Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Street Head Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Street Head Caravan Park
( Yorkshire Dales Aysgarth Hawes )
Newbiggin In Bishopdale
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3TE
Tel: 01969 663472  or  07817016318
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bonxiebong 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay at street head. On arrival we had a good welcome and had the choice of a few pitches. We wanted ehu so was placed at the top of the field which is slightly sloping, the further down the field you go the slopier it gets. Only 6 ehu pitches but plenty of space. The site and toilets etc very clean but when it was busy at the weekend there was not much room in the shower block and a couple of times I couldn't use the hand dryer as I couldn't get to it. All the usual tourist leaflets available but it would have been nice if there was details of the nearest shop that was usually open for basic supplies and perhaps walks from the actual site would have been nice, buts that's me being picky! Overall a nice cheap and cheerful basic site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dub68 5 reviews from this member

Arrived at this site quite late in the evening and the owners were still so helpful and welcoming. The pitch was spacious and clean, short walk to the toilets and showers. The toilets were up to an ok standard and the showers were hot and clean. Was an old building so was expecting it to be to the standard it was. There was a pub on site which is a lovely place to sit outside on a summers day, they also allowed dogs inside at the back which is flag stoned, so we had a lovely pub meal and a drink while the dog had a well deserved nap after a walk to aysgarth falls and back. Would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NikkiandBaz 1 review from this member

My husband and I have just enjoyed a lovely overnight stay at this site (very rare and enjoyable night away without the kids). The grounds and surrounding areas were beautiful and even the rain could not take away from that. A lady called Mel took our booking and showed us to our pitch. She was very helpful and accommodating, offering us to pitch anywhere we wanted and advising she was there to help with anything we may need. The facilities were splendid and it was evident that the owners take great pride in their site. Our only difficulty was where we pitched it was on a slight slope so if table was not positioned right our things slid right off. I am sure that could have been solved if only we asked to be move, which we did not so ownership of this difficulty is on us.

The site was rather busy for a rainy weekend and despite this there was plenty of room for all and no overcrowding in bathrooms or wash rooms.

We were lucky to get talking with someone who often uses the site and he told us about some lovely areas close to the site that he has enjoyed with his children. We will be going back to this site very soon with our children who we are sure will love it as much as us.

I would recommend this site to all. Excellent value for money. Can't rate child friendliness given we did not have the children with us but will update on their verdicts very soon.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HEJC72 13 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site!

Just returned from a weekend break with 2 friends. We had not stayed here before and requested 1 EHU pitch and 2 without but wanted to be pitched together and this was not a problem.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Mel (the owner's wife) who gave us a choice of pitches. We could either pitch in the central grass area with hook up, surrounded by touring caravan pitches or we could pitch further down in a large, slightly sloping field.

We chose to pitch here as the views were stunning and I was still able to access an EHU point through a few trees.

The pitches aren't marked out and although we had bought 3 modestly sized tents, they could easily accommodate the largest of tents here.

We were able to use our fire pit which was lovely - the only request was that we did not damage or burn the grass. A fire blanket placed under the fire pit ensured the grass did not suffer.

The facilities are at the opposite end of the site to where we were pitched, but this was not a problem for us and the views certainly compensated for the short walk. There is no on site lighting so a torch is useful for those night time trips to the loo!

The toilets and showers were immaculately clean and warm. 20p gives you a good 5 minute shower. There is also a room adjacent to the toilet block with 2 washing up sinks.

The nearest water tap and waste bins were in the touring caravan area, about 150 yards from where we were pitched.

The Street Head Inn is next door to the site (not owned by the camper site) and we didn't eat there, but a friend who was eating there on Saturday night said the food was amazing and plentiful - something for us to try next time!

This site is situated in a beautiful location and is the perfect place to relax and unwind, with the stunning Aysgarth Falls being about 2 miles away. There is no shop or play park on site which wasn't an issue for us.

The owners are extremely helpful and friendly and regularly came round to check that we were ok or if we needed anything.

I would HIGHLY recommend this site for a relaxing and peaceful grown up break away. We will definitely be returning soon!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimdaft 2 reviews from this member

My wife, two young children and I spent a very peaceful 2 nights here last weekend. It is set high up in the Yorkshire Dales with beautiful views. There is a pub next door but we didn't visit so can't comment. No shop or Park on site which is just how we like it. There was no noise at night so we got 2 good night's sleep. The owner was very helpful and kind, letting us leave our van on site whilst we went to forbidden corner for the day for my son's birthday. The toilets were clean and the site well kept. My only tiny gripe would be that I couldn't get the shower to be anything other than boiling hot or freezing cold. All in all a lovely site, I would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacksprat11 1 review from this member

This is a lovely homely camp/caravan site. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. The amenities are basic but clean and sufficient. You do have to pay for the showers but at 18. 50 for a campervan for the night (powered site) you cannot complain. We also camp as well as campervan and the pitches looked good.

It has a busy pub next door with with real ale and good food, though we didn't get a chance to eat there. There is a bunk barn at the bottom of the hill, with the campsite across the road for those who have want slightly more comfort, though this isn't owned by the campsite.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ray-62 2 reviews from this member

We stayed in touring caravan for 3 nights over the bank holiday, the campsite was clean and tidy and very peaceful, some pitch's are on a bit of a slope. The toilets and showers were also clean and tidy the only problem was the showers kept going hot and cold. The owners called round site in morning and asked if everything was ok. The site it self is a good base for exploring the surrounding area either by car or just walking. The pub next door to the site is very friendly and serves some very nice food and well worth a visit. We would definitely use this site again when we visit this area again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melmel74 25 reviews from this member

We stayed here 2 nights in Aug en route to Northumberland. On arrival we didn't see anyone but there was a sign directing campers where to pitch saying the owners would find you some time. So we headed down and pitched up for the night as had already paid in advance. To get to the camping field you go down past some permanent mobile homes, then some caravan pitches until you reach the tent site.

The field is gently sloping and there were sheep in the field behind. This is a basic site and suited our needs for 2 nights. The pub next door was closed most of the time we were there so I can't review that!

It took us a while to find the drinking water taps; there seemed to be none in the field where we were but a couple round the touring sites for caravans.

Toilet block was adequate and showers run on 20ps I think but we didn't use them.

I wouldn't describe it as a site you'd stay all day at if you have children as it's near a road you can access directly from the site and there is no shop or play equipment. But as a reasonably priced, pleasant stop off for 2 nights I can't fault it.

We visited Hardraw Falls, Wensleydale and the Ingleton Waterfall walk whilst in the area.

We did manage to meet the lady running the site as we were leaving and she seemed very friendly!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SharronYH 6 reviews from this member

Stayed in our motorhome at Streethead Caravan Park for a Saturday night in August as we wanted to visit Aysgarth Falls. Campsite was great, owners were really friendly and relaxed. 15 for 1 night and 3. 50 for hookup. Toilets were really clean and site was busy but quiet and relaxing. Some people have mentioned the noise but we didn't notice it. It's about 2 1/2 miles from the falls. There was a pub next door (not that we visited it). Would visit again.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GalahadsGallops 1 review from this member

A beautiful gem of a site. We stayed here after realising most of the Lake District sites were waterlogged or washed away and we're glad we did.

We wanted a site that was close to Aysgarth Falls but still peaceful and fully equipped. This site certainly proved to be this.

It's very easy to find, signed from main road and at the top of a hill right next to the Inn. There's uninterrupted views and no flooding worries!

There's plenty of electric hooks for tents if required and the tent area is separated from the main touring area and yes it's on a hillside, but we pitched our tent appropriately, had no problem and welcomed the drainage for the rain that never came.

The facilities are great, some of the cleanest toilet blocks I've seen in over 25 years, cheap powerful showers with even a heater overhead for drying afterwards.

The only fault, albeit a minor one, was the drive ways around the site had a few potholes in and the speed humps were difficult to see. A problem with infirm or tired legs. If it wasn't for this we would've rated 10 for everything.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to e too much of a problem. They even came to see if we were OK after our first night was sub-zero!

The Streethead Inn next door has a warm welcoming, yet peaceful atmosphere and serves fresh and well priced food and local ales.

All told we can't wait to go back, Thank you for a lovely stay.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3727 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019