Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Du Jard

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > La Tranche Sur Mer > Camping Du Jard Reviews

Camping Du Jard
La Griere Plage
123 Bld Mal De Lattre De Tassigny
La Tranche Sur Mer
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85360
Tel: 0033 2 51 27 43 79
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 350
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracy+Charlie 15 reviews from this member

 Just back from 12 nights at this site. Pitches fairly large by french standards. We had 8 berth tent, large 4x4 and room for table, chairs & BBQ outside. Toilet block always very clean. The toilets are unisex but showers and basins single sex. Toilets with seats and toilet paper, showers hot, roomy and powerful.

Large play area in center of site with tennis courts and crazy golf as well. Good size pool plus indoor pool and slide pool, plenty of sunbeds.

Only about 15% English, mainly french and dutch. Entertainment most evenings though all in french. Bar has free WiFi. Shop which only sells very basics, also bakery and basic restaurant and takeaway. You can hire bikes and the bike tracks are great.

You can walk to beach from site and into La Griere and there is a free bus to Tranche Sur Mer from 9am until midnight that runs about every hour. Would definitely recommend 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hrvey08 7 reviews from this member

 Bonjour fellow campers !

We are a family of four with two kids aged 14 yrs and 11 yrs from Essex. We have a large trailer tent and stayed in total for 18 nights.

Our first visit to this site, never been to the Vendee either. We really enjoyed our holiday here. Just for info we caught the Eurotunnel from Folkestone and had one overnight night stop at Chateau de Chanteloup Pays De La Loire going and returning.

This is a friendly, clean well run site. Good large sized pool with small slide/flume and indoor pool. Very clean and well maintained. Didn't see any litter anywhere. A good number of sun loungers. There is a small holiday rep team that organise occasional games in the pool and the surrounding activity areas but you don't feel you have to join in. Totally up to your own preference. Mainly French holiday makers with Dutch and English.

It has a substantial static home presence which we are not used to but as we were pitched at the

Perimeter of the site it did not bother us as we faced side on to the static homes. We asked for a quiet pitch away from small bar and pool area. The site has well made small roads which kids loved whizzing about on their bikes everywhere. Large football pitch/tennis courts/boules and mini golf available. Kids playground.

Pitches are quite close together. Wide but not very deep. Separated by small hedges. A bit tight for some larger cars. Good EHU and water taps available. The ground was quite hard and sandy.

There were 3 large toilet/shower blocks (all unisex) this was also the washing up/washing clothes area. One block was quite old we called it the' retro block' as it had 1960's/70's orange doors and the tiling was dated but still very clean and well looked after. The other two blocks had been updated more recently. Good modern hot showers with large cubicles. Separate sinks and family cubicles too. Plenty of sinks and showers. Large washing up area.

The site has a small bar and entertainments area. Good prices. Simple small restaurant with small shop and boulangerie. We ate in the restaurant one night. Very simple and very enjoyable. Pleasant service by staff at all times. Most speak good english.

Bike hire available from site which we did for the day. Great cycle routes all around the area. Maps available. Cycling and running seems to be the thing here.

Free bus into Tranche Sur Mer and La Griere day and night. Very reliable. We used it a lot. Trance Sur Mer is a great little town with fab selection of restaurants/shops and ice cream outlets. The best ice cream I have ever had ! Beach is long, clean and not overcrowded. Water sports everywhere. You can walk to the beach also from the campsite over the road. Takes about 10/15 mins.

I would recommend this site to anyone wanting a beach based holiday with easy access to amenities in the Vendee. We had good hot sunny weather with 2 stormy/rainy days.

Don't normally return to the same place but just might have to with this one. Great time had by all. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 Large, popular site at the southern end of the Vendee. Situated within walking distance of a sandy beach. Site has a large number of static caravans, a mix of about 60/40 to touring pitches. You usually find touring pitches one side of the camp road, with statics the other, rather than a static “ghetto” you will find on some sites. There are 3 sanitary blocks, all of a similar design, but of varying ages. All are clean and well maintained, although in one, the hot water temperature was not as warm as others. Site has a bar, restaurant and small shop where you can get daily bread and croissants. (No need to pre order) There is a good outdoor swimming pool, with separate kids pool, water slide and indoor pool. Much to see locally, would recommend a visit to Le Cairn, prehistoric centre and Chateau Talmont 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Psteep 1 review from this member

 Just had a two week holiday here. Our first French holiday camping trip. I have to say this is a great site with a short walk to the beach and a free bus that runs past the site to the town of La Tranche Sur Mer. We had a huge pitch which was fortunate as our tent is 8mx4m. Electricity and water close by. We took a small fridge but found out we could have hired one. The washing and toilet blocks were modern and clean. Hot water never ran out. The play area had tennis, boules, table tennis and play equipment. The pools were good also with a sizeable indoor one if it rained (which only happened once). Onsite take away and restaurant were excellent as well as the bolongerie. All in all a great part of France and a fab site. I would highly recommend this if your looking for a site in the Vendee. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Acea 20 reviews from this member

 Some of the reviews of this wonderful site have been less than generous. Let me explain why it is so good.

1. Stunning toilets and showers, clean new and spacious, hot hot water.

2. 3 minutes and you are at a wonderful sandy beach with good waves.

3. Lots of little places to eat, even out of season.

4. Everything you need close by fish shop boucherie.

The pool was good warm and modern.

Pitches were flat and spacious, trees but not too low as we have a big van it never affected us. !

Glorious weather and site, will return 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kathjane 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week. We stayed on pitch 159 - the road is tree lined which wasn't good for motorhomes - there was plenty of tree scratching when people were leaving. The pitch it self was fine and close to the toilet block. The toilet block was clean and tidy and the water warm ! We didn't try out the entertainment so cant comment on it. The pool was not heated but not unbearable either. There was freshly baked baguettes which were lovely. My only criticism about this site was the shop facilities. Basic was not the word. The local beach was not (in my opinion) suitable for children who like the water as when the tide went out it went very far. All in all, I would recommend this site, the weather was beautiful and the kids loved the water slide - good site for little kids but think bigger kids would struggle to be entertained. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lou020 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 12 nights but would have moved on after 1 night had we not paid in full with caravan club. Far too many trees with pigeons dropping their poo everywhere, got me 3 times on first night, and on my neice dinner plate. We could not leave chairs etc out side overnight as they would be covered in the stuff. I had to go out early every morning to scrape it up before the kids went out. Untidy pitches covered in leaves which we raked up 3 times+hedges uncut.

Our caravan club pitches were opposite static caravans which gave the feeling of being right in your face.

On the plus side, great beach and town with market twice a week 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chaney 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from camping du jard in La Griere close to La Tranche sur mer. Family of 4 camping in a large tent(3. 5mx7. 5m)If you have a large tent book directly with the site to ensure your pitch will be large enough. Our pitch was big and separated by hedges on one side and 2 trees on the other which we used as a washing line! Trees acted as a boundary with next pitch and the shade was welcome when temperatures reached 32degrees. Large clean outdoor pool with separate baby pool, slide pool and indoor pool. Entertainment around pool for an hour in the morning when all staff play music and do the 'camp dance' followed by pool games for everyone(you don't have to join in its fun just watching)

3 toilet blocks all look the same with washing up facilities, washing machines etc and unisex toilets but separate showers. They were cleaned at least 3 times a day, the floors get a bit mucky which is to be expected with so many people walking through but the loos are very clean and well maintained. There are no loo seats, I have not been to a French campsite with toilet seats this is normal, so many people complain about this but please remember that you are camping in France not the uk. Loo roll provided but can run out so take your own.

Campsite has a small gym and sauna room with yoga and aqua classes in the morning. Usual games room with pool tables etc. Restaurant and take away(opened 5. 30pmish) with shop selling basics but does sell freshly baked baguettes and pastries, open in morning then reopens in the evening. If you havnt camped in France before please be aware that all shops close in the afternoon then reopen later so make sure that you purchase plenty of drinks as the afternoons get hot. Staff are really helpful and friendly and staff speak good English, especially Reception staff. Reception opens until 8. 30pm, information on weather, markets etc displayed on reception window also a small wooden hut has leaflets and info on local attractions etc. The bar has entertainment which starts about 9pm and finishes 11. 30pm.

There is sometimes noise from surrounding campsites in the evening. My only complaint about our campsite is that we didn't see any 'noise police' so when other campers were a bit noisy there was no one to enforce the quiet after 11pm rule although this only happened a couple of evenings.

The campsite is located about a 15min walk from la Griere, a small town with shops, bars and cafes or a 2 min drive with plenty of parking. There is a super you supermarket not far away but we used a small supermarket and a spar both about 5 mins walk left of campsite. La Tranche is 10 mins away by car with plenty of free parking next to beach with a short walk to the town centre which has loads of shops, cafes and a market on saturday morning. There is a free bus that takes you from La Griere to La Tranche which stops not far from campsite but we didn't use it so cant comment. There is a beach within 15 min walk, there are toilets and 2 cafes and parking if you wanted to drive.

Overall great campsite in a good location, we would definitely return to both. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Hilge 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 14 nights in Aug, 2A+3C (16,13,9) together with another Family, 2A+2C (15,13), booked through Alan Rogers.

We sailed to Caen - from where it was 260 miles/5 hours (plus stoppages) drive.

We enjoyed the site, and had probably our best overall holiday of the five we've shared together as families since 2003 (all French sites).

Mr Marton and his team run a friendly and laidback site, albeit the usual French nonsense over compulsory nut-huggers for males in the pool applies (as expected).

Site is at least 80% statics, and the camping/tourer pitches are concentrated on just one or two clumps, from what we could see.

Staying in statics, we had no cause to use the toilet blocks, but had a quick peek - and they appeared perfectly adequate.

Have seen reviews elsewhere that mention lack of shade - puzzled by this, as appeared to be perfectly adequate tree and hedge coverage to us? Certainly our mobile was well shaded in the afternoons - although blanketed by a steady shower of falling leaves by the end of our stay.

Noticeably more 'French' than some of other sites at which we've stayed, (around 90% of fellow holidaymakers appeared to be natives) and although many of the staff spoke passable English, ALL of the Animations appeared to be in French alone, likewise all the announcements poolside - so this might be problem for some? Still, why come to France, blah, blah.

Pool complex is not over large (previous comments about it getting pretty busy at times definitely apply), and you'd be needing to get there by 10:00 to secure a lounger - but clean and well maintained.

Main Pool 11m x 5.5m. Smaller indoor pool under cover. Single slide and plenty of comfy (fabric-covered) loungers, although numerous instances of whole family groups leaving pool complex at lunchtimes (presumably back to their pitches), leaving loungers reserved with towels seen (but then that's hardly down to the management).

Notable feature of the main outdoor pool was that one of warmest ever experienced - almost bath-like some days, and much *warmer* than the indoor pool. Weird (but welcome!)

One note of caution : if EuroPop / Dance 'Musak' at loud volumes is not your bag (baby), then you might wish to avoid the pool between 12:00 and 13:30'ish, as this is when the semi-compulsory 'campsite dance' is held, followed by children's' pool games - all to the hearty throbbing beat of whatever the DJ thinks is 'happening'.I didn't, but then I'm into my Progrock ;-)

For the record, the Campsite Themesong (certainly this year) appears to be: http://www.Youtube.Com/watch?v=DteadNTOtrc - everyone is 'robustly' encouraged to line up around the pool, and the campsite team lead the formation dancing.

Otherwise, as has already been mentioned, a nice local beach 'Plage de la Porte des Isles' - max 10 mins easy level walk (right out of campsite, first left), south-facing, and for the more adventurous, the westerly-facing 'La Terriere' beach, excellent for surfing, some 10 mins drive west - but get there by 11:00, else parking is VERY tricky in high season.

Usual campsite shop fare on offer, small selection, but we thought reasonably priced. More choice 5 mins (east) up road (left from site), with both small Vival and Spar shops, plus bakery.

Else, shops of La Griere 1.0 mile to west (20 mins walk, right on exit) - around 20 shops, good mixture. Be sure to try the super Glaces (Knickerbocker Glories style) at the small cafe with the garden on the righthand side (beige and brown sign).

A further mile beyond, the shops of La Tranche itself (although we never needed them).

Local Super you is 2.2 miles away (on way to La Terriere) BUT parking is nearly always RAMMED - quietest time is 13:00 to 14:30, and changeover days (Fri, Sat, Sun) are to be avoided if at all possible (we found the local Spar to be similarly priced).

In summary: Great location, good facilities, a choice of several fine family-friendly beaches nearby plus some real local shops. Add some sun, good company, a modest selection of local reds, and all the ingredients were in place for some enjoyable Holibobs!

We would therefore certainly consider returning :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clareanddave 18 reviews from this member

 Very mixed feelings about this site. We spent 5 days here at the end of a two week holiday.

The pitch, which was a double pitch, was large and spacious. We shared it with our son and his wife, who had a tent. It probably would have felt cramped if we had been sharing it with someone we didn't know.

We arrived on 29 August, and it was made clear that it was the end of the season and not all facilities would be available. This is fine, but there was no information about when the bar or the restaurant, for example, would be open. The shop closed on 30 August.

The toilets did not seem to be cleaned all the time we were there. There were push button showers, but some hardly stayed on at all, and some were also cold. The washing up facilities were very good, with plenty of hot water.

We used the bar twice and the restaurant once. The restaurant is open to the public, so it is at the far side of the barrier. The meals at the restaurant were essentially the same as the takeaway menu. The 'hostess' in the restaurant had a large group of friends there for a meal and was focused on them. We did not get good service from her at all. In fact, when she heard one of us speak English she got the cook from the takeaway to come and take our order. In fact, we can all speak French, and normally order our meals in French. The food (pizza etc) was very good.

However, the restaurant and the bar do not have any toilets. When I asked for the toilet, I was told that I would have to walk into the campsite. Not very good if I had been there with children, and it was a bit of a traipse.

The site is a bit out of La Griere, but near some lovely beaches, and there is lots of exploring to do.

Despite all the comments above, we did watch some beautiful sunsets from our pitch, watching the bats swooping around overhead.

I don't feel this should be a four star campsite. I feel that having toilets in a bar or restaurant is a pretty basic requirement. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Du Jard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Du Jard have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Du Jard?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Du Jard dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near La Tranche Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1740 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement