Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of South Breazle Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Okehampton > South Breazle Holidays Reviews

South Breazle Holidays
Bratton Clovelly
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4JS
Tel: 01837 871752
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 31
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TAH-M 2 reviews from this member

 An extra pitch added for us in a field usually used for children's fun fountain. Superb space (almost 50m of hook up cable!) to pitch our tunnel tent.

The main field has 31 pitches around the edge of a huge field, all well separated. I gather around 80% of these are seasonal. Site was extremely quiet.

Toilet, shower and washing up facilities are inside. Indoor facilities are closed currently from 1030-1130 and 1800-1900 for deep clean with two shorter cleans at 1400 and 2200. They were immaculate. I'm not sure of the logic of only having one of three wash hand basins available, I personally think closing the middle one would provide sufficient distancing. Hairdryers were also out of use (presumably for covid reasons, but these are available on other sites and e. G. Gyms). Easy-ish solution to use hot air hand dryer to give wet hair a blast!

On 4 nights we were however the only tent on site so no pressure on joint facilities (4 free push button cubicle showers, 4 huge toilets in the ladies). Washing machine and dryer also available. For doggy folk there was a fully enclosed dog run available. The only place we could get wi-fi was at the shower block but this was apparently better in the main part of the site.

The site is very quiet in a quiet area. Local pub (Clovelly Inn) unfortunately can't be realistically reached on foot but is a short drive (approx 2. 5 miles). Friendly folk there; decent "farmers portions" menu with take away options. Big Lidl and Tesco easily accessible in Launceston.

Site is 6 minutes or so off the A30 which gives great access to west Devon and Dartmoor, east Cornwall and "vertical" options to the north and south coasts. Be sure however to follow supplied directions to the site and not leave things to your sat nav! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris and Pam 2 reviews from this member

 We have been using South Breazle for quite a few years now, using their winter storage and having our caravan sited for us when we come to stay.

It is a beautiful site, quiet and well maintained with fabulous showers. There is electric and water hook up to each pitch, with waste water drainage as well.

We have for the past two years had a permanent pitch, which is a bolt hole for us. There is a beautiful reservoir Lake within walking distance ( a good walk) where there is a cafe, with good meals and a Sunday carvery, (there are water sports on the lake), plus a very good pub at Britton Clovelly. Also a lovely farm (Strawberry Farm) Shop and restaurant at Lifton, selling great bread, cakes, meat and vegetables.

This is a great area to see the beautiful countryside, with Dartmoor within a twenty minute ride.

This is an excellent site for those wanting peace and quiet and for families with young children, it has a large grassed area in Front of all the caravans allowing you to keep an eye on the children. There is no club house but there is a room children can use to play board games and darts.

All in all a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nossys 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely relaxing site, showers very powerful and warm, exceptionally clean. Lots of wild birds singing. Clovelly Inn great food, big portions well worth a visit. Great location, friendly staff. Nice big plots plenty of room for van, awning, car and plenty of room for sitting out side. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ourvan 5 reviews from this member

 My wife and I had a weekend break on this lovely site; wonderful clean roomy showers and toilet block; each space with its own water tap; wonderful scenery with distant views of north Dartmoor. Not much to do but sit and soak up the peace of this lovely place. The experience however was spoilt by neighbouring campers who stayed up chatting until gone 2 am, giving us a sleepless night. A great shame.

A notice on site asking campers to be mindful of others by keeping any noise down after 10 pm was what attracted us there in the first place but a pity not everyone shares the idea of a peaceful break. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KandDP 6 reviews from this member

 We were able to book and pay for this site online, which was very simple, and saved having to search for someone to pay on site (particularly as no one seemed to be around during our stay)

This is a superb spot overlooking Dartmoor: quiet, spacious and great facilities (although the hot water in the showers took a LONG time to come through!) 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skoda Bob 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our umpteenth visit to this beautiful site, the owner has spent a lot of time smoothing out the track into the site, so a nice easy drive in now,

We have our van in storage there also, and if we feel like a break we just book on line, and the van is put on the chosen pitch for our arrival.

Facilities are spotless all the time.

The local pub the Clovelly inn has food to die for 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandyfoot 2 reviews from this member

 Oh what a beautiful site. Peaceful just isn't the word. I can't fault anything and wonderful if you are looking to get away from the stresses of modern life.

The site is a long way off the beaten track which may be an issue for some but just added to the charm for us. The only disappointment for us was that we were unable to stay there longer.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenvale 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site - long drive from the road which means it really is a long way from anywhere!

Very spacious pitches with the ones with EHU separated from each other by little hedges.

Massive central grassed area which is great for the kids to play on.

Toilet block warm and clean with some of the best showers we have ever come across. Toilet block can be seen from almost every pitch so great for the kids to go on their own.

Shop no longer open so need to stock up before arrival as it's 10 mins or so to the nearest local shop and 15-20 mins to the nearest supermarket.

Owners and wardens really helpful and friendly.

The distance from anywhere was the only downside for us as with young kids it was too far to walk anywhere so we had to rely on the car for all journeys. But this is personal choice and lots of people would equally love this instead! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kernowman 5 reviews from this member

 An excellent website making it possible to click on your chosen pitch to book, is a nice touch. Also named pitches gives better feel!

Driving up a long farm lane means it is very peaceful, and hearing woodpeckers, owls, etc, was lovely. Large pitches, clearly defined by hedges (serviced ones with own tap and electric hook-up) with choice of gravel, grass, or half-and-half, are very good. Plenty of space for families with children to play without disturbing everyone else, plus a 'fun fountain' with jets that squirt up from the ground, although that does look a little run down.

The shower block is probably among the best - large cubicles, chairs in each one, plenty of hot water, and spotlessly clean.

We did not see the owners but you check in via an internal phone. Free wi-fi if you need to order your grocery delivery, but we drove to Tesco at Launceston about 5 miles away.

Overall our favourite site so far! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jonford 19 reviews from this member

 Very large pitches at this site. Looks like it is part of a farm/on farmer's land, but has bene well designed with a huge playing area in the centre of all the pitches (the pitches surround/look over the playing area/huge plot of grass). All pitches seem to hand EHU and a nearby water supply. Al have nice names (we stayed in Magpie Retreat. Something nice than 'pitch 2')

There is a 'majoc fountain' in another field. I think this is a kid's thing (wasn't on when we stayed) but I think its a load of fountains that spurt out of the ground and kids run through them) A nice idea, although position right next to a large block of some kind with gravel shoveled up it. If the owner sorted that out, it would be great for the kids)

What made this site stand out was the brand new toilet & shower block. Its like entering a spa! Massive showers and good number of toilets. Owver seemed friendly enough - left you to it. Bit of a lane to drive down but this site is a great location for the Lyford Gordge. A must if staying here (especially if you are National Trust members) - great day out and fantastic waterfalls to take in. This site was great for us as a pit stop on the way back from Cornwall up to North Wales. Will prob stay here again on our annual Cornwall hol! 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Breazle Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Breazle Holidays?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is South Breazle Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5082 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements