Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Braewick Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Shetlands > Eshaness > Braewick Caravan Park Reviews

Braewick Caravan Park
Braewick
Eshaness
Shetlands   (Browse area)
ZE2 9RS
Tel: 01806 503345
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

 Campsite and cafe at the North end of Mainland, it is set high on the side of hill with amazig views over the Drongs.

Hardstanding pitches all with electric and fresh water taps, the pitches at the front have a small grass area between each and cost £24 per night, those behind are all hardstanding and cost £18. 00.

Loos were very clean and well kept, you do share them with the cafe though - slightly alarming first thing in pj's to meet several of an American tour bus coming in! :). Showers were good and hot and included in price.

There is a washing machine and drier £6. 50 combined price for both. Also in the kitchen room washing up facilities and a microwave.

We didn't eat in the cafe but its certainly popular with people coming in and out all day, even a few coaches.

There are some good walks from the site, a shortish one down to the beautiful beach and another down to the Haa museum at Tangwick, Walk or drive further up from this turn off for the most amazing views of Dore Holm.

Nearest community shop at Hillswick or the Coop back down at Brae. The drive out to this site is worth it for the amazing views and its a lovely place to stay with friendly people running it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 40 reviews from this member

 I stayed in one of the four camping pods for two nights. It was clean and comfortable with a kettle and a very good heater. Quite spacious and a picnic table outside. A microwave is available in the small kitchen in the facilities block. Three showers - no problem using them when I was there as the site wasn't busy. They were clean and well maintained.

Word of warning - do not try and ride your motorbike right up to your pod over the gravel; it's very deep and you'll have a struggle to turn around and get off again!

Lovely views from the site over cliffs and sea stacks.

When the cafe shuts, you are on your own on the site. Emergency contact telephone numbers were on the facilities block door but I had no signal at all on "3" and couldn't see a pay phone. Not sure what I'd have done if there had been a problem. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jayenn 5 reviews from this member

 Gorgeous cakes in cafe - huge portions, and the rest of the menu looked lovely, unfortunately I mistimed my arrival to try anything cooked! Great walk, well signed, direct from site to beach and of course, the lighthouse and cliffs at Eshaness are stunning.

The views from the site itself are also spectacular over the sea. I paid £16 for a front row pitch, (paid in cafe, not sure what you do if it's closed) not sure it was really worth the extra but that's my fault. There was also a large caravan with children staying (who were lovely) but they paid the same price as I did in a little van, which doesn't seem fair but is a common thing.

Not struck on the loos/showers as they didn't seem as clean as others I've come across in Shetland, possibly because they're shared with the cafe but maybe again my timing was unfortunate as I arrived at the end of the day. Nice safe children's play area. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

 The views from the site are superb, and if you go a few miles further on to the lighthouse, there is another stunning coastline there. We enjoyed walking and cycling directly from the site. We were able to book online and choose our pitch with hookup.

It is quite remote and so you need to bring your own food. We hoped to have Sunday lunch in the cafe but it was fully booked. The facilities are clean and modern.

The kitchen / laundry room is pretty small and only has one sink, but even though it was good weather and quite busy, this didn't present much of a problem. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

 Just extremely good. Unusual for Shetland in that this is a commercial site but don, t let that put you off. Great location and lovely people running it.

The cafe serves great food and if you are lucky they will be doing an evening meal whilst you are there. We had a great time. Excellent facilities.

Would not hesitate to recommend as a must visit. Cannot fault it really. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dippingatoe 7 reviews from this member

 A lovely site. Stunning views, Excellent facilities and good value for money, Plus run by lovely people What more could you want.

We visited early in the year, and the weather was a bit misty but I still managed to get some photos from the campsite. It was too early in the year for the cafe to be open, but I called back with friends a bit later on and have to say the food was EXCELLENT.

There looked to be a nice little play area for children

The owners suggested I went on up to the lighthouse and I am pleased I did, well worth while. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lully 4 reviews from this member

 This campsite is really hardstanding in a car park next to a cafe. But the view is out of this world along the cliffs and staacks of escherness, probably the most spectacular in shetland. A walk along the cliffs by the lighthouse is a must.

The toilets are shared with the cafe so this is not ideal. Do eat in the cafe. My wife had four huge shetland lamb chops with trimmings for £9!. Fantastic views from the cafe. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night in May 2013 but had also spent three nights previously on our 2009 Shetland tour. As others have said, the hardstandings are basically a glorified tarmac car park [slightly sloping] but none the worse for that. The facilities are fine with showers and toilets. We didn’t get to frequent the café itself this time though.

The views are superb and are probably the best from a campsite on the island. There is a short walk down to the shoreline from the corner of the site.

If you are really organized you can dance in front of the webcam on the building facing the sea and tell your friends about it as they will be able to see you on the Visit Shetland webcam!

One minor niggle is that there appears to be no pitch reservation system. On our arrival there were only 2 other vehicles on site so we put our cable & blocks against two “front row” pitches and moved on to Eshaness light house to walk the stunning coastline [wrap up warm as there is invariably a gale blowing!].

We then returned to the site only to find a small tent pitched on the grass between our two pitches and using our hook up! As we had left our cable & ramps on this pitch we assumed that we had “reserved” it! Apparently the actual pitch had been taken by a VW campervan [booked via the internet!] but no one had put a “reserved” sign up! We only found this out after the owners son had come over and explained this to us after we had got set up! No great problem as we just reversed back to the bays behind and saved ourselves £2. 00! [The “front row” was £16 per night, whereas the “back row” was only £14!]. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Albatross77 1 review from this member

 This is indeed a lovely site.

I pitched below the hard standing, so had uninterrupted views of St Magnus Bay, and had no trouble parking nearby while I pitched and struck. I don't then mind walking 60 yards to the car.

It is exposed - keeps the midges down, but I wouldn't wnat to camp there is a South Wester. The shower block is new and well kept, but there's nowhere indoors that you can sit - other than the cafe which was only open 10 - 4 when I was there in August - which is a shame.

It is wonderfully placed for walking and cycling round Esherness, but you need a car to get an evening meal - St Magnus Hotel in Hillswick will fill you up, I guarantee! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimwillsher 4 reviews from this member

 We've just spent three nights here in our three-man tent. Braewick is an excellent base for exploring Eshaness.

We arrived on a Tuesday, and the cafe is closed on a Tuesday and Wednesday. And when the cafe is closed, the staff are absolutely nowhere to be found with no contact details. So although we had wanted to use the washing machine (token) and the wi-fi (password) we were unable to do so. It appears that the cafe owner lives just 200 yards away so I'm sure a one-hour 'evening rounds' could be on their rota.

The toilet block is very clean and very modern. There are three showers: the two on the left are rubbish - luke-warm (or cold) and you have to press a button every twelve seconds to get water; the one on the right (baby changing room) is excellent - hot with a good flow and a normal shower tap! Well worth waiting for the baby-care room if you want a shower. All the shower rooms (plus baby room) have toilet and sink.

The kitchen area has a microwave and kettle, and the aforementioned washing machine (and drier), but no seating area - a shame for campers like ourselves as it meant we had to stand by the sink to eat breakfast, but as they are primarily a cafe I guess it makes sense for the business. The toilet block is also a public toilet, so you do find cars arriving and leaving at odd times.

There's a lovely walk down to the beach from the site, and there's a straightforward 9-mile walk around Eshaness. Also, a 4. 5 mile walk around the headland at Hillswick is well worth doing, as you get lovely views of the sea stacks (The Drongs) from the opposite side to where you view them from the campsite.

The nearby community-run shop at Hillswick (approx 5 miles) is superbly stocked. We expected to find jars, tins and long-life bread rolls, which is often the case with island shops. Yes it has these, but also fresh bread, fresh fruit and veg (including broccoli, tomatoes, mushrooms and avocados) and an excellent selection of fresh meat (burgers, mince, sausages, steak) and fish (fresh, smoked, hot-smoked, peppered) from Shetland. We purchased fresh whole plaice and skate wings for the barbecue! The shop is open long hours, seven days, and is a real gem when you're so far from Lerwick.

We know Shetland is windy, but Braewick seems to be a wind tunnel. The site has excellent views of the bay, but seems to attract strong winds from every direction. Strong enough to blow down our windbreak! The strong winds actually became really tedious as there was no respite.

One negative point for the site management. There was a strong sewage smell around the site, and a campervan owner commented that there was a sign on the septic tank advising owners to not empty their caravan waste tanks into it as it was full. We appreciate that Shetland is a group of islands and that it takes time to organise things, but we can't help feeling that the site owners took their eyes off the ball and allowed the septic tank to get too full, with the consequences of the surrounding site smelling horrible. This wasn't good for the campsite, and probably wasn't great for the cafe either.

We would stay there again, but we think the site owners should focus on the cafe AND the site; instead the site seems to be a sideline and it needs some attention to detail. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Braewick Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Braewick Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Braewick Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eshaness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shetlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3791 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020