Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Port O Spittal Certificated Location

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

South Port O Spittal Certificated Location
Portpatrick
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9AQ
Tel: 07808 860393
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KathP29 16 reviews from this member

Great site. Amazing views from the cliff tops. Great cheap little site. Facilities are clean and good for the price.

Ian the owner is friendly.

Single track road for. 2 miles is not for the faint hearted.

Gem of a site

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Starbj 1 review from this member

Wonderful little gem of a site we visit regularly. Not best suited to families with children as there are no on-site play areas. Consequently quiet and very restful. Lots of places nearby to visit.

Spectacular scenery over the sea to Ireland from the well tended, gently sloping grass site (there are individual gravel hardstanding pitches at the top of the site, if required)

Shower blocks are basic but perfectly adequate and cleaned daily.

The owner is a true gentleman. Friendly, ever helpful and never intrusive. Beware, however, of his old-world Scots hospitality - if you accept an invitation into his house be prepared to be sampling some of his extensive collection of fine whiskys and expect a long visit!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hardyjos 5 reviews from this member

I was most disappointed in this site. We could find no-one to speak to or pay (I telephoned and was told to leave the money under a stone by the garage, which we did), and it looked unloved, although the grass was well cut.

The site is not level, except on the grass at the bottom, and being in a motorhome we try to keep on hardstanding so that we don't have any sinking-in problems.

Also, as a caravan club CL, I understood that there should be only 5 vans, but this one has 12 hook-ups!

All that said, the views are stunning, the toilet facilities adequate and clean, and it certainly is quiet, being quite a drive from any main road, which was lovely.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Allybongo1969 4 reviews from this member

This was our very first weekend trip in our caravan and everything was as expected. I mastered reversing very quickly and in pitch dark too. Very secluded and quiet and My kid's loved it too. The toilet blocks are portcabins but are more than ample and could do with mirrors above the sinks. The road leading up to the farm had quite a few potholes so be wary if your precious about your car. I have no complaints about anything and nothing put me off from returning.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Marcia61256 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site this is. If you are looking for stunning views and total peace and quiet then this is the place to be. Views across to Northern Ireland (when the weather allows!) are brilliant and we don't think we have ever stayed anywhere so quiet. We were going to take our tourer but as this was a special occasion and was 200 miles from our home, we decided to book one of the cabins (front row). Well furnished and clean with everything you need provided. The owners were helpful and friendly and were happy to stop and chat. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would certainly recommend the area for things to do and see. Just wish we were still there!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sultinator 1 review from this member

What a great little CL with stunning views over to Belfast. This was my first tow with my new caravan and couldn't have been to a better place. Warden/Owner was very helpful and friendly and even though it was early season was still out in driving wind to tend to the site. Secluded and on a working farm pretty much describes this site and not one for families with kids as it was remote with no on site amenities to cater for the little cherubs (which is what I look for).

Facilities - Hook up, Hard standing, waste water and chemical loo emptying facilities. Toilet block for both male and female with on site laundry room. The shower wasn't the best but more than sufficed. The blocks could do with a little spruce up but as I mentioned earlier this could be due to time of year I visited.

I will be going back in May for a short weekend break with my other half and will probably be back in the summer months for the fishing with some friends. I feel this could be a regular little haunt for me.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Twoshoes9 2 reviews from this member

The Perfect site.

We have just spent two weeks on this site, it was superb. The position is excellent with great views across to Ireland. It is surrounded by farmland, well away from the Rat race! Portpatrick is a short trip away by car and Stranraer is a about a fifteen to twenty minute drive for supplies. It is a perfect location for sight seeing and discovering the Dumfries and Galloway area. A really big thank you to John for making us feel so welcome! We will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bryoak1958 35 reviews from this member

Stayed on this little family run site at the end of may for one week when the weather was beautiful. It was my father in laws 80th birthday so the whole family met up there for the week with three touring caravans and the hire of three static caravans and what a brilliant time was had by all, ,

Prices for the tourers was 9 per night with electric, showers, washer and drier free, cant get better than that.

The family who ran the place (working farm by the way) especially john the father could not do enough for you, tot of whiskey for adults and bag of sweeties for children, a lovely fellow,

The site is a bit secluded being three miles from port o patrick with a lovely walk along the coastal path, do have a walk down to morroch bay and take a picnic this is a little gem, ,

Port patrick is a cracking little tourist town. Ferry over to belfast 25 don't go P&O though. All in all lovely experience

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Jojo5656 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site. We stayed in a rear view lodge and the owners really had considered everything. They provided linen at no extra charge, towels, basic condiments, tea coffee and a couple of bottles of wine. The accommodation was clean and the views were spectacular. The site is small as it is situated on a working farm but the small local beach is within walking distance and there are many lovely attractions nearby.

Stranraer is very close to stock up on supplies and we discovered Port Logan by accident which is about a 20 minute drive and has a gorgeous beach and a really friendly pub called the Port Logan Inn. From the pub you can sit feet from the beach watching a spectacular sunset while the kids / dogs play.

We never met the owners of the site (though they were always very helpful whenever I called before our visit)but we did meet the owners father who is a truly lovely scottish gent who couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. When we left and when he realised we had our little boy in the car he gave us handfuls of chocolate for our car journey for him!

We had a lovely time and will definitely be returning. PS The only reason the child friendly rating is lower is because there was no children's play area but we understand that due to the small size of the site this may not have been a possibility


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019