Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Merseyside > Southport > Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club Reviews

Southport Caravan And Motorhome Club
The Esplanade
Southport
Merseyside   (Browse area)
PR8 1RX
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 171
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
                8/10 from 60 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mickproc1 6 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our couple of days at this site and wished we could have stayed longer. The facilities are the standard you would expect from a club site and the wardens do an excellent job of keeping the site clean and tidy.

Southport is about 20 minutes steady walk away and there is a Morrisons supermarket between the site and the town centre. There is a pub around 300 yards in the other direction which serves food.

We cant wait to go back to this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Keencamper5711 6 reviews from this member

An exceptionally well kept site. Friendly staff. Immaculate facilities. Stayed in new area - good natural windbreak behind us.

A pleasant walk into town especially via Rotten Row or through the adjoining park (about 15 minutes). Morrison’s supermarket slightly nearer. Well stocked information room on site - lots to do in the area. Train line great - you can travel with bike to other coastal areas south of site or Liverpool or there are good cycle paths. Both Crosby and Formby good choices. Also enjoyed the lawnmower museum in Southport.

This site more expensive than we usually pay but an excellent site and once on site no need to drive anywhere. We would like to return but only outside of main season due to nightly charge.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Artel 2 reviews from this member

We’ve visited this site several times before so knew what to expect. Check in on arrival was quick and friendly, we had booked a serviced pitch, think there is only about nine of these all located in one area of the newer part of the site. All pitches are hard standing, steel pegs definitely required. Two toilet blocks, both kept clean at all times.

Being next to Victoria Park on one side and the sand dunes on the other this site is very popular with dog owners. Go out any of the exits and you are handy for dog walking routes.

The town of Southport is an easy 15 minutes walk from the site and, although I do like the town, you can see that it is deteriorating a little. More empty shops on Lord Street, an increase in litter and just not kept as well as it used to be. Not the cheapest of sites but well kept and in a good location. Once there the car rarely moved, we were able to walk to most places we wished to go

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The mutts nuts 4 reviews from this member

Usual Caravan Club standards, excellent for visiting Southport close to beach ! We use quite regular for weekends facilities well kept and clean ! Friendly wardens excellent for dogs as well ! Recommend a visit !We prefer the older side of the site ourselves ! The new section has no real shelter against the wind but that's our personal choice.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We have visited before in winter so booked to come back in sunnier weather. On arrival super quick and friendly check-in - only 3 pitches available so not much choice. To be fair most pitches are a similar size, all hardstanding and a small strip of grass alongside so not the end of the world.

Site facilities very clean and well looked after - toilet block on the new part of site closed for cleaning 3-5pm - so guessing the other block is morning so you can always use one. Showers good and hot, water pressure ok.

For us the joy of the site is the location - great cycling from the gate. Cycle paths to Formby and further into Liverpool one way and Preston the other direction. The promenade has a walk path and a cycle paths which makes life easier.

There is plenty to see and do in the town, in Victoria Park next to the campsite there is a model car racetrack with club events at weekends, a steam train society running trains, a croquet club and a children's play area. Plus it back on the beautiful Rotten Row which is worth a walk.

We found the the town is experiencing the blight of many in that there are a lot of empty shops now, especially on Lord Street. That said its still a lovely walk with plenty of cafes and bars. We love the old fashioned arcades with their stunning shops and glass roofs.

Its certainly more expensive than we would usually pay for site, no water or waste on pitches so the extra costs must be in relation to location only.

The only real downside for us was rabbits - everywhere which means so are rabbit dropping.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

Although we paid a bit more than we usually do you do get a first class site. Plenty of space, a very tidy pitch and top quality facilities. As usual for a Caravan club site the staff are friendly, welcoming, helpful and a mine of information of the surrounding area.

Loved Southport as a place, plenty of shops, pubs, eating places and things to do all within walking distance. A couple of things slightly spoilt our break, firstly the four hour drive from South Yorks due to the traffic on a Friday afternoon and Storm Brian with its winds and rain. The sites good, Southport is good and we will be back but not on Friday and hopefully better weather.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 32 reviews from this member

This is a long, narrow site at the end of Marine Drive. There is access out of the site directly into the park - the signs say keep dogs on leads but everyone seems to ignore that and the park is effectively the dog walk for the caravan site. A 10 minute walk and you're in Southport town centre so the location is great for getting into town easily. A trip to Formby point is well worth it, about 6 miles away from the site, the beach is beautiful and stretches for miles.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night to try out our new caravan, never having had a caravan before. We live in Birkdale which is approx 3/4 mile away so we didn't have far to travel.

Being totally inexperienced we didn't really know what to expect. We struggled with the caravan services and setting up the awning (which was why we went for a night so close to home). However, the process of checking in, finding a pitch etc were explained very clearly and we didn't have any problems getting to an appropriate pitch.

As we were testing the van we didn't use the on site facilities apart from a quick final trip to the toilet block which was spotless. The CDP, fresh water and grey water waste were all very well maintained and clean. From other comments, I understand that this is typical of a CMC site.

We were on the new part of the site. As a local I had always thought it looked a bit stark when driving past but I was pleasantly impressed by the feel of it once on site. The natural planting around the perimeter of the site is much more evident from inside. The site was also much better insulated from sound from the coast road than I was expecting.

Our interactions with staff were all very pleasant and they were very understanding the next morning when it became apparent we weren't going to be ready to leave on time. (I had gone to the office and grovelled beforehand).

We found the stay most enjoyable and can't really criticise anything about the site. And we were lucky with the weather!

I'd like to make a plea for anyone who stays here to consider a visit to Birkdale. We've got wine bars, restaurants, a beer shop, specialist food shops, Post Office, small supermarkets etc. The staff will tell you where The Fisherman's Rest is. If you continue walking past the front of pub (away from the beach) you will see Birkdale in the distance. You will cross 2 sets of traffic lights then come to Birkdale railway station just over half a mile away (from The Fisherman's Rest).

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rushcroft 2 reviews from this member

Visited the site on the first sunny weekend at the end of March, the site was very full. We found it a very pleasant site staff very friendly and helpful despite being very busy with new arrivals. Fault with electric sorted instantly. Toilets are closed for cleaning in the late afternoon (correcting what it says on a previous post ), block was immaculate.

Quite noisy but I think this was from nearby houses.

Very direct access to beach via the sand dunes, great for our two athletic dogs.

Site is within easy walking distance of the town, but we were usually heading to the beach.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We found the wardens to very friendly and helpful, a warm welcome and given the choice of pitches. As with most CC sites everything was immaculately, kept - yes facility blocks showed closed for 2 hours but were open again in just over an hour.

Pitches are a good size and hardstanding on gravel, they all seemed a very generous size. There is a motorhome service point and several other water points around the site.

Southport is just under 10 minutes walk either along the road of through the park. Enough there to keep most people occupied for a good few days. Plenty of good flat walking, enough shops to occupy you for a full day, a beautiful pier and a small fun fair.

For us a really brilliant site, there is nothing we could fault and we will be back for a longer stay.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4284 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019