Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Keel Sandybank Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Co Mayo > Keel Sandybank Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Keel Sandybank Caravan & Camping Park
Keel
Achill Island
Co Mayo
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 098 43211
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 18/04/2021 to 29/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 7 Reviews
                6/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tangodave77 3 reviews from this member

 We had booked to stay 3 nights over the weekend in a our campervan but unfortunately after the 1st night we had to move on due to the noise in the evening and the smoke from turf/peat open fires. The campsite does state no open fires or noise after 10pm. We complained to a senior member of staff in the morning but our complaint was brushed aside. The member of staff seemed to know the noisy smokey fire campers and dismissed my complaint and walked away.

The area is lovely, the people are lovely but the campsite is not for a quiet stay and the facilities are not 4 star. The showers are best described as a warm flow of water and they charge extra for showers that are substandard.

There seems to be a rule that you put your tent/campervan as close to each other possible.

The location is amazing but the campsite and staff are lacking. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JFD2810 4 reviews from this member

 A large very well-placed site, as other reviewers have observed: sea, mountains, sea cliffs (claimed as the British Isles' highest at three times higher than Moher) and other islands are to be found in the vicinity, though you will need to walk/hike. What is arguably Ireland's most beautiful beach (Keem) is about 4 miles away, though the huge beach at Keel itself is excellent. Pubs, shops and restaurants nearby.

We did not use the facilities preferring to shower, wash-up etc in our van, so can't comment--looked busy. The site can become crowded and seem somewhat disorganized as there are few specific pitches, and those are hard standing for caravans--I quite liked the atmosphere (a bit like a festival) but others might not. We had no problems with noise, but weren't in the busiest area. Thoroughly recommended for what it is. Oh, and cheap (Spanish!) ice-cream at reception.

We paid 22Euros per night without an awning--two adults. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 First time we've used this site.

Location is superb with the beach right in front of you, and the various mountains of Achill Island within view. Watching the sun go down on the mountains is magnificent.

Large open plan site as already mentioned, with a few hard-standing pitches. If there aren't many others staying that's OK, but when it gets busy this site seems to have units higelty-pigelty all over the place.

This is about the best location to camp on Achill Island - shops/coffee shops/pub all within the rather spread out village of Keel.

But staying a night on Achill is recommended to sample the get-away-from-it-all atmosphere of Ireland in a great setting. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soupie01 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my wife and 2 children aged 9 months and 4 for 3 days. On arriving at the site I was booked in and told where everything was, the site is open plan and there are no defined pitches, you just pick a spot and hope that others stick to the park guidelines and don't pitch up too close to you. It was 23 euro a night for our pitch and the staff were very welcoming.

We had a good flat pitch along the boundary of the site, the facilities are easily accessible from anywhere on the site.

The toilets and showers were clean, although my wife did mention that the womens facilities were not particularly clean and she had to make do with a cold shower in the morning. They could also do with some modernisation. There is a campers kitchen with 5 or 6 sinks and around 5 hobs for cooking.

The location of the site is fantastic, no more than 2 mins away from the beach at Keel from anywhere on the site, with the fantastic cliffs of Minaun running along one side of the strand.

Noise on the site was fairly low after 10 o'clock although on the 3rd night someone came in in a camper van at about 11.30 and proceeded to set up their awning and chat away to about 1 o'clock which was quite annoying with 2 small children.

All in all a good site and a pleasant introduction into the world of camping for us as a novice family. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derm712 5 reviews from this member

 The setting for the park is simply stunning, superb beach to the front, mountains to either side and to the rear. The beach is accessed directly from the site. The pitching arrangements are a bit haphazard, there are groups of about 15 electric points in one housing and you go off from there to basically where you want. If you want a beach front pitch bring an extra long or two electric leads. There are a few hardstanding pitches but a lot tend to be grass.

Facilities are ok, showers are by token.

There is a games room with TV, pool table and paperbacks.

Full recycling facilities on site.

In Keel there is a couple of small shops for essentials, a butchers, few pubs, a chinese, chippy and a fish restaurant. The nearest supermarket is 14km away in Achill Sound.

Had a lovely chilled out time here. Achill is beautiful, the beaches and scenery are stunning. Also great place for activities, loads of surfing, kayaking, cycling, hill walking. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zippie 10 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were given a label to display in the car and a sticker to put on the tent to show that we had paid and were entitled to stay. We eventually found a spot big enough for our tent just beside a field of sheep. This field was also used by someone who was teaching people how to kite surf.

The toilets were quite messy at times and should have been cleaned more regularly. I discovered that the ladies toilet cubicles located in the reception block were slightly larger than those which were located in the other block so I used these all the time even though it was further away from the tent. I'm slim and I had trouble getting into the toilet cubicles at the other block, you would need to be a contortionist to get in without touching the toilet, it was so cramped.

The campers' kitchen was busy each time we used it (we used it to wash dishes). There was only one bin which was always full and overflowing and campers had resorted to piling their rubbish around the bin in bags which wasn't a pleasant sight. There were several sinks and token operated hobs and a table and chairs in the middle.

We didn't use the laundry facilities but I spotted a freezer in the laundry room so we were able to freeze our ice blocks.

The showers were pretty grim (the grimmest I've ever seen) and operated by token.

Because of the size of the site and the amount of campers, I thought it would be noisy at night but it was really quiet.

A security man came round at night to check we were displaying our labels that were issued on arrival.

This is a good big flat site with beautiful scenery and a lovely beach. We stayed two nights here. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Banal 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely location, but on the whole not a fantastic site. There are no allocated/defined pitches here and local custom seems to be that you put your tent as near as possible to the next one with no regard for privacy, comfort or safety. All ok when the site is quiet but when busy, you can find that you move your car at the risk of someone pitching where it was. Noise can be a problem when the site is full but there are staff on site to keep things in check- work on the basis of not getting to sleep til 12 and then not really getting up til 9 and you'll be ok (very different in this respect to UK sites). The site can fill up with large groups as there appears to be no restriction on group size. There is great access to a lovely beach and the site is very popular with anyone who likes surfing, this in part justifies the EUR20 per night cost, but to then have to pay extra for showers (there are 5 for over 150 pitches) seems miserly. For a site in an extremely rainy place, it is well drained but can be very windy. Also, watch out for the local sheep who roam around if the gate is left open. Local pubs, shops and even a couple of restaurants are a 5 minute walk away as is a Lough for sailing, canoeing and windsurfing. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Keel Sandybank Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Keel Sandybank Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Keel Sandybank Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Co Mayo      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10903 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement