Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lound House Farm Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Lound House Farm Caravan Park
Littlebeck Lane
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 5HY
Tel: 01947 810383
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry+shawn 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a 3 night stay here. Lovely site, very peaceful and quiet. Basic facilities, 2 toilets and sink but very clean (well impressed with the quality hand wash provided!). Absolutely stunning views across the valley to whitby and the coast. Well spaced pitches unlike other 'regimented' sites. Stay was made all the better by uninterrupted sunshine! We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wallace L 7 reviews from this member

So glad I booked this site for a short weekend break. The owners are wonderful and were brilliant in helping us after we got lost and arrived very late and after dark. We could see the lights of Whitby twinkling in front of us and when we woke the following morning we were blown away by the fabulous view. The pitches are well spaced so there is no feeling of being squeezed in and I would say that there would be an excellent view from any pitch. The site is well looked after very tidy grass well cared for and a circular road around the farm buildings that the few children that were on the site enjoyed riding their bikes around. Only a tyre swing hung from a tree to keep children entertained but to be fair the addition of a play area would actually spoil the ambiance of the place. The facilities are basic. Toilets and a wash basin only with no hot water but we knew this before we booked. They were also very clean with fresh towels and soap provided. I cannot fault this site, for us and our little dog it was absolutely perfect we will definitely be returning again as it is in an ideal location for exploring the whole of North Yorkshire. Hopefully next time we will book for a much longer visit. A little gem.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Burstner747 3 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week on this site, second visit. We just absolutely love this site. It's close to everything in area that's of interest. Lovely and quiet, clean and well kept. And if you don't like the views, well then there's something wrong with you. Really friendly and helpful owners, nothing is a bother. I just love it, what else can I say, it's a site that I plan using for many years to come when I want to go Yorkshire.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bellbell 2 reviews from this member

Came across this site by chance as we got lost. So glad this happened what a beautiful site; set on lovely location very clean large well kept pitches, it has a toilet no shower; but the views make up for this. Breathtaking views of the sea and Whitby, owner very helpful and friendly; dog friendly site. I would definitely recommend this site Whitby not far Beautiful site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steeny7 1 review from this member

Just like everyone else says, the facilities are basic. But we were informed of this when booking and chatting to the owners. The toilets are clean and fresh towels were provided. We were given a choice of where to pitch our caravan.

The site had fantastic views of Whitby Abbey. Although we were pleased it was far enough away from Whitby to be peaceful for us as new campers and with 2 dogs who'd also never camped so we were unsure how they would be. We had ample space and would definitely go back again as it's a great base to visit the area.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scoobyguy 7 reviews from this member

Just spent a fantastic 2 weeks here at Lound house we actually on booked for 1week but after we had pitched and had a chance too take in the view we booked too stay for 2 weeks that's how good the view and surroundings are

As said in previous posts the site is basic 3 toilets and hand wash that's you're lot but it's all clean and tidy fresh towels at hand basin regularly

Good sized pitches we had a partial hard standing but the grass ones are of same size and all the ground drains really well slight slopes fore and aft also side too side but nothing too stress about, , 16 amp hook up if required

There's not really a lot for kids on site but as we don't have any and there was no kids on site when we were I can't comment about the allowance of ball games etc (I will give a9 score because there is room too play and it's quiet )

As I have already said the view across fields too Whitby is stunning day or night !

If you want a lovely site with piece and tranquility this is for you

I will certainly be returning

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 16 reviews from this member

Booked only a couple of days before and was warned about the basic facilities. No problems as long as there is a toilet and cold running water the dog and I can usually cope.

Arrived and had a tour from Mrs Farmer and advised about the more sheltered locations of the site. Then had much fun pitching a tent in a fairly stiff breeze (the white horses were mighty Clydesdale's not little Ponies). Got up once in the night to have a walk round and check the pegs were all still in the ground and anchoring us down as I was convinced the breeze had got under the groundsheet and shifted us a couple of inches down the tent. All still in place - phew!

Second night the wind had dropped and we were treated to spectacular acrobatic displays by the swallows and swifts and then later on by the bats and I do remember hearing foxes barking in the middle of the night.

Yes it is a very basic site.

Yes it is exposed, you are almost on the top of the hill and get hit by every little bit of weather going.

But.

The views are spectacular.

The ground is very even and the ground appears to be free from those nasty chunks of stone and rock that do so like to bend tent pegs.

The owners are friendly and helpful

The facilities are clean and fresh towels appear daily.

There is a good collection of information leaflets if you need them.

The view from the site is worth way more than the 10 per night I was charged for 1 human, 1 dog and a 3 person tent.

Will I be going back? Yes - but probably not until late next spring the weather has a good chance of being reasonably fine.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

Stayed for a long weekend and I can only really confirm previous reviews. Very helpful and friendly lady running the site who gave us a choice of pitches big enough for our Tag axle with views over the hills to Whitby, spectacular!. Weather was kind so we even had a BBQ but you could see it was exposed, which is part of the beauty. Local pub Wilsons Arms good food but too far to walk and a hill coming back so a slog on a bike.

As mentioned facilities at best basic but very clean. With water tap within hose reach we used our own.

Ideal for a quiet spot to just stop and relax. Not really a site to keep the kids entertained, but plenty to do in the local area.

Great as a place to get away.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Flamingteacher 11 reviews from this member

Agree with previous review. Fabulous views & very helpful owners. Level and beautifully kept.

Am new to motorhome/campervan experience, but felt 18 for two adults, two dogs & campervan, bit steep for one night, given no hot water, washing up sink, nor showers.

Perhaps I'm not attuned to the going-rate yet?

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Burstner747 3 reviews from this member

This is an excellent quiet site for local touring. We have just spent four days here, it fully accommodated our tag axle burstner at 28ft. Lady owner very very helpful, kept our camping party together. Advise campers to take torch for toilets at night, as a 3ft stone drainage pit in middle of site could cause you damage, as no lights in field at night, also you need to find light switch for toilet which is in past the toilets. Site very clean. Toilets have fresh towels daily. Fab views over coast. Can get very windy so peg your your unit down well. Boating lake in village at bottom of hill outside the site. Few mins drive to whitby. We were parked next to the road, , this was a very quiet road, used but no noise or night traffic. Only downfall was no shower, but hey, this is camping, few days top and tail won't hurt. Plenty of hook ups and cold water points. Site was as flat as could be, for being a farm, on a hill. Flat enough for poor mobility. Magazines and DVDs in loos to share for campers. Toilets are mixed use, with another in small shed at side of house. Three toilets in all, , no one was ever standing waiting. There were small children on site but everyone was off site during the day as there is plenty to do, nothing on site for kid's that's what you are looking for, a tyre swing only. But, who wants to go on a break and sit on site daily. We went to Music fest in whitby, , Scarborough. Robin hood bay, steam train. Loads to do if you look for it. We had 2 labs with us, dog walk up the side of field opposite on scrub can be used. Thanks to nice farmer. At night when whitby and surrounding area is lit, you can see it all, , plus ships. Next time we head for Yorkshire, we'll be heading for this site. This site is excellent for all ages, , unless you are a party animal, then find a commercial site as campers were very friendly and 'quiet'. Thanks to the owners for making everyone feel welcome. You won't find stuffy wardens at this site, only friendly helpful farm owners.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!