Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highgate Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Highgate Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Highgate Farm Caravan Park
Swim Road
Runham Swim
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 3EH
Tel: 01493 368133
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robin91 19 reviews from this member

Great little site. Only us and 3 more vans, so was very quiet. Very clean. 2 toilets for men, and 2 toilets for women, , with a shower each, , 50p a time. Was very dark at night time, with very little lighting, so you need a torch. The roads in the area are very narrow, with the site a little hard to find. V sharp turning onto site. Overall very good. So refreshing to get away from the hustle and bustle of bigger sites.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tiger 03 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site for 2weeks and it was lovely. The owner Lesley is very chatty and helpful needed a doctor and she printed off direction times etc for a clinic in Gt Yarmouth

The site is flat with plenty of space. The toilet / shower areas are kept very clean with paper and soap at all times. It was a lovely stay. Very relaxing and great weather.

The best overall thing about this site is the price isn't hiked up during August, you pay the same price all the year round. So great clean facilities and a resonable price, what more could you asks for

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendywoo1973 3 reviews from this member

Looked for a last minute 2 night stay online and stumbled across this place. I rang and spoke to Lesley who came across as really laid back, helpful and accommodating. We didn't need to book so just turned up on Friday evening. We wanted 2 nights with hook up. It was myself, my husband, 2 boys and my niece and 2 dogs. Best price we've paid on any site, ever ! Lesley gave us a quick walk around, showed us the important bits and then let us go and choose our spot. It was perfect and we are already planning our next visit. It was the most quiet and relaxing weekend I think I've ever spent camping. There were only 4 other people on site and I think 3 of those are regulars. The surrounding land was so well kept and enclosed from the elements. Being just 5 miles or so from Great Yarmouth gave the kids a great day off site while I simply snoozed the afternoon away with the dogs completely undisturbed ! The following points are by no way meant as negatives as for us, we just got on with it. I could see why this is probably not as busy as it could be because there is no hot water for pots and pans, we simply boiled the kettle a few times, however there is a big sink for washing up available with just cold water. The toilet and shower facilities are limited but again, it was so quiet it did not matter. You do need to pay 50p for the shower that runs for about 5 mins, this for me was ample time to get washed. I was happy also that the shower area was like a home from home shower, and kept really really clean. 2 toilets and a basin was also available in the block also cleaned on a regular basis. The same for the men's. My Boys and niece amused themselves with football. This is a first for the portable goal being allowed ! And some tree climbing ! Loved the dawn chorus and resident pheasants just casually taking a stroll around ! If you are not too fussy about showers and washing up then this is a definite site for you to try. So laid back without tons of rules and regulations was just such a breathe of fresh air. Highly recommended !

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sueyates 1 review from this member

We had a lovely time, the site was fantastic in the rural parts near the broads. The owners are really nice people and really made you feel welcome. The site was perfect the facilities are always clean and tidy this is a very peaceful site we will definitely be returning as we loved it there

Sue/Paul Yates

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mgwozzas 3 reviews from this member

My family stayed here for 5 nights, we were by the gate and a little close to the next van. Lots of room in the middle of field. The other field was great for ball games where we joined in with other holidaymakers in a game of cricket. The owner is very friendly giving you a welcome pack with vouchers etc on arrival. 15 per night with electric. No extras for awnings or dogs. Only 10 mins drive to Great Yarmouth. Toilets and showers spotless, recycling on site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tezlin1 3 reviews from this member

Lovely little site and was met on our arrival by the owner Lesley who showed us to our pitch even though we had arrived before 11. This site is clean & friendly. There are however only minimal facilities 1 shower and 2 toilets in 2 washrooms male and female and a small personal washing area which are lovely and clean, hot shower water is 50p for 5 minutes on a meter. There is a large washing up sink but no hot water point here so washing BBQ pots & pans slightly difficult. No shop facilities on site but is a van that comes with fresh produce every morning. All in all a nice site for a long weekend away. We will visit again!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garethmorgan50 1 review from this member

Lovely little campsite which is ideal for touring the broads. Highly recommend the 'Norfolk Sausage Company' who deliver to the site. Their bacon and sausages are excellent and will be sorely missed when we go home! The only criticism we have of the campsite is that the washing up facility could be improved but this isn't the biggest problem in the world. Would definitely recommend and would happily come here again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colin anderson 2 reviews from this member

What a nice quiet place. This site is perfect if you want to get away from the hustle & bustle of Yarmouth, set in the countryside about 30 minutes away from great Yarmouth.

The owner makes you feel very welcome and often see her walking round to see if alls ok.

Its not one of the biggest sites but it certainly is one of the cleanest and well maintained ones I've been on.

the toilet block is always clean. The shower is fine, it costs 50p for about 5 minutes but that's long enough.

there seemed to be plenty of people using the site, tents, caravans & motorhomes and even with the children playing out it didn't get noisy.

The nearest shop and pub are about a mile away but if like me I stopped off on the way back each day to replenish stocks.

Will definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampers80 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely site!

Your camping area, (if in a tent with no hook up)is in a back field surrounded by trees blowing in the breeze, there is a little path that runs behing the site and amazingly, quiet, flat roads which are fantastic for cycling on and exploring!

The site is away from the main road so no traffic noises but you do tend to hear the odd combine harvester! Great site for visiting surrounding areas too, wasn't too keen on Gt Yarmouth but visited Cromer which was quite charming. We also took in some of the towns from Cromer going south so was a lovely day out.

Facilities are a little basic but clean, you have a male, female loo and shower all in one block and the shower takes 50ps and last around 5 minutes.

There was, however, one negative aspect of the site for us, most campsites have a noise curfew which is around 11-12pm, this one does not and can (at busy times) be subject to some very noisy campers.

This was the only negative I could think of and could easily be changed by the guests being asked on arrival not to play loud music, shout or break wood in the forest for their fires (which happened several times) after 12-1 am for consideration to the other campers.

Apart from this the site was exceptional and I will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Annie G 16 reviews from this member

We stayed 4 nights here, and could easily have stayed longer - it's a wonderful site.

It's a smooth grassy field, with a tap and hook ups. We had enough space to put up our badminton net without causing any trouble. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The facilities are in a farm building, with just 2 loos, a wash basin and a shower. 50p for the shower, which is reasonable.

The location is great, with the river and village only a short walk away. The only noise we heard was from combine harvesters and owls ! The coast is a short drive away, and there is a pub which does food on the main road. If you are in a motorhome be aware the beach car park in Caister has a weight restriction and you can't use it.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing location this is the site for you.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5756 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019