Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derbyshire Hills Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Grindlow > Derbyshire Hills Campsite > Reviews

Derbyshire Hills Campsite
Annes Cottage
Grindlow
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 8RJ
Tel: 07935 480444  or  07791 169830
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 8
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nijfitch 7 reviews from this member

 I was lucky enough to have the site to myself for a few nights, with my nearest neighbours being the two donkeys in the field next door. Very small site, toilet and shower is very modern and clean, a washing up shed and nice friendly owners Tam and Will.

A circular walk from the site up over Eyam Edge, past The Barrel Inn (highest pub in The Peak District) down into Eyam and onto Stoney Middleton, then back up through Foolow was absolutely gorgeous!

Three pubs to choose from on this walk too, if you include The Miners Arms in Eyam and The Bull Inn at Foolow.

Also not far from the site is The Monsal Trail. You can walk down to pick it up or an even quicker drive to whatever point on it you fancy. The walk through Chee Dale to the steeping stones was spectacular and full of wildlife.

Falling asleep to birdsong after watching Gliders and Buzzards circling the fields was a joy, and you wake to birdsong too.

For me, this site was a little piece of peaceful heaven. Absolute bliss! 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Shaun6 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet beautiful campsite. The owners were very friendly and helpful and camping in was bliss.

Shower block is new and was always clean with free shower and hot water.

Although only one shower and WC I never had to wait and as it's a very small but well proportioned site so never feels busy or crowded. All the other guests were friendly too! Beautiful location and my stay was very easy on the pocket😀.

I only stayed one night so didn't venture out to find pubs etc but just staying sitting outside my tent.

Listening to the lambs and birdsong was amazing. How camping should be, well done and hope it stays that way and would definitely recommend this lovely site and hope to return soon.

Great work Tam! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Denise 3 reviews from this member

 What fab views from this small and well equipped site. There are a number of walks which can be done directly from the site - which we did, including a walk across fields to the fab Bull pub in Foolow.

Tam and Will are friendly site hosts, there if needed but not in the way.

The toilet and shower block are really clean and well fitted out, but only one for men and one for women

A small and quiet site which we would definitely recommend.

We didn't have children but I guess it would be fine for them too. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Davyboy7 4 reviews from this member

 Great place for walkers, there are walks right off the site and lots of places close to site

Narrow lane leading up to the site, or just relax

New toilet block is great,

Pubs in walking distance

I will be back 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: John-Hall 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful, clean and nicely run camp site. Tam and Will are friendly and helpful,

The toilet, shower and pot washing facilities are immaculate.

This is a quiet site set in beautiful surroundings, perfect for a relaxing get away or a base for walkers and ramblers.

Cant wait to return! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Escap1 1 review from this member

 This campsite is just beautiful and so peaceful.

Our 7 year old had a really great camping adventure and we loved walking in the surrounding countryside and a visit to Eyam, there is so much to see, but mostly we enjoyed relaxing and unwinding at the site.

The owners are really helpful and friendly and the facilities are excellent.

This place is an absolute gem and we cant wait to go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Calibra1 7 reviews from this member

 I don't want to say much about this site as I use it regularly and its a little gem, peaceful, cosy and well kept, as said its only small butaway from the road and noise, apart from the grateful waking from woodpidgeons, cockerels and sheep.

The new owners are really welcoming and are cracking on with developing the shower/toilet block, and theyve made a washing up facility which also has a microwave and kettle,

Also (very handy for us) there's a lean to hard standing with benches where you can have BBq or cuppa whilst looking at the lovely views,

Tideswell is not too far for supplies and there's a nice pub 1/2 a mile up in Great Hucklow.

Would I go again?, , , , , Next week (weather permitting)

Note: I'm not scoring for child friendliness as we didn't go with any, but it looked good enough for the kids 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Percyctc 1 review from this member

 What a gorgeous little place! Beautiful views, no traffic noise only a few very friendly chickens. One of those back to basics campsites which can be hard to find these days.

Little shed with washing up facilities and an electric kettle, one toilet. Nice pubs within easy walking distance. Footpath to Foolow very close by. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jehpesto 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet, no frills, rural site once you find it! Notice is extremely faded and there is no signage to it at all. Very new owners apparently who are intending to improve things like that, and adding a shower.

As previously said there is one toilet in the porch of the house (only cold water in taps)) and no shower. There is a washing up sink in a small barn. We couldn't find an external tap except on the single EHU unit (after the van parked there had left) and it is very low so big container not easy to fill but you can fit tap adaptors for a hose.

There is one hard standing with EHU and so we went onto the levelish grass just adjacent to that and whilst it seemed quite dry nevertheless after one night (no rain) we were quite sunken in and one wheel did churn a bit of mud to get out, so be careful with vans on the grass (and we are not that heavily loaded) There is a rough gravelly area between the washing up barn and the static caravan (not being used atm) so a van could go there if campers aren't parked there.

No problem with the lanes in our Symbol (5. 4m) but some are quite narrow. 16 per night, 2 adults, van and no EHU. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MAISEY ALFIE 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, quiet as described good location for walkers. We loved it and are going back September if there is room.

The site is not over booked which is brilliant for us.

The duke of Edinburgh people were there 5 tents, and were fine no noise no mess left etc.

What do people expect when going to sites in the country except small lanes? (see other campers comment) it's very easy to find and caravan can get in and up and down the 'small lanes' easily. There is 1 100 meter single track road which is the only one someone may have to back up on.

Well maintained and clean. I will keep going back because it is quiet and out of the way.

The owners are lovely too, very friendly. We will be taking one of our 3 dogs this time. I cannot wait! 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Derbyshire Hills Campsite child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Derbyshire Hills Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Derbyshire Hills Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grindlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54914 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement