Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Plume Of Feathers Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dartmoor > The Plume Of Feathers Inn Reviews

The Plume Of Feathers Inn
Plymouth Hill
Princetown
Dartmoor
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL20 6QQ
Tel: 01822 890240
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geezer 2 reviews from this member

 Great site clean and very friendly staff, good food and real ale,

Will definitely come again we loved it,

Also great location for moor walking,

Showers were hot and clean👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geezer 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. clean and very friendly staff, good food and real ale,

Will definitely come again we loved it,

Also great location for moor walking,

Showers were hot and clean👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Heale5 1 review from this member

 The campsite was perfect for what we needed for a night on Dartmoor; clean, spacious, well kept and quiet. It's perfectly situated for hikes straight from your tent and the pub food was excellent. We were even given a jug of milk for tea the next morning having (stupidly) forgotten to bring our own.

A hot shower in the morning set you up for the day and at £9/night, it's great value.

Covid wise, there were enough tables to eat outside and seemed to be on top of govt guidelines in terms of people numbers in various parts of the pub. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Teresa 1 review from this member

 Easy to find, central location and a sight for sore eyes on a very cold and rainy day!

Plenty of space, with good facilities - friendly staff and good food.

Couldn’t have asked for more and we will be back - thank you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shelly 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site. The facilities were ample for washing and cleaning.

The staff were so friendly and helpful that you felt welcome straight away.

The breakfast was very hearty and reasonably priced and the pub grub was exceptional especially the pies.

Can't wait to go back 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ratty 232 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the new bunkhouse over the weekend, but this review is also the same for the campsite as I had a wander around the field and the facilities for camping too.

Check in was at the bar and was quick and efficient and they gave us all the door access codes and the option to purchase breakfast tokens for £5 each.

The new bunkhouse is clean, well thought out and had 4 rooms each with two bunks in it. They provide the sheets and use of the toilets and showers is included. There is also a communal room with tables and chairs and full kitchen facilities. The new bunkhouse was £24 per person, per night. The beds were comfortable for a couple of nights and the facilities were clean, tidy and well maintained.

The camping field is large, although on a slight slope, but there were flat spots all around it. There is also a separate area for motorhomes / campervans. The facilities for the campers were clean, well looked after and would certainly do the job very well. There is also a washing up area.

The pub itself is very popular with locals and the tourists and we had to reserve tables on both nights to ensure we got a space. The choice of drinks is very good and the prices are very reasonable. Their a good menu here with daily specials and it is reasonably priced and all cooked fresh to order, so was piping hot and delicious.

We had a full English on both days and for £5 we got a huge spread and it was fresh and very tasty.

The site is right in the centre of Princetown with the visitor centre across the road, a cafe and shops for general supplies. There is a brewery around the corner and of course the area has all of Dartmoor on offer with walks and cycling, and activities plentiful.

Dartmouth is around an hours drive away as are other coastal towns.

I would definitely stay here again and will return in the tent or campervan in the future. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bbdawes 12 reviews from this member

 Great location for walkers and cyclists, this site is at the back of the pub with direct access onto Dartmoor.

There is a fairly large field for tents and some hardstanding for campervans or the carpark.

The shower blocks are warm and clean. Good value for money at £7 pp all year round, and a bargain £5 breakfast too.

Pub has a large food menu, dogs and children are very welcome. Small play area for kids near the pub. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deba 14 reviews from this member

 Great site for seeing the sites around princetown. Big field for tents and motorhomes can park on hardstanding in the carpark. Free showers and elsan point all for £7 each per night.

Will be returning. Food at the pub is also excellent.

The local area has lots of places to visit and we were able to take our dog in to the museum at the prison.

In fact the whole area is very dog friendly and allow them in all the pubs and cafes. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catswhiskers 1 review from this member

 Although we haven't used this site for 2 years I have been a regular visitor here for many years. I was therefore, rather surprised at the negativity of some of the reviews. Yes the site is very basic but for someone who doesn't mind roughing it in the true style of camping the site is very good. It caters specifically for outdoor activity people so yes, one can expect to see training groups, school groups etc etc. The people who use this site are away walking etc for the whole day and creature comforts are not high on their list of priorities. If a more comfortable style of camping is preferred then it may be advisable to choose an alternative site - of which there are many to choose from.

I would agree that the toilet and shower facilities do require a re-vamp as I noticed last time I was there they were looking decidedly worse for wear since their last re-fit.

The staff and locals are friendly and helpful. Dogs are welcomed and this is one of the attractions of the site as many walkers bring their dogs with them. The pub even provides special doggy treats (for a small fee)! The pub grub is good and has a varied menu. Given the quality of the food provided it is reasonably priced (or was last time I was there).

The Visitor centre accross from the pub is well worth a visit as is the prison museum which gives an excellent history of the prison through the years and is extremely interesting and popular with tourists.

The Ten Tors cafe next to the pub offers food and refreshments and their breakfasts are very reasonably priced and filling. There is a small village shop which provides basic provisions but a supermarket is only a short drive away in Tavistock.

The site is well situated for walks directly from the campsite or if you wish you can drive a short distance and be spoilt for choice as to where you want to walk.

A word of warning - the site and Dartmoor are high up and the weather is unpredictable. Ensure you are wearing suitable clothing and footwear and make sure you carry maps and preferably a compass if you intend walking away from car parks and well worn tracks.

At £7 per night per person you will be hard pressed to find anything cheaper in the area although I notice this figure has gone up from £5. 50 2 years ago.

We have just replaced our tent and are going to be using this site twice this year so will probably be able to give a more up to date review later in the year. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Npea 10 reviews from this member

 A nice cheap campsite, good for dogs and with excellent shower and toilet facilities. This is quite a small campsite so be aware that you may need to book. At weekends it is swamped with walkers and d of e or ten tours users but they were all quiet.

Bare in mind with this campsite that you can not take your car onto the field, which limits how much stuff you can take or in our case, means you have to walk backwards and forwards about twenty times. The site is right next to the moors and there is plenty of walking around this pretty village without getting in the car.

The site is right in the centre behind the pub which is quiet and nice to have a drink in after a long walk. I have to say the food is not great at this pub but that maybe personal preference. However the bar staff were very friendly and they have a dog menu (cold cuts from the carvery for £1. 20) which my dog was extremely happy about.

Toilets were never full when I was there and there was always toilet roll. Yes they are metal so do get a bit damp with condensation but that's no big deal. The best bit was the quality of the showers which are free, powerful and plenty warm enough. The other big plus for us (particularly as it was very chilly at night when we were there is the fact the toilets seem to have heating in them.

Price wise its cheap and cheerful, we paid £6. 95 pp pn and the dog was free. They have a cash machine in the pub but there is a charge for using it. Nearest large supermarket was Morrisons and was about fifteen minutes drive away.

Overall a great campsite, in a great location to explore Devon. There is the prison in Princetown which I believe you can visit the museum off but we never got that far and also I think you can rent bikes from the nearby tourist information place. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Plume Of Feathers Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Plume Of Feathers Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Plume Of Feathers Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dartmoor      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3308 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement