Pilgrims Rest Certificated Site
41 Knighton Road
Wembury
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL9 0ES
Tel: 01752 863429
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Steverowe57 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, level with separate toilet block for men/women which were very clean if dated in appearance. The shower works on 20p 5 minutes per coin, sink with cold water for use for washing up. Found Mr. Manley very friendly and chatty site takes dogs on lead.

Ideally placed with a bus stop just yards away from entrance getting to centre of Plymouth in 30 minutes. Lovely walk back along coast path, or a shorter inland route in preferred. The circular walk to Newton Ferrers worth doing, good views across Yealm estuary.

Will use site again. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maudie57 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here 2 nights as we wanted to visit Plymouth. The site was empty and we were given a pitch just in front of the static. Price was high as we had been told the toilets and showers were closed, so apart from EHU nothing else was provided. As we have a motorhome this was not a problem.

Getting into Plymouth by bus was easy, the bus stop is just outside the site entrance, and tickets are cheap considering the distance traveled. The site is just outside Wembury, which, though we didn't explore is supposed to be beautiful.

The site has a small section fenced off which appears to have the grave or perhaps just a cross as a memorial to his wife. The site is on a hill so is exposed to winds. We had storm Diana when we stayed, which was slightly scary. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 36 reviews from this member

 Good location and quiet despite building site behind hedge. The facilities are basic, and during our stay, a bit dirty despite the site being almost deserted.

We arrived on a Sunday to find 3 units on the fairly large site. We were greeted by a young lady who told us to 'pitch along there somewhere'. She didn't know where the water or CDP was (but other campers helped).

It was an extremely hot day and our first pitch offered no shade for our dogs so we moved across the site to an alternative pitch under trees. All was well until the following evening when the owner came to our unit and basically ranted at my wife about not moving 'willy nilly'. He continued ranting but also said we didn't need to move back across the (almost) empty) site.

In summary, almost empty site, no specific pitching instructions and berated for contravening unposted rules.

We left the next day. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The swifties 15 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site even on the bank holiday weekend. Some great walks from the site, we went to Newton Ferrers on the little ferry, a beautiful spot. Owners very friendly.

Toilets ok and spotless. Ladies loos fabulously pink, love them. Would definitely stay here again.

Watch out if you are using your sat nav, brought us down some horrendous narrow lanes from the A38 - use a map. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Njbeecroft 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the British Firework competition in Plymouth - perfect location for Plymouth and for the beaches to the east. We had a hire car dropped at the site and the owners couldn't do enough for us including receiving the car when it was delivered. Slightly sloping site, but no problem for the motorhome and the pitches are level.

Basic toilets and showers which could probably do with a refurb, but they were immaculately clean and suited us fine. Hook up and water near enough to every pitch to be convenient.

Very quiet and private. We would stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site whilst walking the South West Coast Path and it worked well for this, and whilst the site has its charms it does fall down in a few areas.

Firstly to the good points. It is nice site in appearance, surrounded as it is by high hedges and fairly well maintained grass and borders. Location was good for us with a bus into Plymouth and then we were able to walk a section of the coast path back to the site.

Sadly the facilities are not great, they are very dated and whilst the toilets and sinks etc themselves were clean the building etc were not and felt neglected. My friend accidentally knocked a pain of glass out of the door because the wood was rotten and in a poor state of repair.

Communication was challenging both during booking and on arrival, having said that the people I spoke to were always friendly. Didn't get the chance to explore Wembury, so sadly can't comment on pub etc.

Despite its short comings, I enjoyed my time at Pilgrims Rest and whilst I probably wouldn't make a beeline to stay here again, I wouldn't be too bothered if I had to. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

 A small, basic, but lovely site.

We are a family with a toddler in a tent with EHU.

On arrival we had a very warm, friendly welcome from the owners daughter, who runs the site. We were given a choice of places to pitch, all very spacious and the short grass. The site is slightly sloping, but the pitch we chose was flat enough. It is a small site and never felt busy.

There are two separate loo blogs blocks - a portacabin in bottom corner for ladies and some at the end of a barn for gents. Both are basic and dated but cleaned regularly. The ladies is better than the gents though! The ladies have several loos, a couple of sinks and separate shower. I didn't see the gents, but my husband said the shower wasn't very nice - apparently it was like a caravan shower in need of repair! The shower is 20p which gives about 5mins of hot water. There are a couple of washing up sinks on the side of the gents loo block, but no hot water at them so need to take a kettle of hot water over! Apart from Ehu, water and bins there are no other facilities which gives it a very relaxed feeling.

We chose this site as we were visiting family just down the road for a few days. The location is its biggest selling point; just on the edge of Wembury village. It's walking distance downhill to the village shop and pub. The shop is a Spar type shop for basics. The odd wheel pub serves food at reasonable prices and has a children's play area in the beer garden at the back.

The beach is about just over a mile from the site. There is a National Trust car park at the beach - you pay to park if not members, it also gets full at weekends and sunny days so get there early! At the beach are a Marine Educational Centre, loos, a cafe and small shop selling ice creams and buckets and spades. The beach itself is still recovering from a bad storm a couple of years ago when all its sand got washed away! It's currently a mixture of shingle, sand and rocks. It is fantastic for rock pooling though and the marine centre runs rock pool rambles, although we didn't go on one. There are some lovely coastal walks from the beach. We walked to the Eddystone pub at Heybrook Bay, then on to Down Thomas to the great playground by the village hall and drink at Mussell Inn, then back to the Odd Wheel in Wembury for tea!

Another day we went up the coast to Paignton for a traditional day at the seaside with chips and penny falls on the pier and building sandcastles on the beach.

A site I'd be happy to return to, but my husband would prefer the gents shower to be renovated! At 19/night for tent Inc EHU it was reasonably priced but not cheap. We also found it hard work to contact the site to book, as despite a new website we didn't get a reply to our e-mail and took several phone calls to get an answer - but did get a very helpful response when did get hold of them by phone. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ramps21 3 reviews from this member

 Me and my partner had a 3 day spell in July and a week spell in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at pilgrims. The site is situated only 1. 5 miles from wembury beach and is only a 5 minute walk to the local shop and public house.

A great position to explore the south hams district of Devon and neighbouring Dartmoor plus only 2 miles off the main A38 trunk road allows easy access to the rest of Devon and Cornwall.

The site offers adequate and clean showers and is very quiet. The proprietors are extremely helpful and friendly so we are planning our next trip very soon.

Would recommend, Steve and Julie 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jillygumbo 14 reviews from this member

 My kind of campsite! What a find! Based at the top of the village looking over to the sea, it was a little windy but so lovely. Jim and his daughter Denise made me feel so welcome. The facilities were dated but spotless and the 20p for the shower was plenty. The walks from the site were plentiful and well-marked out. The pub The Odd Wheel, is dog friendly and serves food and is close enough to the site. The beach is about 1 to 1. 5 miles and there are loos and a car park down there. Note that dogs are not allowed on the beach 1 May to 30 September which is a shame. But the walks make up for that. Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Coast walkers 17 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our week staying at Pilgrims Rest,it was as the name says a 'Pilgrims Rest.'

We almost missed the entrance because it loomed up so quick as we turned off from the main road,so be aware.

The Owners Doris and Jim,were very warm and welcoming,We've never been treated to a cup of tea and a piece of cake on our arrival before.

We were given a choice of where to pitch, so we chose a nice sunny evening spot,The toilets/showers were Porta Cabins,but kept clean and checked again at night. There were outdoor washing up facilities and a Chemical Disposal Point. Facilities are basic, but so was the price, 12 a night for 2 Adults ,Trailer Tent and Electric (very good for height of summer season). I'm sure the family in the touring caravan next to us mentioned, that they'd only paid 14 a night for 2 adults 2 children, a dog and electric.

The pitches were well positioned and spaced out, with room for children to play safely.

Local shops/bus stops/pub are just down the road.

We're leisurely walking the South West Coast Path,so need to move on to the next location, but we will be back to visit Doris and Jim at Pilgrims Rest soon. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pilgrims Rest Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pilgrims Rest Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pilgrims Rest Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Plymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2622 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement