Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llechrwd Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Blaenau Ffestiniog > Llechrwd Farm Camping Reviews

Llechrwd Farm Camping
Maentwrog
Blaenau Ffestiniog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL41 4HF
Tel: 01766 590240
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Janiekernow 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here while visiting family that live in the area. Nice small site with no club house or kids playground etc. Which is why we chose it. We had electric hook up so were on the top field. This field has mostly grass pitches and all are even. The spaces allocated for each tent/camper were plenty big enough.

We have a large six man tent with an awning and also managed to fit my son in his small 'pup' tent in too. Even though it was during the main six weeks holiday and the this field was fairly full we never had much noise at night, all quiet by 11pm.

No problem getting a toilet, although my daughter didn't like them as they were a little smelly (possibly the septic tank) and had lots of spiders! Also sadly often didn't have any hand soap in them however they were clean. The showers do run on a boiler system so if you catch them at the wrong time there is no hot water, but it doesn't take long to heat up again and they are free.

The bottom field was a next to the river, a nice place to sit and chill. This didn't have many tents on, however the Saturday night we did suffer from noise from one drunken party returning from the pub. That said it went quiet fairly quickly.

There is a lot of noise from the road, it is the main road after all but it's not as busy at night. Easy to get to the local pubs but I wouldn't say they are in walking distance because you have to walk on the road and it's too busy.

We would recommend the site and will stay again. Don't go if you're looking for a lively camp, do go if you like peace and quiet and a relaxing time. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: YogaMike 1 review from this member

 If you want out of the rat race for a while to get back to basics / nature then I can recommend Llechwyd Farm Camping.

We set up 2 tents with 2 cars at the far end of the site, right next to the river with a climbing tree and a fire pit which we kept running all afternoon / night with logs you can buy on site. Not found too many campsites which allow fires (only just starting camping really) and having the fire to cook on with the warmth and smell really made a difference. These are limited to pitches by the river as far as I could make out.

Owner very pleasant. Toilets and showers basic but very clean which is all you need. Small area for washing up too and plenty of To-Do leaflets.

Plenty of room on the site whilst we were there (only 4 tents on site at the time) for the kids to run about and very nice scenery too.

Central location for Slate Caverns, Porthmadog and Snowdon where we went the next day.

All in all, very enjoyable experience and will be going back for sure. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ianarchie 3 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights at this site. We had prebooked months in advance for our large group to camp together, however when we arrived there was not enough room for us all to have individual pitches. We had 5 campervans (3 with awnings), 1 group shelter, 5 tents & 1caravan crammed onto 4 pitches.

I could not have my doors open on my van if our friend wanted theirs open, we were that close to each other.

In fact one family in our group ( mum, Dad, young son and 2 dogs) did not have space to pitch their awning and had to struggle through the weekend in just their van.

No real explanation was given and no discount was offered as the owner stated we were charged by the unit not the pitches.

The site was untidy.

The toilets were a bit grubby but ok. The waste/recycling bins were just overflowing with bin bags, old/broken camp chairs and even a large rolled up carpet just dumped in the middle.

The site is in a great location however I will not be returning and will never recommend this site to anybody. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mamista1 1 review from this member

 We arrived mid afternoon and my first impressions were oh no! The site was messy and untidy, there were broken discarded bbqs thrown in hedge rows and general mess everywhere, the online photos must be very old as they do not represent what we experienced.

On the plus side the ablutions were adequate, and the site owner was pleasant, the location was ok as a stop over, but we will not be going back😕 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tuba84 1 review from this member

 Ive Visited this campsite many times.

Alice is a perfect host and a lovely lady. Shes looking after ALL visitiors, very friendly. I'm always feeling very welcome!

Simple campsite with a good access to Snowdonia National Park

Highly recommended! Simple facilities, but what else do you need for a camping?! Its not a caravan site! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gerbiegirl 2 reviews from this member

 Timeless site, beautiful river, sadly becoming a bit overgrown, trees drip on campers!There once was a lovely view of a meandering river. The flat camping area by the road is noisy, showers and toilets adequate. Comments on recycling, far too complicated!

Good selection of leaflets. Borthy Gest is a short drive away, there are stunning views down the Mawdach estuary from the fee car park and you can walk to the coves and beach. Wilkinsons, and LIDL, 2, camping shops in the town, nice walk from the quay to the coves. Caernarfon is only 5 mins away for a day out. Pleasant owners, 5 star site, except for 2 eyesores, a container and old caravan!Which rather spoils the ambience. Nice walk along the river bank and doggies have their own field. The Festiniog railway is fantastic with its steam trains running across the estuary. Port Merion is also a must, with its famous gardens. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: PoireBelle 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the pre-erected bell tent and had a fabulous time. The tent and furnishings were very comfortable with the unexpected and thoughtful addition of some children's games.

It is a beautiful location and the stream at the bottom added interest. The facilities were perfectly adequate and clean.

The site is easily accessible for those not travelling by car and we found the bus drivers, and other passengers, very helpful. There is lots to do and would recommend a visit to the Slate Caverns and a trip on the steam train that you can hear whistling from the campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TRT1968 7 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site with good facilities and a good location. The toilet block is in good condition, though some cubicles are better than others for hot water, lighting etc. The pot washing area is a God send compared to other more caravan focussed sites we've been on- spacious, clean and dry with a brilliant range of leafleted information on local attractions. The lower field next to the river has no electrical hook up but is the only location you can have a camp fire. There's a slightly raised area to the back of the field which provides some peace of mind when the river starts to rise, which it did when we were there! A dawn awakening and hurried move to higher ground was called for, but the river just about stayed in its course - there were many other places that flooded that day.

To echo the other comments, we did miss the gate the first time past, but once we knew the landmarks to look for (a rickety old white metal sign on the opposite side of the road), it was easy enough to get into, and the road was quiet enough to get in and out safely.

I've rated it 6/10 for children because there was nothing specially for children there, and it is close to a fast flowing river, but the site isn't especially dangerous, and it's well screened from the road.

The showers are OK, though very low flowing and have an annoyingly short running time on the push buttons.

We did have to suffer a group of mid-20-somethings who stayed up late chattering and playing (quietish) music, but that's common to many sites and something the owner tries to warn groups about if spotted as such.

All in all, I'd recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahchester 1 review from this member

 I stayed here with my dogs in August and hope to be going there again next year. The campsite is in a beautiful setting and has a lovely stream running along the bottom field of the camp. The owners were absolutely lovely and available whenever needed. They were extremely helpful with information of where to go on walks and attractions to see locally. The toilet/shower block was always clean and although the showers took a little getting used to (as environmentally friendly) there was never a long wait for availability. The owners also had an area for recycling and often sorted things into the right places where campers hadn't. Within the toilet/shower block was also a utility room with a washer and dryer and a sink for washing up. Along the walls were quite a substantial amount of leaflets with information of the surrounding area, which includes Porthmadog about 10 minutes drive down the road. And for those who like the odd takeaway there's and Indian and Chinese 5mins away! I would recommend a visit to this campsite and rate it 9 out of 10! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaycie 3 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site! The owners are absolutely lovely and so helpful. The facilities were really good, lots of toilets that were clean, good lighting and always plenty of loo roll. There were 3 showers, including one family one, but they weren't great and the tap was more powerful! This was a shame because we would have stayed an extra couple of days if we had of been able to get an actual shower. The washing up room was just perfect, lots of local information and a washing machine and tumble drier to use, at an extra cost. The owners were always around and always spoke, she offered us washing up liquid when we had forgot ours, she didn't mind what time we knocked and asked to use washing machine or for a fire permit.

There was a perfect area of river for paddling, building dams and letting the children have adventures. Lots of fire pits and even one down by the riverbank. A real peaceful spot.

The only down side is the space if pretty limited, a row (for about 6-8 tents) on the river bank with fire pits, another row set back but no fires allowed, up a slight slope was another little area with electric hook up and a spare field.

Sadly we ended up in the spare field when we got their as everywhere was full! We were right by the busy road, as we weren't allowed to camp the river side, the field was straw like and not comfortable to walk on, we were really deflated by this point and considered leaving. We really felt people should be charged less to camp in this area as it is nowhere near the standards of the rest of the site. Luckily people left and we got down to the river bank and our holiday changed completely. So if you don't go at busy times and manage to get by the river you can not beat this site!

The nearest shops were in Porthmadog, about a 10 minute drive and a great little town.

We also had to go buy fire wood, although they sell it on site, they had ran out!

We will be going again, but not at peak time. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llechrwd Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llechrwd Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Llechrwd Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blaenau Ffestiniog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7090 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement