Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Beacon Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Beacon Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Beacon Farm Certificated Site
Beacon Way
Sneaton
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 5HS
Tel: 01947 605212
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Zoejulie 1 review from this member

Brilliant campsite. All the basics that you need but clean and tidy.

Been visiting for the last 15 years and never go anywhere else when we want this area
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lesnorman 21 reviews from this member

We were charged 15 a night for a tent, 2 adults, a dog and a car which for mid-August is very good indeed.

You can camp wherever you like and seemingly take up as much space as you wish. However, this is a farm with a campsite not a C&C Club owned campsite and the facilities are appropriate for a farm as is the uneven field but perhaps less than you might hope for.

If you have children the play area is a paradise for them. If you don't have children camp as far from this play area as you can to avoid incredibly loud laughter and screaming from dawn to dusk. But then you have a long walk to the loo and showers.

Pro's and cons but remember you are not paying a lot for a good view, lots of space and enough facilities to get through your holiday with a little patience.

The ice cream made by the farm is fabulous and Matt in Reception is always helpful. We would go again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: A Couple and a Dog 2 reviews from this member

Had a nice stay here at Beacon Farm.

Very clean free showers which were always warm enough. Plenty of space to get dry in the cubicle which is always a bonus.

The dog was welcome whilst on a lead.

The site is a decent walk into Whitby so we drove and parked on a road a little nearer then walked in from there.

My only gripe would be the play area. Unfortunately when we arrived there were not too many pitches left and ended up right next to the play area which although we didn't have children with us we didn't particularly mind as it stated on the fencing that there were strict times that it could be used.

Unfortunately this was not the case and we were woken up all three mornings before 7am with children playing/screaming/swearing in the play area until around 10pm. (at this time other campers were heard asking the children to leave the park).

On the day of us leaving we were up early and packing away our tent listening to some of the appalling language whilst a group of kids were bullying another. It was the only time that I said something and all of the children scarpered which gave us a little peace and quiet for the rest of our time packing up.

My recommendation would be that the times are enforced a little better thus to ensure everyone has a lovely relaxing weekend. It's great to hear/see kids playing and having fun, but not so great being woken up before 7am. :(

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark+lesley 9 reviews from this member

We have been stopping at Beacon Farm for over ten years and I wanted to put a review on about the new toilets and showers that have been completed over winter 2016/17. As I can see from previous reviews which were completed a while ago, the showers were mentioned

I am sure that the owners would agree that the showers have been a problem and true to their word the ladies and gents have been completely ripped out and new showers, sinks and toilets have been installed.

we were there for Spring Bank week and I think they were still getting to grips with the new system, where the hot water was on a timer and as an early riser, the water was luke warm at best. However, after speaking to staff they amended the timer on the system and it was brilliant and now FREE.

The staff are always very helpful and will always try to accommodate your requests and along with advice about where to eat and where to go.

We have recommended this site to many family and friends and everyone who visits always comments how friendly it is.

If you want late nights with loud music, then look again somewhere else. If you want a family friendly site with stunning views, then book early if you want a tent with a electric hook-up.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rhysgriff 7 reviews from this member

Set on a working farm that sells homemade ice cream and has a nice cafe.

The views over to Whitby are lovely on a clear day and there are plenty of nice walks and a nearby pub. Most pitches are sloping so take chocks.

The toilet/shower facilities are good and well maintained but they can get busy at weekends.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy n maria 1 review from this member

Stayed for Halloween. Was made very welcome. Reasonable prices and an amazing breakfast in their tea room. Brilliant we will be back. Excellent views. Very laid back atmosphere. Just five minuets drive from whitby. Andy and Maria

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andmart 1 review from this member

We enjoyed a lovely week at this site which enjoys fabulous views of the sea and Whitby abbey. The weather was really kind to us so our child was able to enjoy the play area and open spaces. Beacon Farm feels relaxed and informal with very few advertised rules. The staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful.

One element we were disappointed with were the toilets and showers. Showers cost 20p for 3 minutes which is reasonable but the water temperature was inconsistent and tricky to regulate. The cubicle was also small so to shower a child was particularly difficult. Hooks for clothing would be useful as would a mop to ensure that the shower area is left dry and safe for the next camper.

Small hand wash basins are available in the toilet cubicle but with no shelf on which to put your wash things or a hook to hang your towel some people resorted to using the washing up sinks to wash properly.

A few minor improvements in the toilet block area would really help because this site really is quite special and it is this area that lets the site down.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jo.scott41 2 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend at Beacon Farm with a couple of other families. Great site with plenty of open space and fab views to Whitby.

Toilet and showers were fine, nothing special but clean and adequate. If you are super quick you can get away with 3 mins for 20p!

Play area in the centre of the site is great for the kids and you can watch them from your tent whilst cooking tea. Plus a goal post for football and room for a game of cricket.

Site has a tea room and ice cream parlour serving cream teas, breakfast, lunch and delicious ice cream. Scones were lovely especially with jam and clotted cream plus a cappuccino.

There were a couple of calves in a fenced off area and some rabbits in a hutch and run to interest the children too.

The owners are lovely, very polite and helpful. We knocked on their door at 8pm on the Saturday night as our car had a flat battery and they came over with their van and jump leads to help us out straight away.

We'd definitely recommend this site and at 12 per night it's very reasonable and we will be returning next year.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy_Wade 3 reviews from this member

This is an excellent family friendly site and very reasonable rates. We had electric hook up which meant that our pitch was right at the top near to the caravan area. I think this has been a hard standing in the past as it was very hard to get a peg in. I used a larger peg to make a hole and then inserted a smaller peg in that hole, which I had to do for most of the pegs, so it took longer than usual to pitch our tent. Our friends arrived later and they then sited a bit further down the hill and had no problem getting pegs in, which meant that their 'social area' was uphill from their tent and this worked fine. I think we'll do this next time. The only problem is that our EHU lead wouldn't have reached but apparently the site owners will loan leads out for anyone who can't reach.

Having said all that, the site is excellent and we had a great time, nice and quiet at night and the play area was well used by ours and our friends' children. It's a great view from here and we could see Whitby Abbey and the sea easily. We walked down on the road to the station to get a train into Whitby. The walk takes half an hour at a reasonable stroll but I'd allow three quarters if you have very little ones. The 'Monks' Path takes about fifteen minutes longer to do but it can be confusing and any delays might make you miss the train. (You could carry on along the Monks Path right into Whitby as well). Site facilities - the shop was quite adequate for our needs and they also had gas available and even some single air beds which were a lifesaver as two of ours sprang leaks on the first night! The showers and washing facilities were fine and kept clean but you need a stack of twenty pence pieces for the showers. I used three for my shower (gave me 9 minutes) and this was more than enough. I could easily have got away with just two coins for a decent shower. We had a full breakfast one morning in the campsite cafe as a bit of a treat and it was lovely. The ice cream is to die for as well!

We very much enjoyed our stay here and can also highly recommend the local pub for our evening meal (another treat) which is on the left as you go out of the camp entrance. The pub staff were very nice and friendly and even gave all our children a bag of Maltesers each for being well behaved, which I think is really going the extra mile, one of those nice touches that 'made' the holiday for us. All in all an excellent site. We'll definitely be back.

One final thing and not a reflection on this site at all. One evening, one of our girls left a bag with a Nintendo DS in it, at the playground area (a very silly thing to do, but she's learnt her lesson now). A young lad from the site took this back to his tent and hid it under his bed. We went around the site asking and my wife asked their parents if they had seen anything. The lad's very young sister said 'Yes it's under his bed'. The parents then actually tried to distract my wife from this but she was having none of it and asked the little girl again and she repeated it, The boy then got it out from under his bed and handed it over. His parents said nothing at this and went very quiet. It was a big wake up call for us and this is a warning to all campers that site security is your own responsibility and that even on a lovely site such as Beacon Farm there might be thieves about who will not hesitate to steal your stuff. Please be vigilant and watch out for your valuables.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lellncraig 1 review from this member

We stayed at Beacon Farm for the first time in August for a week, and I am sure it won't be the last time we do.

We were very happy with our warm welcome and relaxed approach to siting our tent, and also the information provided about the site and its' facilities. We have two sons and they really enjoyed the playground in the centre of the field, it was easy to see where they were and let them come and go by themselves.

The showers were clean and the water was hot, the coin meter giving you plenty of time for a good shower for 2X20p.

The toilets were also clean and always had paper and their bins emptied promptly.

The site shop was actually really reasonable which is unusual, and we bought milk from there rather than going to the supermarket.

The ice cream from Beacon Farm is sold everywhere around the region and it's easy to see why, it is absolutely delicious, as are the farmhouse and veggie breakfasts!

We would definitely use this site again, you can see the sea and it is a short drive to Whitby and other beaches where free parking is available if you don't expect to be just a few steps from car to beach.

There were dog and no dog areas on all the beaches, and the site welcomed dogs too, there were a few including our own when we were there.

Top holiday.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3707 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder