Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - West Lodge Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > West Lodge Lakes Reviews

West Lodge Lakes
Whisby Moor
Lincoln
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN6 9BY
Tel: 01522 681720  or  07958070286
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sjf167 6 reviews from this member

Lovely greeting from the owners, offered a choice of lakeside or near the exit gate pitches(no contest).

Told where all the facilities were (chem waste / water/ EHU etc. ).

Set up facing the lake (which was a wonderful view even this late in the season) on a hard standing with brick surround, ample space and some relatively new/young bushing between pitches which will ensure almost total privacy in the coming years.

Most of the lakeside pitches seem to be Seasonal pitches with vans and friendships seemingly well established - but welcoming to passing trade/visitors.

I can imagine that this is a really pleasant place to stay in the summer, especially if you like fishing, however:

The downside - with no foliage on trees or bushes at this time of year the road noise from the Lincoln A46 by-pass was quite intrusive (day and Night).

The Toilet block is a well-worn portacabin affair with only one shower and the whole thing was in need of a really good clean.

There was a mop and bucket but the water was the same brown colour as the decking surrounding the loos - thank god for having a van with it's own shower.

Fire buckets that were not very well marked and had green sludge in them that would probably have done little to help if you did have a fire.

All in all a very Tired looking site, which I sincerely hope was just down to the fact that we were end of season visitors.

Outside of the site, Doddington Hall is a really good place to visit with some lovely Gardens, The Hall and some great well signposted walks around the grounds.

Damons restaurant is one roundabout up on the by pass and does a takeaway service (found the menu on line) and I can recommend their burgers, or cheaper option of a Mcdonald's one roundabout south. Lincoln is a wonderful city and we had the pleasure of a fly-past by the Red Arrows on the Tuesday morning, they are stationed at RAF Scampton just north of Lincoln and can often be seen practicing in the skies over the city.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Diddy1 1 review from this member

I would like to thank all at west lakes lodge for making our stay there very pleasurable we turned up slightly late at night due to traffic problems but the owners were so helpful helping us to set up it was not a problem at all for them even making us a cup of tea. The actual site is so tranquil with caravans all around the lakes my husband was so happy just had to walk out of awning and be able to start fishing nothing is a problem for them they will help in any way they can we will definitely be returning and will recommend them to all our friends that caravan thank you

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scoobas 2 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a weekend at west lodge lakes, this is my third visit. I always find that there is always a very warm welcome from the owners. It is a very tranquil setting with great fishing. I would recommend this site to any person. On talking to other campers they think the same. I will certainly be returning. As for the review concerning the mention of children they are the owners grandchildren, who were very polite and respected our privacy.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul B Camplin 5 reviews from this member

We have been here before and really enjoyed it, but this time was different, its supposed to be an adults only site but there were 3 children in one of the vans and when I was fishing one of the days they were screaming and running about, not sure if they were friends of the owners but I wasn't allowed to take my grandsons so why should they be allowed.

There is only one light on the site and that is where the toilet/shower is, no light anywhere near the water and waste point, I think the site was much better when we went in 2012, the owners seem very clicky now and I think they have not much time for you unless you are a personal friend, of which they seem to have a few on site, was much better when the old lady was in charge, we wont be going again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Christine10 23 reviews from this member

Arrived at this site and before we even unhooked the caravan we new we would be returning. We parked the van facing the fishing lake, 5 to fish, my partner caught lots of fish.

The site has about 12 pitches with 5 facing the lake. The toilet and shower blocks are basic but adequate, the shower cubical could do with somewhere to put your shampoo etc. The grass is cut regularly so is kept short.

There is a garden centre within 5 minutes walk from the site and a farm shop and cafe a short drive, or about a 2 mile walk, at Doddington. There is also a pub within walking distance which do nice meals at 2 for 10 and a Damons restaurant about 5 minutes drive away. There is a path at side of the site to take your dog for a walk. The owner is very friendly and helpful. All in all a very nice picturesque site.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul B Camplin 5 reviews from this member

Loved this site. Great fishing, I caught loads of carp ranging from about 2lb to 13 lb 4 oz and the owners are very friendly and helpful

We found we had loads of room for caravan and awning,

Great dog walk just outside camp where you can let the dogs off.

Toilet block was always spotless and prices are great,

Asda was just over a mile away and Lincoln about 7 miles,

There's a pub and frankie and benny's within 400 yards.

Stayed April bank holiday and returned for may bank holiday,

Would recommend to anyone,

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter236uk 12 reviews from this member

I really liked the site due to the fishing, nice little lake with the caravan very close by, which was handy.

There is a nice dog walk close to the site although this involves going across open fields. The weather was not kind to us so it was a bit wet to say the least.

There is pub and places to eat however you will need to cross the busy A46.

There is small toilet block and one shower which was kept clean while we were there, despite the poor weather. The owners were very friendly and helpful. It's around 4. 5 miles from historic Lincoln so a short drive.

The Plus points :

Excellent Fishing 5 a day

Nice and level Pitch

Friendly and helpful owner

The minus points

Its close to the A46 so you do get some road noise.

There are no local shops so short drive would be required.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DJMotorhomer 39 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights here over Christmas, lovely lady owner who we also had to track down to pay but at 20 a night we thought it was rather steep. The shower/toilet block is a simple portacabin with basic amenities and not over clean to be honest. We could not find a chemical disposal point so had to use the toilet to dispose of our waste. Dont think we would use again if I am honest. Road noise can be heard. The lake makes for a nice view but as we do not fish this was of no interest to us. Only grass pitches available or a tarmac drive which could be used as hardstanding.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scoobas 2 reviews from this member

Just arrived home after a 3 day stay. The men enjoyed the fishing which includes all types of course fish. Very good fishing had by the men. The ponds are well matured and stocked.

The owners are lovely and helpful, cant fault the site and would certainly recommend it for the fishing. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have already booked again.

In the pond is Perch, Bream, Roach, Rudd, Tench, Carp both Mirror and Common, Barbel. Our friends caught a carp that weighed in at double figures, The fish are certainly feisty and will give you a run for your money, so hold on tight !

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul n Tasha 2 reviews from this member

The campsite is pretty basic to be honest. In my eyes its not really geared up for the long stay tenters among us. The toilet block is basic and wasn't my version of clean, but my visit was a while ago and I was in need of head space. The only reason for putting my review up is to see if much has changed in that time.

On the plus side it was very cheap to pitch my tent and they also took me on late booking. The owners are best described as trusting old schoolers. I had to find them to pay them LOL. There wasn't any running hot water for doing dishes (had to boil kettle on gas first). The traffic noise was conisderable tbh, especially with Lincoln ring road less than 1/4 mile. I wouldn't visit again purely on the traffic basis.

The site is definitely one to be considered for caravan's with owners who are interested in fishing. I am neither but I did get chance to dust off the digital slr and the fishing lake proved to be awesome for wildlife etc.

It was a great little site, just a shame about the road noise for me. The garden centre which is within easy walking distance 150 steps if your lucky is a great place for fresh food including butchers and bits plus a cafe open daily. I ended up getting chilli burgers to cook, a stir fry, chops (which butcher took off bone for me), plus I also had a big breakfast in the cafe.

Travelling is easy to Lincoln or Newark as it is sat on Lincolns ring road making it quick and easy to get anywhere. Maybe 20 minute run takes you to Newark A1.

Not bad, but room for improvement. Wouldn't recommend to tenters unless you enjoy wearing ear plugs as the traffic continues well after dark. Families with children would need to consider 100% entertainment for children as the site doesn't really have anything for the kids.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4852 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019