Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highgate Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Highgate Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Highgate Farm Caravan Park
Swim Road
Runham Swim
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 3EH
Tel: 01493 368133
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Simon660 8 reviews from this member

 I emailed the site prior to booking knowing that covid regulations would mean toilet facilities would be closed, and to check if I could use my tent as I have my own facilities. This was confirmed as ok however, on arrival it seemed to cause a little confusion as if they weren't expecting me.

The site is level grass split into two fields. Having driven through non stop rain I was expecting a flood to pitch on, but drainage is obviously very good as there was no standing water on the field.

Set down a narrow lane I would imagine it could be an issue if two caravans met on the road, and the turning into and out of the site is quite tight. Not an issue for me with a tent, but an observation.

I can't comment on the facilities as these were closed due to covid regulations, other than the toilet disposal which is basically a manhole on the yard. Drinking water is on a hose near the field entrance, and hand sanitiser is available in a dispenser next to the tap which in the current situation was nice to see.

The site is nicely landscaped, and very quiet. There's no playgrounds or similar attractions for young children so may not suit some famalies, but with Yarmouth just a 6 mile drive there's plenty for children near by.

Recycling is encouraged with a multitude of bins for different items; glass, plastic, paper, general refuse, etc. Took me 5 days to remember which bins were for what items, but I assume this is the local authority wanting everything separated rather than a site rule.

There is a shop in Filby, 5 minutes drive from the site but it's not cheap so perhaps best to come prepared or head to one of the main supermarkets in Yarmouth. The nearest pub is also in Filby which looked nice from the outside but I can't comment further as I didn't use it. It is however probably too far to walk so someone will need to play designated driver if you plan on a pub night.

All in all, after the initial confusion on arrival, I liked the site and owners, and would stay there again in the future. I'm just a little confused why a tent is more expensive per night than a caravan and awning. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iandolby 3 reviews from this member

 The site was a little tight to enter, but we had a lovely pitch between trees. Plenty of space and water point very near.

Lovely quiet spot with owls in the night and many dragonflies.

We used the site to walk in the local area, but cycling would be good here. River is not far for a pleasant meander to Caister. Very friendly welcome.

Toilets were closed due to Covid. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Emb21 1 review from this member

 On arrival the site seemed peaceful and was in a good location for travelling to local seaside towns such as great yarmouth.

The rules state that dogs are to be kept on leads and not fouling on the grounds, however during our stay these rules weren't enforced - another camper's dog ran into our awning, completely oblivious to the owners and there was dog mess on our pitch when we first arrived that we had to clean before we could set up!

Admittedly due to COVID the toilets were closed, so we used our own toilet (and can't comment on the site's facilities). The toilet emptying facilities is just a manhole leading to a cess pit, so not great - particularly if you're elderly or disabled. We were told to just throw the grey water waste in the trees, I expected there to be a proper facility. With regards to obtaining water, there was one shared hose for the campsite, again not easy to for anyone elderly or disabled. Considering the lack of facilities, I would suggest that the site doesn't offer good value for money

The lady was quite rude to my elderly grandparents who came to visit us for a few hours - she charged 15 for them to visit us for what was at most 4 hours, 3 for each person and a further 3 for each of their cars - which was the price for extra overnight stays rather than visitors which seemed extortionate to me.

Overall, whilst the site was relatively quiet and with nice views, I feel the owners could do so much more with the site, particularly improving waste disposal, in order to match their price point. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robin91 26 reviews from this member

 Great little site. Only us and 3 more vans, so was very quiet. Very clean. 2 toilets for men, and 2 toilets for women, , with a shower each, , 50p a time.

Was very dark at night time, with very little lighting, so you need a torch.

The roads in the area are very narrow, with the site a little hard to find. V sharp turning onto site.

Overall very good. So refreshing to get away from the hustle and bustle of bigger sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tiger 03 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site for 2weeks and it was lovely. The owner Lesley is very chatty and helpful needed a doctor and she printed off direction times etc for a clinic in Gt Yarmouth

The site is flat with plenty of space. The toilet / shower areas are kept very clean with paper and soap at all times. It was a lovely stay. Very relaxing and great weather.

The best overall thing about this site is the price isn't hiked up during August, you pay the same price all the year round. So great clean facilities and a resonable price, what more could you asks for 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendywoo1973 3 reviews from this member

 Looked for a last minute 2 night stay online and stumbled across this place. I rang and spoke to Lesley who came across as really laid back, helpful and accommodating. We didn't need to book so just turned up on Friday evening. We wanted 2 nights with hook up. It was myself, my husband, 2 boys and my niece and 2 dogs. Best price we've paid on any site, ever ! Lesley gave us a quick walk around, showed us the important bits and then let us go and choose our spot. It was perfect and we are already planning our next visit. It was the most quiet and relaxing weekend I think I've ever spent camping. There were only 4 other people on site and I think 3 of those are regulars. The surrounding land was so well kept and enclosed from the elements. Being just 5 miles or so from Great Yarmouth gave the kids a great day off site while I simply snoozed the afternoon away with the dogs completely undisturbed ! The following points are by no way meant as negatives as for us, we just got on with it. I could see why this is probably not as busy as it could be because there is no hot water for pots and pans, we simply boiled the kettle a few times, however there is a big sink for washing up available with just cold water. The toilet and shower facilities are limited but again, it was so quiet it did not matter. You do need to pay 50p for the shower that runs for about 5 mins, this for me was ample time to get washed. I was happy also that the shower area was like a home from home shower, and kept really really clean. 2 toilets and a basin was also available in the block also cleaned on a regular basis. The same for the men's. My Boys and niece amused themselves with football. This is a first for the portable goal being allowed ! And some tree climbing ! Loved the dawn chorus and resident pheasants just casually taking a stroll around ! If you are not too fussy about showers and washing up then this is a definite site for you to try. So laid back without tons of rules and regulations was just such a breathe of fresh air. Highly recommended ! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sueyates 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely time, the site was fantastic in the rural parts near the broads. The owners are really nice people and really made you feel welcome. The site was perfect the facilities are always clean and tidy this is a very peaceful site we will definitely be returning as we loved it there

Sue/Paul Yates 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mgwozzas 3 reviews from this member

 My family stayed here for 5 nights, we were by the gate and a little close to the next van. Lots of room in the middle of field. The other field was great for ball games where we joined in with other holidaymakers in a game of cricket. The owner is very friendly giving you a welcome pack with vouchers etc on arrival. 15 per night with electric. No extras for awnings or dogs. Only 10 mins drive to Great Yarmouth. Toilets and showers spotless, recycling on site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tezlin1 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site and was met on our arrival by the owner Lesley who showed us to our pitch even though we had arrived before 11. This site is clean & friendly. There are however only minimal facilities 1 shower and 2 toilets in 2 washrooms male and female and a small personal washing area which are lovely and clean, hot shower water is 50p for 5 minutes on a meter. There is a large washing up sink but no hot water point here so washing BBQ pots & pans slightly difficult. No shop facilities on site but is a van that comes with fresh produce every morning. All in all a nice site for a long weekend away. We will visit again! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garethmorgan50 1 review from this member

 Lovely little campsite which is ideal for touring the broads. Highly recommend the 'Norfolk Sausage Company' who deliver to the site. Their bacon and sausages are excellent and will be sorely missed when we go home! The only criticism we have of the campsite is that the washing up facility could be improved but this isn't the biggest problem in the world. Would definitely recommend and would happily come here again. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highgate Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highgate Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Highgate Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement