Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Municipal Camping Du Sans Souci

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Fresnay Sur Sarthe > Municipal Camping Du Sans Souci Reviews

Municipal Camping Du Sans Souci
Rue Du Haut Ary
Fresnay Sur Sarthe
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
72130
Tel: 0033 02 43 97 32 87
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samjo25 4 reviews from this member

 This is a large site with about 100 pitches. Each pitch has access to their own and electricity box and water tap. Facilities are good and kept clean but beware one block is unisex. There are two facilities blocks both with toilets, showers and washing up area. One also has a washing machine and dryer. They do not have a fridge or freezer which is a real shame because other than that facilities are great. They do offer freezer block freezing but at Ä0. 50 per block itís a bit steep! We didnít use this facility out if principal! There is a play area for children and an outside gym area. There is a hot tub/sauna room you can rent not sure how good it is we didnít use it. All campers have free access to the pool which is situated next door to the campsite. The pool is a local town facility and so not just campers. It got very busy whilst we were there. Be aware men can not wear swimming shorts they must wear trunks or the tighter fitting shorts. This is an old French law that most public pools in France still obey. There is also mini golf here. At Ä10 per night (without electricity) this is a good value site however it was very loud at night. More like a holiday park. Children were loud into the late hours. It felt like lots of families were there a lot and lots of people knew each other so there were lots of parties happening. I would not return for this reason. Fresnay itself is not a very good town. Very stee hills, only one restaurant and very little going on. It also felt very English not very French. Maybe we were spoilt as we stayed in the South prior to coming here in a lovely little town. Overall ok site for a one night stop on the way South it on the way home. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 31 reviews from this member

 We did a last minute booking for Camping Sans Souci after finding out that the nearby Beaumont Sur Sarthe was closed due to flooding when we were already on the ferry! It was booked online and all confirmed via email. We actually arrived just as the office was closing on Sunday evening but they could not have been more helpful. The approach is a bit interesting - from a narrow lane after a sharp turn close the the bridge over the Sarthe but we got round ok with a 7m single axle caravan and Volvo XC60. The site is next to the sports centre (surprisingly large for such a small village) and campers get free access to the swimming pool.

The site itself is right next to the Sarthe with lovely views up the steep slope into the town (listen out the for goats!) and there are pitches in full sun or with lots of shade - we were told to take our pick. Most of them are very large.

There are two well equipped sanitary blocks, one unisex, a play area, games pitch, outdoor fitness machines and a new hot tub and sauna (fee payable for this). Small shop with wine and other essentials, plus you can order bread. In the village - walkable and very pretty although a bit steep-there are a few cafes and restaurants. The Italian looked to be open on a Sunday evening, although we went into Beaumont (10 mins drive away) where there are more, including a good Pizzeria, also open on a Sunday night. There's also a Super you at Beaumont.

In Fresnay there's a lovely ruined chateau with pretty gardens and amazing views which would be ideal for a picnic.

A fabulous stopover to start or finish your holiday or worth staying a few days as the area is so pretty. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful location for a campsite, right next to the Sarthe. Many of the pitches are within earshot of the river. Good-sized pitches with hedging for privacy. Nice area by river to sit on. I imagine it would be excellent for children. Short (though very uphill!) walk into the lovely, interesting town (but it's strangely lacking in good places to eat). Friendly staff on reception and a bread ordering service. Note: many of the electrics were the French-type, but all those at the newer, further end of the campsite are UK/Euro ones. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kemu19 16 reviews from this member

 We had a warm welcome at this peaceful campsite which is on the banks of a river and a short walk to a small interesting medieval town. Very quiet as out of season and it was a shame the pool next door was closed from Sept 1st as it was a lovely sunny day. The campsite is a typical example of the brilliant municipal sites found all over France and the price was great - 12 euros a night with electricity. We were able to kayak up the river (and back down again) as it was very slow flowing.

The facilities are what you would expect at a municipal - a bit dated however they were very clean and the pull chain showers worked surprisingly well! Would recommend for a one or two night stopover however if you have a car there are plenty of interesting places to visit in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markd9 3 reviews from this member

 Used this site as a stop over onwards to Vendee, stayed two nights but wished we had allowed longer to use river and explore local area, did visit Le Mans 24hrs museuem whilst so close (35mins drive) Good value @ Ä20 for family of four.

Pitch located close to river section initial pitch was taken but no issues with picking another not a great deal of room to manoeuvre onto pitch so ensure you are competent with reverse or have a mover.

Toliet facilities were unisex closest to our pitch but I beleive upper block was sepate.

Pool on site, two tennos couts and outdoor table tennis, shop on site but did not use as stay so short.

Excellent signal strength free wifi and we were located as far from office as possible.

Will use gain and stay longer excellent value 2 nights with electricity for family of four Ä36. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BARBARA49 1 review from this member

 We stayed 2 nights at Fresnay sur Sarthe on our route home. We had originally booked for a one night stay but found the site to be fantastic with EHU and Water on tap that we stayed an extra night. We did not use the shower facilities as we had our own. The shop was convenient as we were pitched close to it. The huge municipal grass area was excellent for relaxing. The locals came to picnic, and the children enjoyed the play area. Having the river nearby was a place for people to disembark from their canoes. We have decided that this site offers everything that we need with the old town and so many places of interest nearby that we are returning this year and will stay the whole of our holiday there. We will use the swimming pool which is free to campers. Excellent service and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gus75 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent good value site. We have visited it for 30 yrs. The current warden is very helpful, as were his predecessors. There are a selection of good sized pitches, some at the top and near the old toilet block with high hedges and some lower down marked and without hedges nearer the river. The pitches are mostly flat and well grassed but care must obviously be taken at the start of the season with Motor homes to avoid slipping. The river provides excellent fishing but is very deep and care would be required with young children although there is a hedge and a number of gates secured by hooked chains. During peak season canoes may be hired and the adjacent swimming pool is included in the site fee. We had a good WIFI connection in the lower area. The toilet facilities, old and newer, are kept very clean with wash basins in cubicles and communal for separate sexes. (why would anyone male or female want to have a good wash publicly?) In our opinion it is an ideal place to stay out of peak season down near the river and close to nature. We have stayed for periods of a week or more, in peak season, when our children were young on the lower area near the children's' play area and had excellent holidays. The top pitches, nearest to the entrance, are easily accessible, and ideal for a one night stop. The old town, with castle remains, is very attractive and has a Saturday market and some local shops (unfortunately diminishing) plus a large Super you within walking distance. There are two or three cafe/bars open during the day and a choice of eating establishments. Site access can be tricky with a large vehicle but is do-able and well worth the effort. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr+MrsCSP 4 reviews from this member

 We didn't see this site at its best yet still loved it!

It's obviously geared up for the main July - August season. We arrived for a week on 1st September. As a result only 1 of the 2 toilet & shower blocks were open. The pool and on-site shop were closed & the local canoe hire place was closed (although we did still book in with them via email).

I hadn't been pre-warned about this when I booked a few weeks previously - had I come especially for the pool & shop I would have been really peeved! Fortunately we were only slightly disappointed and then got on with discovering the hidden loveliness of the site & surrounding area.

We really enjoyed our stay! The pitches are a good size, level and still grassy, despite being at the end of the season. We had amazing weather and loved watching the lizards basking in the sun! It felt like we were REALLY on holiday!

The local town is a 10 minute walk, it's typically french and at first can feel a bit deserted. There are some great woods for walking about 20 minutes drive to the south. These also had a lake beach with bar, creperie, etc & we had a great time there. Our dogs loved the woods too and they could romp around off-lead without bothering anyone. No dogs allowed on the lake beach but it was deserted until lunchtime so we let ours have a sneaky morning dip!

The one shower & toilet block was adequate. You need to take your own loo roll (or hide a roll above the cubicle!) and the showers worked on a pull chain system - no more annoying than a push button one though.

The site is a bargain at, what worked out to be, £11 per night! That was with electric and own water tap on the pitch.

The site has direct access to the river - perfect for cooling off our 2 hot spaniels! Talking of which, there is a vet in the local town who is lovely and did the necessaries for the dogs' passports to return to the uk.

For dog-owning walkers with no kids like us, this site is perfect! However, it does have a great play area too, as well as the pool, minigolf, etc so would be fab for families with kids too. Basically, this site is a gem!

We are already looking forward to returning next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cluskey Clan 12 reviews from this member

 We visited the end of August with 4 children. We loved the site, clean facilities, quiet at night. The swimming pool was lovely & very clean. Great facilities for children with the pool, play park, tennis courts & mini golf. Lovely evening walks through Fresnay. Nice swimming lake nearby & plenty to do & visit. We'd definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosie1980 14 reviews from this member

 We stopped here overnight with a caravan, awning and 7 of us. The campsite staff were happy to accommodate a large party and it was a relatively cheap stay. We were given clear directions to our pitch with a map and found it to be perfect for our requirements, we had water right next to the pitch, electric hook up not too far away (it was a 3 pin electric point). We were right next to the small play area which was great with three small children and we found that it wasn't over run with teenagers as it was really only suitable for small children. The toilet block was just the other side of the play area. We found these to be clean. They were unisex toilets and only one of the 3 cubicles had a seat and you had to take your own paper with you.

There were showers and washing cubicles which didn't have any plugs in the sinks. But it was all clean. The staff were very friendly and pointed us in the direction of the nearest supermarket for our supplies. The pitches were all open and clearly marked. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Municipal Camping Du Sans Souci child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Municipal Camping Du Sans Souci have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Municipal Camping Du Sans Souci?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Municipal Camping Du Sans Souci dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fresnay Sur Sarthe      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement