Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Yelloh Village Camping Chateau La Foret

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > St Julien Des Landes > Yelloh Village Camping Chateau La Foret Reviews

Yelloh Village Camping Chateau La Foret
Rue De La Foret
St Julien Des Landes
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85150
Tel: 0033 (0) 251 466 211
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 160
Open: 04/05 To 15/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DawnyC 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful site with great facilities. Toilet block, shower, sinks all good and with space to plug in if you don't have hook up.

We hired a fridge for 5€ per day which saved us space in the car. Lots to do for kids and lovely bar/restaurant for the evenings. We visited the restaurant and used the takeaway and both were good and reasonably priced. Mainly self catered and bought supplies at the local super u. Not far but car required. Only 50 m walk into the village with beautiful boulangerie for breakfast and small shop for other supplies.

Not to far to drive to beach with lots of rock pools, kept my kids interested fir ages. The zip wire and horse riding at the back of the site is just fantastic, nit actually a part of the site but you do get a discount if you mention that you are staying there.

We were allocated a good average pitch size which easily accommodated our 6 man tent with porch and space for our car.

I would definitely recommend and intend yo return

Only think I would maybe change is that children aren't allowed in the outdoor pool area as this is a quiet area. I'd probably like that if I didn't have kids! The indoor pool does have some outside sun beds and I didn't have to worry about them burning so they could play in the pool for longer.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahlr 10 reviews from this member

Chateau La Foret is a great site in a lovely location. There is lots of open space, especially around the lakes and the covered pool. Our pitch was at the top of the site, under a lot of oak trees which made it very shady. There were also thousands of acorns, which made it an uncomfortable pitch! Thank goodness for the footprint groundsheet. There seemed to be much better pitches dotted around, the ones on the edge overlooking the covered pool were very good.

Bar was lively at night but not too noisy, but not many tables and chairs to sit at. Lots of families seemed to adopt the subbed approach - get there early, bag a table with cardigans etc and hold onto it for the entire evening! Wifi only seems to work in the 10 square metres just outside the reception doorway! Pools were great, my sons loved the slide, but no lifeguard. Takeaway was very good, the chef is a true comedian who had my kids laughing.

Toilets etc all fine, only had to queue for a shower a couple of times, and site was full. Statics and tents are mixed together, maybe this takes the pressure off the toilets at least. As usual in France, cleaning times are at the busiest times! The kind cleaner let us in early on a few evenings when I chatted to her in broken French about our days out at Puy du Fou etc.

Sons enjoyed riding their bikes around and making friends. Most accommodation is well away from the main road/entrance gate. We liked the area so we are returning in 2014, but to La Garangeoire as it has better grass pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmccal 2 reviews from this member

We spent 19 nights here with another family in our trailer tent / tent. We booked separately but they worked hard to accommodate us together. We were under the trees and there was no sun so could get a bit chilly but if really hot I’m sure it would offer great shade. So pros and cons.

Good arrival with friendly and helpful staff. There weren’t any additional kids club activities while we were there but you could play crazy golf with no charge. Just collect putters and balls from reception. The treetop activity course is an absolute must – fantastic time by two 36 year olds, 6, 5 and 2 year old.

The site is in beautiful surroundings. A gorgeous chateau with swimming pools and the bar area around a courtyard. We used the family pool which had a couple of good slides which ours thoroughly enjoyed. As others have said it was a little bit tired looking and could do with a lick of paint.

The shower and toilet blocks were adequate. They had thick beams on show in the roof and these were clogged with flies and large insects. I’m not squirmish but even these made me feel a bit ‘shivery’. Could do with a revamp. I agree with other review that they need updating and a good clean. Although hygiene not an issue they could do with cleaning floors and walls etc several times a day. This does seem a bigger problem than it actually was and this would definitely not put us off going back. Our kids didn't even notice it.

We ate one evening from the takeaway pizza etc and was rather nice and quite large portions. We ate in the restaurant and the food and service were both good. The bar was also good and there was a nice atmosphere in the courtyard when we had a couple of beers there. A couple of evenings a week they have an inflatable bouncy castle in the courtyard for the children free of charge.

Nice bakery about a ten minute walk in the morning for bread and croissants. No shop on site which suited us fine. Super you about a ten minute drive. This site is in the countryside and you do need to travel to get to everything.

Lots of lovely beaches from about 15 mins drive in the car.

We would recommend this site to families with younger children and want quiet evenings enjoying a couple of beers / wines in peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Catlover174 20 reviews from this member

We spent 7 nights here with another family in our caravans. We were kindly given neighbouring pitches which were very spacious, although being under the trees there was no sun and no grass so things were a bit muddy underfoot when it rained. We were also a bit close to the road which was a little noisy at times. On arrival we received a very warm welcome and lots of information. The staff were very helpful and provided our friends with a European adapter for their hook-up as they hadn't thought to bring one with them. There were plenty of activities on site but often there was a supplementary charge e. G. Tennis, games room, ping pong, trampoline, crazy golf, pony riding, treetop activity course. The swimming pools are in a beautiful setting in the grounds of a chateau. We only used the family pool which had a couple of good slides but was a little bit tired looking and a bit chilly. The takeaway was very good - reasonably priced with a good choice of food and open quite late. The bar was also good although a bit dark inside. The restaurant was not so good - the service was slow and not very friendly, although the food was fine.

The site is well located with lovely beaches within a short drive and we had a fantastic day out at the Puy Du Fou theme park about 1 hour's drive away. Highly recommended - you will never experience anything quite like it!

The shower and toilet blocks were disappointing. They really need updating and a good clean. They are a bit smelly and toilets were rusty and often blocked. Shower cubicles were the smallest I have ever been in which is very difficult when you need to take young children in with you but they were warm.

There was a good entertainment programme including a band which went on until around 11pm one evening but it wasn't too loud at all and the music was good so we quite enjoyed sitting outside our caravan listening to it! There are quite a few mobile homes on this site and apparently there are more to come which is a bit of a shame as it will become less of a camp site and more like a holiday park.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here but would not necessarily return to this site if we came back to the area.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freespirit11 1 review from this member

A very nice site with some large pitches, pitches can be requested in advance so it's worth looking at the site plane before you book, facilities are kept clean as is the whole site. Nice restaurant and bar area with friendly staff.

2 swimming pools 1 of which is adults only, nice walks around the lakes and a short walk to the village although not a lot there. No shop on site but bread, milk etc can be ordered in via the bar the nearest supermarket is about 4km. All in all a nice site in a nice area well wort a visit

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mozza30 5 reviews from this member

This was the first time we had ever taken our caravan out of the UK so had no idea what to expect of French sites. We were not disappointed. La Foret is a charming, although large, rustic site with plenty to do in a lovely part of the Vendee. The pool area is a little tired but non the less warm and pleasant.

Beaches in the area are lovely but are approx 10 mile away. Most of the stuff I would say about the site has already been said by other reviewers.

The only thing I would add is a recommendation to do the tree top activities in the woods. Very tiring, scary but lots of fun, especially if you are a kid, big or small.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iron man oxon 2 reviews from this member

One man with bus pass, one tent, one BMW Z3 hood down!

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely site. The staff were most efficient and both the bar and restaurant well run and good value, if not cheap. Being out of school holidays it was very quiet.

Good pool quite warm enough for a swim and pleasant walks around the lakes. Only one WC block was open (due to demand) but was clean and tidy. No live bands at this time, thank heavens!

Plage des Dames on Noirmoutier was very pleasant as was La Chaume a boat taxi ride across the harbour from Sables D'olonne. I crossed over with LD lines to Boulogne for £69 return and due to the timimg stopped over in Lisieux, Mercure, £55,and then followed the back roads down taking 6 hours. My return was by Autoroute in one go to Boulogne 6 hours again.

Will return but again prior to school holidays.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon9 1 review from this member

We visited this site after a last minute change from Cornwall this year so really happened upon it by chance, many others in the Vendee were fully booked. Having spent 8 days here I'm surprised that this site wasn't full as well, it really is a gem.

The campsite is set in a wooded area that makes up a part of the grounds of the Chateau, with the pools, playground, football, golf and fishing lakes situated in the more open park area of the grounds. The site facilities such as reception, bar, restaurant, takeaway, games and entertainment are within the three sided courtyard, housed in very old and charming buildings & stables that would have once served the Chateau.

The pitches are all level with varying degrees of shade and all are fully serviced. There are three good sized shower / loo blocks on the site so no matter where you are pitched you will have facilities close at hand.

I've camped in France several times before, but for my young families first time camping abroad (kids are 9,11 & 13) it really couldn't have been better, the site has a relaxed informal atmosphere that belies the great work and effort that the site team puts in. We came away feeling thoroughly refreshed and will return next year - but for longer.

It is very child friendly with activities available to please all, including a football match every night at 9 0'clock that suited our eldest just fine, and if a slower pace is preferred by the parents while the kids run themselves ragged (like us), I'd recommend a bottle of Grand Vin de Bordeaux from the bar at a price less that a pub or restaurant over here would charge.

There is a small supermarket in the local village of St Julien des Landes that is within walking distance, but we found that a 5 minute drive to the Super you at nearby La Mothe Achard much more worthwhile as the supermarket is very well stocked (a bit like a large Tesco).

As we wanted to keep things simple we either stayed on the site, or drove into Les Sables D'Olonne which has an excellent large sandy beach, and great cafes & restaurants in the Port Peche area.

I could go on about this site for ages, as it's really that good, but I won't, as I don't want you to go there so that I know that I can get back on it next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Adam reynolds 1 review from this member

We have just returned from this site with our campervan/awning tent and twin 2 yr old boys. It was a fabulous time and can recommend the site to anyone with the following pros/cons:

Remembering we had young children, the noise from the playing field could be loud until quite late at night and we found it a bit too much - the kids sounded like they were having a great time on the trampoline/football pitch though!

We would definitely ask to be near the farthest toilet block as it is quieter, has more shade and less congested.

They had quite a few bands on (4 I think in 10 days) and they finished late and were loud. (we were pitch 131 and we'd book that again if that helps anyone! - view to the chateaux through the trees, next to quiet toilet block and field. This block does not have baby baths though so you walk down to the other block for that)

We asked before going about BBQs and its gas only but there were people using proper ones down our end of the campsite and we resorted to it cos the one we had bought especially was rubbish! And its just not the same.

The takeaway pizza is good and the bar is cute. Every night at 6 they blow up the bouncy castle (unless band is setting up) and our two loved it.

Its a 10 minute walk to bread shop by the way and its a lovely way to start day. Our boys could say 'Qwassont' by the end of the holiday and got big smiles from Madam.

The sea is 20 minutes away and we'd recommend the closest one at Sauveterre unless you want more built up ones such as St Hilaire to the north (about 35 minutes and take a net at low tide to catch the prawns with the locals!). Try them all though.

We needed a doctor for ear infection and the one in the village was excellent with an open door morning surgery, charged 25 euros and the pharmacy was opposite. IN and out in 30 minutes!

It was a very relaxed site with equal amounts of english, dutch and french, many of whom have been coming for years. Two familes we met had been bringing their children for 23 years since they were 6 months old so I'm not sure you can have a better recommendation than that.

Oh one last thing. To get there we went Portsmouth - St Malo. Night boat over using the 'inside' cabin and then returned on the 10.30am boat and got a commodore posh cabin which was absolutely amazing really. The boys spent an hour in the shower and we relaxed with the free newspaper and free stocked mini bar/tea and coffee. The ferry cost £501 and we sailed on a monday and friday to keep costs down. It took 3 1/4 hours to drive to campsite(you go past the Super you supermarket on your way through La Mothe-Achard so you can pick up food there) so you have to stay a night in st malo on the way back. But go and promenade with everyone on sea front, see the walled city and have moule frite as a last hurrah! Then its 10 mins in the morning to the ferry terminal.

Right, back to the grindstone.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendle 19 reviews from this member

We stayed late June and on arrival were told we could pitch anywhere we wanted.

We chose a extremely large pitch, masses of room. Most of the pitches were very large with a minority being smaller and some odd shaped and a bit gloomy as this is a wooded site.

I have to say this is the best campsite we've stayed on both in the UK and France though there were a few things that niggled though certainly didn't spoil our stay. I have a feeling the site is used a lot by locals in low season.

Firstly on arrival the site was being used as a wedding reception venue which meant a fair bit of noise into the early hours but hey it's a wedding and wasn't so loud that it was a major problem.

Secondly one weekend evening the bar area was very crowded , mostly from the locals as there were very few campers on site .The bass of the music could be heard from our pitch into the early hours and to be honest this was a problem as we'd chosen this site as it has been reviewed as a very quiet site.

Having said that. The site was lovely. The staff very friendly . The pool was warm , the area was nice and the weather brilliant so we did enjoy our stay.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Julien Des Landes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3884 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019