Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Braewick Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Shetlands > Site Reviews

Braewick Caravan Park
Braewick
Eshaness
Shetlands   (Browse area)
ZE2 9RS
Tel: 01806 503345
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayenn 5 reviews from this member

Gorgeous cakes in cafe - huge portions, and the rest of the menu looked lovely, unfortunately I mistimed my arrival to try anything cooked! Great walk, well signed, direct from site to beach and of course, the lighthouse and cliffs at Eshaness are stunning. The views from the site itself are also spectacular over the sea. I paid £16 for a front row pitch, (paid in cafe, not sure what you do if it's closed) not sure it was really worth the extra but that's my fault. There was also a large caravan with children staying (who were lovely) but they paid the same price as I did in a little van, which doesn't seem fair but is a common thing. Not struck on the loos/showers as they didn't seem as clean as others I've come across in Shetland, possibly because they're shared with the cafe but maybe again my timing was unfortunate as I arrived at the end of the day. Nice safe children's play area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

The views from the site are superb, and if you go a few miles further on to the lighthouse, there is another stunning coastline there. We enjoyed walking and cycling directly from the site. We were able to book online and choose our pitch with hookup.

It is quite remote and so you need to bring your own food. We hoped to have Sunday lunch in the cafe but it was fully booked. The facilities are clean and modern. The kitchen / laundry room is pretty small and only has one sink, but even though it was good weather and quite busy, this didn't present much of a problem.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

Just extremely good. Unusual for Shetland in that this is a commercial site but don, t let that put you off. Great location and lovely people running it. The cafe serves great food and if you are lucky they will be doing an evening meal whilst you are there. We had a great time. Excellent facilities. Would not hesitate to recommend as a must visit. Cannot fault it really.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dippingatoe 7 reviews from this member

A lovely site. Stunning views, Excellent facilities and good value for money, Plus run by lovely people What more could you want.

We visited early in the year, and the weather was a bit misty but I still managed to get some photos from the campsite. It was too early in the year for the cafe to be open, but I called back with friends a bit later on and have to say the food was EXCELLENT.

There looked to be a nice little play area for children

The owners suggested I went on up to the lighthouse and I am pleased I did, well worth while.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lully 4 reviews from this member

This campsite is really hardstanding in a car park next to a cafe. But the view is out of this world along the cliffs and staacks of escherness, probably the most spectacular in shetland. A walk along the cliffs by the lighthouse is a must. The toilets are shared with the cafe so this is not ideal. Do eat in the cafe. My wife had four huge shetland lamb chops with trimmings for £9!. Fantastic views from the cafe.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 76 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night in May 2013 but had also spent three nights previously on our 2009 Shetland tour. As others have said, the hardstandings are basically a glorified tarmac car park [slightly sloping] but none the worse for that. The facilities are fine with showers and toilets. We didn’t get to frequent the café itself this time though.

The views are superb and are probably the best from a campsite on the island. There is a short walk down to the shoreline from the corner of the site.

If you are really organized you can dance in front of the webcam on the building facing the sea and tell your friends about it as they will be able to see you on the Visit Shetland webcam!

One minor niggle is that there appears to be no pitch reservation system. On our arrival there were only 2 other vehicles on site so we put our cable & blocks against two “front row” pitches and moved on to Eshaness light house to walk the stunning coastline [wrap up warm as there is invariably a gale blowing!]. We then returned to the site only to find a small tent pitched on the grass between our two pitches and using our hook up! As we had left our cable & ramps on this pitch we assumed that we had “reserved” it! Apparently the actual pitch had been taken by a VW campervan [booked via the internet!] but no one had put a “reserved” sign up! We only found this out after the owners son had come over and explained this to us after we had got set up! No great problem as we just reversed back to the bays behind and saved ourselves £2. 00! [The “front row” was £16 per night, whereas the “back row” was only £14!].

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Albatross77 1 review from this member

This is indeed a lovely site.

I pitched below the hard standing, so had uninterrupted views of St Magnus Bay, and had no trouble parking nearby while I pitched and struck. I don't then mind walking 60 yards to the car.

It is exposed - keeps the midges down, but I wouldn't wnat to camp there is a South Wester. The shower block is new and well kept, but there's nowhere indoors that you can sit - other than the cafe which was only open 10 - 4 when I was there in August - which is a shame.

It is wonderfully placed for walking and cycling round Esherness, but you need a car to get an evening meal - St Magnus Hotel in Hillswick will fill you up, I guarantee!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimwillsher 4 reviews from this member

We've just spent three nights here in our three-man tent. Braewick is an excellent base for exploring Eshaness.

We arrived on a Tuesday, and the cafe is closed on a Tuesday and Wednesday. And when the cafe is closed, the staff are absolutely nowhere to be found with no contact details. So although we had wanted to use the washing machine (token) and the wi-fi (password) we were unable to do so. It appears that the cafe owner lives just 200 yards away so I'm sure a one-hour 'evening rounds' could be on their rota.

The toilet block is very clean and very modern. There are three showers: the two on the left are rubbish - luke-warm (or cold) and you have to press a button every twelve seconds to get water; the one on the right (baby changing room) is excellent - hot with a good flow and a normal shower tap! Well worth waiting for the baby-care room if you want a shower. All the shower rooms (plus baby room) have toilet and sink.

The kitchen area has a microwave and kettle, and the aforementioned washing machine (and drier), but no seating area - a shame for campers like ourselves as it meant we had to stand by the sink to eat breakfast, but as they are primarily a cafe I guess it makes sense for the business. The toilet block is also a public toilet, so you do find cars arriving and leaving at odd times.

There's a lovely walk down to the beach from the site, and there's a straightforward 9-mile walk around Eshaness. Also, a 4. 5 mile walk around the headland at Hillswick is well worth doing, as you get lovely views of the sea stacks (The Drongs) from the opposite side to where you view them from the campsite.

The nearby community-run shop at Hillswick (approx 5 miles) is superbly stocked. We expected to find jars, tins and long-life bread rolls, which is often the case with island shops. Yes it has these, but also fresh bread, fresh fruit and veg (including broccoli, tomatoes, mushrooms and avocados) and an excellent selection of fresh meat (burgers, mince, sausages, steak) and fish (fresh, smoked, hot-smoked, peppered) from Shetland. We purchased fresh whole plaice and skate wings for the barbecue! The shop is open long hours, seven days, and is a real gem when you're so far from Lerwick.

We know Shetland is windy, but Braewick seems to be a wind tunnel. The site has excellent views of the bay, but seems to attract strong winds from every direction. Strong enough to blow down our windbreak! The strong winds actually became really tedious as there was no respite.

One negative point for the site management. There was a strong sewage smell around the site, and a campervan owner commented that there was a sign on the septic tank advising owners to not empty their caravan waste tanks into it as it was full. We appreciate that Shetland is a group of islands and that it takes time to organise things, but we can't help feeling that the site owners took their eyes off the ball and allowed the septic tank to get too full, with the consequences of the surrounding site smelling horrible. This wasn't good for the campsite, and probably wasn't great for the cafe either.

We would stay there again, but we think the site owners should focus on the cafe AND the site; instead the site seems to be a sideline and it needs some attention to detail.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ForgetfulCat 9 reviews from this member

This site has become very successful, and now also boasts wigwam accommodation. The cafe is also very popular for evening meals. While obviously good news for the owners, it does mean that (unusually for Shetland!) it is very busy at peak times.

It is also worth mentioning that most of the hard standings are pretty close together, which does make one feel a bit claustrophobic. If you are a stickler for a C&CC distance between units, you won't find it here.

We also experienced some problems with allocation of pitches. Nothing serious, but we did have to move once having inadvertently gone into a booked space (having been told to just go anywhere) and found a space booked online had been given to someone else.

That being said, the site is close to a beach, has wonderful views and is a good base for exploring Eshaness.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cathy d 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. We really enjoyed ourselves. The site facilities are 5* Food well worth going for alone.
Area most interesting with Eshaness nearby, but campsite well positioned for touring whole of north of Shetland.
Local shop we used was Hillswick which stocked most things you could ask for.
Tangwick Hall good little museum. Great family beach at WEST SIDE of Hillswick, ask to be shown the path as it is a little hidden gem!
See you again next year. Best site in Shetland by far.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shetlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3774 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019