Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ley Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Church Stretton > Ley Hill Farm Reviews

Ley Hill Farm
Cardington
Church Stretton
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY6 7LA
Tel: 01694 771366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 12
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Avfc01 1 review from this member

Nice big field, Nice views

Showers are free but dated could do with a refurb

Just watch out for the daddy long leg spiders that share a shower with you. But a good base for doing walks.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kirstsw 32 reviews from this member

This site is in the middle of nowhere and has narrow lanes to get to it. But when you get there it is absolutely worth it. The views are stunning and the peace and quiet magical. We hoped to be able to walk to the pub one evening in the village but it's about a mile and I wouldn't risk it in the dark with the narrow lanes. Instead we enjoyed a BBQ listening to the sounds of nature. The shower was lovely and warm but the amenities block is a little tired looking. The owner was lovely and very helpful with directions for our walk. Very reasonably priced £15 p/n with electric.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fjane84 10 reviews from this member

This campsite has a spacious field for tents surrounded by a hedge as a wind break.

The pot washing area, toilets and showers were clean and tidy. The pot washing water was charged for hot water but the hot showers were free.

There was a tumble dryer to use for a fee and a sauna although it was closed when we went.

The owner David and his wife were very friendly and helpful.

The area is so peaceful and surrounded by countryside, quite remote and hard to find so use GPS!

There are lots of places to visit by car close by and many walking trails.

We would visit again.

It only cost us £10 per night for a small tent, car and two people!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmpw 2 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite last weekend after a busy couple of weeks wanting some peace and quiet to relax and recharge our batteries. What a wonderful place - a real gem! A large field on a slight slope with amazing views. Only 3 tents in field so had masses of space and the only sound was from the wildlife. Grass was cut short and had been picked up so we weren't bringing it into the tent - a real bonus. Facilities are good with loads of hot water. Only 2 loo's and one shower for women and the same for men and one wash up sink. Wasn't a problem for us but would it be enough in high season? Can't wait to return and will be making it our first campsite of the season of 2015.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulics 1 review from this member

Stayed here for one night and we had the site to ourself! Lovely peaceful site, we have been coming here for a couple of years now as quite local to us. It is a beautiful, quiet site.

Owners are friendly and helpful, huge area in the middle for children to play as tents pitch round the side.

Toilets clean and shower lovely and warm.

Carding Mill Valley which is a short drive away is

Beautiful and Church Stretton is well worth a visit with shops, cafe and great play area for the little ones.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stephenwilliams1987 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic stay at this lovely family run campsite last weekend.

We turned up after 9. 30pm on the Friday night to find the owner out on his lawnmower cutting us our own private pitch in a separate field that was full of hay. We were right at the top of the hill and had glorious views over the nearby hills. The reason he gave for our private pitch was that otherwise we would be pitched next to a couple with a young child.

The showers were warm, the toilets were clean and recycling is encouraged. The prices were also very reasonable for the site's facilities, only £9 per night for two people a car and our tent.

Also has a good nearby pub in the village of Cardington which is easily walkable from the site.

Highly recommended and we will be sure to visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maggyh 2 reviews from this member

I found this site via UKCampsite.co.uk and booked for 5 nights, camping alone with a belltent. The site is fairly isolated, and the lanes are pretty narrow though I live in a rural area and am used to that. It turned out I was the sole occupant of the camping field, and couldn't have had a nicer time! The owner was friendly, welcoming, and even knocked £1 off the standard rate as there was only one of me. The camping area had a slight slope but not enough to be a problem, the water tap was handy and although I agree with another reviewer that the washroom was dated it was spotlessly clean, which is what matters. The sauna wasn't working, sadly. The setting was splendid, with walks from the site and wonderful views. Nearby was Ironbridge, with enough amazing museums to keep me happy, as well as other places of interest like Attingham Park (National Trust). No shops, but I've always made sure there's enough food with me to avoid much messing about shopping. I'll certainly go back to this site, hopefully fairly soon.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ndixey 3 reviews from this member

Just returned home after a lovely weekend at Ley Hill Farm. Having only called on Thursday afternoon to book we arrived on Friday afternoon and the owner could not be more helpful. We had our own little private area of the campsite. Perfect for us and our two little dogs.

We come camping to get peace and quiet and walk and for this Ley Hill is perfect. Right on the doorsteps of the hills there are so many different routes for you to walk.

The camp site is quiet with lovely views. The facilities are basic but there is everything you need and toilets and showers were kept clean. Free hot water for showering, a small charge for hot water for washing up. The price was more than reasonable. £12. 50 a night with electric hook up. No additional charge for the dogs.

We ate at the Longville Arms in Longville in the Dale on one night (about 3 miles away). Excellent food and dogs welcome.

Cardinton itself is a lovely little village. There is one pub The Royal Oak where we had a very nice meal (again dogs were welcomed). Don't get caught out like we did though, the pub closes in the afternoon for a few hours and opens at 6. 30pm!

Unsure of any local shops, didn't see any personally but didn't actually require any ourselves as we had everything we needed.

If you want to get away for peace and quiet this is the perfect site!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gonnate 14 reviews from this member

Smashing site! It's a traditional site on a farm, very quiet, with good views of the surrounding countryside; quite a way from anywhere.

We arrived at the back end of July's torrential rain, just one day after the latest downpours, and it was drying out already and fine for pitching on.

Loos and showers are up near the farmhouse, a short walk through the parked caravans in their French style emplacements. They were clean and adequate, and free. Wooden or rubber floor grills would have been useful on the floor you'd just splashed, when changing afterwards.

We were there for 4 nights, and on three there were Duke of Ed. Groups on too. The owner, who was helpful & friendly, was keen to assure us he kept an eye on them, and the groups were all great.

We'd happily go there again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babycatchercymru 1 review from this member

Have just come back from a lovely 3 night break on this site. The tent pitches were huge and great value at £10 a night for 2 adults, 2 dogs and an 18 month old.

The free hot showers were lovely, if a little outdated, but much much better than I was expecting for the price.

The site was easy to find following their directions and was quiet and peaceful. 2 stand pipes in the camping field made life easier and it was nice to have bricks provided to put our stove on.

The recycling facilities here are good, and the owner was friendly and helpful.

I would 100% recommend this site and we plan to return next year.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3159 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019