Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Port O Spittal Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > South Port O Spittal Certificated Location Reviews

South Port O Spittal Certificated Location
Portpatrick
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9AQ
Tel: 07808 860393
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KathP29 22 reviews from this member

 Our 3rd visit here. Location is fantastic with amazing cliff top views across to Ireland. Ian is easy to book with and is very relaxed. Lovely lawned area, shower and toilet available.

Local short walk to beach at Knockinaam

Port Patrick always lovely and super food at Mount Stewart Hotel but dogs not allowed inside. Dogs are allowed at Waterfront but food not as good but still ok.

Nice to visit Port William and Wigtown 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steven m 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice quiet site. With sea views stunning sunsets

1 toilet and shower at the moment.

Gravel and grass pitches single track road to the site beach down the hill didn't visit this time. Short drive to Portpatrick.

Didn't see anything for children on site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Galileo 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site.

Well off the beaten track

Well kept site, good hard standings

Facilities were not all available due to covid regulations

Fabulous sea views over to Ireland. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KathP29 22 reviews from this member

 Great site. Amazing views from the cliff tops. Great cheap little site. Facilities are clean and good for the price.

Ian the owner is friendly.

Single track road for. 2 miles is not for the faint hearted.

Gem of a site 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Starbj 1 review from this member

 Wonderful little gem of a site we visit regularly. Not best suited to families with children as there are no on-site play areas. Consequently quiet and very restful. Lots of places nearby to visit.

Spectacular scenery over the sea to Ireland from the well tended, gently sloping grass site (there are individual gravel hardstanding pitches at the top of the site, if required)

Shower blocks are basic but perfectly adequate and cleaned daily.

The owner is a true gentleman. Friendly, ever helpful and never intrusive. Beware, however, of his old-world Scots hospitality - if you accept an invitation into his house be prepared to be sampling some of his extensive collection of fine whiskys and expect a long visit! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hardyjos 5 reviews from this member

 I was most disappointed in this site. We could find no-one to speak to or pay (I telephoned and was told to leave the money under a stone by the garage, which we did), and it looked unloved, although the grass was well cut.

The site is not level, except on the grass at the bottom, and being in a motorhome we try to keep on hardstanding so that we don't have any sinking-in problems.

Also, as a caravan club CL, I understood that there should be only 5 vans, but this one has 12 hook-ups!

All that said, the views are stunning, the toilet facilities adequate and clean, and it certainly is quiet, being quite a drive from any main road, which was lovely. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allybongo1969 4 reviews from this member

 This was our very first weekend trip in our caravan and everything was as expected. I mastered reversing very quickly and in pitch dark too. Very secluded and quiet and My kid's loved it too. The toilet blocks are portcabins but are more than ample and could do with mirrors above the sinks. The road leading up to the farm had quite a few potholes so be wary if your precious about your car. I have no complaints about anything and nothing put me off from returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Marcia61256 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site this is. If you are looking for stunning views and total peace and quiet then this is the place to be. Views across to Northern Ireland (when the weather allows!) are brilliant and we don't think we have ever stayed anywhere so quiet. We were going to take our tourer but as this was a special occasion and was 200 miles from our home, we decided to book one of the cabins (front row). Well furnished and clean with everything you need provided. The owners were helpful and friendly and were happy to stop and chat. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would certainly recommend the area for things to do and see. Just wish we were still there! 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sultinator 1 review from this member

 What a great little CL with stunning views over to Belfast. This was my first tow with my new caravan and couldn't have been to a better place. Warden/Owner was very helpful and friendly and even though it was early season was still out in driving wind to tend to the site. Secluded and on a working farm pretty much describes this site and not one for families with kids as it was remote with no on site amenities to cater for the little cherubs (which is what I look for).

Facilities - Hook up, Hard standing, waste water and chemical loo emptying facilities. Toilet block for both male and female with on site laundry room. The shower wasn't the best but more than sufficed. The blocks could do with a little spruce up but as I mentioned earlier this could be due to time of year I visited.

I will be going back in May for a short weekend break with my other half and will probably be back in the summer months for the fishing with some friends. I feel this could be a regular little haunt for me. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Twoshoes9 2 reviews from this member

 The Perfect site.

We have just spent two weeks on this site, it was superb. The position is excellent with great views across to Ireland. It is surrounded by farmland, well away from the Rat race! Portpatrick is a short trip away by car and Stranraer is a about a fifteen to twenty minute drive for supplies. It is a perfect location for sight seeing and discovering the Dumfries and Galloway area. A really big thank you to John for making us feel so welcome! We will definitely be returning! 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Port O Spittal Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Port O Spittal Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is South Port O Spittal Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1378 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement