Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Champ De La Chapelle

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Site Reviews

Camping Champ De La Chapelle
10 Champ De La Chapelle
Braize, Allier
Auvergne   (Browse area)
03360
Tel: +33 470078246
    Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Mid April - Mid October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claydoncamper 26 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful camp site situated slap bang in the centre of France. Itís several miles away from junction 9 of the A71 and a bit further, maybe 12 miles, from junction 8. We had intended to stay one night on our way further south, and again a few weeks later, one night heading north on our way home. As will become apparent below, we stayed longer. It seems that there is a mix of people who also use it as a stopover as well as people who stay for a few weeks. There was even one Dutch family that had been there most of the summer and had done this year on year.

The campsite is situated in an ancient forest and should be accessed from the D28 just outside of Braize. Donít try the forest road entry off the D978A because itís rather rough. Donít let stories of complicated access to the site put you off, itís easy if you follow the correct directions. The site is impressive as you arrive. There is just so much space, both in terms of recreation areas and importantly, for pitches. You get a warm welcome from the formidable Elizabeth, a Dutch national with an excellent command of English, or Simon, the English owner. What struck me most of all about our reception to the site was that we werenít handed a sheet with numerous rules and regulations and it became apparent during our stay that they were not necessary anyway. You can pick your own pitch. Most are of an excellent size and are partially shaded by trees. There is water available and in places, have a screw type taps for a direct connection. Electric hook ups are also available and there are pitches that have a choice of continental or UK connections. There is NO reverse polarity.

The camp site has excellent sanitary facilities. The toilets are clean and are kept this way all day. So too are the washrooms and the showers. There is an excellent outdoor swimming pool and a covered bar area that sells beer, wine, soft drinks and food. The food is a basic offering of burger and chips and the like and we tried it one night and it was fine. What I did like is that the drinks are reasonably priced so all the family can go over, socialise and not leave feeling ripped off. You can also order bread and croissants for the next day here. The reception hut has plenty of leaflets for tourist attractions as well as small library of books that you can borrow. There are other on site activities such as a small mini golf course, a large 9 hole footgolf (this is a must) course, Simonís very popular tractor rides for the kids and one evening, a 2 hour nature walk with Elizabeth through the forest. There is also an old caravan that has a couple of games consoles for the older kids. There are plenty of things to do away from the site and Simon or Elizabeth will help you choose something to do in the locality.

As stated above, our plan was to stay one night on the way south and one night on the way north. After our first extremely peaceful night, I was reversing my car to hitch up the trailer to leave when I reversed into one of the siteís lamp posts. This had worse consequences than you might at first envisage as I had bikes on the back and the rack (a MaxxRax) went through the rear window. There was glass everywhere and our plans were halted. We had to stay a further three nights before Car Glass (the French version of Auto Glass) could fix my rear window and of course, with the car as it was, we couldnít really go anywhere. Elizabeth and some lovely Dutch campers helped us clear up the mess and then found a French resident to talk to the glass company. Simon took my wife to the supermarket to replenish our provisions and we just felt really comforted by a whole bunch of people that we had never met, yet they all rallied around to help out. When we eventually returned on our way north after our delayed visit to the south, we were welcomed as though we were old friends who had been coming to this site for years. When we left we felt like part of the extended family not just paying punters. If anyone from the site or those involved helping us ever read this, please accept our most grateful eternal thanks. I would return to this site in a heartbeat, but I would not just stay for a night and leave but rather would spend some time in the area which is very beautiful and serene. Donít think about visiting this site, just do it!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jabackahot 3 reviews from this member

We are a family of 5 Ė 2 adults and 3 teenagers. We used this campsite as a stop off on the way down to the south of France. It was perfectly located Ė about 5. 5 hours drive from Calais and close to the A75. We spent one night there on the way down and two nights there on the way back up.

It is an immaculately run campsite set in large grounds, in the beautiful FŰret de TronÁais. With just 2 small tents requiring no electricity we were allowed to camp in the large field with no specific emplacements.

Wherever you are on the site it would be a v short walk to the wash block where the showers were hot and clean, separate cubicles for wash basins, plenty of places for washing up and no queues.

Pool was small but fine, our kids particularly loved the football-golf, volleyball, badminton and relaxed feel to the whole site with lots of space to play. We rented bikes (VTT) from local St Bonnet and spent pleasant 4 hours cycling around forest and swimming in the lake.

We also explored Puy de Dome from here, about 1. 5 hours from the site.

V friendly owners. Lisbeth (Dutch) is handing the site over to Simon (English) and both were extremely accommodating.

Food on site is sadly not French. Basic burger/omelette/nuggets/chips were not great. Recommend you bring own food or eat outĖ highly recommend ĎAu Coeur de Meaulneí in Meaulne, 10 minutes away. Excellent meal.

A great little site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heepyfat 1 review from this member

Weíve stayed at this campsite 5 times, usually as a rest-halt for a few days on our way to and from the south of France.

The location is in the centre of a forest in the Foret TronÁais and you might want to check out the tarmac road leading to it from the D28 on Google Earth before you set off Ė itís easy to miss. The site is peaceful and tranquil, the pitches are a good size and thereís lots of high pressure water points and electric hookup very nearby. Wild campers are also catered for if you donít need electricity.

The separate ladies and gents facilities are a little dated, but constantly kept clean by Simon and his team. Food is available at the covered bar/cafť if a little limited in choice at the moment. The area is lovely for walking or quiet enough to chill out. There are play areas and a swimming pool for the kids if you have any.

If you want a fascinating potted history of Holland, Liesbeth is the lady to speak to.

Our daughter and family loved it the last time they were there in the Ďvan and canít wait to go back.

As with previous reviewers, we think this campsite is a gem and weíll certainly be going back in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 49 reviews from this member

We have just got back from 8 nights at this really lovely site. We drove from Derbyshire via the channel tunnel, setting off around midnight, and arrived mid afternoon the following day. Satnav man took us via the paris inner peripherique, I don't recommend this on a sunday, let alone a week day!

On the edge of the forest it is really peaceful and quiet. Simon, his family, friends and staff are all very nice people, very knowledgeable about the area and where to visit. Our Satnav man enjoys taking us the scenic route using narrow single track lanes to get us to our destination, there are plenty to choose from in the forest.

There is a good mix of nationalities on site, British, Dutch, French And Spanish whilst we were there. It is popular with both people stopping off for a couple of nights as well as those like us who were there for their main holiday.

Pitches are mostly gently sloping, a good size and shape, providing both sunshine and shade. EHU and water points are plentiful. There is lots of space for those who can just pitch without the need for EHU.

There is a large shower block with separate facilities for ladies and gents, water in the shower is hot though all but the disabled cubicle are quite small and there is a step down into the shower tray that Simon is aware needs improving.

Washing up sinks, laundry sinks, washing machine, ironing facilities (if that floats your boat whilst on holiday) fridge and freezer were all available for campers to use.

There are a few static caravans and they have a few very well equipped rent a tents.

Bread can be preordered the night before (except for Monday, the baker has the day off on Monday). A bar by the pool also offers food, perfect if you can't be bothered to fire up the bbq! There is also wifi at the bar.

There are a couple of children's play areas, with sandpit, swings, wendy houses, obstacle course, footgolf course, volley ball net, table tennis, football goals as well as the all important swimming pool for cooling off in the sunshine. The pool is great, it is inflatable, a reasonable depth for swimming but not too deep to worry about children being in there and getting out of their depth.

There are lots of places to visit in about a half hour drive, lots of Chateaux to visit, a swimming lake with a small sandy beach just a few minutes drive up the lane, beautiful gardens and whilst we were there some really good brocantes in the local towns. The whole town would be closed off to traffic, a huge car boot sale, bars and food stalls, a great way to spend a leisurely day, even if you do come home with only a 50 cent cutlery basket for the dishwasher and a toy John Deere tractor for your husband!

We took a longer trip to visit Puy de Dome, which was magnificent. A train takes you up to the summit where the views are to die for, paragliders were taking off and landing just a couple of metres from where we ate our picnic. We also went to the visitor centre at Volvic, which was free, where there was information in English, films with English commentary through a headset and then free tasting of all the different flavours of their water. It was very good and I bought a lovely set of glass tumblers from their shop.

The forest surrounding the site is full of wildlife, we met (thankfully whilst in the car driving on a forest track) a family of wild boar, there are also deer, though we weren't lucky enough to spot any this vist. The campsite is home to red squirrels, they were lovely to see.

Prices were very reasonable, Simon is constantly looking for ways to improve his site and I wish him and his family all the best for their future. We will be returning at some point in the future and will recommend it to all my camping friends looking for somewhere to stay.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pjh57 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the second time after a five year gap, on the way from south to north, stayed for 3 nights. This site is still a delightful mix of mainly Dutch and English, with a happy friendly atmosphere, created by the guests and the new owner Simon and previous owner Lisbet, who still helps manage the site.

There are some organised events - Cheese and Wine night and Nature walks, Moonlight swims in the pool all took place in the short time we were there,

Situated in the middle of the Troncais forest (Europe's largest Oak forest apparently) and a short ride to St Bonnet de Troncais for the nearest swimming lake, 10 mins by car, 30 mins by bike, the site is quiet, peaceful and close to nature, you can see bats, red squirrels, birds of prey and wild boar and many others too.

There are some excellent off road cycle paths through the forest, and plenty of quiet lanes to explore the local villages by bike.

The toilets, showers, chemical waste point and washing up area are all very well looked after and clean, although the shower cubicles are a bit on the small side.

The pitches are semi shaded and plenty large enough for big tents, caravans and motorhomes, and all in all the site provided a thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable experience.

We would definitely recommend and hope to return someday.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve2106 2 reviews from this member

I have stayed at this site previously and left a review of our 2014 stay but I am writing another one due to our fantastic visit in August 2015.

The site now has new owners and they have started on a program of improvements, there is now a new bar/cafe area and a large covered terrace by the swimming pool. A lot of general maintenance has been carried out (painting and general tidying up).

We had a great visit and thoroughly enjoyed a cheese and wine evening held in the bar, I also like the new 9 hole Foot Golf course, a game that I had never previously played.

Since our visit we have discovered that the new owners have written 2 Amazon Kindle books about their hunt for a campsite and about their experiences of running a French campsite (Simon Swinn- 'A tent in France' and 'A lot of Tents in France'). My wife and my children enjoyed these books as did I.

So good luck to the new owners and we will certainly be visiting in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TJFos 1 review from this member

Had a very enjoyable 5 day visit to the campsite. The owner was very welcoming, friendly and informative. The site is set in beautiful woodland with plenty of room and shade when it gets hot, there is lots of local wildlife about as we experienced one night as we approached the site and had a beautiful fully grown stag in all his glory in our headlights (brilliant). The toilet blocks etc are kept spotless and great to have a lovely pool to cool down in. If you are a couple looking for a peaceful retreat or a family looking to keep the kids happy this site has it all. I would recommend a stay to anyone and looking forward to our next trip.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve2106 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights with my wife and our teenage daughter and her friend. The owners gave us a wide choice of pitches and were generally very welcoming. All the facilities (including separate male and female sanitation blocks) were of a high standard and very clean. Some extra facilities included refrigerator space being available to campers, very welcome in hot weather. The site is in a beautiful situation and there is plenty to see and do in the local area. I would recommend this site to anybody looking for a holiday in the heart of rural France.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Niallsan 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site mid-August.

The approach we took to the site may have been the wrong one. We entered from the south side of the site. The forest track was fairly badly rutted in spots and more suitable to a tractor. It might be a problem for a car though as we were in a 05 Ford Galaxy and this has decent ground clearance. We made it though, no big deal really, just mentioning it in case people are pulling their caravan with a Ferrari! We never used the other entrance from the north so it could be a tarmac layers fantasy for all I know!

Anyway, we were only staying one night on our way south.

When we arrived the Dutch man welcomed us and offered us a pitch but said we could pitch wherever we wanted.

This is a really quiet site. There were maybe 6 other visitors so you could call it exclusive!

We arrived late enough so kids didn't get to use the pool which looked fun. They did have a kick around in the play area and used the goals that were there.

The toilet block and showers were very clean.

After travelling from Roscoff we needed and had a quiet/solid nights sleep.

My wife was slightly put off by how far the site was from the autoroute but I didn't think it was that bad maybe 12 miles to the site from the turnoff?

Overall pleasant experience.

Thanks Champ de la Chapelle. .

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

Second week September 2012, weather like England but dry.

Be careful if trying to use GPS to find the site (and in the general area) many of the 'roads' are actually tracks through the forest and you can end up going in circles trying to find the way in.

Once found, the site is just what we like. Loads of space, large pitches, well shaded, water at stand pipes close at hand. Loos, showers, washups all kept very clean and fresh. BBQ's no problem.

The owners are very friendly and helpful making recommendations for walks and visits in the area.

As mentioned the site is totally surrounded by broadleaf forest so wildlife is in abundance and walking is a pleasure. We had the awesome experience of hearing rutting stags bellowing on the edge of the site one night, almost scary. Only had three nights here so the only visit we managed was to the Jardins artistiques de Drulon a lovely garden housing a collection of weird modern art.

If you like quiet and natural you will love this site. Highly recommended.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Auvergne

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019