Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derbyshire Hills Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Grindlow > Derbyshire Hills Campsite Reviews

Derbyshire Hills Campsite
Annes Cottage
Grindlow
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 8RJ
Tel: 07935 480444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Denise 3 reviews from this member

 What fab views from this small and well equipped site. There are a number of walks which can be done directly from the site - which we did, including a walk across fields to the fab Bull pub in Foolow.

Tam and Will are friendly site hosts, there if needed but not in the way.

The toilet and shower block are really clean and well fitted out, but only one for men and one for women

A small and quiet site which we would definitely recommend.

We didn't have children but I guess it would be fine for them too. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Davyboy7 4 reviews from this member

 Great place for walkers, there are walks right off the site and lots of places close to site

Narrow lane leading up to the site, or just relax

New toilet block is great,

Pubs in walking distance

I will be back 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: John-Hall 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful, clean and nicely run camp site. Tam and Will are friendly and helpful,

The toilet, shower and pot washing facilities are immaculate.

This is a quiet site set in beautiful surroundings, perfect for a relaxing get away or a base for walkers and ramblers.

Cant wait to return! 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Escap1 1 review from this member

 This campsite is just beautiful and so peaceful.

Our 7 year old had a really great camping adventure and we loved walking in the surrounding countryside and a visit to Eyam, there is so much to see, but mostly we enjoyed relaxing and unwinding at the site.

The owners are really helpful and friendly and the facilities are excellent.

This place is an absolute gem and we cant wait to go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Calibra1 6 reviews from this member

 I don't want to say much about this site as I use it regularly and its a little gem, peaceful, cosy and well kept, as said its only small butaway from the road and noise, apart from the grateful waking from woodpidgeons, cockerels and sheep.

The new owners are really welcoming and are cracking on with developing the shower/toilet block, and theyve made a washing up facility which also has a microwave and kettle,

Also (very handy for us) there's a lean to hard standing with benches where you can have BBq or cuppa whilst looking at the lovely views,

Tideswell is not too far for supplies and there's a nice pub 1/2 a mile up in Great Hucklow.

Would I go again?, , , , , Next week (weather permitting)

Note: I'm not scoring for child friendliness as we didn't go with any, but it looked good enough for the kids 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Percyctc 1 review from this member

 What a gorgeous little place! Beautiful views, no traffic noise only a few very friendly chickens. One of those back to basics campsites which can be hard to find these days.

Little shed with washing up facilities and an electric kettle, one toilet. Nice pubs within easy walking distance. Footpath to Foolow very close by. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jehpesto 13 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet, no frills, rural site once you find it! Notice is extremely faded and there is no signage to it at all. Very new owners apparently who are intending to improve things like that, and adding a shower.

As previously said there is one toilet in the porch of the house (only cold water in taps)) and no shower. There is a washing up sink in a small barn. We couldn't find an external tap except on the single EHU unit (after the van parked there had left) and it is very low so big container not easy to fill but you can fit tap adaptors for a hose.

There is one hard standing with EHU and so we went onto the levelish grass just adjacent to that and whilst it seemed quite dry nevertheless after one night (no rain) we were quite sunken in and one wheel did churn a bit of mud to get out, so be careful with vans on the grass (and we are not that heavily loaded) There is a rough gravelly area between the washing up barn and the static caravan (not being used atm) so a van could go there if campers aren't parked there.

No problem with the lanes in our Symbol (5. 4m) but some are quite narrow. 16 per night, 2 adults, van and no EHU. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MAISEY ALFIE 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, quiet as described good location for walkers. We loved it and are going back September if there is room.

The site is not over booked which is brilliant for us.

The duke of Edinburgh people were there 5 tents, and were fine no noise no mess left etc.

What do people expect when going to sites in the country except small lanes? (see other campers comment) it's very easy to find and caravan can get in and up and down the 'small lanes' easily. There is 1 100 meter single track road which is the only one someone may have to back up on.

Well maintained and clean. I will keep going back because it is quiet and out of the way.

The owners are lovely too, very friendly. We will be taking one of our 3 dogs this time. I cannot wait! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jill and sid 18 reviews from this member

 Have just spent two very pleasant nights at Derbyshire Hills. Welcomed with a mug of tea and digestives, which is a first, from owner, Steve. This is a small, sheltered, well maintained, nicely arranged campsite in a picturesque spot.

The pitches are generally level, and you are surrounded by ancient stone walls and two Shetland ponies, who gallop around the field in the early hours, like the headless horseman. There is an old shed which provides; sink, microwave, kettle and fridge. There is only one toilet situated at the farm house.

We were somewhat spoilt during our stay, as the site had been scheduled to be closed, there was only one other tent, there. There was room for about 20 pitches. I gather the site is used for the Duke of Edinburgh awards scheme, and weekend regulars. The current rate is 10 a pitch.

Derbyshire Hills is well located. The pub in Foolow, about half a mile, cross country, has a reasonable selection of beer and the food was nice enough, although with country prices of 9. 50 upwards. There was also a very interesting pub, The Stag with two heads, next to the cafe, which the owner recommends, It's like the Slaughtered Lamb. Only serves beer.

There is some excellent walking in the area, and the campsite is a good base. We visited Chatsworh, Eyam and Castleton.

This campsite could do with a shower, if you wanted to stay for more than a couple of nights. Nevertheless, a great weekender. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dsf118 6 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely 3 night stay here in July 2012 to give our new Bear Lake 6 tent a test outing.

We were met by Steve who was very friendly and helpful and provided with the customary tray of tea and biscuits which was very much appreciated!

The site is smashing, quite small and very picturesque, almost giving you the feeling of camping in someones large back garden.

Very clean and well maintained with low stone walling around the boundary, leading on to further fields one of which was home to two very friendly shetland ponies.

Eyam village is close nearby and we had a very nice meal one evening at the Bulls Head in Foolow which is only a 15 minute walk down the road.

Toilets were kept very clean and the 'hut' with pot washing facilities, microwave and kettle came in very useful.

Its a shame that there are no showers or freezer on site but all in all a super little campsite and we would not hesitate to recommend or return there. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Derbyshire Hills Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Derbyshire Hills Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Derbyshire Hills Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grindlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement