Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site
Kirk Loch
Lochmaben
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1NT
Tel: 07824 528 467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 30
Open: 29/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Xheath 1 review from this member

 Had an excellent time a Kirk loch campsite. Weather was amazing and the facilities were clean and perfect.

What made our stay even better was the residential people on site. John, jimmy, Trisha and Margaret song with everyone else were ever so friendly and polite to us that it made us book an extra night on the Sunday.

The local people staying in the village were also very welcoming and friendly especially a young keen fisherman.

My partner and This lovely young boy spoke away for hours about fishing along with the people on the site.

We will definitely be booking again for a weekend or maybe longer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: De4343 1 review from this member

 It was next to the loch so there was an opportunity for open water swimming which I did.

The showers were lovely and hot and quite powerful.

The site was basically a car park so not much room and quite pricey for what it was but it was next to a pub and in the centre of the town which was good. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hayley 1 review from this member

 Very helpful warden.

Clean showers and toilets. Close to amenities.

Very nice view over the loch.

Crown Inn very close, nice and clean. Lovely food. Friendly staff 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crumblydown 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent location at the side of the loch,

Clean and tidy. good showers

Quiet site and a good stopover for us,

Will definitely stay again, handy for the motorway 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rossly 1 review from this member

 Pros - Lovely lochside site, toilets newly done & clean, showers warm, bonus of The Crown pub at entrance, with great beer garden & great food at good prices.

Cons - Has no drive over grey waste disposal, we were told emm think it just goes in the elsan waste, def not ideal, you have to use a bucket, walking up& down stairs & decoding door every time, also back & forward to your motorhome or park infront of other vans but still the stairs & decoding door.

We also had to reverse upto another van to get water as our 5mtr hose would stretch from tap on post, which we were told to use to our pitch. Besides not getting to empty the waste, as no bucket & it would have taken too long,

We had a good stay, possibly £24 tad much for no drive over waste, but would definitely go back, only if I had a bucket. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dorft5 1 review from this member

 E mailed request on day of visit

Prompt reply and follow up call.

Met by warden. Efficient and helpful

Quiet picturesque site.

Spaces a little tight for our size of motorhome but manageable.

Shower block reasonably good though bit if a drainage prob in gents. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sirena 1 review from this member

 Toilets and showers the cleanest Iíve seen on a campsite enjoyed our stay but wouldnít return.

Area for tents all under cover of trees and if you donít want electric youíre shoved to the back with no view of the loch or surrounding area.

Tent got covered in debris off trees and lots of wasps attracted to the said debris 🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️

Pubs close but didnít bother, nice bakery a few minutes walk away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helene 1 review from this member

 Just what we needed for a one night stop on our way further north.

Peaceful campsite right next to the loch with beautiful views,

Clean toilet block and friendly people. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rogers 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location next to a loch.

Clean showers and loos

Warden was friendly and informative

Our hard pitch felt squeezed and had limited space as cars were parked either side from the semi-permanent residents. This meant at times we could not sit outside with a table and chairs. There was no space for an awning or table and chairs.

We recommend the lovely walk around the nearby castle Loch. We spent a lot of time here. There are interesting features for all ages and we managed to see a Red Squirrel whilst eating our lunch!

In summary, we felt that we were an inconvenience to the residents, one of which seemed to be travelling to work every day, (which is against the site rules), they all had their units permanently joined to the water which meant when we needed to fill up we had to disconnect their hoses, and as they were under pressure we then got wet!

There was a very loud TV playing until 4:30am both mornings, then the nearby golf course grass cutters began at 7:00, just before our neighbour left for work! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mcdavi 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site, very friendly,

Made very welcome from seasonal tourers, warden keeps toilets and showers spotless,

Highly recommend.

I will definitely return to this site. 
via mobile


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dumfries      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement