Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Valley Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ripley > Golden Valley Caravan Park > Reviews

Golden Valley Caravan Park
Coach Road
Ripley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE55 4ES
Tel: 01773 513881
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 167 Reviews
                8/10 from 167 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Haggis 1 review from this member

 We were at first put in what we called a overspill car park outside of main gates. no facilities apart from e/h and water, we complained and were eventually moved to the top field where we were quite happy.

Toilets first class spotless.

Food was very good. And staff very polite and friendly

We would definitely book again but not to canal side 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronjo9 2 reviews from this member

 The only notable pleasant feature of this site was the staff.

Our hard standing fully serviced pitch was a gravel "car park" and even though we were told there was grey water disposal on the pitch we never found it.

As a retired Health & Safety Officer I was disgusted at the speed staff not only travelled around the site on buggies but also the fact that they towed a children's "log ride" with nothing securing the occupants at the same speed. Seemingly the 5mph speed limit does not apply to staff

The shop only sold a couple of bottles of milk and plenty of sweets but not much else. The site needed a good litter pick especially on the bits of grass that did exist.

Apart from a main toilet block the upper level of the site was service by portaloos. Our nearest chemical disposal point was a good 10 minutes walk. This may not seem much but it is when you are elderly and have poor mobility.

How, I repeat, how did this site get the grading it boasts. Please C&C club be aware of this site.

An obviously unhappy camper. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ChalmersElder 1 review from this member

 My fiance and I went with my 10 year old and my adult daughter & partner.

We found there was something for all ages to enjoy, the food catered for my gluten intolerant partner and vegetarian daughter.

We went on nature trails and watched live music at night.

The facilities were of a high Standard, very clean toilets, bath and showers.

My 10 year old played happily on the many play grounds and the scenery was beautiful.

I absolutely loved my stay and highly recommended this campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Luckylinzi 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the Easter Bank Holiday. It was great. Enough space for tents.

Electric hook up. Park for kids. Bar with live entertainment outdoors so was great for the dog.

A little train 1 per person. There was an egg hunt and giant characters. It was just great.

We are returning this Easter. 3 adults 3 kids and a dog x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SammieJaie 31 reviews from this member

 Difficult to find using satnav because it takes you through a private road & wrong way down a lane!

}} Site did not inform us of this when we phoned{{

Book/pay in advance as a code is required to enter through the site barrier.

Pricing on website was less than actual charge.

Unlevel pitches & on some, sideways parking by EHU.

When dark, unable to read door labels as light shines directly in eyes!

Ok site for families, but I prefer smaller quiet sites where people respect your privacy.

Clean toilets & showers (no extra charge).

Laundry room - all machines (cash) in constant use.

Disabled toilet was closed by a barrier. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Techn 4 reviews from this member

 1st visit in 2021 was great so decided to use Golden Valley again in 2022 with some friends who brought there caravan.

We were able to pitch next to the caravan no problem making a nice area to share and BBQ.

Good clean facilities, and a great location+ friendly helpful staff on site to assist. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Meliss 1 review from this member

 This site is very family friendly with a selection of play areas and some nice entertainment, especially for the children.

The field we were on, was next to the road so could be a bit noisy and we could hear dogs from somewhere (possibly the police training place not far away) was very loud.

The shop was very poorly stocked with essentials like bread and butter, but there are shops a short drive away. The toilets and showers etc were mostly clean.

Staff were mostly friendly. My partner enjoyed fishing, the pond is quite small.

Overall a pleasant stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katem7 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely weekend here.

My 10 year old was fully entertained with the park facilities, train ride and entertainment!

We were also able to have a pitch where we requested.

Showers and toilets were good and the cafe and bar offered a variety of food and drink.

We will definitely look to book again for a longer break next year 👍🏻😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Cazone 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site with plenty of walks and good facilities, the showers are hot and clean, and best of all, you can control the temperature of the water yourself and the length of time you shower there's no annoying button to press every 10 seconds.

The site staff are friendly and helpful, and the site is well placed for exploring Derbyshire.

There's a cafe and bar on site, but the entertainment is only on between 6 and 9 on weekend evenings, which is quite puzzling, as if you've been out for the day, you would be preparing or eating your evening meal at about 6pm.

We never got to see any of the entertainment during our stay for this reason. Overall, its a very good site, the only complaint I have, and its more of an observation really, is that the outdoor pot wash is, well outdoors, so the sink is prone to getting blocked with leaves and debris from the trees, and the sink up very low, I am 5ft 3ins tall, and it was even too low for me to use.

I think this area would benefit from a canopy, and having the legs lifted higher on the sink unit.

We would definitely recommend this site, and we will visit again, there's plenty of parks for the kids, 4 I believe, and they have regular shows on during the season, the day after we left there was to be a dinosaur show coming to the park.

Site fees are very reasonable, coming up at about 250 for a week in the school summer holidays for 2 adults 3 kids and a dog, which is excellent value for money. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gazgre 1 review from this member

 We booked for a couple of nights with our 2 grandchildren. There was a mad hatters tea party on the 1st day which the kids dressed up for and loved it.

Train ride around the park and lots of games.

The site was quiet which we didn't mind still loads to do.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We had a lovely breakfast on the last morning and really enjoyed our visit.

PS the carrot cake was to die for 😁. 
via mobile


Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Golden Valley Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Valley Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Golden Valley Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement