Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gorten Sands Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Gorten Sands Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: Gorten Sands Caravan Site
Keppoch
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janian 1 review from this member

 Love this site. has its own beaches, wild flowers, birds, hay meadows. Glorious views, looking across the sound of Sleat to Sleat on Skye and the small Isles of Rhum and Eigg, with The Sgurr showing majestically. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speaker12 17 reviews from this member

 I headed to the Arisaig area with no site booked. I knew the bigger sites would be full so drove to Gorten Sands in the hope of finding some space. The site is easy enough to find, just go down the Back of Keppoch road till you can't go any further!

Fortunately there were a few spaces left. The owner suggested I do a recce and check I was ok with the ground conditions before committing to stay - several days of heavy rain had made the land a bit boggy in places. I found a relatively dry spot near the beach which had great views out to the islands and up the coast towards Mallaig.

The site was quiet, the main noise being a chap yelling at his dog who was too busy enjoying the beach to take any notice of him.

Toilets/showers a bit dated but fine.

There are plenty of beaches to explore nearby including the 'Local Hero' one at Camusdarach - there was a spectacular sunset here on one of the nights I stayed. It's not that far to Glenfinnan to see the Jacobite train go over the viaduct. Loch Morar is also worth a look.

For supplies there's a small shop in Arisaig and in Mallaig there's a Co-op and various other places. The Cabin chippy is a must-visit if you can find it (down a little alley around the corner from the train station).

The cost for me was 12 which was for myself/tent/car, pretty good I think compared to what other sites in the area charge. This is a site I'll definitely return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebiz 2 reviews from this member

 Gorten Sands is a small informal campsite in the Arisaig area which is directly on the beach.

They were able to take us without booking and we were given a choice of two areas to set up our tents, on the lower level at the beach, or in a field set a little bit back. Both areas have a toilet block, I only used the beach side one which although slightly dated, was clean with plenty of hot water. Showering, dish washing and laundry facilities were present.

I had visitors from South Africa and Portugal with me and they were most impressed with the views and the beach and actually braved a swim on our first evening. Like many of the Arisaig sites, there is direct access to the beach for launching small boats and we were most envious of the kayakers taking advantage of the evening sunshine.

I have no idea what the pricing structure is, but for four adults with two small tents, we were charged 17 per night.

This is definitely the kind of relaxed site I enjoy and now becomes my favourite Arisaig site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunnycamping 6 reviews from this member

 Facilities are adequate although dated. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers each for ladies and gents in the main site and another block in the field at the back of the site.

Showers take 20p coins and they are timed from when you insert the coin, even though the coin slot is outside the cubicle.

There is also a dishwashing area and washing machine.

Part of the site is right next to a lovely beach. The field at the back of the site is only a short walk to the beach but when we were there the midges were awful.

We paid 5 for electricity for 1 night - ridiculous as we paid less than 2 for 3 nights after this in a site where electricity was metered. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dg077 5 reviews from this member

 This is in a superb location, right beside the beach. Its not too bad to get to, although some of final stretch of road is tight but there are plenty of passing spaces.

The nearest village Arisaig, has enough to keep you going and Malaig is a bit bigger and has a bit more. In good weather, this site would be hard to beat.

Toilets and showers are adequate and kept clean.

The site is quite bumpy, but any faults at this site are made up for by its location.

Price seems very reasonable but 5 per night for electric is excessive! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Monnowmike 3 reviews from this member

 Although I'd camped in the area before, this was the first visit with a caravan and we were not disappointed.

A level grassy site with plenty of space for the kids to explore, but best of all, the direct access to the beautiful beach and fascinating coastline. Stunning views out to Muck, Eigg, Rhum and Skye.

We came equipped with Open Canoe and Kayak which we were able to leave on the beach quite safely. It is a deservedly popular site with many families returning year-in, year-out. It has a familiar, friendly feel and the well-established caravanning families welcome the newbies.

Facilities are basic but clean. Mr MacDonald works hard to keep them at a good standard.

Crabbing, swimming, rock pooling, canoeing, fishing. There is a lot to do from the site itself or you can range further afield. Mallaig has a great community swimming pool.

From Arisaig you can get on the train for a beautiful run to Glenfinnan or Fort William. We did this on a drizzly day and had a great time at the Glenfinnan monument and adjacent boardwalk trail.

The steam train is expensive but the standard fares on the diesel train are reasonable. Various options for food at both Arisaig and Mallaig, a great cafe in a converted train carriage at Glen Finnan station NB. A short walk from the NT Scotland Visitor Centre.

Exploring the coastline in the immediate vicinity on foot is a little more problematic, fine if you like walking on the minor coastal roads but there are limited footpaths on the coast itself. Those that are there are frequently ill-defined and marshy. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harrymac 1 review from this member

 This was the first time I had ever used a caravan park as I usually camp in isolated places. I used this caravan park because I wanted to be active in visiting many places in the area so I thought this campsite would be a good base and safe for my caravan.

Having stayed there for a week this June I was very fortunate with the weather, hot sunshine from sunrise to 9.30pm. I was very impressed by the services of Mr Macdonald and his wife who do an excellent job in the upkeep of the property; facilities were very clean and efficient.

The bay and surrounding areas are fantastic with great views to the summer isles. Children and dogs seem to love it too. For shopping, all you need is in Arisaig or Malaig only a couple of miles up the road.

I found no faults at all with this site and will certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jan + Don + Molly 28 reviews from this member

 Just had to come back to this lovely site but this year we brought our kayak! There are lots of little islands to explore and we aimed to get to a little white beach just out of paddling distance.

This super little site never fails to impress in every way. Everyone is so friendly and many others also had a kayak. The dog loved it too. Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Magic48 26 reviews from this member

 Great site with friendly owners, basic but adequate facilities but its own white sand beach. If you are into water sports then this must be one of the places to stay. Judging from the conversations we had with other people on site they seem to return year after year.
More white sand beaches nearby. The beach near the bridge at Morar plus the 'Local Hero' beach are worth a visit. The only disappointment was that we were only able to stay for one night as we had taken a ferry across to Mallaig from Skye where we were staying! Definitely a site to return to. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2748 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement