Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Street Head Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Street Head Caravan Park Reviews

Street Head Caravan Park
( Yorkshire Dales Aysgarth Hawes )
Newbiggin In Bishopdale
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3TE
Tel: 01969 663472  or  07817016318
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 32
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kmdalt 2 reviews from this member

 The surrounding area is stunning the staff friendly and welcoming. The site though a little less than I would want.

The covid procedures still in effect despite the lock down easing, instead of making me feel safe, made me feel uncomfortable. Face masks are compulsory in the toilet block as well as keeping the main doors open, this means anyone of the opposite sex can see you entering a cubical or leaving the showers, leading to no privacy and is somewhat embarrassing.

Iím not keen as a gent Leaving a toilet cubicle with everyone knowing What Iíve been in for. Using showers, it is dictated you must physically clean the area before and after. With cleaning materials provided, Iím not sure if I should be wearing a mask at this point, it was likely in the rules somewhere.

I did want to go to the toilet without others watching so closed the main entrance door. Alas the toilet police were quicker than my toilet experience. And came out of the cubicle to several eye witnesses as the door was opened latched accordingly.

I went here for relaxation and found it all a little stressful and annoying to be honest. Compare this to the pub literally next door, which was relaxed, inviting, friendly and chilled. I think the campsite needs a leaf from their book.

The camp site is ok, but likely needs some work to level its pitches, it isnít easy to get level and more suited to a mountain goat than my caravaning skills, getting her level was more than my motor mover could handle.

Having mastered my caravan Jenga, with more blocks than a good game of Tetris, the stay was ok, but I donít think the views and surrounding area alone will bring me back. You guys need to chill a little. We all just wanna get back to normality. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Georgiegirl104 23 reviews from this member

 Excellent views from the site and the new toilet/shower block was clean and functional. The downside of this was the pitch we were allocated was right next to the shower block, which meant constant disruption from the noise of hand-dryers during the night/early morning, as the doors and windows were all open. Also the demands on the hot-water could not keep up at busy times, which meant cold showers, unfortunately.

The pitch was not in great condition - it was difficult to pitch to avoid a muddy entrance and I slipped one evening and fell because of this.

Other site users were mostly respectful of the 'quiet' curfew of 10. 30 pm (although owls and cows did not follow suit!) Another downside was the lack of a dog exercise area on site - the dog had to be walked down local lanes/roads as there were no footpaths coming directly off the site.

There are loads of great attractions in easy travelling distance from the campsite, including multiple waterfalls (Aysgarth, West Burton, Hardraw Force), the Pennine Way and pretty towns and villages (Hawes and Grassington). The nearest (small) shop is in West Burton (walkable/short drive), but the nearest supermarket is a 15 minute drive away in Leyburn.

This is a good value camping site, with a great location and easy access to attractions in the Yorkshire Dales. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Loopylass7313 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean modern toilet and shower block. Plenty of water taps. Some pitches looked to be on quite a slope but the hardstanding was good.

The pub was at the campsite gate and served lovely food. Slabs available for using under BBQs and fire pits allowed

Site was clean and well kept.

Few minutes drive to Aysgarth to see the waterfalls.

Really enjoyed our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Teerth 1 review from this member

 Mel and Mark were very suportative and proactive. Mark lent out a spare leisure battery when mine failed to keep its charge. He supplied screws when a small repair was also needed.

The toilet /showers in the centre of the two fields were kept in very good order and looked newly updated.

The site is conveniently located. There is a village bus service that goes via a lane at the bottom of the hill on route from Hawes to Leyburn. Timetable from Hawes museum. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Junglesim 15 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite in a great location. The facilities are clean, modern and well maintained.

The new toilet, shower and facilities block is now at the top end of the camping field, making it a much shorter walk than I have read in the other reviews. From what I can see from the photos on here, the camping field has been updated too.

The road now leads to the bottom of the camping field and the pitches on the left-hand side which overlook the farmer's field of cows and sheep have been made premium, with 100% flat pitches which are massive, making it incredible value for money. You'll also never find nicer campsite owners.

I could not recommend this place enough. The only downside is that, while child friendly, there is no designated place for kids to play so when they all get together they tend to play whatever they do on whatever green space is available, which isn't much.

Having never visited to Dales before, we still have much to see, so we shall be returning to this site again next year and the year after that (at least). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stuart 1 review from this member

 Great site.

Great owners the facilities are fabulous.

My only concern is that I would have liked the owner to have been more proactive on a night as regards to noise.

Still a lot of noise at 12:30am 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mjh73 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site.

Facilities are slowly being updated, there is an older block near the entrance which is rather dated but functional and very clean. The newer block between the tourers and the campers is lovely, operating at 1/2 capacity until the owners get the other half of the block up and running.

The owners are very nive and friendly around most mornings and evenings to check all OK.

Water and electric hook ups plentyful, only 1 operational point when we visited up near the original shower block.

Pub nearby was very nice but I thought a little overpriced for what we got - try the Fox and Hounds at nearby West Burton - lovely food and there's a pretty waterfall nearby to explore.

We will be back at some point! 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ewanm3 1 review from this member

 Brilliant stay, everyone really friendly, great amenities, with a brilliant pub/ restaraunt called the street head inn next door.

Wonderfull views from site, the farmer even took one lucky boy with him in the tractor cutting the grass ready for hay making 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindyloo60 1 review from this member

 Stayed for nearly 2 weeks. We were camped right next to the new unfinished toilet/shower block on the lower field for tents.

This will be such a bonus when its finished as it's quite a torchlit walk to the toilets if you need them in the evening, and quite a long way to go first thing in the morning when you've still got your sleepy head on.

Owners Mark and Mel are absolutely lovely and were always on hand if you needed them. We had a couple of really rainy days which has to be expected in this beautiful part of the world and yes everywhere was quite damp which can be quite typical of sites in this area given the amount of rain which fallen prior to our visit and during.

It's all about timing and being tent campers we managed our exit without too much drama and a dry tent.

All credit to the owners who are working very hard on improvements all the time, especially for the camping area, It's not perfect yet but they're getting there.

I would love to stay there again once the new toilet/shower block is finished, up and running.

Beautiful location in a picturesque setting. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lizzyb 1 review from this member

 Nice site Friendly greet, well organised

It was quiet during our stay

The facilities where clean but could require updating with more toilets and showers.

The day of departure was busy

All in all social distancing was respected 
via mobile


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Street Head Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Street Head Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Street Head Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leyburn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement