Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Merseyside > Southport > Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club Reviews

Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club
The Esplanade
Southport
Merseyside   (Browse area)
PR8 1RX
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 171
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Yellotem 3 reviews from this member

 We had a weeks holiday on this site. On arrival we were met by a very helpful warden, who managed to find us a pitch with awning as I’d mistakenly booked a pitch without.

We drove around and decided on pitch 45, close to the toilets for our children. The pitch was massive, we had plenty of space for our awning and outside chairs.

The toilets were spotless and operated on a wrist band system: if there was six bands on the door then you had to wait for someone to exit. A good system, just a shame some people couldn’t/didn’t want to wait their turn. There’s also a baby and toddler room which was great for cleaning the kids.

The site is ideally situated for the town and all its amenities, it’s a short flat walk, and the supermarket is just outside on the main road. There’s easy access to the sand dunes for dog walking and there’s also a public play area and climbing equipment outside the gates.

Southport itself has plenty on offer to keep you entertained, there’s some beautiful parks and the pier is a nice steady walk with amusements at the end.

The price was reasonable, just under £25 per night.

We’d definitely return once the kids are old enough to visit some of the attractions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kellywolf 1 review from this member

 Great site, extremely clean and tidy and very friendly.

Great park right behind the site for walks or bike rides.

Short walk from the town centre and beach and supermarket.

We as a family really enjoyed our stay here and will be adding to our favourites to stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bessy525 50 reviews from this member

 What a great site for families and just a short walk to the town centre with a theme park suitable for under 15's and when open a swimming pool complex incl. Outdoor slides (closed due to Covid restrictions), the site is also attached to a large public park. Our visit was when the site was full but very little noise and all children well behaved during our visit.

You will find the usual excellent facilities although our visit coincided with Covid toilet access restrictions that led to larger than normal ques for the facilities. We had no issues with the staff who were very polite and helpful even taking in a parcel for me whilst we were off site.

The local area is a cyclist dream even for people like me who rarely get in the saddle with plenty of dedicated cycle routes that are very safe for all the family.

Morrisons a short walk away taking care of all catering needs and the town itself has numerous independent restaurants offering a range of food types as well as Wetherspoons x 2 so plenty to choose from. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Landstar 6 reviews from this member

 Love the site, great location, very good pitches,

Facilities clean and well kept, been coming here for 20+ years,

Had a very upsetting 3 nights due to an aggressive warden, his attitude was probably the worst we have come across in 35 years 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debbiesmum 12 reviews from this member

 Only stayed for one night. Warden very efficient on our arrival. We were able to choose our pitch. Toilet and shower block absolutely immaculate. Water and waste disposal easily identified and easy to use. Site as other have said is a bit souless, long narrow road.

We overnighted as Storm Ciera hit and the road immed outside the entrance gates was badly flooded.

As per other reviewer - would strongly recommend The Fishermans Rest nearby. Absolutely lovely meal, super staff, exemplary service. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mickproc1 7 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our couple of days at this site and wished we could have stayed longer. The facilities are the standard you would expect from a club site and the wardens do an excellent job of keeping the site clean and tidy.

Southport is about 20 minutes steady walk away and there is a Morrisons supermarket between the site and the town centre. There is a pub around 300 yards in the other direction which serves food.

We cant wait to go back to this site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Keencamper5711 6 reviews from this member

 An exceptionally well kept site. Friendly staff. Immaculate facilities. Stayed in new area - good natural windbreak behind us.

A pleasant walk into town especially via Rotten Row or through the adjoining park (about 15 minutes). Morrison’s supermarket slightly nearer. Well stocked information room on site - lots to do in the area. Train line great - you can travel with bike to other coastal areas south of site or Liverpool or there are good cycle paths. Both Crosby and Formby good choices. Also enjoyed the lawnmower museum in Southport.

This site more expensive than we usually pay but an excellent site and once on site no need to drive anywhere. We would like to return but only outside of main season due to nightly charge. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Artel 2 reviews from this member

 We’ve visited this site several times before so knew what to expect. Check in on arrival was quick and friendly, we had booked a serviced pitch, think there is only about nine of these all located in one area of the newer part of the site. All pitches are hard standing, steel pegs definitely required. Two toilet blocks, both kept clean at all times.

Being next to Victoria Park on one side and the sand dunes on the other this site is very popular with dog owners. Go out any of the exits and you are handy for dog walking routes.

The town of Southport is an easy 15 minutes walk from the site and, although I do like the town, you can see that it is deteriorating a little. More empty shops on Lord Street, an increase in litter and just not kept as well as it used to be. Not the cheapest of sites but well kept and in a good location. Once there the car rarely moved, we were able to walk to most places we wished to go 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The mutts nuts 4 reviews from this member

 Usual Caravan Club standards, excellent for visiting Southport close to beach ! We use quite regular for weekends facilities well kept and clean ! Friendly wardens excellent for dogs as well ! Recommend a visit !We prefer the older side of the site ourselves ! The new section has no real shelter against the wind but that's our personal choice. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 We have visited before in winter so booked to come back in sunnier weather. On arrival super quick and friendly check-in - only 3 pitches available so not much choice. To be fair most pitches are a similar size, all hardstanding and a small strip of grass alongside so not the end of the world.

Site facilities very clean and well looked after - toilet block on the new part of site closed for cleaning 3-5pm - so guessing the other block is morning so you can always use one. Showers good and hot, water pressure ok.

For us the joy of the site is the location - great cycling from the gate. Cycle paths to Formby and further into Liverpool one way and Preston the other direction. The promenade has a walk path and a cycle paths which makes life easier.

There is plenty to see and do in the town, in Victoria Park next to the campsite there is a model car racetrack with club events at weekends, a steam train society running trains, a croquet club and a children's play area. Plus it back on the beautiful Rotten Row which is worth a walk.

We found the the town is experiencing the blight of many in that there are a lot of empty shops now, especially on Lord Street. That said its still a lovely walk with plenty of cafes and bars. We love the old fashioned arcades with their stunning shops and glass roofs.

Its certainly more expensive than we would usually pay for site, no water or waste on pitches so the extra costs must be in relation to location only.

The only real downside for us was rabbits - everywhere which means so are rabbit dropping. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4879 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement