Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Golden Swan

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Golden Swan Reviews

The Golden Swan
Wilcot
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 5NN
Tel: 01672 562289
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyhale67 1 review from this member

 Very busy site. EHU was good and good large pitch.

Unfortunately only 1 male and female toilet and only 1 shower for the whole site. With lots of tents it was queuing at social distancing. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marype159772esc 1 review from this member

 Fabulous spot fantastic field with plenty of room

Pub excellent the owners had worked hard to keep us all safe and food grub was great

Thank you for a great stop 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Paulcurtley 6 reviews from this member

 A marvelous campsite. A friend & I had completed the Ridgeway by bike and made the mistake of staying at a much inferior campsite up the road, and after that canal side disaster this place was a halcyon of bliss. I wish we had moved here on the 1st night and saved us the pain at the other place.

Dave the landlord was very friendly, and ensured we were well fed and watered, and the locals kept us amused by their stories of unusual visitors to the area attracted by the prehistoric and supernatural landmarks.

The camping field was properly maintained, the grass nice and short, the hook ups were easily accessed by those that needed them. The neighbouring fields had a few horses and the garden of the pub had chickens clucking around.

There is only one showers, but it was very clean with good pressure & you could have a good wash.

The pub food was excellent, and the 6x was beautifully kept.

This will be a go-to campsite for exploring the local area in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 226 reviews from this member

 A revisit after a couple of years and the prices are still £12 for the campervan with one adult and one dog. Left to ourselves.

Nothing has changed a lot since the last visit, there are electric hookups down one side and non electric pitches on the other side. The rest of the site is just one big field with loads of space for kids to play, dogs to run, etc.

The facilities consist of a toilet and urinal for men, and a couple of toilets for the ladies. There is a washing up area and a shower, which was free and perfectly adequate. There is also fresh water on the field.

The chickens and cockerels are still by the camping field.

The pub itself was very nice and sold a great selection of drinks, including local ales We did not eat there but the food looked lovely.

Plenty in the area with miles of walks straight from the site. It is also ideally located for seeing all that Wiltshire has to offer including Silbury Hill, Avebury, Stone Henge, Marlborough, etc.

The pub dog is still there and wanders around, so be careful not to leave any food out or bins, as he is happy to help himself to your stuff. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ben Bullen 1 review from this member

 I've used this campsite for the past few years and always found it excellent! It's certainly busier in the summer but the facilities are always clean and tidy. The shower could do with being replaced (not exactly powerful!) but other than that it's a lovely quiet campsite in a beautiful area. When the wind blows it can be a bit chilly but the pub is always warm with FANTASTIC food, a great selection of beer and a very friendly atmosphere. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We last visited this site two years ago with a group of friends and have been wanting to come back for a while. I booked in advance as I thought that the site might get busy and we had arranged to meet friends, I probably wouldnít have needed to bother as the site was full only for pitches with electric hook up but we didnít need it.

The camping field is a large grass paddock which has been split up the middle by the addition of some pitches with electric hook up, the grass was pretty long and could have done with a cut but as the weather stayed dry for the weekend we didnít need to worry too much about wet paws. The toilet/shower facilities havenít been updated since we last stayed and whilst perfectly functional could do with a lick of paint.

I canít fault the site though for the price we paid; it is conveniently located halfway between us and friends, the pub serves a good pint and hot meals, the village is very pretty and the area is really quiet at night, it was nice to be on a site with no bright lighting that would spoil the view of the night sky.

Walking is easy along the canal and we managed a nice circular walk along the canal and up to the ĎGiants Graveí and back. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ixie 1 review from this member

 Very large camping field which we shared with only 1 other tent. Arrived mid afternoon, having booked. Pub was shut so we couldn't check in at that time and went off to explore. Returned late evening to pub and paid for pitch (£14. 50) with h/u. Pub has beautiful resident green parrot and hens in the garden. Landlord was friendly. Facilities were perfectly reasonably but would be stretched if there were a lot of visitors. Patchy mobile phone & wifi. You have to walk around to find any reception. The grass was long and there was rain overnight which meant that by the morning we were unable to get any grip to move away. Had to call the AA to tow us off the field. The landlord was clearly unhappy with us. Be warned as there are no hard standings. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 226 reviews from this member

 We did not book this site and just arrived and they had space. It was £12 for one adult, one dog in a campervan. We checked in at the pub and the person we met with was friendly, helpful and told us about the site and left us to pitch.

There are electric hookups down one side and non electric pitches on the other side. The rest of the site is just one big field with loads of space for kids to play, dogs to run, etc.

The facilities consist of a toilet and urinal for men, and a couple of toilets for the ladies. There is a washing up area and a shower, which was free and perfectly adequate. There is also fresh water on the field.

There are chickens and cockerels by the camping field, however they did not disturb us at all.

The pub itself was very nice and sold a great selection of drinks, including local ales We did not eat there but the food looked lovely. They run a quiz on the first Sunday of each month and don't do food whilst this is on, however if you join in with the quiz they do provide food.

The area is perfect for walking with miles of walks straight from the site. It is also ideally located for seeing all that Wiltshire has to offer including Silbury Hill, Avebury, Stone Henge, Marlborough, etc.

I would come back and would have loved to make this my regular site whilst crop circle hunting however the pub has two collies who are allowed to wander wherever they like and are not watched at all. We witnessed one doing his business in the field and this was of course just left. Unfortunately we went out for the afternoon walking and returned to find one of them sitting by the campervan after having got in to the utility tent and ripped apart a bag that contained food. They were also hanging around the camping field for most of the time and this put our dogs on edge and was a real nuisance.

I would return time and time again, but only if the pub dogs were controlled and kept off the camping field. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 62 reviews from this member

 Popped in to check out this site whilst staying at another in the area, as fancied this one for next time! Fantastic location in the village behind the pub, and only a short walk along a quiet village road to the canal. Perfect for dog walking.

Nice flat field with quite a few hookup points dotted around, tap and basic shower and toilet. Don't go if you want luxury but if we like a very quiet basic site in a wonderful location, so it's perfect. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RedFleece 2 reviews from this member

 Been back to this site a dozen or more times over the last 10 years, a lot of happy memories,

The camp field is flat and even in wet weather stays dry, the toilets and showers are basic, but always clean, can get a little busy in high session, Pewsey is just up the road with a supermarket if you need it, but some good meals to be had in the pub on the site

What I like about the site is a number of things, being close to Stonehenge 15 mile walk get the bus back, Avesbury 14 miles, and if your up to it a 32 mile walk/bike to Bath down the Kennet and Avon Canal, get train back, beautiful walking country, wildlife and the peace and quiet, even kayak on the canal, and how can I forger the cask ales at the swan. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Golden Swan child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Golden Swan?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Golden Swan dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement