Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crane Cross Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot > Crane Cross Camping Park > Reviews

Crane Cross Camping Park
Devonshire Drive
Saundersfoot
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA69 9EE
Tel: 01834 812708
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 07/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: LISA52 2 reviews from this member

 Such a lovely relaxing + peaceful campsite surrounded by lush greenery yet just a half hrs stroll to the beach + a good variety of shops, restaurants + bars.

Tenby is 10 minutes away by car + Wisemans Bridge isnt far either.

The Owners who are friendly + helpful but not intrusive, maintain the site to high standards throughout (toilets, sinks + showers kept spotless with hot water all day long) Fresh water taps are dotted around the site also + there were a choice of pitches in different areas divided by hedges + willow trees including a Family + Couples only field in case that's a preference.

Some had large wooden bench tables, a great addition for those with smaller tents etc.

I loved the generous space with all the pitches as you're not crammed in too close up with fellow campers like at some sites.

There's a nearby farm shop for your fresh produce + your able to store these in the on site fridge freezer if need be.

I will definitely be returning to this beautiful site + highly recommend unless you prefer a commercial type with noisy clubhouse etc. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cageyb 1 review from this member

 I have stayed here on a few times, in a caravan as a family unit, in a tent as a couple, on a motorcycle as a couple,

It is good value for money, it a basic site with good clean facilities, and a nice friendly owner mr lawrence on the staff were very helpful

And I shall be coming back here after this virus has been put to rest len harvey 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Delightfulmonkeyys 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 6 nights. When we turned up the man who runs the site let us choose where to pitch, he was very helpful. We could either pay him up front or night by night.

If you want a cheap, basic, no frills campsite, this is a great site. Showers were warm, always had loo roll in the toilets and an old table that was good enough to change my baby on. Every day I saw the lady cleaning toilets / showers / washing up area / changing bins.

The play area is only small but plenty of area and trees for my boys to play army.

For a basic clean friendly site close to seaside towns it was a great holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckyw 2 reviews from this member

 We've just got back from a half term break at Crane Cross and can't believe how quiet it was. There were only 2 caravans and us in our field so our 2 girls had loads of space to run around.

This is a fairly old fashioned site, basic but very good. The facilities are old, but they are maintained well. They were always clean and plenty of toilet roll, but no soap, hand towels or driers. The women's block had 5 toilets, a sink unit in a cubicle and 4 hand wash basins. The 5 showers were unisex, opening out onto the campsite - beware, make sure the doors are locked! There was always hot water, but the showers don't throw out much water.

There are freezers for your ice blocks (& food if you want to risk it), a washing machine (2), a tumble drier (takes 20p's) and 3 sinks undercover for washing-up.

A large sandpit, a swing and a huge empty space for letting off their surplus energy kept our girls amused.

We found the campsite a good base to explore the area. It is close to Tenby which has beautiful beaches & shopping. Good rock pooling at Manorbier. Colby Woodland Gardens had pond dipping in the stream - caught a dragonfly nymph. Went out on the Seal Safari from Tenby - saw plenty of seals and a puffin.

Cycling in the surrounding area is very tough, but we took the bikes up to Neyland where there is a disused railway path, traffic free, from the marina up towards Haverford West.

The site is close to the main road, but we never heard any noise from it. The railway also passes very close by. We only heard an occasional rumble and toot from a train in the evening. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Husky1 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night break over the bank holiday weekend.

Overall nice quiet site, Toilet's and showers need updating and the site would be great, there was no hand dryer or soap in the toilet block, they turn the lights off in the middle of the night so take a torch for the late night visits.

There were 4 showers which are uni-sex, and I wasn't keen, to me there was a slight smell, also no water pressure and you had to stand directly under the fine spray to get wet.

I would return for a short break, but any longer than 3 nights I would go somewhere else. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Team Nev 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Crane Cross for our Easter break. I enquired via telephone after seeing the website and was informed that charges for a 2man tent were 12. 00 - fine.

On arrival there is no office and no one to be found so we pitched, at the top of a small bank under the hedge row without electric hook-up. Later, an elderly gentleman comes around in a small white van to collect the fees - 15. 00 as we have a 'large' tent. A 2 man tent is not large in my opinion but we're not the type to argue.

The facilities advertised vary from what is advertised mainly in their appearance, age and availability. The freezers were not switched on the fridge was switched off and padlocked. The washing machine (2), a tumble drier (takes 20p's) are probably older than me (23!) and we didn't risk it. The washing up area is three kitchen sinks under a lean to roof, mouldy, green and just generally not the best.

The showers. Well, they're free. But apparently all 5 (unisex) share pressure. I was happily showering one morning until the other cubicles became occupied and suddenly the water was reduced to a trickle. To wash my hair I had to stand on the tiles at the back of the shower tray and lean against the wall. They're cleaned once a day and could do with either more freshening up throughout the day or replacing. Lots of toilets, toilet roll available and water taps dotted about the place.

We found the campsite a good base to explore the area from but were glad we'd got the car. It's a bit in the middle of no-where but most sites near Tenby are, we love Saundersfoot & would probably venture nearer there again.

If you've not booked and you're just turning up, Crane Cross will always accommodate but if you've got the time to plan/book I'd look elsewhere. The site is a quick way to make a buck and the facilities need updating. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teesy1 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. The site was in a nice location, the toilet block was clean, it could do with some modernisation and soap dispensers and a hand drier in there but that's not a big thing. Showers were clean and plenty of hot water, only downfall there were no lights so couldn't shower if it was dark.
The shops were close enough.Not too far away in the car.The weather was against us making the fields very muddy especially where you drove on the field.
The only other thing I can comment on was the lights in toilet block went off at about 1am so if you needed to go in between hrs of 1 and 6 it was impossible to see so take a torch. The owner was very helpful and nice and friendly.
Plenty of room for children to play but only had 1 swing. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markg588 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site this is just turned up pitched the tent and the owner came around to collect the fees and a very helpful man he was,

The toilet blocks were very clean and the showers were hot whatever time of day,

Ground was in good condition considering it had been raining for a few days before we got there,

Shops not to far away.

All in all a very happy site 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally68 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip and we chose Crane Cross for its location which was perfect. Arrived in heavy misty rain but managed to get the tent up and pegged in relatively easily and in good time. Although we had bad weather for weeks before, the ground wasn't sodden so that was good. The location was excellent - 5 mins to Saundersfoot and 10 mins to Tenby. Heatheron, Folly Farm and Oakwood are all nearby.

Constant hot water in the showers and washing room. All in all, a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Egerton26 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at Crane Cross. Cannot praise it enough for space, quietness, facilities (plenty of hot water and clean, clean, clean).

Central to everything we needed, farm shop Four Seasons, just up the road which was handy.

Owner, John was always on hand if we needed anything and kept the site clean and well managed.

My 3 children aged 19, 10 and 2 loved the site and we will defo. Be booking again next year.

(only problem we had were those weird campers who forget they are on holiday and put their children to bed a 7.00 p.M so by 9.00 p.M are complaining about the noise of chatter coming from your pitch! oh and irresponsible folk who don't put dogs on leads - but that was swiftly dealt with by the owner.) 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Crane Cross Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crane Cross Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Crane Cross Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saundersfoot      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4225 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement