Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping De L Ocean

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Ile De Re > Camping De L Ocean Reviews

Camping De L Ocean
Route D Ars
La Couarde Sur Mer
Ile De Re
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17670
Tel: 0033 05 46 29 87 70
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 184
Open: 08/04 To 25/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

We stayed 4 nights to use our Camping Cheques but once the validity period ended we moved on as quite expensive. A good large area to park in on arrival & you are then sent to look for a pitch. As it was June there was plenty of choice. We picked one of the pitches which was surrounded by hedges which after being on a few days made us feel a bit isolated as didn't really see anyone else, we should have pitched on the more open area near the sanitaires. It was fairly quiet at night so good for sleeping. The sanitaires were male & female split, very modern & clean. The pool area was lovely. We used the restaurant a couple of times & food good & pizzas very tasty. All staff were friendly & helpful. There was a locked gate at the back of the site that you were provided with a code & that was direct access onto the extensive cycle path network. The cycling was fantastic as we're all the little villages/ports we visited on our bikes. I would imagine this site would be very busy & noisy in peak season but it was very clean neat & tidy while we were there. Wifi was free at the bar & worked ok for me.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@julie 58 reviews from this member

Just been here for a week. Just like a butlins holiday camp. Pitches were not very big and rubbish left from previous campers. Only water available was a push button tap at toilet block. Dirty toilet blocks so used own facilities. Bar on site with large screen tv on all day. Lovely pool but that's all this site has going for it. The island itself is ok. Fantastic cycling. Nice villages especially ars en re la flotte and st martin. This is just my opinion. It may suit some.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Inkaboat 13 reviews from this member

Visited this site after hearing about the area from other campers. We stayed for a week.

The site is spacious and well presented. They accept Camping Cheques. We found a great pitch where we could receive Coronation Street on Astra 2 without trouble on our newly acquired Maplin Electronics suitcase satellite dish set!

Our first impressions were not good, as no 'Welcome Pack' was provided, so we didn't have a clue as to what was going on or available. Finding a place to fill our Aquaroll turned into a marathon task, as we weren't told that we needed tokens (free from Reception) to access the one public water tap! There were other taps on the serviced pitches, but it would have been a bit of a cheek to use these. In the end we filled regularly from the flushing hose at the chemical disposal point!

Pools were lovely, but only the smallest one was heated. The shop ran out of (excellent) croissants quickly so early rising was required.

We found the small harbours charming, but lunch out was usually expensive and not up to expectations, as were the markets. There were plenty of cycle paths on the island, but none where we were.

The island is pretty, but a bit dull and quite expensive. Worth a visit, but we will not return to it.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris + stuart 2 reviews from this member

We visited L'Ocean in May not knowing what to expect other than friends recommendations. L'Ocean did not disappoint. Yes the pitches were a bit bare and hedges thinning but were generous enough. As with other reviewer taps for fresh water were a little sparse too but we located a few dotted around here and there - noticed several were damaged or removed perhaps the winter damage.

But despite that we found the reception excellent, the shop and the gent who run it delightful. Yes the bread was not ordered but we always got some.

Restaurant we did not partake but a pizza we did - not the best but ok. Pool area good and yes only one heated. Using it was fine when quiet but over a busy weekend the kids took over. Sanitary facilities were good and not smelly always cleaned well and heated!

I don't know what site one reviewer was on complaining there was not much cycling paths here. There are miles of them and quite superb too. Out of the site and turn right only bit of public road then it's cycle paths to Ars, Loix, Courade, St Martin (this is about 15 k but worth it fab ride) the markets in all the villages are great only small but vibrant.

Ars is stunning and it has the best patisserie anywhere. The whole island is a delight but you need to have good weather to take full advantage. Yes restaurants are expensive but everything in France is, you cut your cloth.

Yes the road outside site is busy sometimes and can be difficult to cross but with care it's fine over the crossing. Beach is extensive and lovely to walk along, our dog loved it.

We were given a super tour book on arrival which gave useful maps of villages and the island plus all information you might need. The only complaint I had was the wi fi which was expensive and our trip had taught us not to partake in that cost. There are many wi fi hot spots in the villages and post office which allowed the use of Internet and e mails. If there is anything to improve free wi fi with camp boosters would help.

Highly recommend L'Ocean and ile de Re. The only way to see it is on your bike - take a picnic it's great!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theboyg 3 reviews from this member

We spent a week at L'Ocean, we had a pitch on the left hand side of the shop/reception (away from the pool). This was probably our major criticism of the site, in that even though there were mature trees between the road and the site, and we were 3 or 4 pitches away from the edge of the site, there was constant (24hrs) road noise, that really affected our enjoyment of the site. We're not the quiet type (with kids of 5 and 7 that's impossible. ) however the road noise was a drag. While to road is only single lane each way it gets very busy, and even though the beach is just on the other side, with only a zebra crossing which is optional for stopping in France, crossing it with small children was not ideal.

As the previous reviewer said the facilities on the site were good, good pools, again strange how only one side appeared to be heated. As the site is large, and there are relatively few loungers, space can be at a premium. Play area, mini golf tennis court and football/basketball court all provided entertainment for the kids.

Shop was good, but with little fresh fruit or veg. Baguettes etc didn't need to be pre booked when we were there, but probably a good idea if the site was really busy. We had take away pizza one night and ate in the restaurant another both of which were decent. WiFi is by prepaid card and only available near the bar area.

Toilets were fine for me (wife thought they smelt, but not too bad in my opinion), showers hot and spacious. Reception and check in fine, with English spoken by all. Hired bikes to cycle around which was one of the main attractions of going to the ile de re. We really enjoyed Courarde-sur-mer, especially the market (must visit) also did a day trip to Ars-en-re and trip to the light house.

Overall the site was large, busy and a bit too noisy for us to want to return, we would try to find somewhere a bit smaller, and off the main road but stay close to the beach. Conclusion would be : no deal breakers but I think there's probably better sites on the island.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lfuller 2 reviews from this member

Having noted there is no up to date review on the L'Ocean campsite, I thought I would write a few words having just returned.

Overall we were really happy with the L'Ocean site. We were given pitches 7 and 8 on Trinquette. We and our friends have large tents and at first felt we wouldn't fit but it wasn't a problem and ended up enjoying our quiet little road. The pitches are squeezed in but are roomy enough for what you need. For noise reasons I would say all pitches to the left of the main road are preferable. Pitches to the right are closer to the bar and Animation area. Pool area was very nice although only half of the pool was generally used. The pool was broken into 2 sections, one section was heated. The other half for the brave hearted only.

Very easy access to the beach, you literally walk out of the campsite over the crossing and you're on the beach. Couldn't be easier. Beach is lovely! Campsite shop is very useful with fresh baguettes and croissants every morning. Most things you might need are in shop although no fresh milk. You'll need to stock up from further afield for that. Site restaurant is adequate, we ate there twice. Mainly Pizza's and salad but nice if you want a break from cooking! Childrens entertainment sounded fun. The crazy golf, tennis court, basketball court/football pitch, boules and exercise area was nicely laid out and the children loved cycling down there for a muck about. There is also a separate children's play are which was nice. Nearly forgot, facilities are good! Two main blocks which were regularly cleaned and nicely planned. Better than the 4 star I stayed in last year.

The Il de Re is lovely and we would definitely return. The highlight was being able to cycle around it. Great cycle paths! You can hire bikes on the campsite.

For a 3 star campsite L'Ocean was everything you need and I would recommend it. We will return to the island but will probably try a new campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ina 25 reviews from this member

Agree with previous review. A nice site, friendly reception. We were with friends, also in a motorhome, and were able to choose our own pitch. We managed to get 2 adjacent pitches without a problem. Pitches shady, toilet facilities good, spacious showers. From where the site is, you can pick up the cycle path round the corner, and then Ile de Re is your oyster! Fabulous island. There is a toll to get onto the island, which in high season (about mid-June to end August, beginning September) was 16 Euros for motorhomes and outside theese dates it was 9 Euros. Don't know what it is this year. The site also accepts Camping Cheques in low season.

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzie 42 reviews from this member

Lovely site, situated around the middle of the island and only 50m from a good beach. The very pretty towns of Ars en Re and La Courade are approximately 2-3k away and very easy to cycle to while other attractions (lighthouse, St Martins are still within reasonable cycling distance). The site seems to be mainly used by the French although workers at reception all spoke good English and were very efficient and friendly with our telephone booking. The pitches were reasonably large although with only a limited amount of shade and dusty/sandy underfoot. Hook ups available Two shower blocks – one really smart new one and one older one which was a bit tatty but always clean. Shop on site sells fresh bread and croissants and all sorts of other foodstuffs. There is a really nice swimming pool (rule about no swim shorts strictly adhered to). The bar does have some fairly low key entertainment: bands, disco one night a week etc but my 14 and 17 year olds both found enough to keep themselves occupied. There is an animation programme for younger kids and a play area with free crazy golf. There is also a restaurant which we did not try and a pizza take away. We really enjoyed our stay and in fact returned in 2006 to one of the site’s static vans as we had got rather overheated the year before in our tents! The best thing about the island itself is the cycle tracks and being able to live very easily without your car.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3801 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019