Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swallow Falls Hotel And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Betws Y Coed > Swallow Falls Hotel And Campsite Reviews

Swallow Falls Hotel And Campsite
Holyhead Road
Betws Y Coed
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL24 0DW
Tel: 01690 710796
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 16 Reviews
                6/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Paulmi 1 review from this member

 Loved this site, spacious and peaceful and well located.

The toilets and showers were spotless and there was endless hot water.

The shop was well stocked and we enjoyed the fresh pastries that could be ordered the day before.

We’ll definitely be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nickwa 1 review from this member

 Easy to book. Good location, basic facilities were fine and the pub was good.

The waterfall is beautiful but loud at night.

Bus stop outside goes to Snowdon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janro4 1 review from this member

 Muddy, sad area to park in with no water nearby

Toilets unpleasant - showered in the dark as the automatic lights only lasted one minute and required waving near the door to put back on.

Toilets reminiscent of a 1970s secondary school, lacking privacy.

Elsan point dirty and wooden surround rotten.

One fresh water point which was very well hidden.

Staff unhelpful and distant

1/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tommy10 1 review from this member

 Not bad for £6 per night per person, but you do pay for what you get. The toilets and showers were awful and no privacy - its a curtain rail across. When you step outside of the curtain your pretty much into the main block where everyone is waiting.

There is a lot of freedom in pitching your tent which is good, but I can't imagine having to walk to the top of the layered sections. The image on the website is slightly deceiving .The climb up to the top layer would be hard work.

I wouldn't book here again, as the fact that no cars near the tents can prove a problem when you have all your camping gear. Understand it makes it safe for children but towards the end of the day we saw several cars that had been parked for ages so I don't know how strict they are with the parking.

I think the site would be ideal for trekkers and walkers passing through, but if you wanted a relaxing weekend for a couple or family might be best avoided.

The playground did seem a good one, but with no kids I couldn't have an excuse the check it out.

Overall, you do pay for what you get. If you want all the modern facilities and quality shower blocks then at £6 per night you shouldn't expect to find it here.

The staff very friendly and helpful, although very pricey items = which although expected I would pack up essentials beforehand. 


Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mjstyles 2 reviews from this member

 Came here on a solo expedition last Winter. Campsite was cheap enough (I think only £6 for a night), and only one other tent on site.

The pitch is a very odd layout however, layered like a set of steps, and certainly wouldn't like to be pitching there in rainy seasons with water running down. Likewise, wouldn't like to be pitching near the end of a step.

Decent running water and powerful hot showers if you pay a key deposit.

Did have to treat the other visitor for hypothermia after the staff refused to let him inside when he had hot and cold shivers at 2AM (could be anything from hypothermia to flu).

There's a pub on-site, and a cafe serving a cooked breakfast and other food through the day. Didn't have time to sample this, but smelt good from outside! Playpark for the pub there for kids too.

If you're walking to the site, then it's hardly in the best location for local walks and such, but is only about 20 mins walk from Betws-y-Coed.

I imagine that the Swallow Falls are lovely in the Summer! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 607 reviews from this member

 We spent a night here while touring Snowdonia. Although it is technically a 'Tents Only' site, they let you park campers in their car park for £10 a night, with full use of their facilities.

Facilities on site are excellent, with powerful hot showers and heated facilities block. The pub offers great meals and has two bars, both of which were relaxed and friendly. There's also a gift shop, hotel and youth hostel on site. Over the road, visit the Swallow Falls (£1 charge): they are quite spectacular.

Betws y Coed is a 20 minute walk and is a great town, with great places to shop, eat and drink. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keep0ut 5 reviews from this member

 The camp site advertised on the web was very deceiving, we aren't spring chickens and to expect us to climb up the side of the hill with all our equipment was a joke.

No cars allowed, so bang goes the cooler box. We had to pitch on the ground level near a main road. The noise of the waterfall sounded more like gale force winds.

As the site started to fill up, more people realised that further up the hill was out of the question, so they ended up squeezed into our level.

£5 deposit for a key to use the shower block, but the door is never locked and I wouldn't use them anyway, too dirty.

Very long walk to the car park (for us) but what beautiful scenery around that area. The waterfall, ha, well, pay £1.25 through a turnstyle and it's all yours. 


Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richardbrads 2 reviews from this member

 Initially stopped here as its an attractive site, with the benefits of a pub next door. Big mistake.

The facilities were poor (men had to use womens facilities and showers which do not have private cubicles to change in, the light was broken, the shower button was broken so would not stop, the floor was flooded in 1 inch of water, the rest of the block was uncleaned).

When going to politely point out some of these faults I came away with no apology. I was also asked to park my car in the main hotel car park a few hundred meters away despite there only being one other camper on the site.

Food looked very average so ended up driving to Betws. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Max-n-paddy 1 review from this member

 Just had two nights at this campsite. We arrived fairly late in the evening without booking. Having read previous reviews we were a little worried. We managed to get on the site, although we had to use the top tear.

Cars cant go anywhere near where you pitch so we had to take all of our gear up a very steep path where we were to pitch. This wasn't too bad as the weather was good.

Toilet and shower facilities are very basic but adequate for a short stay. Area brilliant for walking right opposite swallow falls.

Pub pretty average but heaven sent to get away from the midges, we were eaten alive, nothing can stop them.
Staff were brilliant, a big thank you to the lady who worked at the reception, as we woke up to find the battery on our car was flat. Without asking she called her husband to come out with jump leads to get us going.


Sunday morning we woke up to torrential rain, as the car was a long way from the tent we had to take everything down a muddy hill to load up soaking wet, not good. We would come again as long as we knew it would stay dry. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamodu 2 reviews from this member

 Having stayed here for the last couple of years I knew what to expect. The facilities aren't the best but are a lot better than many other sites.

The camp toilets are pretty dirty, but the toilets in the hotel and tavern are much nicer and are easily accessible.

Being so close to a pub is both a blessing and a curse. We have had noise issues in the past but nothing too serious.

I doubt we'll be returning to Swallow Falls again but for anyone wishing to stay there. Pitch on the lower levels and you'll be fine. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swallow Falls Hotel And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swallow Falls Hotel And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swallow Falls Hotel And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Betws Y Coed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement