Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Golden Swan

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Golden Swan > Reviews

The Golden Swan
Wilcot
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 5NN
Tel: 01672 562289
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sjhaigh007 2 reviews from this member

 Good location for walking along the canal tow path or up onto the hills.

Excellent pub food, especially the chips.

Basic facilities but nice hot water for washing up.

Friendly chickens. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracyw 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely atmosphere to this site & attached pub.

Basic facilities but who’s bothered about that ….

The location is near to the canal. Good pub grub. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracyw 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely atmosphere to this site & attached pub.

Basic facilities but who’s bothered about that ….

The location is near to the canal. Good pub grub. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ianpr6 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet site, easy to find, with a great pub - my Wadworths beer, and my wife's wine, were ecxellent, as was the very good value, home-cooked food. I had the gammon steak, my wife the nut roast; both were served in generous portions, and the wait for our food was no longer than needed for it to be cooked fresh.

The campsite was a bit soggy in places (no hard standings), and we had to be towed off - may be something to think about if your visit is planned after some wet weather.

The washing facilities and loos coped with the six units on site during our visit, but could get pushed if it was much busier.

The facilities were clean, but could do with some updating - neither heater worked in the loo and shower parts of the building, and the shower temperature was only just warm enough when turned up to maximum. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mikec4 1 review from this member

 Lovely location easily accessible by train and bus.

Well maintained but was really disappointing that pub was only doing outside service especially as weather wasn't great, was looking forward to sitting inside when rain was coming down. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nicklester 1 review from this member

 The first thing I would like to say is thank you for being open despite all the extra work that you are having to do because of Covid.

This campsite is a small well run pub campsite with a rural location, the pub itself is thatched and the buildings within view of the campsite also thatched.

The facilities are what you would expect, separate WC's, shower room and dishi washing area and they are kept clean. The campsite is very busy weekends with the weekdays being quieter and therefore it is obvious to point out that that facilities are 'pushed' at the weekends so if you feel that may spoil your stay opt for early late season or midweek stays.

All people we spoke to who ate in the pub commented on the quality of the food and thought it value for money. We had not booked to eat in pub (covid restriction) therefore did not partake, however we could have eaten in the beautiful garden or outdoor covered area.

There are some beautiful walks through the countryside which inevitably cross the canal and lead you back to the pub, our dog Hugo loved it. Behind the main camping field is an equally sized space where we were able to play ball with Hugo and his new girl friend the pub dog, obviously making sure that we picked up any 'droppings'

The other field is also for camping but by arrangement only, we saw two horse drawn gypsy caravans, cycling club, The Piston Broke motorcycle club of Norfolk, 25 ish young ones doing their D of E and 3 guys 1 Army 1 Navy 1 Air force demonstrating why they are the best by sleeping in the pouring rain with no tent. In short there never seems to be a dull moment at this site.

Would we go again? Absolutely 100%. The main problem is getting a pitch with electric for a weekend.

Why would we go again? The dog absolutely loved it. Picturesque. Well run site. Close to home. Good walks (more to be explored). Pewsey has some good little offerings. Looking forward to the pub when things normal. Lastly 6x was like drinking the water of the gods. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Diane12 2 reviews from this member

 Food is good, service a little slow and chaotic. Pizzza oven is great.

Nice campsite BUT only one ladies loo and one gents is not enough. We stayed on a busy weekend. Pub goers and campers all sharing one old toilet which was not cleaned during our stay.

Would be a lovely spot if there were more and updated toilets and washing facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyhale67 1 review from this member

 Very busy site. EHU was good and good large pitch.

Unfortunately only 1 male and female toilet and only 1 shower for the whole site. With lots of tents it was queuing at social distancing. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marype 1 review from this member

 Fabulous spot fantastic field with plenty of room

Pub excellent the owners had worked hard to keep us all safe and food grub was great

Thank you for a great stop 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Paulcurtley 6 reviews from this member

 A marvelous campsite. A friend & I had completed the Ridgeway by bike and made the mistake of staying at a much inferior campsite up the road, and after that canal side disaster this place was a halcyon of bliss. I wish we had moved here on the 1st night and saved us the pain at the other place.

Dave the landlord was very friendly, and ensured we were well fed and watered, and the locals kept us amused by their stories of unusual visitors to the area attracted by the prehistoric and supernatural landmarks.

The camping field was properly maintained, the grass nice and short, the hook ups were easily accessed by those that needed them. The neighbouring fields had a few horses and the garden of the pub had chickens clucking around.

There is only one showers, but it was very clean with good pressure & you could have a good wash.

The pub food was excellent, and the 6x was beautifully kept.

This will be a go-to campsite for exploring the local area in the future. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Golden Swan child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Golden Swan?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Golden Swan dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement