Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Clickimin Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Shetlands > Lochside > Clickimin Caravan And Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Clickimin Caravan And Campsite
Clickimin Leisure Centre
Lochside
Shetlands   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil

 As my earlier report states, this site will cease trading on 31 January 2014 and doesn’t look like it will be replaced by Shetland Island Council any time soon. It is a great loss to the camping fraternity in Lerwick as this was a superb base to return to whilst travelling around the Shetland Isles.

However, the following sites were used during our May 2013 trip and we would thoroughly recommend them. Some are new and not widely known about:-

North Roe/Loch End village hall Northmavine. This is essentially their car park but with hook up & water supply. £10 per night and superb walks to Uyea and Fethaland. - see separate UKCampsite listing

Burravoe Pier & Marina – Yell. A super site by the local pier with the roof of the amenities block being the upturned hull of a lifeboat from the SS Canberra! Everything from the pitch fee, shower & laundry are based on an honesty system. Whilst the pitch fee is set, you can donate what you feel the shower & laundry facilities are worth! An otter was spied trotting across the boat ramp at dusk one evening [11. 00pm in May!]. - see separate UKCampsite listing

Sumburgh Hotel – the hotel has a couple of electric & water points in their car park that are £5 per night. Good walks to Sumburgh Head for puffin watching & long sand beaches close by.

Braewick Caravan Park – Northmavine – see separate UKCampsite listing

Gardiesfauld Hostel & Campsite – Uyeasound – Unst – see separate UKCampsite listing 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

 All of the reviews reflect the status of this site BUT it is due to close in October 2013 and a school is to be built on the site.

At the moment the Shetland Island Council are not planning a replacement.

It will be sad loss to Shetland as it was an excellent 'base' to return to to re-supply etc. After some wildcamping in other parts of the islands. It was also ideal for the Northlink Ferries terminal. Very sad. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grovesred 1 review from this member

 We found this to be an excellent site, though hopefully the various trees and shrubs will grow rapidly to protect future campers from Shetland's strong winds!

The amenity block was excellent, and kept very clean throughout our stay. The temperature of the showers was fine, but I would have preferred to be able to turn it on and off myself, rather than have it timing out every sixty seconds or so.

The dish- and clothes-washing and drying facilities facilities were good too, and also kept very clean.

Booking-in was easy. Booking out was OK, but on a bank holiday the leisure centre was closed(!) and we were able to collect our key deposit a couple of days early.

The campsite is close to Lerwick town centre and all amenities, which are good. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rover21 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent location overlooking loch and broch. Fabulous leisure pool next-door. Lawns were immaculately maintained. Very good price. However, we were disappointed with the amenities block.

The gents and ladies washrooms contained one shower each and 4 washbasins. There was also a disabled bathroom with a further shower. The facilities are dated and not pleasant. You can use the showers at the leisure centre if you don't mind communal showering with strangers.

My family showered, after a daily swim, in the communal showers by the poolside as the water in the amenities block was too hot for children.

There is a dishwashing/laundry room. It isn't nice. It has 1 sink for washing up and 1 sink for something else. I have no idea what it is for but it must be a metre deep. This room is in need of a good clear-out and freshening up.

There is a further room to the rear of the building for trash. It contains a number of rubber dustbins and has the most repulsive smell. We resorted to using a bin on a nearby lamp-post.

Customer service is questionable. During our stay there was a plague of flying insects (not midges) that attacked every part of the amenities block. I've never seen so many and they remained there for the last couple of nights of our stay. The staff were aware of the problem but no attempt seemed to be made to remove them.

The lady that checked us in was friendly and helpful. You pay a deposit for the key to the amenities block, so when you leave you have to re-visit the leisure centre reception for a refund. I was served by a different receptionist on this occasion and I expected to be asked whether I enjoyed my stay, or something along those lines. Instead, the key was taken from me and I was given my refund, and that was it! I never got the chance to make my feelings known.

Such a shame because this could be an excellent site with very little further expense.  


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Granma 2 reviews from this member

 This site was superb. The grass pitches were manicured so much so that we did not need a groundsheet

The view over the loch was stunning and the amenities block was spotless and centrally heated.

The leisure centre was brilliant just alongside.

The town centre was five minutes walk with a great range of places to eat.

Shetland is a stunning place to visit 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nankypoo 2 reviews from this member

 This is a nice council run site next to the leisure centre and within easy walking distance of the town centre and supermarket and well positioned to explore the Lerwick and Sumburgh area.
There is no warden as such you have to pay at the centre reception.
The site is a large oval with hardstanding for caravans in the middle and grass on the outside for tents. It can be quite noisy at weekends as the campsite is between the sports pitches which are also used for community events and the sports centre and a main road passes the site.
There are toilets, showers and dishwashing in a block on the site which are well maintained but you get a pass for the leisure centre and I used the facilities in the sports centre which were far nicer.
The site is very busy and because the mainland ferry lands at 6.30 every morning you will be disturbed by the new arrivals. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Morrisbob 17 reviews from this member

 This is a council run site next to Lerwicks leisure centre and the facilities are excellent and kept extremely clean. The location on the edge of town faces Clickminin Broch and lake in one direction and one of Lerwicks main roads in the other but disturbance from this and leisure centre visitors is minimal.

There is a small shop opposite the site and a large Somerfield supermarket and petrol station within 200yds. (buy food and petrol here it's normal prices everywhere outside Lerwick charges a premium)
We spent our first night on the islands here, like most people just to get our bearings and visit the tourist information office which is probably the best and most helpful TIC I have ever been to.  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Shetlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020