Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Kirk Loch Caravan And Camping Site
Kirk Loch
Lochmaben
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1NT
Tel: 07824 528 467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 30
Open: 29 March To 27 October 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Razamataz 6 reviews from this member

Lindsay, is a very welcoming warden.

My wife and 2 dogs arrived and were given one of the best pitches(no 6).

Very clean modern toilets and showers.

Easy walk to town and local hotels and bars.

Will be back

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel10 5 reviews from this member

Very pleasant small site in a good sized village by a loch. Very clean facilities, friendly warden although not resident. Level pitches. Easily reached from M74 for a stopover. Good value for money. Pleasant evening walk to the second loch.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cyfareddol 4 reviews from this member

Site is owned and run by Local Authority. It has limited space for tourers. The site is on the shore of Kirk Loch and there is a path along the loch shore. The warden was friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and well maintained and the whole site was well looked after. There is free fishing in the loch from the site. It was a pleasant place to stay.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul Mack 1 review from this member

I stayed here the last 3 weekends great site with great views over the loch. The people and staff are very friendly with great on site facilities. In the local area and well within walking distance is a little shop for any supplies. Also there is a very nice Chinese takeaway in the village and 3 local pubs all within walking distance. This is a great place to relax by the Loch with stunning views.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vittles 1 review from this member

Views was amazing, shower block clean, staff friendly stone throw away from pub. Definitely place to relax, pitches good size everyone friendly, booking again for a few months then again for next year.

Electric hooks up on all pitches which was a bonus

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jules221974 3 reviews from this member

Council run site. Absolutely stunning location on the loch. Really though it's just a carpark. A little grass at the back with 2 swings. Staff very friendly. Fantastic value for money. Cannot stress how absolutely stunning the views are. Showers - water warm but facility cold. Was advised that you should go up 5 mins before and put the heater on. Free washing machine and tumble dryer. Fantastic!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jayneelew 3 reviews from this member

I only started this travelling life this year so am no expert, but this this site took me by surprise. After some trouble finding it as there is no actual sign to it, I drove up and thought I was pleased it was only a one night stay. Although the lock in front was appealing, the site itself looked stark and rather barren with just a few caravans parked on concrete and an old toilet block in site.

I soon changed my mind though. The dog walk along the lake skirting the golf course was lovely, there was bags of hot water, ALL the lights worked in showers and loos ! And oh the bliss of a really hot shower, WITHOUT the dreaded 20 second push knob device so many sites employ ! And yes, there where lots of hooks in the ample spaced shower room (bliss!)

It was rather nice to be all on concrete by the lock as no mud or grass cuttings to cope with. The £1 in electric meter lasted the 24hrs stay no problem and my morning cup of tea sitting by the lock side watching the swans and ducks and lovely view was a real treat.

I will certainly put this site on my list to regularly visit.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bikerhiker 13 reviews from this member

I had arranged to stay, prior to travelling up to skye! So I knew which pitch I was allocated, but had to phone the warden on arrival, for the key to the toilet block. A lovely quiet family site and was perfect for me to break my 600 mile journey.

Clean & tidy facilities and would stay again. Made welcome in the local pubs and the site is in a lovely setting, very pleasant.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vmccar 23 reviews from this member

We quite liked this site, mainly because the loch side location is lovely, it's quite small and friendly, and it's a short walk to bakers, paper shop etc in the village. The walks around the loch and golf course are nice, and it's lovely and quiet.

The facilities are good and in no way roughing it as a previous reviewer described.

We will definitely come again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Flower Power 2 reviews from this member

Small council run campsite, no on-site warden. The warden visits twice a day, once morning, once evening.

The site is quite 'busy' for it's size, has a lot of what look to be long term seasonal pitchers. Which actually gives the site a nice community feel.

Once your on a pitch and settled it is a really nice friendly site. Good value for money. The site toilets and showers are clean and well maintained although, You do have to wait for a key to gain access. You get the key from the warden when you pay and hand it back by posting it through a letterbox in the site office as you leave. It was a bit inconvenient to have to wait two hours until the warden came, to get our own toilet key with two children. However a very nice gentleman who was a seasonal pitcher was happy to lend us his until we got our own.

The play park is very basic and consists of two swings, one baby swing and one real swing. And is up on the grass above where the hard standings are. If you park on the hard standings you can't see the play park. So lots of sitting away from unit to keep an eye on kids was in order.

There are a few pitches on grass at top near swings but MH are not allowed up there as they get stuck and need to be towed out.

The local town is within walking distance about ten minutes and has take always and a small grocery shop, also a couple of larger grocery shops a bit further walk. Really good 'bizarre' type shop which sells lot's of 'stuff' too.

There was a pub right next to site, nothing fancy but nice and friendly for a quiet drink.

Even though site was right next to pub and very near town, was lovely and peaceful, no trouble or noise, would definitely use again. Warden when he arrives is friendly and approachable and said as we had a very small campervan if we go back we can use a top grass pitch near play park next time as it's the larger ones who get stuck. We would definitely go back to use as a mid way stopover on a journey. Btw if you have dogs with you, there is a very short walk for them, but ends as you begin to go onto a golf course, we almost got hit by golf balls before we realised. I had to shout my kids back as golf balls whizzed over their heads into the loch. Think you can walk further on a morning before the golfers start. But not the best site if you like walking your dog. Unless you want to walk it round the town.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3081 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019